Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"

"Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"

Item# 511001
"This post driver is rugged, portable, user-friendly and is built tough for multiple or single post installations. Capable of driving all posts up to 1 3/4in. dia. quickly and safely, driving more posts per man hour than a manual post driver. Compatible With Portable air compressor, CFM 2 minimum, Dimensions L x W x H in. 31 x 10 x 4, Product Style Air operated, Product Type Post drivers/pullers. Air assist operation uses air to lift the driver weight Easy to use handle switch air activation Ideal for use with all metal posts up to 1 3/4in. dia. Capable of striking 60 times per minute Works in a variety of soil types No adapters or post clamps required No assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 of 9(56%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Review 1 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Striker air operated post driver

,
October 28, 2014
By postman711
from spokane, wa
" This product is pretty much a joke. The air does lift the driver but the exhaust valve does not let the air escape fast enough for the driver portion to drop and hammer the post in the ground effectively. The instructions say to pull down the driver hard to drive the post in, well, that would work to some degree if the air could escape fast enough. As it is, when I am pulling down on the driver after it has reached the top of the stroke, the air restriction is working against me and i am forcing the air out but it does not bleed out fast enough to keep from slowing down the driver. So the air cushions the driving force instead of exhausting fast enough so the driver can make a hard hit to drive the post.
Just my two cents...but i won't recommend this driver to ANYONE!!!
Still pounding posts the hard way in Washington St. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed after one day of use

,
August 29, 2014
By vze55zjt
from Virginia
" After one day of use, this device leaked air around the handle and would not do what it is intended to do. Not only that, I found it almost as tiring as driving posts the old fashioned way. Don't waste your time or money on this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST Money Spent

,
December 23, 2013
By Greenone
from Upstate NY
" Much faster and easier than whacking them with a sledge hammer. You could literally operate this with thumb and two fingers.
Tried it out a few weeks ago…..Drove large snow fence stakes effortlessly into semi frozen ground. So easy even my wife could operate it. We completely put up two fences (16 stakes) in ~ 1 ½ hours, much faster than typical.
How it works, attach an air hose. Lift it and insert the steak in bottom of unit (prior I used my body weight to push the steak about 1 ½ inches in the ground so it would stand by itself). The unit has two handles; one has a metal rod that moves up and down about an inch. Push the rod up and the unit moves up about 8 inches, when you move the rod down, it drops the units weight (seems about 30 pounds) on top of the steak. You can pull down on the unit to add extra driving force if desired. It took a few tries to “learn” how the unit cycles, then it worked flawlessly.
The only problem I had was, the portable 3500W generator and 30 gallon compressor ( 6.9 SCFM @ 90 PSI) kept popping the 15 amp breaker. The remedy was to remove the extension cord and not to trigger the compressor unless it was less than 80 PSI. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Post pounder

,
August 14, 2012
By DJW123
from Yankton, SD
" Assists you in pounding a post. Doesn't do the job by itself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No help

,
May 7, 2012
By TJranch
from Northern Arizona
" Product looks good but gives no net value in terms of helping with fatique. You have to exert same amount of energy coming down with the driver as you would with normal manual driver. But it does help with raising the unit up for next drive sequence. Problem is at times, I would loose the downward energy due to unit starting upward push which created a cushioning effect. This made it more work. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse

,
March 21, 2011
By sfdfire421
from Salvisa, Kentucky
" My wife and I purchased this pneumatic T-post driver after getting tired of the fully manual version of post driving in our rocky clay soil. This thing is heavy and heavy-built. It works; You'll still be give out by the end of the day, but you'll have a lot more posts in the ground than you would otherwise. You still have to sort of pound the thing downward, but the pneumatic part lifts it to the "up" position, ready for the downward stroke. In non-rocky soil, one person could set hundreds of T-posts in a day. In our rock-laden hills, it'll help drive the posts through most rock, but you'll be taking more frequent breaks. It's a very good buy for what it does and sure makes life easier. Once you use this, you won't go back to the "manual" driver. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I thought but good

,
March 14, 2011
By Marko46
from Arizona
" While I originally thought this item would sort of "jack hammer" the T posts it actually works differently. It is basically a T post driver that has an air assist feature. When a tube on the handle is slid up, air lifts an internal weight within the device. When the tube is moved down this weight is released and by GRAVITY strikes the T post. It does not take much energy by the operator to slide the activation switch (tube) up and down and it does beat the old fashion way to lifting all the weight of a "manual" T post driver. Still very useful and helps keep you from overusing your arms but just not what I had expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Read this before buying

,
May 12, 2010
By lions20
from montana
" This post pounded does not drive the post in. All the air does is drive a piston down on top of the post which picks up the post pounder and you have to force it down on the post just like every other post pounder!!! It picks the post pounder up about 6-8 inches ant then you have to pull down on it with all your force to drive the post into the ground just like the post pounders you buy for $40. If you are looking for something to pick the post pounder up about 6-8 inches then this is it. If you are looking for the air to pound the post then do not buy this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Striker Air-Operated Post Driver - 2 CFM, 90-110 PSI, Model# 43000"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Striker Post driver

,
April 26, 2010
By chancer
from NV
" I tried this post driver out and let me tell you it works great. My two sons (14 &15 years old ) drove in 120 Tee posts last weekend. I was surprised at how quite it was and how easy it was to use. We have hard ground here, alot of clay and stones but the drive worked very well. I strongy recommend this driver to anyone that has to put Tee posts in . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.