Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI

FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI

Item# 459382
Heavy-duty NorthStar 30-gallon horizontal air compressor is powered by a quality Honda gasoline engine with 3 Amp charging system. Belt-driven full cast iron two-stage pump features V-type cylinder design for superior cooling, Low Vibration Technology LVT for smooth operation and floating-type Swedish steel valves for long valve life. Crankshaft has bearings on both ends for excellent support. Features a durable steel belt guard, liquid-filled pressure gauge for better accuracy and protection against pressure spikes. After-Cooler Included Yes, Air Outlet Size in. 3/4 ball valve, Drive Belt, Duty Cycle 100, Air Tank Size gal. 30, CFM at 90 PSI 24.4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 x 19 x 40, Drain System Manual, Max. PSI 175, Portable or Stationary Stationary, Engine Honda GX 390 OHV, Engine Displacement cc 390, Engine Idle Control Yes, Low Oil Protection Yes, Pump Cast iron, Stage 2, Start Type Electric w/recoil backup, Tank Type Horizontal, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, HP 12, CFM at 175 PSI 18.7, CFM at 40 PSI 26.8. Honda GX390 OHV engine with electric start/recoil backup and low oil shutdown 3 Amp battery charging circuit battery not included Full cast iron pump for long service life V-style cylinder design for superior cooling Pump head made of FC35 Grade cast iron Floating-type Swedish steel valves deliver much longer valve life Operates at slower RPM to run cooler and last longer Low Vibration Technology LVT features a dynamically balanced pump for smooth operation and long life One-piece cast iron crankcase has bearings on both ends of crankshaft for superior crankshaft support, not overhung crankshaft design 100 duty cycle Delivers 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI 175 max. PSI Pump runs at 1300 RPM Oversized flywheel for cooler operation Heavy cast iron flywheel provides extra momentum Step-type piston rings ensure piston ring overlap for better compression Sight glass for quick viewing of oil level Replaceable crank journals and wrist pin journal/needle bearings Two-piece connecting rods can be rebuilt for superior serviceability High pressure piston wrist pins have needle bearings Easy start lever on unloader valve isolates pump from tank pressure, so engine won't have to start under load Durable steel belt guard Liquid-filled pressure gauge 3/4in. NPT outlet 30-gallon ASME-certified horizontal tank Extend your NorthStar pump warranty to 5 years with the purchase and use of a NorthStar start-up kit Item# 45934
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for what I want.

,
September 27, 2014
By MarksTR4
from Billings, MT
"I haven't hooked up a starter battery yet, might not. It is a bit of a tug to turn it over, but it starts very easily. I have been using it to power a soda blaster, no problem keeping up. I intend to blow out some sprinkler systems on property I own. Only complaint is a rattly drive belt safety cover, not a big deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
February 4, 2014
By Bearcub2
from Greeley Ks.
"Have had this item for a year and use it regularly. Have added extra storage tanks and mounted it on a trailer, great for anywhere use. It does a great job, and starts every time, no matter how cold or hot. I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor

,
February 4, 2014
By pb123
from Holland, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
I bought this unit last fall and have put many hours on it. I am very impressed at how quick the 30-Gallon tank refills, and at how easy the Honda motor starts EVERY time. I have this mounted in the back of my truck and it has not skipped a beat. The paint job of all the components and coatings do a very good job handling all kinds of weather with little sings of weathering."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By srbill
from maryland
"compressor worked great. Have it hooked you to a asphault sealcoat rig. Its works all day with out missing a beat. Only complant is bolts came loose behind belt gard. Other than that has been a great tool"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

implement assembly

,
September 17, 2013
By alreadytaken
from Lawton Ok
"I have owned one of these for about four years now and never had a problem out of it. Will run a 1/2" gun all day. It has payed for itself numerous times already. Great air compressor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 8, 2012
By vikefan
from Worthington, MN
"This compressor is everything described. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-18points
4out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

On Demand Air

,
August 20, 2012
By Gatrp
from Mt. Pleasant MI
"Great product - honda engine is very reliable, I custom remote mounted mine under a roof in the back of my shop with controls located inside - nice set up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

diver down

,
February 4, 2012
By diverchase
from Anacortes, Wa
"I've converted it to a dive compressor, it has been outside in the weather and rocking around on a boat and has not missed a beat. Builds pressure fast and not a lot of moisture in the air tank at the end of a 8 hr day"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect air

,
October 10, 2011
By oldpower
from Rocky Mountains
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Received my NorthStar Compressor via truck ship in perfect condition. In my shop I transfered the compressor from the shipping pallet to my small equipment trailer. It is well balanced on the four feet and one person able to move about on from the steel forks to the trailer platform. I added the motor oil and gasoline fuel. Hooked the battery on line and turned the switch to start. One or two starter cycles and the new engine started. Project support for this machine is to corn-cob the log lodge and work very hard. Forty hours into work and not one single issue."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DynamiteNelson
Saint Paul, MN 
 
Please wait while more information about DynamiteNelson is loaded.
Additional information about DynamiteNelson could not be loaded.
Totally Agree
April 5, 2012
"I'll be buying NorthStar again!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
April 28, 2011
By dumptruckowner
from Chicago
"Bought this compressor about 3 years ago and it is by far the best item in my shop. I use it to work on a small fleet of trucks and it does exactly what i need it to do every time. Starts very easy with or without battery every time. Excellent value for money"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor

,
November 16, 2010
By Coach2010
"I own this product. I have had it since March. I am very happy with its performance. I would highly recommend it! Works great when I am doing overlays on concrete. Excellent!"
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor

,
September 3, 2010
By DP2409
from San Jose,CA
"Works great with all air tools you buy this product it will save you lots of time then using conventional tools which time take up so much time .
DP2409
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding

,
August 30, 2010
By maryw
from Jtown Ar
"I own this product and use it a lot,when working on vehicles it does outstanding perfomances,i would recommend this product to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

its worth it

,
June 2, 2010
By Mobileservice
from West Monroe, LA
"I bought this compressor in Jan. '09 and it is more than paid for itself. I have had to tighten the belts and adjust the pressure setting, but other than that it has been great. When I add another truck to my fleet it will have one in it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
November 2, 2009
By DKey
from Chambersburg, PA
"We have used the 390cc compressor on our service truck for several years. It is bolted to the back of the truck and sits outside in all kinds of weather. Whenever it is needed it starts right up and does its job. No worries, ever. It performs so well that we just bought another one to put on another service truck that we are outfitting. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a tough compressor. It comes with the reliability of a Honda motor and the toughness of NorthStar componentry. You can't go wrong with this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Price = Food Compressor!

,
July 30, 2009
By Mobile23452
from Virginia Beach, VA 23452
"I have owned this model compressor for over 18 months now. I have mounted it on my personal mobile mechanic service truck. It starts right up (even in cold weather) with the pull cord within 2 pulls. It is really the best compressor out there for the money. Even when compared to INGERSOLL-RAND = It puts out more CFM & was $400 cheaper when I bought it!! That (in itself) says a lot about the quality of this set up!! It even airs up COMPLETELY from 0 PSI in anout 2 minutes. What else needs to be said here??
The only bad thing about the compressor I have is 2 things. One, the powder coating under the air compressor & engine was not sprayed well & this area is beginning to rust. Two, after running this compressor for a 2 hour straight period (while sanding with a dual action sander) the emergency valves began to leak. All I can think about that is the head gaskets on the compressor have blown or the valves are messed up a little. Mine is set up to kick down at 150 psi & the thing is "venting" out of the emergency valve going back into the compressor.
"Besides these small things, this compressor is worth it wait in gold!""
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13hp honda northstar compressor

,
March 16, 2009
By erock169
from nebraska city,ne.
"this compressor is excellent!! i run a mobile tire repair company in nebraska. i have owned this for almost 3 years now. never ever any trouble i always keep up the service on this and man what a return i am getting back from this purchase 10 star quality!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
November 18, 2008
By Redarc
from Atlantic County New Jersey
"I shopped around and this machine offers the best performance for the money.
I mounted it on my mobile welding trailer and it starts and runs great. It easily keeps up with my plasma cutter and I can run any of my high consumption air tools 100%
The machine is very well constructed and I would recommend it to anyone needing a heavy duty compressor.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for money!

,
November 18, 2008
By TNRabbit
from Southern Maryland
"I purchased this compressor in May 2007 for use in an complete rebuild of a 1994 Toyota Pickup. This compressor has only had one issue (a valve on the compressor failed & was promptly replaced by Northern Tool) and performs beautifully. It has not hiccuped since then, starts easily every time, and is very reliable. I've purchased many tools from Northern & find their name brand equipment to be a great value. I would make one recommendation and that is to be sure you use AT LEAST 1/2" air hose with a MINIMUM of 3/8" fittings/connectors to get the most from the massive output of this beast!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - NorthStar Portable Gas-Powered Air Compressor - Honda GX390 OHV Engine, 30-Gallon Horizontal Tank, 24.4 CFM @ 90 PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
August 12, 2008
By matco
from texas
"has plenty of power to get the job done. put this in service truck and it has not missed a lick"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.