Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"

"NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"

Item# 457402
"This NPower Powerpack is a must-have for emergency situations. An integrated, replaceable 20Ah SLA battery provides the power you need and includes a built-in inverter that transfers DC to AC power. Loaded with features including superbright LED emergency lights, built-in jumper cables, an integrated 150 PSI air compressor that can fill a flat tire and more. Provides the cold cranking amps you need to get batteries started in adverse conditions. 400 Watt configuration includes a 40in., 6-ga. cable and AC charging adapter. Adapters Included qty. 1, Amp Charge Rate 500, Amps 500, Built in Inverter Yes, Clamp Material Copper clad, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 x 6 1/2 x 14, Display Type LED, Handle Included Yes, Cable Gauge 4, Cable Length in. 40, LED Indicators Yes, Max. PSI 150, Outlets qty. 1, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Includes Air Compressor Yes, Internal Battery Type 12V SLA, Volts 12, Watts 400, Reverse-Polarity Detector Yes, USB Ports qty. 1, Works With Small home appliances and electrical appliances. A complete system in one small package Jumpstart reverse polarity connection protection with alarm and indicator Built-in 40in. long, 4-gauge copper clad jumper cables Built-in 12V DC power outlet Built-in 400 Watt inverter Built-in USB port Superbright LED emergency light Equipped with a 150 PSI air compressor with gauge Compact, yet tough and durable Durable hard plastic shell stands up to the rigors of the workplace Easy-access heavy duty cable and clips deliver reliable performance Compact 13in.L x 6.5in.W x 14in.H overall size Won't leave you stranded Provides the cold cranking amps to get batteries started in adverse conditions Powered by a 12V, 20Ah sealed lead acid battery replaceable Includes AC adapter for easy recharging Easy-to-see battery level indicator is located on the front of the unit for at-a-glance assessment Safety Matters Connecting correct indicator light indicates if jumper cables are connected correctly Reverse polarity LED indicator and alarm warn you if jumper cables are connected incorrectly Slider selector switch lets you positively choose the mode you are in Overcurrent protection with a 15 Amp fuse to protect the unit Low battery alarm gives you advanced warning when power is running low Overload and overtemperature protection for safe operation Use it anywhere Portable design for use on the jobsite, at the beach, for winter jumpstarts, camping, hunting, boating, and almost any other application where there isn't power"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (54 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
1
47 of 54(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Review 1 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power output not as described

,
August 25, 2014
By CPAPUser
from Menomonee Falls, WI
"The description states 20 mah but I was only able to get 10 mah with a 24 hour recharge time. I tested this unit at home with my cpap (0.7 MAH) in two different tests.
I first tried it plugged directly into the 120 AC of the unit. I was able to use my CPAP for a total of 12 hours before the battery could not operate the machine anymore. Note, I did unplug it between the two sessions to eliminate any power drain while not being operated.
The second test was to use the 12v converter provided with my cpap after waiting for 24 hours to get the battery back to full charge. So I plugged my 12v adapter into the 12v socket of the item and only received 7 hours use so I would say the inverter in the unit works better than my adapter.
I needed this unit to give me at least 16 hours of use for a weekend of camping. Needless to say I returned it and bought the larger unit.
I will give the RMA department and the employees at my local store a 5 star for their service. I filled out the proper paperwork and received a response in minutes to receive my RMA. I took the unit and the RMA to my local store, they gave me the credit immediately and gave me the internet discount on the larger size unit. I will say I have not had any issues with the larger unit at 30 mah.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Power Source, Poor Air Compressor

,
April 16, 2014
By Boosh
from FL
"This product is great to have in the car incase you need a jump or need to give someone else a jump. The LED light works great to light up an area if you need to change a flat on the side of the road at night. Additionally, it's convenient to have the ability to charge a USB device and another device via the 12V outlet. I purchased the NPower Powerpack because of the battery jumping ability but also because of the built in air compressor.
The performance of the air compressor in my opinion has been lackluster and thus the reasoning behind my 3 star rating. I have never been able to fill a tire completely with it. I will occassionally top my tires off if I'm low a few psi, but I purchased this with the intent of using it to fill a tire incase it was almost flat because of an object in the tire after I've plugged it. The compressor motor usually overheats before the tire fills up, so you'll have to wait 30 mins to an hour for it to cool down to pick up where you left off. If you were in the middle of nowhere it might limp along enough to suffice, but I would not recommend this product solely for the built in compressor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the capabilities

,
March 31, 2014
By 7961
from Ohio
"I just ordered this product. I know it will be great. In the past I have purchased 3 other different brands of this type of product. The last one lasted through 1 tire inflation. Two others lasted about 2 years and had to be thrown away as the built in battery would not hold a charge. This powerpack has a replaceable battery. Also, looking at the details of powerpack, the compressor air line is longer than the others I've used. The USB port is nice but this will be mostly used to inflate tires and jump start vehicles and lawn equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little powerhouse

,
February 8, 2014
By Injuredcowboy
from Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
"This battery booster/jumpstarter is a great accessory to have in your vehicle. It does a good job of holding a charge and has many applications that are easy to use. You never know when you'll need to air up a tire or even a basketball. You're not always going to be able to pull another vehicle up to the one with a dead battery. So it's definitely handy to have a battery booster that you can carry right to the dead battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy

,
February 4, 2014
By Garba
from Tompkinsville, KY
"Very handy product. I use it a lot to start my lawn tractors and keep the air pressure up in my tires.
Used it a few times to jump start cars. Also used it with a energy efficient light when power was out for a few hours. Only problem, my son borrows it and sometimes its gone when I need it. Thinking about giving him mine and ordering another when I catch it on sale.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great backup

,
February 4, 2014
By bikerRog
from western South Dakota
"I work out of town a lot so I bought 3 of these things for my kids and girl friend for backup. We drive used cars and the weather can be unforgiving around these parts. Great to just have in the trunk. My daughter has used her's a couple of times and it works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of Power

,
February 4, 2014
By agcretusn
from Lyme, NH
"Have mostly used the jump start. In this cold weather my JD Tractor with snowblower will not hold a charge but have had no problem jump starting it with this. Plenty of power to crank the 22HP Kawasaki engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerpack

,
February 4, 2014
By Skeeter2
from Baton Rouge, La
"Jumper Cables, Air compressor and lights all in one handy box. Retains charge a long time and can be stored in any trunk for easy access. Have had limited electricity access and used to plug in a fan to keep cool. This will come in handy during electricity outage in hurricanes!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Npower jump starter

,
February 4, 2014
By fozbuzz
from SC
"Charged it for 2 days, cranked 2 diesel tractors, 2 diesel lawn mowers, cranked the last one as quickly as the first!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Powerpack

,
February 4, 2014
By thomas2bc
from Sanford, NC
"I have always wanted one of these powerpacks to help with equipment that want crank. I love buying and selling old tractors and when you go to look at one the battery is usually dead or weak. This power pack is handy and has all of the extras that make it a winner. It has been a wonderful tool for me!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-use

,
February 4, 2014
By Jer1019
from Ct
"Bought this product to jump start truck and power equipment but also use it to fill tires on lawn equipment out in the shed. During the hurricane the 110 outlet and usb came in handy to charge cell phones and other small items. No house should be without one of these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not useful as a tire inflator.

,
November 27, 2013
By 65Cobra
from TX
"I would not recommend purchasing this product if you intend to use the tire inflator. I have been through two units so far and the compressor in them burned out the second time I used them in both cases. This was only for routinely adding a couple psi in passenger vehicle tires. The other features of the power pack are great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower power pack 500 amp 400 watts

,
November 20, 2013
By 656711
from NC
"I am a NC State Highway Patrol Trooper. This power pack works great. I have been using the pack for about 6 months. Compressor works great and I was amazed when I actually jump started a tractor trailer with dead batteries. It works great on my patrol car if I have been off several days and the battery is drained. Very happy with it. I enjoy helping the public with this equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPOWER POWER PACK

,
September 17, 2013
By DJ55
from CT
"Great and handy to have around filled a couple tires.Ive used it for jump starting my lawn tractor several times and car so far still said full charged. I was impressed and got a second one to leave in the car."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool

,
September 17, 2013
By Wildernesstommy
from Hackettstown,NJ
"This product has come in handy in the two recent power outages we experienced. We used it to make coffee and charge several phones. Just knowing I can easily jump my car battery if it dies makes it worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Power Source

,
September 17, 2013
By Rob03
from Benson, NC
"This unit is great for jump starts and the air compressor. Most important is the power source. It has already saved my $100.00's in fuel for my generator. I take it with me to my hunting camp and it will power television and power antenna all night and day, so no need to run the generator at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Jump starter Powerpack, Air Compressor.

,
September 2, 2013
By MrFixitcanFixit
from Roseville, Mn.
"I have owned one of these Power packs for around 15 years, This is one of my most used tools that I have and I have over $20,000.00 worth of tools, This gets used the most, I always need to jump start some kind of a vehicle around my garage and home, It will start my v8 engine in my truck along with my Skid Steer Loader, when it's 10 deg. out, and the Power Pack starts them up without any troubles, I also have a low Tire on something almost every day, and it fills them up fairly quick for a small Air Compressor , Saves me a huge amount of time, if it ever brakes I will go and buy a new one the same day, For sure, This small unit is a Must have Tool, If you do any kind of work outdoors , You can take it to the Beach and fill the air toys and power your Computer or Radio, or even a Fan if it's really Hot. All I can say is, Buy One You will Love what it can do. It's like having a person to help you do things !!! NO Cons about this Power Pack !!! It's all Good !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DOES ALL IT SAYS

,
May 10, 2013
By HANDIEMAN
from Pa
"Used to start up a diesel generator for a whole house multiple times in a 4 day period with out recharging this unit. Also used to recharge my cell phone same time period. Great product, whenever I go on any long trip I take it along as a back up for what ever may and could happen. Money spent well here on a great product. Great item foe peace of mind."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

FAIR TO AVERAGE AT BEST

,
April 29, 2013
By Texasjetman
from North Texas
"Purchased two of these to use as back ups, they do not last long, they seem to slowly start loosing storage cap after the first initial use, will not start much more than a lawn mower now even after pulling them off a 24 hour charge, I would certainly consider upgrading to a better box if you plan on using this any number or times or for ranch or farm garage use, fine for a one time or on occasion use, but do not expect long life at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NPower Powerpack Emergency Power Source with Air Compressor - 500 Amps, 400 Watts"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not dependable

,
April 23, 2013
By recharge
from sc
"I purchased this jump-starter mainly for the air compressor. After using the compressor twice to pump up a lawnmower tire the compressor pump locked up. I only used the compressor 5 min total before it stopped working. This product is not worth purchasing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.