Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"

"FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"

Item# 459382
"Heavy-duty NorthStar 30-gallon horizontal air compressor is powered by a quality Honda gasoline engine with 3 Amp charging system. Belt-driven full cast iron two-stage pump features V-type cylinder design for superior cooling, Low Vibration Technology LVT for smooth operation and floating-type Swedish steel valves for long valve life. Crankshaft has bearings on both ends for excellent support. Features a durable steel belt guard, liquid-filled pressure gauge for better accuracy and protection against pressure spikes. Engine Honda GX 390 OHV, Tank Type Horizontal, Start Type Electric w/recoil backup, Duty Cycle 100, Engine Idle Control Yes, Air Outlet Size in. 3/4 ball valve, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 x 19 x 40, Drive Belt, Low Oil Protection Yes, Pump Cast iron, Stage 2, HP 12, Air Tank Size gal. 30, CFM at 135 PSI 21.4, After-Cooler Included Yes, CFM at 175 PSI 18.7, CFM at 90 PSI 24.4, Max. PSI 175, CFM at 40 PSI 26.8, Engine Displacement cc 390, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, Drain System Manual. Honda GX390 OHV engine with electric start/recoil backup and low oil shutdown 3 Amp battery charging circuit battery not included Full cast iron pump for long service life V-style cylinder design for superior cooling Pump head made of FC35 Grade cast iron Floating-type Swedish steel valves deliver much longer valve life Operates at slower RPM to run cooler and last longer Low Vibration Technology LVT features a dynamically balanced pump for smooth operation and long life One-piece cast iron crankcase has bearings on both ends of crankshaft for superior crankshaft support, not overhung crankshaft design 100 duty cycle Delivers 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI 175 max. PSI Pump runs at 1300 RPM Oversized flywheel for cooler operation Heavy cast iron flywheel provides extra momentum Step-type piston rings ensure piston ring overlap for better compression Sight glass for quick viewing of oil level Replaceable crank journals and wrist pin journal/needle bearings Two-piece connecting rods can be rebuilt for superior serviceability High pressure piston wrist pins have needle bearings Easy start lever on unloader valve isolates pump from tank pressure, so engine won't have to start under load Durable steel belt guard Liquid-filled pressure gauge 3/4in. NPT outlet 30-gallon ASME-certified horizontal tank Extend your NorthStar pump warranty to 5 years with the purchase and use of a NorthStar start-up kit Item# 45934"
Average Customer Rating:
4.838 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
May 14, 2016
By
from USA
We have purchased 4 so far and are switching our entire fleet over to this compressor. Smart spend
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent air compressor

,
May 2, 2016
By
from Titusville, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This air compressor is, in my opinion, equal to the name brand one that costs $1000 more for the same specs basically. Engine starts with one pull everytime. I'm going to install a battery eventually but till then, it's very easy to pull start. Builds air pressure very quick and keeps up with all my air tools without any problem. Excellent product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Build Quality

,
April 6, 2016
By
from Tampa Fl
The quality of the finished unit is as good as the name brands. This is our second one in six months
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mislead

,
April 4, 2016
By
from Frederick, MD
Haven't started the unit yet for the reason you'll see in the following. The accessories section states "you'll need" air compressor start-up kits + oil. Not unreasonable to think this would be needed but the the kit is only for the compressor motor which already had oil and a filter. What I did need was engine oil!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good power and psi

,
April 1, 2016
By
from Nw ohio
Tank is coated well and works well. I would buy another.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent Compressor

,
February 11, 2016
By
from Clinton, MO
We have purchased 3 of these for our AG salvage yard and they perform flawlessly. It keeps up with our 1/2" impacts during continued use without having to stop and let the tank catch up. It works almost as well with the 3/4" impacts. They are will built and we have had no mechanical issues whatsoever, and we use them everyday. The oldest one is over 2 years and we have only do basic maintenance once a year.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor!

,
December 4, 2015
By
from New Mexico
Great product..... I own 2 of them now.
Starts 1st time everytime!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!

,
May 7, 2015
By
from Philipsburg, PA
We use this compressor on our mobile lubricating trailers to provide air to 6 tanks of lubricant. We put them out on the job site and our customers use them to perform oil changes on site. This unit has now problem keeping up the air pressure that the system demands. I have purchased 6 of these to put into use and will be purchasing more in the future.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product,

,
March 16, 2015
By
from Illinois
Honda small engines best on the market. I've had this mounted on my work truck for 5 years and not had one problem. 30 gal tank you can run 1 in impact. Buzz off one nut at a time and it pumps back up pretty fast so it works out good.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Gas Compressor

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Chicago
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have not used the compressor for its intended purpose yet, which is fall winterization of a lake house and sprinkler systems. However, the unit has been "installed" on a trailer also purchased through Northern Tool and had a few test runs. It starts very easily with the electric start and appears to be a great unit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gas power air compressor

,
January 12, 2015
By
from york pa
this unit gets used almost every day in our service tk .
It runs a i inch gun with no problems .
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for what I want.

,
September 27, 2014
By
from Billings, MT
I haven't hooked up a starter battery yet, might not. It is a bit of a tug to turn it over, but it starts very easily. I have been using it to power a soda blaster, no problem keeping up. I intend to blow out some sprinkler systems on property I own. Only complaint is a rattly drive belt safety cover, not a big deal.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Greeley Ks.
Have had this item for a year and use it regularly. Have added extra storage tanks and mounted it on a trailer, great for anywhere use. It does a great job, and starts every time, no matter how cold or hot. I would highly recommend.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Holland, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
I bought this unit last fall and have put many hours on it. I am very impressed at how quick the 30-Gallon tank refills, and at how easy the Honda motor starts EVERY time. I have this mounted in the back of my truck and it has not skipped a beat. The paint job of all the components and coatings do a very good job handling all kinds of weather with little sings of weathering.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By
from maryland
compressor worked great. Have it hooked you to a asphault sealcoat rig. Its works all day with out missing a beat. Only complant is bolts came loose behind belt gard. Other than that has been a great tool
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

implement assembly

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Lawton Ok
I have owned one of these for about four years now and never had a problem out of it. Will run a 1/2" gun all day. It has payed for itself numerous times already. Great air compressor.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Worthington, MN
This compressor is everything described. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-22points
5out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

On Demand Air

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Mt. Pleasant MI
Great product - honda engine is very reliable, I custom remote mounted mine under a roof in the back of my shop with controls located inside - nice set up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

diver down

,
February 4, 2012
By
from Anacortes, Wa
I've converted it to a dive compressor, it has been outside in the weather and rocking around on a boat and has not missed a beat. Builds pressure fast and not a lot of moisture in the air tank at the end of a 8 hr day
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect air

,
October 10, 2011
By
from Rocky Mountains
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Received my NorthStar Compressor via truck ship in perfect condition. In my shop I transfered the compressor from the shipping pallet to my small equipment trailer. It is well balanced on the four feet and one person able to move about on from the steel forks to the trailer platform. I added the motor oil and gasoline fuel. Hooked the battery on line and turned the switch to start. One or two starter cycles and the new engine started. Project support for this machine is to corn-cob the log lodge and work very hard. Forty hours into work and not one single issue.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DynamiteNelson
Saint Paul, MN 
 
Please wait while more information about DynamiteNelson is loaded.
Additional information about DynamiteNelson could not be loaded.
Totally Agree
April 5, 2012
" I'll be buying NorthStar again! "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)