Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1

NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1

Item# 508330
Expand the functionality of your tractor with this heavy-duty steel NorTrac Three-Point Category 1 Quick Hitch. With two spring-loaded handles, you can quickly attach implements that let you plow snow, lift logs and work fields without leaving the seat of your tractor. Application Hitch, Category Type 1. Heavy-duty steel construction Recommended for use with tractors with less than 50 HP Adjustable top hook 30in.W overall 27 3/8in. distance between bottom hooks 30in. distance to the outside of bottom hooks 24in. distance from bottom hooks to top hook Durable powder coat finish Grade 8.8 hardware Ships assembled and ready to use
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
10 of 15(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Review 1 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cat 1 3 pt quickhitch

,
September 20, 2014
By K3368
from Briscoe, County
"Plenty stout for a small tractor, 30hp to use around the farm. Draft Arm hooks are Cat 3 in size. I didn't understand that when I ordered."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use with modification to implements

,
September 4, 2014
By js63640
from Farmington MO
"We have purchased one for all 3 tractors now. It took modifying all of our implements. We own welders, torches and scrap metal. It took some time but well worth it. All implements attach to all tractors now just as fast as you can back up to drop then back up to lift. We own 10 implements and can interchange between all in less than 5 minutes, minus the time to hook up PTO's. The modifications are easy for those who are use to welding and torching. If you are not, then this product is not for you. If we get another tractor, we will get another hitch definitely."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Hitch

,
August 14, 2014
By TurkeyBob
from Granton,WI
"I used the hitch once with my rear blade had some difficulty hooking up but was the way the blade was made. hitch worked fine it was a little lighter then i thought it would be but still a good investment. will save me time as I change attachments often in the winter months"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality control

,
August 14, 2014
By Jackcolorado
from Colorado high plains
"Dimensions are very important for this type of attachment. The structure is the intermediary between the tractor and the implement. While the dimension given for distance between the hooks may have been accurate, the sloppy fit for welding made the clearance just behind the hooks critical. It doesn't fit all implements because this clearance is too small. I plan to modify it, but the effort will be difficult between cutting and re-welding."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great hitch

,
July 24, 2014
By Birdman96
from up north, wisconsin
"Works as expected, should of got one long time ago, great price and delivered right away"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Hitch

,
June 18, 2014
By StacySY
from Denham Springs, LA
"AWESOME!! If you own a tractor you need a Quick Hitch. Makes changing from one component to another a snap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1

,
February 4, 2014
By FarmerPhil
from Marrero, La
"When the hitch was delivered, it was missing bolts and could only use it after making modifications to some of my attachments."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Weak

,
February 4, 2014
By wildland
from Nebraska
"It isnt made of thick enough materials, and slops around too much in th bottom craddle"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get just what you pay for.

,
November 15, 2013
By Bootheel
from Missouri
"Cheap price, cheap product. It will work but, way too much slop in the lower craddles."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Back it up Pick it up

,
October 15, 2012
By KeepsBees
from Georgia
"New to the tractor scene this year and the worst part for me was hitching and unhitching the implements. They would not line up exactly right and I would have to pull, prod, kick, and sweet talk to get them on or off. I read about quick hitch adapters and found this one at NT for less money than my tractor dealer wanted for a similar piece of steel. (The 70 pound box arrived via UPS with holes and the top hook bolts were loose in the box. If this happens to you see my fix below.)
With the Quick Hitch I can back right up to the implement and lift and the hooks grab it. You still have to leave your seat to connect the PTO! You will need those adapters that go on your Cat 1 lift pins and NT has a good price on those. Get a set for each implement so they will ride nice and tight.
My only complaint:
I have a bush-hog and a tiller and each one requires that top hook in a different position to attach properly. I was wearing out those two bolts that hold the top hook making the adjustment. For a five dollar bill I visited my tractor supply store and found 1/2" hitch pins to replace the two bolts. Now I can move the hook in a few seconds exactly where I need it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well, but with one big caveat

,
June 27, 2012
By articulator
from Pacific Northwest
"I've been using this (HARD) for about 10/11 months now. I'd recommend this, but only for those who have implements that don't have captured lower links. I recently obtained a box blade that has such a hookup and found that this quick hitch doesn't fit, it's off by perhaps one inch. This was, as the one reviewer giving only 1 star noted, really frustrating: the pain is doubled because you have to take the quick hitch off and then go back to connecting directly.
For implements that have non-captured link pins it works great (worth maybe a 5 star rating). Since I now have one that has captured link pins, an implement that I have to use frequently, I'm going to look to purchase the other quick hitch (item # 12610)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
February 17, 2012
By Anonymous
from pryor,okla
"i have 4 implements,tiller,plow,disc,brush hog, this will only , with some modification, work on only one.
dont waste your money on this thing
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
10out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat 1 Quick Hitch

,
March 22, 2011
By Mick0211
from Southern Illinois
"This quick hitch has proven itself fully capable of handling all of the attachments I have for my JD compact tractor, from the rear mount tiller to the brush hog and blade, both JD and after market equipment.
The hitch really saves time when changing from one attachment to another, just back up, lift up and drop the handles, attach the PTO shaft if necessary, and your ready to go.
I would recommend it to anyone that owns a compact tractor.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 POINT QUICK HITCH

,
March 21, 2011
By panman65
from PINEVIEW, GA
"HI, THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT THAT YOU CAN'T DO WITHOUT ! IT MAKES CHANGEING FROM ONE PEICE OF EQUIPTEMENT TO ANOTHER A SNAP ! YOU DON'T EVEN HAVE TO GET OFF TRACTOR TO CHANGE EQUIPTEMENT ! IT USED TO TAKE ME 30-45 MIN. TO CHANGE OVER WITH MY OLD 52 FORD 8N TRACTOR, ALIGNING, ADJUSTING, KICKING & CUSING !! NO MORE OF THAT ! JUST BACK UP & RAISE HYDROLICICS TO HOOK-UP AND THAT IS THAT, YOUR DONE ! THE BEST THING I HAVE BOUGHT IN YEARS & A GREAT LABOR SAVER ! ALSO I GOT A GREAT PRICE, LESS THAN HALF THE PRICE OF THE COMPITION !! A+A+ THANKS"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorTrac Three-Point Quick Hitch - Category 1
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Qwick Hitch

,
March 14, 2011
By GSMIZ
"This is an incredible deal for the money. It is by far cheaper than all the other ones I looked at. I did need to modify the upper link because my attachments were hitting the two bolts that attach the upper link to the cross bar of the quick hitch. If they changed the upper link so it sat out farther (about an inch) this would be a 5 star product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
24out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Finster66
Hudson Valley NY 
 
Please wait while more information about Finster66 is loaded.
Additional information about Finster66 could not be loaded.
JD BOX BLADE
September 15, 2012
"I have a JD box blade and TS landscape rake,,It worked on both. But I recommend: Greasing all points of contact for ease of hookup,,was tight coming together on JD box blade but grinded square edges on the box blade itself and on the top hook just a touch to make the two pieces come together without hanging up,, added oversized bushings to bottom pins on both implements,,used small top pins on both implements,, set top hook low so bottom pins would contact first,,,and develope a technique were you jerk up the implement quickly in one shot to set it into bottom pins,,and over grease all points on quick hitch. Good Luck"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Allen541
Oregon 
 
Please wait while more information about Allen541 is loaded.
Additional information about Allen541 could not be loaded.
Upper Hook Is a Problem
September 18, 2011
"I concur with GSMIZ about the upper hook. My John Deere landscape rake would not fit because the hook mounting bolts interfered with the implement. I haven't figured out a good solution but it may require welding a new bracket or having a machine shop make a new hook from a block of steel. ($$$)
I had hoped for better quality plus I had to wait over 12 weeks for delivery. :(,"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)