Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch

NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch

Item# 508311
"With a solid steel beam backbone and a forged, heat-treated reversible ripper tooth, this NorTrac Subsoiler is the tool you need for ripping sod and loosening compacted soil for better plant growth and production. Ripping depth can be adjusted up to a 14in. maximum. Working Width in. 2, Product Type Subsoilers, Blade Type Reversible ripper tooth, Blades qty. 1, Hitch Type 3-pt., Working Depth in. 14, Category Type 1, Max. HP 50, Required HP 22. 24in.L x 8in.W x 32in.H"
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Review 1 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Georgia
Very well built product. I have used it for breaking roots around stumps to make them easier to dig. After much abuse, it has continued to perform as it should.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
December 10, 2015
By
from Austin
This works like it should. It does a good job pulling up dirt, roots and smaller rocks. The shear pin is a good addition to minimize any damage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

root ripper

,
November 16, 2015
By
from Anamosa
Subsoiler worked great, tore through roots in my garden about 16 inches deep. Should make spring tilling easier with ground already loose. No problem with busted bolts, just went slow and steady. Ordered in to local store and pickup was easy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Solid

,
September 7, 2015
By
from Tennessee
I wasn't expecting much, given the low price. However, this is a solid piece of equipment. I have only used it for about an hour with a 25 hp tractor, but it tore through Tennessee clay without a problem and even brought up rocks too heavy to lift. I did go very slowly and I couple of times I hit rock that wouldn't budge. No damage to the plow.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

,
October 30, 2014
By
from Southeast Texas
This tool exceeded expectations; I have an 18hp subcompact tractor, and I was worried my tractor would not be strong enough to use this, but it busted its way through the garden soil and old tree roots that have cause havoc to tillers. I looked at many other manufactures and read reviews, and I had to drive 140 miles round trip to pick it up, but it was well worth the drive.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
July 19, 2014
By
from Beavercreek, OR
This thing, for the money, really does the job. I have already recommended this to a friend and he loves it too. Great for pulling rocks out of the ground. Use this to make a few passes before you set in your rototiller for a rock free till job. Have not used it yet for laying wire or pipe, but can see this is the ticket. Highly recommend, but does not come with the top pin or side clips for your three point hitch.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product fair design

,
April 18, 2014
By
from nashville,tn
This product is built with good quality, but did not do what I expected. I needed to dig a waterline trench and it did the job ok. This should have an attachment to pull the pipe with the digging the trench as it only breaks the dirt does not remove it from the trench. I will modify to make it more of a plow as it has very little usefulness now.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-27points
4out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorTrac Subsoiler

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Harrah Ok.
Works great, ran it over my garden before tilling this year.I have red dirt and water would stand at the low end of my garden before sub soiling, no longer a problem! I also added a pulling eye to the lower bolt and used it to pull in 50' of water line to my garden and a phone line to my shop. Saved me a lot of money (trencher rent) and time. I love it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stout product

,
September 18, 2013
By
from Dallas, TX
Heavy well made implement. It does have the shear bolt. Used it not so much for subsoil, but just about surface level to make a narrow drainage trench about 6" wide. Worked very good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rockin and Rootin in NH

,
May 20, 2013
By
from New Hampshire
I bought this subsoiler to break up some ground that had been compacted by two years worth of logging operations. I live here in New Hampshire, a.k.a. “the Granite State” which means lots of rocks! The ground is in a 100 year old orchard. Think roots. The skidders had embedded lumber debris up to 10 feet in length as they drove through axle deep mud in the spring.
My tractor is a Ford 8n which boasts a horsepower of 23.
I was skeptical that this was going to be a successful enterprise, but successful it was! I replaced the 7/16 shear pin* with a soft 3/8 bolt for an additional margin there. I snapped one bolt in short order but then I found if I went really slowly when I snagged an obstruction I could stop before the bolt snapped, raise the subsoiler and then proceed forward.
Bottom Line: The subsoiler far exceeded my expectations!
* If you look in the questions section you will see that the Nortrac “expert” says that there is no shear pin on the subsoiler. There are two bolts which hold the backbone to the hitch. The upper bolt is a larger diameter than the lower bolt. When an obstruction is encountered the backbone pivots on the upper bolt and snaps the lower bolt which is therefore a shear pin. I did have to grind off a little of the backbone’s corner to allow it to rotate completely on the upper bolt.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
May 20, 2013
By
from Accokeek, Md
I use this subsoiler to penetrate hard pan clay. If you use a rototiller like I do, the blades actually impact the clay pan area, making it even harder and even more impenetrable for water to seep through. Before planting, I use the subsoiler on each row before I disc hill. During the dry season, I need to irrigate less because the water is naturally "wicked" up from the clay area into the topsoil. It's a better designed product with a sheer pin and was less expensive than the one at the tractor store.
Wish I had this product with the pipe laying attachment when I was putting in the irrigation system.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasure to use and easy to put on the tractor

,
April 23, 2013
By
from TN/NC
Bought this subsoiler to plow some rows for wine grapevines I was getting ready to establish. The area was undisturbed pasture grass, so I use a box blade to initially scrape the soil before using the subsoiler. After 5 or 6 passes I was able to get down to 12-14 inches using the subsoiler, using a 32 hp Kubota. I took it slow as the soil was rocky and contained a few roots, and never broke the shear pin or bent anything on the implement, after 600 feet or so of plowing. The soil was mixed clay, and I plowed after a rain for it to be as moist as possible without the tractor sinking in. In the future, I'll probably put a weaker shear pin on just to be safe, as I have broken quite a few when augering holes in this soil. The subsoiler is well built but light enough to put on by hand, unlike most 3 point hitch implements. The resultant trench was okay for bare root vines, though I'll probably buy the mid buster next to do the final passes. All in all, well pleased with a fairly priced product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job well

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Long Island, NY
Shear pin feature is great. Buy a bunch of case hardened bolts and the store and be ready to swap them out when you hit roots. It's much nicer to break a few dollars in shear pins than a $100 plus attachment. Make sure to adjust 3 point hitch to limit left to right movement as much as you can and make sure attachment is completely vertical when lowered for best penetration. Great price - well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value

,
April 19, 2013
By
from Beaufort, NC
This is one of the few items that I have purchased lately that is well built and does exactly what it is supposed to do.
I roto til my garden each spring and fall. If you have ever used a roto tiller, than you know how hard it can be. If the tiller encounters hard ground it can tine walk and get away from you. In a word, the process can be exhausting.
This year, I broke up the ground with the sub soiler. Once that was complete, I used the roto tiller for a finish pass. What I difference, no tine walking, jerking or other undesirable events. In fact, I was able to control the tiller with one hand.
The sub soiler does not come with any directions but with a bit of mechanical skill and a look at the picture you should be able to mount this on your tractor with no problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice solid piece of 3 point equipment

,
December 19, 2012
By
from Central NY
When our local supply house had none in stock and wanted over 2 weeks to order, I looked here. . .and I'm glad I did. This sub soiler is MUCH more solidly constructed than the local alternative I'd been looking for.
Wish it came with the burying attachment to drag in electrical/plumbing/etc, but I managed ok.
Worked about 8 digs with it, somewhere in the 900' of run, and no problems at all. I went through several forearm size softwood roots, and one poplar. . . no large stones or hardwood, but again, the shear pin is there for that reason.
Took a bit of assembly, and there's no actual directions, but if you're reasonably mechanically proficient, you'll figure it out just fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
October 14, 2012
By
from MN
Using to pull in water and electrical pipe, works great. solid piece of equipment. no compaints.
Pulling with 27hp utility tractor has pulled very easy threw sandy soil, never had a power or traction problem.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just as described

,
October 12, 2012
By
from MO
Dug deep and worked great. Broke up the ground well and let my FEL dig quickly
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good subsoiler / rooter

,
August 14, 2012
By
from N.W. Ohio
After reviewing other subsoilers I chose this one for the shear bolt option, fab construction and other reviews. It works great as a subsoiler so I made another tooth with added cutting edges to shear off roots from stumps where I am cleaning fence rows. It has worked well for that also, unless I find a hardwood stump with stronger roots. The shear bolt does it's intended job and prevents tool or tractor damage. I am using a 32 HP 4X4 tractor.
Pleased with the prompt service from Northern Tool also.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sub-soiler

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Spring, TX
Tough addition to my week-end farm implements. I actually bought it to trench for laying water pipe, instead of it's original purpose. Buying this implement cost less than one day rental on a trencher. In a head's up comparison I preferred the Northern model to the TS model of similar cost because I thought it was more heavy duty AND had a shear pin, which I thought was a huge bonus. Then, Northern put it on sale (about 20%) AND sent me a 20% discount coupon that could be used IN ADDITION to the sale price. Better product, much lower cost – easy decision.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorTrac Subsoiler - 3-Point Hitch
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Richmond, VA
Works as designed, the shear bolt broke when I hit a big branch underground instead of damaging the implement or the 3 point. It is very solid will add a pipelayer attachment to install irrigation piping and see how well it dies.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.