Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter

Item# 457809
This NPower charger/maintainer provides the power and functionality of a charger, but also includes a 75 Amp jumpstarter that brings batteries back to life. The automatic charger/maintainer keeps 12V batteries charged while maintaining top performance. Can easily be set at 4, 12 or 25 Amp charge rate, or the user can simply choose automatic setting. Includes a 2 Amp battery maintainer option that maintains charge in stored batteries without having to disconnect battery. Simply plug in provided maintainer cables into charging port. Charges Multiple Batteries qty. 1, Settings qty. 5, Trickle Recharge Time hours at amps Varies on battery, Works With 12V battery, gel, AGM, Overcharge Protection Yes, Charger Type Automatic/manual, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Recharge Time hours at amps Varies on battery, Clamp Material Metal, Case Material Plastic, Volts 12, Power Cord ft. 6, Amps 2/4/12/25, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 1/2 x 8 29/32 x 3 15/16, Cable Length in. 72, Cable Gauge 12 AWG output, Amp Charge Rate 4/12 /25. Reverse polarity/short circuit/over temperature protection LED indicators show status for charging, floating and reverse polarity Works with gel and AGM batteries Includes ring terminal and clamp wiring Includes carrying case
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Review 1 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well - clamps are a problem

,
December 3, 2012
By mrrsdata
from N KY
" The day after I got this thing, I found I had a dead car battery after leaving the interior light on all night. I hooked it up and it took of charging the battery in AUTO mode. I looked at the manual while it was charging and pushed all the buttons on charger to see their function. Once I got familar with the unit, I left it go. The next morning the unit was off and the battery indicator light said it was fully charged. The AUTO setting worked as it should. The battery clamps are cheap and not well made and they will not clamp securily or easily on a standard battery terminal. I have already determined that I will replace the factory clamps with a better quality and larger capacity copper clamp. I believe this would be necessary if I would ever have to jump start a vehicle. I own several chargers, but I think this one may become my favorite. Just know that the stock battery clamps are cheap. It would get 5 stars if they were to be improved. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful

,
May 9, 2012
By Glenn10000
from Fort Myers
" This is a great charger, I use it to recharge my backup battery bank consisting of 4 - 8D 1100 amp 12v tractor batteries, It displays how many amps are being charged or the voltage, or the state of charge by selecting with the switch, it will also boost/jump start a vehicle "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Charger

,
February 22, 2012
By ChargedUp
from Binghamton, NY
" I bought this charger a couple of weeks ago to replace another brand charger that failed after little to no use and parts were not available. I hadn't anticipated needing to use this charger so soon but after returning home, I forgot to turn the headlights off on my '97 Dodge diesel. Both batteries were 100% dead after 10 hours when I went to start the truck. I put this charger on 25A mode for 10 minutes and watched the battery voltage climb from 10V to 12V. I decided to try the 75A Start feature and much to my surprise it started my truck in less than 2 seconds. I've never been able to jump start the truck with dead batteries before so I wasn't expecting much from the charger but I was pleasantly surprised. So far money well spent! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD CHARGER

,
January 16, 2012
By GIBBY73
from GEORGIA
" THIS PRODUCT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY SOLID DEEP CHARGE "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

,
January 3, 2012
By TxFire
from Texas
" I bought this charger to attempt to revive a very dead RV battery that my old manual charger would not. It worked awesome in the auto mode. I now use the maintenance/float mode. I just wish you could display volts and amps during float mode. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Charger

,
October 17, 2011
By Dewman1969
from Loveland, CO
" I have used this on small motorcycle batteries as well as RV deep cycle batteries. It works well in both areas. I use it to maintain as well as charge my truck battery that doesn't see regular use. It hasn't let me down yet. It's doesn't have an industrial strength housing, but for home/moderate use it's been fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great with a few idiosyncrisies.

,
June 6, 2011
By Droooooo
from Scarborough, ME
" Charges my plow battery with no problems. The power cords could be a bit more flexible in cold weather. Also, when the battery is fully charged, the charger must be unplugged and then replugged in to indicate a full battery charge. Most likely the reason it was marked down. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great charger

,
December 5, 2010
By ToolBoxTavern
from Texas
" I own & operate a big truck (18 wheeler) and have toys (atvs). I am able to charge batteries on my big truck, cars, riding lawn mowers, and 4 wheelers. Also a great automatic feature. I am satisfied with this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NPower Automatic 4/12/25 Amp Battery Charger/Maintainer/Jumpstarter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Charger -- Lousy Battery Clamps

,
September 18, 2010
By dawog
from Colorado Springs, CO
" I've only had this charger for less than a month, but I've used it on 3 automobile batteries & 2 garden tractor batteries so far and love it... EXCEPT FOR THE BATTERY CLAMPS! If not for the cheap battery clamps, I would have given this charger a 5 Star rating. The "Automatic" charging mode appears to work like a charm without overheating the battery. Unfortunately, the provided battery clamps won't even open far enough to clamp on to batteries that are installed in vehicles (or tractors) in which vehicle cables are already attached to the battery terminals. They only open far enough to go around a battery terminal that isn't connected to the vehicle or tractor.
In summary -- GREAT CHARGER! But for the price, I expected more substantial (& wider opening) battery clamps. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.