Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"

"NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"

Item# 457808
"NPower offers this innovative, automatic 2/8/12 Amp battery charger/maintainer that is designed to keep 12V batteries charged while maintaining top performance. It works with both gel and AGM batteries and it can be easily set at 2, 8 or 12 Amp charge rate, or the user may simply choose the automatic setting. Also includes 2 Amp battery maintainer option that maintains charge in stored batteries without having to disconnect battery. Simply plug in provided accessory cables into charging port. Powered by a standard wall outlet. Amp Charge Rate 2/8/12, Amps 2/8/12, Cable Gauge 16 AWG output, Charger Type Automatic/manual, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 1, Clamp Material Nickel clad, Dimensions L x W x H in. 11 13/32 x 7 7/8 x 3 15/16, Cable Length in. 72, Case Material Plastic, Power Cord ft. 6, Recharge Time hours at amps Varies on battery, Settings qty. 5, Trickle Recharge Time hours at amps Varies on battery, Overcharge Protection Yes, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Volts 12, Works With 12V battery, gel, AGM. Reverse polarity/short circuit/over temperature protection LED indicators show status for charging, floating and reverse polarity Works with gel and AGM batteries Includes ring terminal and clamp wiring Includes carrying case"
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Review 1 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

npower battery charger

,
November 16, 2014
By eneg121
from lawton michigan
" The npower battery charger is extremely easy to operate with a touch of two buttons you get everything needed to know about the process and and the status of battery being charged. The npower charger tells when your battery is fully charged,as well as the peak charge needed. The automatic function is super it allows battery to charge at lower rates so battery does not does not get damaged by overcharging. All this for so little money!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple

,
February 4, 2014
By elkdeerduck
from Houston, TX
" Saved my ATV battery. Simply plugged it in and let it do its job. Revamped the battery that otherwise would not take a charge. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed within 2 years

,
November 25, 2013
By wkocken
from Minnesota
" This product worked well for a while then it started to fail. At first, it refused to charge a battery that was low. If I could hook the low battery up to my car with jumper cables and get it somewhat charged, then this charger could take over. Of course that's not convenient, or often, just plain impossible.
In the end , the charger would click and the display would flash a few times and then it would just quit.
The instructions are pretty poor and they don't explain what the front, separate hookup actually does. Like another reviewer said, it seems to just put out a flat 2 amps. I never did determine it has a true float charge function.
The cables are unwieldy and get very stiff when it is cold.
Save your money and buy something else. This was a cheap item and I got what I paid for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Problem

,
November 23, 2013
By NiceHarley
from Glen Rose TX
" Charger is very good as long as battery is not completely down. If battery is completely down charger will not operate, other than this it is a very good charger for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best chargers out there

,
October 15, 2013
By CloudlessDay
from Long Island, NY
" This is a truly 3-stage intelligent charger compared to some other so-called smart chargers. It does the initial bulk charge, followed by absorption and then float charge properly and reproducibly. However, it will only stay on float for an hour and then it will stop outputing. If you want to use it as a long-term maintainer, it has a separate outlet you have to connect to and it will only output a constant 2A. So, this may not be for you if you need a smarter maintainer.
A quite unique feature is that it shows the output amperage as well which very few chargers do. Voltage almost never goes above 15V which is a good thing for sealed batteries like AGM. The fans only turn on when necessary and noise level is average.
It does have a few drawbacks. The battery charge level reading only shows LO for anything below 50%, then in increments of 10% up to 90%, and then a final FUL for 100%. Another thing I noticed is the battery charge level reading in the manual 2A or automatic mode is much lower than when it is on the 8A or 12A manual mode which seems to show 90% quite readily. This happens during the beginning of charging, but then slowly they will eventually agree. The unit also emits a strong burning electronics smell though it is subsiding as time goes by.
Overall, this is a real smart charger I feel I can trust. It knows what it is doing and outputs the appropriate voltage and current as needed. You don’t need to worry about overcharging and damaging AGM type batteries with this unit. I would buy it again without hesitation. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performer

,
April 19, 2013
By Kiarny1
from Acworth, GA`
" I was in the market for a charger to keep my boat batteries maintained over the winter when I saw this one for much less than anything comparable. It works excellent at maintaining them, and also charged 2 batteries I had passed off as being bad. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works good

,
August 16, 2012
By farmerM
from Abbeville, SC
" bought it to maintain camper batteries. Does a good job "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
August 13, 2012
By Anonymous
from Vermont
" This battery charger is something I had sought out for years. I'm thrilled to have it. I love the fact that I just plug it in and walk away never having to worry about it overcharging or heating up. It operates flawlessly every time. It's so simple to use anyone could use it. I highly recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good dead battery charger

,
May 7, 2012
By gmtech
from Falcon, NC
" first chager purchased smoked and quit first time plugged in, took back and tried 2nd charger, worked ok, charged dead battery and attempted to charge another dead battery, would not recover battery, charges all types of batterys ok. If LED is flashing battery is bad. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Charger works well

,
June 14, 2011
By williamk
from Coon Rapids, MN
" I've use this battery charger on small lawnmower batteries and full size deep cycle batteries. It works well and it is nice to be able to see volts, amps and battery charge status, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for my needs

,
March 21, 2011
By meeb
from Dallas, Texas
" I use it to charge and maintain my car battery on a vehicle that see's minimal use. I like the charging feature of displaying the current, voltage and percentage. It would be nice if it had this information in the maintainer mode but not necessary. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NPower Automatic Battery Charger/Maintainer - 2/8/12 Amp Charge Rate, 12 Volt Batteries"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

super battery charger

,
November 17, 2010
By Bhanes1
" wasnt what I was expecting thought it was mountable cables and cords to short doesnt show charge status when on maintainer mode only reason I bought this unit was to mount on my semi should have returned or spent 30 dollars more "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.