Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"

"RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"

Item# 490500
"The RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit is a compressed air piping system designed for automotive and woodworking shops, trailers or home garages. Uses flexible nylon tubing. Pieces qty. 4, Max. PSI 150, Coupler Size in. 1/2. Flexible 1/2in. nylon tubing can be mounted behind walls or on the surface Kit includes manifold kit, 2 outlet kits and 100 feet of tubing Manifold kit includes 1 manifold block, 4 3/8in. NPT straight fittings, 2 union elbows, 1 3/8in. NPT plug Two outlet kits each include 1 3/8in. NPT straight fitting, 1 union elbow, 1 drain valve, 1 1/4in. NPT nipple, 1 1/4in. NPT 45 fitting, 1 3/8in. NPT plug Quick couplers not included Rated up to 150 PSI Aluminum outlet blocks provide a clean, professional look No soldering or threading required Tubing presses into quick-disconnect fittings and locks into place Quick-connect fittings allow for easy reconfiguration just push the button into the body and tubing can be removed Aluminum blocks and quick-connect fittings are corrosion-free and will not rust or degrade over time Includes tubing cutter for perfectly smooth, square tube ends Optional elbows, tees, unions and outlets sold separately let you configure your system to fit any space"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (91 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
88 of 91(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Review 1 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Flexible Solution

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Greenville NC
I've installed the Rapid Air system in my home shop and in my commercial Sign business. We recently expanded another 4,000 SF of shop space, and tapping the existing RapidAir system and continuing the system was a simple job that took just a could of hours. It is important to go back (with soapy water) and check each and every connection to make sure each of the push in connections and threaded fittings have no slow leaks, but once you've got it sealed up, you're in good shape. With longer runs to areas needing high CFM, you may need to move up to the 3/4" system for better flow.
It's a great system thats easy to install and saves hours of pipe fitting headaches and it is a fraction of the cost.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Farmington
Very fast and easy to run air in about any shop or garage. Manifolds are very clean looking and easy to mount.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

rapidair 1/2in.

,
January 9, 2016
By
from goldendale, WA
Good quality, easy to install, would have given it 5 stars but the poly cutter broke, very cheap.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Restricts air flow too much

,
November 18, 2015
By
from Tennessee
Note that the elbows greatly restrict air flow. This is a common problem with most plumbing, but more so with this product. I have 5 elbows between were my air compressor is and the air hose I connect air tools to. I cannot get enough air flow to fully power my air impact wrench. The easy fix is to skip as many elbows as possible and snake the pipe. I would recommend skipping the 1/2 and go for the 3/4 or 1 pipe. The elbows need to be redesigned so they maintain a 1/2 opening.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapid Air 1/2" Master Kit

,
November 6, 2015
By
from Northern AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Great System. Simple to install. I have a 40' x 70' Metal Building that I outfitted with the 1/2" Rapid Air system. I purchased 2 systems and a few extra parts like Tees so I would have enough drops. My system includes 4 drop ports around the perimeter and a ceiling mounted hose reel. I Followed the instructions and was careful to properly seat each fitting and have no issues with leaks. I noted in other reviews that some had trouble seating the plugs in the back of the ports for flush surface mount, I had no problems with this as I have a long handled Allen wrench that allowed me to seat them flush. The 1/2" main works fine for me as I intend to only use 1 or 2 drops at a time. Definitely a great value for the added convenience of not having to drag hoses all around the shop from the compressor. I highly recommend this system.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 6, 2015
By
from Youngstown, OH
Actually ended up buying 2 of these kits as that was the most cost effective way to get all the items I needed. Very easy to install. Professional in appearance and function. The plastic tubing was easy to work with and the included cutter made the installation as foolproof as possible. Leak free the first time and fully operational in a micro brewery. Only drawback was that the plugs for the back holes in the manifolds did not screw in flush, which made mounting the manifolds on the wall a little more difficult.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install

,
July 24, 2015
By
from Topeka, KS
The RapidAir system is easy to install and dependable. We have used this system in our shop air system for over two years and are very happy with it. We have had no problems and it is easy to add onto if necessary.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

RapidAir in garage

,
June 17, 2015
By
from ND
Installation went pretty well, garage attic crawling and all, but I do have a slow leak and disconnect this piping when not in use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Air Setup

,
June 9, 2015
By
from Cape Coral, FL
This product comes complete with everything you need to setup your garage with a basic air compressor air tool muli drop setup.
This is so easy anyone could do it. You can't beat the price and the quality.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to install

,
April 21, 2015
By
from Delaware
The product was very easy to install without any problems. Do have a lot of small leaks that cause the compressor to cycle every hour. Still working of trying to minimize the leaks and increase the cycle time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Shop Air

,
April 13, 2015
By
from Bluffton, IN
I installed this air system in my auto repair shop. It is a smaller shop so 1/2" works real good. It installed super easy and I have been using it for three weeks and it works great. Plenty of air flow and the outlet blocks are perfect for mounting on the wall or hoist or wherever you want to put them.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to install

,
March 13, 2015
By
from Woodhull,il
What a easy product to work with. Once I figured out my layout In the shop it took me less then an hour to get it all hooked up. I will say they the hose needs to be uncoiled before you begin working with it. All the connectors fit well with no leaks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works but check details

,
February 21, 2015
By
from Montana
This system goes together really well, very easy to install, everything is in the kit to plumb in the air system, minus your choice of air coupler. The issue I had with it is the 1/2" is the OD, so the actual line size is smaller. This is stated in the specs, I read 1/2" and just assumed internal diameter. It does drop out a lot of pressure by the end of the runs, I ran 150 lb of pressure into the manifold, split the line 3 ways to 3 outlets, the furthest being 50' from the manifold and the max pressure I have at that outlet is 65 lbs. Since that outlet is supposed to handle a sandblast cabinet, I'm going to have to redo that section.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Much Tubing

,
February 21, 2015
By
from Eastern Shore of VA
I would have traded a few less feet of tubing for a few more connectors but the kit performed as advertised. I hd no leaks and got the job done is about 2 hours.
Would have bought additional outlets if I could have seen how.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does just what it says

,
January 30, 2015
By
from North Carolina
Rapid air is easy to install and works well. Mine is fairly extensive (about 160 linear feet) with 5 drop lines to fittings for tools. It has a very minor leak such that without using tools the compressor will run briefly about once every couple of hours.
Only observation is that the instructions could certainly be more complete. Details on how to use the various fittings would have kept me from having to make 3 orders for more parts.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Self wind air hose reel

,
January 22, 2015
By
from ellisville, mississippi
The mechanics of the reel are great But the air hose are very poor quality. NT replaced them right off the bat. The second set did the same thing ( dry rot right away).I went to another brand hose out of my pocket and since then I have not had any problems. Jay L.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Misleading Pictures

,
January 19, 2015
By
from St Louis, MO
You really have to get into the fine print to figure out that the quick connects are not included in this product because every picture shows them. Very misleading.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RapidAir

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Upstate ny
Very simple and easy to use , took me about 2 hours to plumb the entire shop. Makes life a lot easier not tripping over air hoses and having air right where you need it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost too easy!

,
January 8, 2015
By
from PA
Nice kit for adding air lines to a home garage. Very easy to install and easy to add on to later.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Air Delivery for my Studio

,
January 4, 2015
By
from Cutchogue, NY
A great product. This was originally recommended to me by a friend, a professional in the automotive field. He was right; it is terrific for use by a wood turner, like me, ----it conveniently and neatly brings the air to where it is needed in the studio. I highly recommend this product for use in a woodworker's workshop.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.