Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp

NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp

Item# 457801
This NPower 800 Amp jumpstarter is designed to provide instant jumpstarts, even in adverse conditions. 12V DC power outlet and a powerful 22Ah SLA battery provide the cranking power you need to get going again. The rechargeable unit delivers 500 CCA to get most vehicles running. Built-in LED lights are a handy portable light source for emergencies or a variety of other applications. Includes AC charging adapter, and an optional DC charging cable is sold separately. Handle Included Yes, Amp Charge Rate 500, LED Indicators Yes, Amps 800, Works With 12V DC appliances, 5V USB products, jumpstarts vehicles 6 cylinders or more, Clamp Material Copper clad, Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 7/16 x 7 5/16 x 9 1/8, Built in Inverter No, Internal Battery Type 12V SLA, Reverse-Polarity Detector Yes, Cable Gauge 4, Adapters Included qty. 1, Cable Length in. 36, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Outlets qty. 2, Volts 12, Display Type LED, Includes Air Compressor No. 36in.L, 4-ga. copper-clad booster cables deliver 500 Cold Cranking Amps to jumpstart most vehicles Includes handy built-in superbright LED lights for a variety of uses Dual 12V power outlets are great for lighting, recharging tools and a variety of other uses Powered by a worry-free 22Ah SLA AGM battery Durable hard plastic shell is made to last Push-button battery level indicator quickly shows battery level Features reverse polarity, over-current and overload protection for safety Convenient quick-switch connector knob allows you to easily switch between jumpstart and powerpack functions LED display provides charging status Recharges easily with included AC charging adapter Optional DC charging cable is available Item# 27345, sold separately for even more versatility For more battery capacity, an optional 12V, 18-ga power cable with clips Item #28738, sold separately is available
Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Review 1 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Charger

,
February 4, 2014
By BigdogMike
from Fraser, MI
"Got this charger for use on all my motor toys ie...snowmobiles, Atv, Utv, motorcycles...works great so far. Needed 12volt power for lights and 12volt impact wrench for road side tire changes and repairs...never fails me and keeps its charge"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised!

,
February 4, 2014
By Appster
from Central Pennsylvania
"I've had this for one year and used it twice. I carry it along in my truck during the cold winter months in case of emergency. Thankfully, I haven't had to use it on my truck or anyone elses vehicle yet. However, when I travel north to hunt on a friends farm, we sometimes use their tractor for different projects. The tractor on occasion needs a jump and so I have put it too the test and its started the tractor each time. For me, it is a peace of mind and, in my opinion, a tool that should be in every vehicle in case of emergency.
(just remember to charge it on occasion)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never a failure

,
February 4, 2014
By Paler
from Langhorne, PA
"I purchased two (2) of these packs for our business, after years of using lower amperage models which fail to provide sufficient power. This product has never failed to provide a successful jump start regardless of how dead the car battery. We provide jumps starts on almost a daily basis and have gone weeks without a need for recharging. We even used this product to run our local municipality's emergency response trailer during an event on our property, after they discovered their trailer battery experienced catastrophic failure - very ironic. The extra amperage is highly recommended, as it comes packed in a compact unit and can't be beat for the price. After seeing this product in use on his personal vehicle, our company president requested information so he could purchase it for himself - I was able to recommend this product and provide the information without hesitation. This would make a great personal item to keep in your own vehicle as it is compact and would easily store in the trunk, but is powerful enough for professional settings/use. I especially like the polarity feature (light turns on when hooked up correctly), which keeps my personnel from crossing the positive & negative leads. Best features: amperage/power, compact, price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Product

,
September 25, 2013
By CVK1
from Illinois
"Very reliable and sturdy. I have hauled it in my 4 wheeler and the bed of my pickup truck and it still looks brand new. Jump starts cars and tractors with ease. Very simple to use and the light is much brighter than expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will jump off a tractor

,
September 19, 2013
By RHH1973
from Cumming,Ga
"Needed a jumper to start farm equip. tractors or trucks. Does a great job. 800 amps and takes minutes recharge. Great deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Nonsense

,
September 17, 2013
By NewEnglandGuy
from Newington, CT
"I'm tired of the all in one units with an inverter that I don't need and an inadequate air compressor that makes lots of noise but can barely inflate a tire. This thing is ALL battery with very heavy 4 gauge cables to massively powerful clamps. Couldn't be more pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't fully charge/lacks power

,
May 11, 2013
By snowplowman
from Maine
"Thought this would make a great Christmas present so I bought two. Turns out they don't fully take a charge. At best I can turnover a warm engine with decent battery strength. Typically those times when you know you need a new battery however just haven't got to it yet. This unit won't even turnover my lawnmower,now thats bad! The light works well and it works great working on trailer wiring, other than that I'll pass. I'm very disappointed!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jumper Box

,
April 23, 2013
By Seedman
from Lenexa, KS
"I used this Jumper Box all winter to start my Forklift. I was impressed at how may jumps I got out of it before I had to charge it up again. This is an excellent tool and I don't know how I have gotten along without it for so long. Very good price also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower 800 amp. jumpstarter

,
April 23, 2013
By diggerdan
from Shawano, WI
"Since purchasing this product, we have used it several times in very cold situations and always performed well. On one occasion we forgot to plug it in to recharge it, power was only about half and it still started the car, very impressed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of Mind

,
August 13, 2012
By Jo4therecord
from Milwaukee WI
"My daughter was away at school and needed a battery jump to start her vehicle before coming home. I bought this NPower Jump starter for her to keep handy if the need ever arose again. She did need it one more time, and her boyfriend had to have his car started also. A great purchase with plenty of power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
May 14, 2012
By DSUSMC
from Catawba, NC
"I have had mine for about 6 months now. I have jumped off several vehicles with it and it always has plenty of power to do the job. I also go camping with my son's Cub Scouts and to field training with the National Guard. Having the ability to charge phones, IPods, and anything else 12v makes it very popular with everyone. It has 2 12v outlets and a built in light for use at night. I got a couple 3 to 1 adapters so i can charge 6 things at once and it lasts forever for this. It now goes everywhere I go!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for me

,
May 10, 2012
By Lubedude
from Pasadena , TX
"Had to use it a day after I recieved it, right out of the box without charging. It did the job! I have used it twice since and still haven't had to charge. Good value and really handy to have around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter

,
May 7, 2012
By Etrump
from Longview, TX
"I purchased this product earlier this year. The device was fully charged when received. It is very easy to use and worked as advertised. I used it to jump start my 8N after grinding the installed battery down. The only thing that would improve it would be longer cables, otherwise a very useful tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

,
March 27, 2012
By Boxer
from Norton, Va.
"I just purchased the NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter and tried it out on a completely dead battery on a v-8 engine (the vehicle has'nt been started or charged for 6 months). It fired right up without hesitation with the dome light on. That test was not good enough for me so I turned on the headlights on high beam and once again it started right up. This jumpstarter is a powerhouse. I think I will plug it in for a full charge and dare a battery to fail. I purchased the two year accidental damage replacement warranty giving me a total of three years of unconditional warranty protection. You can't go wrong with this booster."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NP 800 Jumpstarter

,
January 23, 2012
By Retpo
from Mineola, NY
"Fine product, small size but powerful. As big as a womens pocketbook. Does everything you ask of it.
Very easy to use. Recommended
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My NPower 800 Jumpstarter

,
January 18, 2012
By Flawdatrashman
from Orlando,Fl
"This piece of equipment is easy to use and operate.It has a light that tells you if it is connected correctly.It is a little power house of a jumper.It will jump any V-8 without any hesitation.Also it has a spotlight that comes in handy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great , but

,
January 17, 2012
By NHTODDY
from new hampshire
"this unit works great starts my tractor and truck every time i needed it to how ever the plastic housing is easily damaged first time i set it down on the garage floor a corner piece broke off and one of the clamp brackets also broke off that being said it is a great little jump starter and less than half the price of others maybe a more rubberised casing for future modles"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

,
January 13, 2012
By zman007007
from South Carolina
"This jumper worked so well at home, I also purchased one for use at work. At work I have jumped off a couple of diesel truck engines with it and it fired them right up. Now mind you, both batteries in the trucks wasn"t completely dead, just slow turning over the engine. This little unit gave it enough juice to crank them. It sure beats dragging out the old battery charger and lots of feet of power cord."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

jumpstarter

,
January 12, 2012
By bluerunner
from marlboro,nj
"A little worry that the jumpstarter was not powerful enough before I bought it. But I bought it just in time. Battery for my honda was dying. Used jumpstarter about 10 times in that week before i bought a battery. Started the car with no problems each time. Great product works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NPower 800 Amp Jumpstarter - 800 Amp
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine

,
January 9, 2012
By Okie
from Okay, OK.
"So far this battery jumper has worked just fine for me.
I used to put a charger on whatever I had that wouldn't start, and then wait for a couple of hours.
My Son who was a Technician at a car dealer told me that it was easier to just keep one of these on his toolbox. He was right, a little scary when they start being right. LOL"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.