Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS

GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS

Item# 510400
Need something to help you keep cool when you're out on the tractor or lawn mower The GEKO can cooler is made out of stainless steel and has a thick insulating liner to help keep your drink nice and frosty. The kicker though is the heavy-duty magnet on the bottom that'll keep the GEKO in place over bumps and up and down hills. Compatible With 12oz. cans, Application Can cooler, Material Type Stainless steel, Mount Type Magnetic. Magnetic base keeps GEKO in place Keeps drinks cool with a thick layer of insulation Corrosion-resistant stainless steel construction withstands impacts if dropped 4in.H
Average Customer Rating:
3.475 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
10
24 of 40(60%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Review 1 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy item

,
February 5, 2014
By leo30000
from Pageland, SC
"Have wanted to get one of these to sit on the tractor fender. Magnet could be stronger but I can attach a stronger one to suit my needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Magnet

,
October 17, 2013
By MowerDude
from Washington State
"The Good-
Stainless
The Bad-
Magnet is far too weak to stay put anywhere on my craftsman mower.
Fits cans, but not all wider shaped bottles as the insulation is thin and meager.
As another reviewer suggested, It does have a hole on the bottom so use 1/4-20 bolt and mount it. When insulation is gone modify a standard kozy to fit inside.
Disappointed with this purchase, should have read reviews."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great while in the field

,
September 18, 2013
By daddiedougie
from va
"while the magnet could be a little stronger, it does a fantastic job of keeping your "beverage" up-rite on the tractor, mower etc. great when you need two hands on the wheel. versatile, sticks to the hood-fenders-floor board. giving some as Christmas gifts this year."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mag can cooler

,
September 10, 2013
By Poobah
from NH
"For all of u who have a tractor without a cup holder to keep your Moxie in place and maintain some of the coolness.....It's great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Magnet is too weak

,
July 25, 2013
By hobbyfarmernc
from Colfax, NC
"The magnet is rediculously weak. It is a shame, because otherwise it is well made. Even on a perfectly flat steel surface, the slightest motion causes the drink holder to move and fall off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Magnet is NO GOOD!!!!

,
July 25, 2013
By tractorman87
from Norwalk, Oh
"The magnet is week. I stuck it to the side of my toolbox and fell off. I ordered 2 of them. I called NorthernTool and they sent me 2 more. I have 4 of them that are junk. I ended up bolting them to my tractor then they work great. A 1/4-20 works great to hold them down. If you don't mind drilling a hole to fasten it down it is a good product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Magnetic

,
July 10, 2013
By 1armedJack
from Pomeroy, Wa
"It is a well made product which suffers from a too-weak magnetic. I think it will vibrate off my tractor soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geko

,
April 23, 2013
By 77776666
from vicksburg, ms.
"This cooler is great for keeping drinks cold, fits perfect in your vehicle console. Great for the lawn mower but this is baseball season and found out that it is great for metal bleachers. Try it out you won't be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Can Holder

,
April 23, 2013
By Tekker
from Oklahoma
"Got this as a gift for my father who is always on the mower during the summer. It holds his cans of coke with ease and keeps it secured to the fender via the magnetic base. I liked it so much, I got one for myself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Magnet

,
February 20, 2013
By OPTaylor
from New Castle, PA
"This is a nice looking, sturdy made can holder, but the magnet is so weak that it will hardly hold itself onto metal, let alone when it has a full can or bottle in it. I know with the bounce of my tractor, it won't last long at all... Too bad the magnet wasn't stronger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

can holder

,
December 27, 2012
By budzilla
from louisiana
"Holds cans fine. After about 8-10 cold ones can't mow straight though. Who cares"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice idea but...

,
December 27, 2012
By GatorJim
from Florida
"I bought 2 of these for my tractors. Great product if you want to bolt it down. Useless for me due to VERY weak magnet. I read some reviews talking about how good the magnet is but they must have different product than me. Will not stay on with normal tractor vibrations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steel Can Cooler

,
May 16, 2012
By ImRichyRich
from MN
"I dropped it and it didn't break. Sticks to my tractor hood. Use it all the time when mowing the lawn"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenient

,
May 7, 2012
By llwc
from Millington, michigan
"Magnets are very strong and holds on lawn tractor nicely until you hit a branch with it! Then I found out it wasn't lawnroller proof!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cup Holder

,
May 2, 2012
By TNMountainman
from TN
"Works good on my yard tractor. Made of metal so it will not crack if it falls. Stays on tractor even when in 4th gear mowing"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

useless

,
April 3, 2012
By wilro
from Pleasant Garden,NC
"The magnet is not strong enough to hold it on my tractor. I did not want to bolt it on like one guy did so I used zip ties. It is only large enough to hold a standard can. It want hold a bottle of water."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

the insulation is good... magnetism, not so much!

,
April 2, 2012
By RoccoJibraltar
from north coast, USA
"i bought two of these: one for me; one for my brother-in-law. he's a wizard when it comes to fixing and restoring old model equipment, so many of this tractors don't have cup holders. in my case, i just haven't broken down and bought a newer model than the one that came with the house i bought, two years ago.
i had put mine on the hood of my crafstman yard tractor. i was doing the front yard last august, and where there is a significantly inclined dirt berm by the street. i would say my property is four feet below street level, and i make sweeping arcs of the berm in successive passes so i don't have to try to turn around in the street.
well, here i am bopping along, fat, dumb and happy, sipping on my code red once in a while, but now it's time to do the berm. when i hit a bump of some sort on the way down one sweep, the GEKO tumbled forward, down the [right now] steep incline of my tractor's hood, lands RIGHT in front of the tractor, and before i can even hit the brake pedal, i mowed it into eleventy gazillion shards of stainless steel, foam insulation and apparently VERY UNDERPOWERED magnet.
so much for the claim that, "...the heavy-duty magnet on the bottom that'll keep the GEKO in place over bumps and up and down hills."
needless to say, i did NOT order another one.
i haven't checked with my brother-in-law, but he doesn't have the steep inclines on his property that i do, on mine. i would only recommend this to someone with flat, even terrain beneath their wheels.
r j"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gift

,
January 16, 2012
By dellee64
from Grass Valley, CA
"I bought this as a gift for my son and he loved it. I was hoping the magnet was a little stronger but he says it's not an issue. Good product, I'm ordering another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs better magnet

,
January 16, 2012
By Roberino7405
from Michigan
"I bought this for use on my compact diesel tractor that is just old enough to not have a cup holder - it still doesn't. The magnet just isn't strong enough and the ID of the holder itself is a bit small."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GEKO Magnetic Stainless Steel Can Cooler, Model# GEKOSS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cup holder...

,
January 16, 2012
By CoExSy
from Marlboorugh, MA
"Will hold any standard can and most small soda bottles. The magnet stays put no matter how much shaking occurs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.