Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"

"RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"

Item# 490500
"The RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit is a compressed air piping system designed for automotive and woodworking shops, trailers or home garages. Uses flexible nylon tubing. Coupler Size in. 1/2, Max. PSI 150, Pieces qty. 4. Flexible 1/2in. nylon tubing can be mounted behind walls or on the surface Kit includes manifold kit, 2 outlet kits and 100 feet of tubing Manifold kit includes 1 manifold block, 4 3/8in. NPT straight fittings, 2 union elbows, 1 3/8in. NPT plug Two outlet kits each include 1 3/8in. NPT straight fitting, 1 union elbow, 1 drain valve, 1 1/4in. NPT nipple, 1 1/4in. NPT 45 fitting, 1 3/8in. NPT plug Quick couplers not included Rated up to 150 PSI Aluminum outlet blocks provide a clean, professional look No soldering or threading required Tubing presses into quick-disconnect fittings and locks into place Quick-connect fittings allow for easy reconfiguration just push the button into the body and tubing can be removed Aluminum blocks and quick-connect fittings are corrosion-free and will not rust or degrade over time Includes tubing cutter for perfectly smooth, square tube ends Optional elbows, tees, unions and outlets sold separately let you configure your system to fit any space"
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (76 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
74 of 76(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Review 1 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Self wind air hose reel

,
January 22, 2015
By jawbreaker
from ellisville, mississippi
" The mechanics of the reel are great But the air hose are very poor quality. NT replaced them right off the bat. The second set did the same thing ( dry rot right away).I went to another brand hose out of my pocket and since then I have not had any problems. Jay L. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Misleading Pictures

,
January 19, 2015
By phoenix4023
from St Louis, MO
" You really have to get into the fine print to figure out that the quick connects are not included in this product because every picture shows them. Very misleading. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RapidAir

,
January 12, 2015
By Bigdaddy13
from Upstate ny
" Very simple and easy to use , took me about 2 hours to plumb the entire shop. Makes life a lot easier not tripping over air hoses and having air right where you need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost too easy!

,
January 8, 2015
By NWPaTim
from PA
" Nice kit for adding air lines to a home garage. Very easy to install and easy to add on to later. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Air Delivery for my Studio

,
January 4, 2015
By CVH3207
from Cutchogue, NY
" A great product. This was originally recommended to me by a friend, a professional in the automotive field. He was right; it is terrific for use by a wood turner, like me, ----it conveniently and neatly brings the air to where it is needed in the studio. I highly recommend this product for use in a woodworker's workshop. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad - room for improvement

,
December 24, 2014
By j4398
from Iowa
" This air line kit is a nice concept - but could use some improvement. The kit is quick to assemble and easy to run lines in your garage or workshop. The push-to-connect fittings are a nice feature as this makes the install a snap.
One problem I had with my kit was getting the threaded fittings to seal up properly, but, after several re-tries with the thread paste I was able to get things sealed up.
Another problem is that it is very confusing as to which pieces are included in the kit when I was looking at this product online. Even in person the box the kit came in is misleading as to what pieces are in there. It doesn't come with the quick couplers outlet for the air hose. This is good because there are many different types so I just bought the right one to fit my connector type. The kit also doesn't include any means to connect to the compressor, or any clips to attach the lines to the wall/ceiling.
I did purchase the recommended clips separately but found them to be very poorly made - I broke several of them in the installation process. I think you could find more durable clips elsewhere. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500

,
December 16, 2014
By 69cpe351
from charlotte, nc
" The RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit is an awesome way to keep your shop looking good and ready for air anywhere you desire. The push-lock fittings make the install a breeze and the kit comes with everything you need to get air in your shop. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rapidair 90500

,
December 11, 2014
By 66ford
from eastern Montana
" this rapidair 1/2 in. kit is exactly what i was expecting everything was in the kit as expected. had to order two kits because of the size of garage and configuration i wanted. Not a big deal.This is much better than air hose laying across the floor and in you way all the time.will deffinatly order more if it becomes necessary to add on. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick & easy

,
December 10, 2014
By perfetech
from Racine.QC
" Kit is pretty basic having 1 manifold for connection to compressor and 2 wall outlets along with 100' of tubing. The only thing it lacks is some tubing clamps to hold the tubing for outside of wall installation. Apparently the kit is designed more for in wall installation where clamps would not be needed. If you are the only one using compressed air and you want to have multiple outlets this is the kit for you.
I would recommend making a floor plan of your garage or workshop to ensure that 2 outlets are sufficient aside from that it is very good.
If you have more than one person using air at the same time you should go for the MaxAir kit.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice; Prep is the Key

,
December 5, 2014
By DrAofOhio
from Ohio
" This is a well made product but it can be problematic if you don't install well. You need to carefully lay out your room and don't plan on drastic bends or twists. The hose and fittings want a straight run and any bending at the unions will result in leakage. The system works well and is well made - a good value "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Advertised

,
December 1, 2014
By Freddy69
from Houston
" Haven't completed installation yet but looks to be as advertised. Great price with discount and coupon. Looking to upgrade compressor next. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapid Air Hose Kit

,
November 24, 2014
By PWC99
from Maryland
" A great product. Easy to install, Suggest that you have an idea of how you plan to layout the hose system before you start. Order any additional couplings and manifolds before you start. In less than four hours, I had my garage completely fitted with the Rapid Air System. I highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rapid air

,
November 22, 2014
By busterdog
from Wareham, MA
" Easy to put together. It's makes nice and clean look to the work shop. Also have this product you are not tripping over air hose and having the air at your fingertips. I will be buying more rpaid air outlets to add to the shop. I would recommend it to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy To Install

,
August 10, 2014
By Offshoretrash
from La
" I bought 2 of these kits. All the materials seems to be quality stuff. It's very easy to install and looks great. Very satisfied!
I would recommend purchasing extra threaded fittings, T's and 90's though. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
June 13, 2014
By Gregg1953
from Wise, Va.
" It was easy to install and after retightening some fittings I had no air leaks. You will need to buy several other items it is not a complete kit. You will need pipe dope, screws for air outlets, screws for the 1/2 inch tubing holders, fittings for the ends of your air hoses. It is a great way to put air to places you need it without dragging a hose over everything. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500

,
May 19, 2014
By Fabman55
from Vermont
" This product was exactly what I was looking for to install air in a shop addition. The unit was as described and everything was there except for any hardware to install the system. There were no mounting screws for the blocks and nothing to hang the tubing from.
That meant at trip to the hardware store to finish getting what I needed. The system is easy to install and the manifolds are what make the kit great.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rapid air master kit

,
May 1, 2014
By Mels49
from South Carolina
" Great product, very easy to install. Installed complete kit in less tan 1 hour. Ball valves are great for blowdown. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
March 11, 2014
By GarageTinkering
from Central CT
" The piping was very user friendly. Ran all the pipe I needed with some extra fittings and the first time I pressurized it there was no leaks and ready to use. I ran 3/4" plastic conduit along the walls and ran the pipe inside the conduit. Looks much cleaner and it's a lot easier to keep the pipe straight. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 5, 2014
By TWM41
from Brashear,MO
" Bought this plus a second 100 ft of tubing in 2013 and installed 4 drops in my shop building. I have 50 ft hose reels hooked up to 2 of the drops for airing up tires and running air tools. I have 2 drops over by my work bench for when I am working in that area. I just recently purchased another one of these systems to install in my 40x60 building at the ranch and will hook up hose reels for both of these drops as well. We often need to air up tires or blow dust and debris off tractors and quad runners at the ranch. Waiting for warm weather to stretch out tubing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "RapidAir 1/2in. Master Kit, Model# 90500"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

With a little effort the system works

,
February 4, 2014
By chief223
from Minnesota
" This system is the lightest with 1/2 hose. The Kit could have used a few more parts and the outlets did not have any quick connectors included. Connectors ARE included when you purchase additional outlets. Installation is straight forward and was quite ease with two people. The threads on the aluminum block outlets were rough and I had to run all of them with a die to have the units mate well. It took about 3 tries to find all the leaks, but once done, the system seems to work well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.