Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500

RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500

Item# 490500
The RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit is a compressed air piping system designed for automotive and woodworking shops, trailers or home garages. Uses flexible nylon tubing. Coupler Size in. 1/2, Pieces qty. 4, Max. PSI 150. Flexible 1/2in. nylon tubing can be mounted behind walls or on the surface Kit includes manifold kit, 2 outlet kits and 100 feet of tubing Quick couplers not included Rated up to 150 PSI Aluminum outlet blocks provide a clean, professional look No soldering or threading required Tubing presses into quick-disconnect fittings and locks into place Quick-connect fittings allow for easy reconfiguration just push the button into the body and tubing can be removed Aluminum blocks and quick-connect fittings are corrosion-free and will not rust or degrade over time Includes cutter for perfectly smooth, square tube ends Optional elbows, tees, unions and outlets sold separately let you configure your system to fit any space
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (59 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
58 of 59(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Review 1 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
March 11, 2014
By GarageTinkering
from Central CT
"The piping was very user friendly. Ran all the pipe I needed with some extra fittings and the first time I pressurized it there was no leaks and ready to use. I ran 3/4" plastic conduit along the walls and ran the pipe inside the conduit. Looks much cleaner and it's a lot easier to keep the pipe straight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 5, 2014
By TWM41
from Brashear,MO
"Bought this plus a second 100 ft of tubing in 2013 and installed 4 drops in my shop building. I have 50 ft hose reels hooked up to 2 of the drops for airing up tires and running air tools. I have 2 drops over by my work bench for when I am working in that area. I just recently purchased another one of these systems to install in my 40x60 building at the ranch and will hook up hose reels for both of these drops as well. We often need to air up tires or blow dust and debris off tractors and quad runners at the ranch. Waiting for warm weather to stretch out tubing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

With a little effort the system works

,
February 4, 2014
By chief223
from Minnesota
"This system is the lightest with 1/2 hose. The Kit could have used a few more parts and the outlets did not have any quick connectors included. Connectors ARE included when you purchase additional outlets. Installation is straight forward and was quite ease with two people. The threads on the aluminum block outlets were rough and I had to run all of them with a die to have the units mate well. It took about 3 tries to find all the leaks, but once done, the system seems to work well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapid Air

,
February 4, 2014
By mervski
from Okanagan Falls BC
"have not completely installed it, the pieces look like pretty good quality stuff, should look good when I am done"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

RapidAir 1/2" Master kit

,
February 4, 2014
By Racinggeek
from Billings, Mt
"Love the product, easy install with many options. Made every corner of my garage usable without having air hoses strung everywhere. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that the kit could use a few more fittings but then again, for the price you can't go wrong. I priced making my own system out of black pipe and the end cost would have been more and wouldn't have looked near as good or had as many options."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what you think it is.

,
February 4, 2014
By BuckofTexas
from Mineral Wells, Texas
"When I order this kit I assumed that it had every thing I needed to set this system up. That was not the case.
Although the photo in the add shows quick couplers they are not included with the package. Also, the clips to mount the hose to the wall is not included, nor is there any hardware for connecting this to your compressor.
On the outside of the box, it shows all this hardware but in very small print it says "not included".
As for the product itself, I has been very easy to work with and seems to be holding the presure well. I just wish I had not had to make several trips to the hardware store to get it installed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to it's name

,
February 4, 2014
By JM1and4characters
from Cary, NC
"This product definitely lives up to it's name. It goes together very quickly and is easy to distribute around the garage. All of the pieces look to be of good quality, and the system held air with no leaks on the first try.
The "kit" comes with almost all of the items that you'll need to install, but you'll probably still need a few adapters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit

,
September 17, 2013
By LINDA12
from Boston, Ma
"Excellent, Easy installation for multi-levels and even for outside wall mount Air Meter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works, but plan out the install before starting

,
May 27, 2013
By Combackid
from Chicago, IL
"This is a great concept, but the quality control and missing but required parts make this a questionable purchase. It goes together reasonably quickly (once you get everything together) and is fairly attractive given that it avoids having to having to rip down the walls. My system was airtight on my first attempt.
However, the manufacturer seems to have withheld a few required yet inexpensive parts in an attempt, in my humble opinion, to require you to purchase them separately in order to make a few extra dollars.
First, the kit includes none of the clips that fit the OD of the hose. There is no way to cleanly mount the lines without them, but they do sell 12 of them separately for a few bucks. I bought similar clips at the box store for about half, but I suggest that the manufacturer could easily buy in bulk and economically provide a way to avoid having to stop mid project and go to the store. Furthermore, there is no way that I could find to connect the system to the compressor. I ended up purchasing a reducer to get the system to connect to the standard 1/4" fitting coming out of the compressor. Again, this is marketed as a system that is complete, yet you can't finish it without additional parts. I would have gladly paid a few extra dollars to save the wasted time going to the store. Additionally, it would have been beneficial to have a roll of threading tape, but I suppose that those who would install such a system would have that on hand.
Lastly, the quality control leaves a bit to be desired. The fittings require a fair amount of threading tape in order to seal. It's certainly not the end of the world, but in a closed air supply system, I would have expected a bit more precision. All in all, it works. It could be pretty slick if they just put in a bit more effort and some thought for the installer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RapidAir 1/2

,
April 25, 2013
By JDll
from Oklahoma
"This Kit really is as described, very easy to install & works well. I loaded it to 150 PSI (slowly) after installation for leak ck & did have a few leaks on the air outlets but the tubing was leak free & the leaks were minor & easy fixes. I installed this system in the wall prior to hanging the walls & added three extra outlets for a total of five. This product is well worth the effort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy installation

,
April 24, 2013
By DocJ
from Williamsburg, VA
"Great Product! In the process of finishing out my basement and decided to install this system in my future woodworking shop. Very easy to install. So far I've put in four air stations and I'm probably going to add a couple more while the walls are open including running one up to my garage. I'm very happy there is a system like this out there. The thoughts of having to run all that hard pipe were daunting. I only had one issue and that was one of the brass plugs must have had bad threads because I couldn't seat it all the way and it leaked when pressure tested. Used a black iron plug and it works like a dream."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Compressed Air distribution system

,
September 19, 2012
By DanDog
from Cleveland, Ohio
"This product is great, it comes with everything you need
(except couplers) and I added a filter. As simple as it was to install, I was sure I would have a leak somewhere. Nothing, not even a small hiss. Be sure you use teflon tape on all threaded connections.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!!!

,
August 21, 2012
By jfg1300
from upstate new york
"I was getting ready to insulate and finish the interior of my garage and was looking into running compressed air before hand. I came across this kit and it was perfect. I was a little uneasy at first cause i didnt know how the connections would work as far a leaks etc. Long story short i purchased two kits for the extra line and blocks, a few fittings then ran four home run lines to the compressor which i put into the attic. I took my time with the installation and had not one leaks or problems. It was very easy to set up and everything worked flawlessly. It has been over a year since installed and i have had no problems and i would recommend this product for its quality, and for anyone who is looking to put in a compressed air line system. overall a great product!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
August 20, 2012
By fordguy55
from Vicksburg, Ms
"will use pvc to help with the coiling of the line but other than that i will buy more of their products"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

RapidAir Master Kit

,
August 14, 2012
By Boltman
from Carson City, NV
"This is a great product, very happy with the quality and performance. One thing to pay attention to when pushing the hose into the fittings. Be careful to hold the tubing close to the end there the fitting is going. Because the fittings take a lot of pressure to push on and seal properly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Ray0
NV 
 
Please wait while more information about Ray0 is loaded.
Additional information about Ray0 could not be loaded.
hard assembly
September 3, 2012
"In a situation like this I use liquid dish soap to ease assembly. with an acid brush or even an old toothbrush apply soap to the barb and then push the hose on, It really helps out. Works great on sparkplug wires into the insulating nipples as well."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rapid Air 1/2in Master Kit

,
May 8, 2012
By Mtnmauler
from Ridgecrest, CA
"I finally got around to setting this up in my garage, very easy to do although the coiled up piping was a bit of a bear to work with. The kit does not come with any "T" connectors so you must use a manifold if you want to go two directions. The good thing is it's as easy to disassemble as it is to assemble so making changes will be a breeze. I'll order a couple of "T" then I'll have a couple of more drops.Very nice product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapid Air 1/2 master kit

,
May 7, 2012
By bobshomeservices
from Carmel, In
"I bought this to use in my wood working shop.Installation is simple and fast . I added a air line filter to keep the water out of my air tools. The nice thing is that you can add additional outlets easily. I have been using it for six months and have not had any problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
May 7, 2012
By snuffysmith
from N.E. Florida
"It works as it should. Very easy to install. Easy to add an additional outlet where you need it later. No leaks and plenty of air. Only negative is the tubing cutter is cheap and you must use care when cutting tubing as to not break the cutter. I ordered 2 kits so had an extra cutter and the second one worked good just needed to be a little careful using it. I have used many different airline options for shops in the past and this option is cost effective, works well, and easiest by far of all the others. You wont be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
January 17, 2012
By caredg2
from Dallas, TX
"The installation of this product was very straight forward. The quality of the assemblies are durable and functional. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 12, 2012
By NDFarming
from North Dakota
"The product is easy to install anybody can do it as long as you tighten the fitting and push the hose in all the way. The only draw back to it is when you are using it to run a cutoff wheel or something that requires alot of air and you are far away from your air source (80 ft or more) it doesn't keep up as well. I took a 100 gallon propane tank and plumbed it in at the other end of my shop from the compressor and that helped alot. over all it works good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.