Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435

SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435

Item# 52063
Quiet-operating SHURflo pump offers reliable performance for heavy duty jobs, including agricultural spraying and transfer applications. Mounts in any position. Fully repairable pump body. Model number has changed on this item. The old # is 2088-343-135 the new # is 2088-343-435. They are the same unit with different packaging. Discharge Port in. 1/2, Flow GPH 180, Max. PSI 45, Port Size in. 1/2, Diaphragm Santoprene, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 3/4 x 5 x 4 1/2, Valves Viton, Volts 12, Self-Priming Yes, Suction Port in. 1/2. Can run dry without damage Delivers reliable performance in high flow, moderate pressure application Demand switch prevents fluid back flow Corrosion resistant Made with chemical-resistant materials 1/2 inch male ports Not listed for potable water use 40F minimum fluid temperature
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (48 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 of 48(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Review 1 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 12 volt pressure demand water pump

,
August 13, 2014
By ETDAVE
from East Texas
"Set up the first water pump with a cheap 12 volt rechargeable battery with a solar panel works GREAT!
Purchased a second one for my cabin across the road and had a bad discharge nipple which they replaced without any problems and it works GREAT!
**THESE ARE NOT THE CHEAP PIECES OF JUNK OTHER CATALOGS OFFER AS A LOWER PRICE! THEY BUILD UP TO 40 OR 45 LBS> AND SHUT OFF UNTIL NEEDED! THERE IS A VERY BIG DIFFERENCE!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T

,
September 17, 2013
By CatDYI
from Canada
"I bought this product to pump water from the lake to a cistern. The Cistern is located approx. 25 feet in height above the pump. It worked great when the lift was approx. 5 feet (distance was far, approx. 25 feet, which is why the lift was not the 9 feet as described). Once the lake water level dropped, the pump was no longer working. I then bought a second one and installed it right beside the first one in series. It is again working like a charm. I didn't even think the 1 pump would work due to the height and weight of the water - Surpassed my expectations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump ran for 13 years

,
April 26, 2013
By CalAl
from Southern California
"Just had to replace this pump after 13 years of use. Use it on a 25 gallon pump sprayer. Can't complain on any mechanical part that goes for this long, and performs as stated. Not many products do that these days. Hopefully my replacement will be as well made and reliable as the first one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shur-flo 12v pump

,
April 23, 2013
By ha2346
from seguin,texas
"works great for my 25 gal. sprayer-would rec. to a friend. pressure is great. price was right for this product. shipped in 3 days of ordering it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfict pump

,
March 30, 2013
By Mickeal
from Sprin, Texas
"I purchased this pump a month ago believing I would get a good product. This is a great product. This little pump far exceeds all my wishes for its size. Having a place off the grid I operate this pump with a 7.5 amp hr battery with a solar panel. It supplies water to two bathrooms, a kitchen and an on demand water heater in a shower house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strong, powerfull pump

,
October 15, 2012
By SteveInWestfield
from Westfield, WI
"I used this pump on a cart mounted water tanker. Works perfectly for my application."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12V SHURflo Pump

,
October 15, 2012
By acme66
from Plains, MT
""I use this on a portable coffee cart here at school. We use a 10amp computer power supply to provide 12v constant and run the machine off of a wall outlet. This in combination with a water tank lets us roll the unit around and sell anyplace we have power as opposed to a built in installation. The pump has provided very good service and it's low power demands mean we don't tax the inverter. I have not had to give the unit any maintenance and the pressure it provides is more than ample for our needs. The built in regulator means one less part I need to worry about. I also love how quiet it is, you can't hear it running over the sound of a cup of coffee being poured. This SHURflo pump has been excellent.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

,
October 10, 2012
By DSUSMC
from Catawba, NC
"I bought this to use on my deck boat for the freshwater sink and for a washdown pump. It's advertised online as not for drinking water, but there is nothing in the paperwork saying it cant be. However, we dont drink much water out on a party boat, so the sink will just be used for washing things, etc. It comes with fittings for 1/2 inch ID tubing and the power wires are about 12 inches long, so you will probably need some wire for installation and the appropriate hardware for your situation. It has 4 mounting holes with rubber shock isolators for a solid mount. Mine is mounted on its side on a vertical bulkhead inside a compartment. Very quiet running pump with good pressure. I bought a coiled garden hose with sprayer from the hardware store and it will spray a good stream to wash off the deck. The only thing I would add is a small pressure tank to prevent pulsing of the stream... The pump is so powerful that it reaches the shutoff pressure even when spraying wide open, so it wants to cut off and on. You can get a small tank online for pretty cheap, so that should smooth things out..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
August 15, 2012
By J3Pete
from Southern Maryland
"Solid construction. Flow rate is as advartised. Only complaint is the hose connections. They are some size smaller than a common garden hose. But the adapting fittings were in stock in a large local hardware store for a few dollars each. To be fair - all pumps of this class have the same non garden hose threaded outlets...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horse trailer water supply

,
January 16, 2012
By Bosun
from Wewahitchka, Fl
"ShurFlo is a well respected brand and this pump proves the respect. Adding a 30gal tank to my 3 horse trailer then setting up this pump to the Aux electrial wiring. Add a 12 foot hose and no more carrying buckets of water when parked in a field at a barrel race.
I've used Shurflo pumps on small boats for more years than I care to admit to and you can't beat Northern's price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump — 3 GPM, 12 Volt,

,
October 17, 2011
By harpoon378
from Youngstown, Ohio
"Absolutely the best 12 volt pump for the money. I water flowers at several shopping plaza's and have used this pump for the last two years. It pumps water thru 75ft of garden hose with great pressure and has never failed me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump

,
June 13, 2011
By Wemr
from Atl. Ga
"I bought this pump to transfer water from 55 gal drums to my RV.
It has worked flawlessly for over 2 years, pumping water over 50 feet at enough pressure for a great shower.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Pump

,
June 6, 2011
By Megalung
from Manchester, GA
"I bought this pump to water my garden from a 425 gal. poly collection tank attached to a gutter. I use a hose-end nozzle on my garden hose and the pump has plenty of pressure and volume of flow. I usually spend 20-30 minutes watering and it runs just fine. The built in pressure switch is a good feature--when I release the sprayer handle, the pump continues to run briefly and then stops until I pull the handle again and the pump starts right back up. Mine is connected to a marine, deep-cycle battery. I also bought the NPower 15 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel and NPower Charge Controller to maintain the battery. These are working as expected too. The only thing I would change about the pump is the plastic connectors that attach in the water line. These seem as though they could easily break. I would prefer metal, but I haven't had a problem. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and my setup."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable battery powered water pump

,
March 23, 2011
By rainsaver
from Atlanta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This Pump works great. I built a portable battery powered water pump I built for my rainwater system. I can carry it around and it will run for an hour with charge. I use it with the NPower 15 Watt Amorphous Solar Panel"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shurflo Water Pump

,
March 21, 2011
By dreamrocker
from Springfield,MA
"This has been a great buy, very reliable and excellent in performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer Pump

,
November 23, 2010
By Pumpreview34
"Good Sprayer pump! Worked well when received. No problems to date. Do not like plastic connections is only drawback."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shurflo pump

,
August 23, 2010
By ROBERTS
from Erie, Pa
"My pump works the way I wanted it to. I am using it to cleen the inside of my tank less hot water system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

never quits working

,
June 1, 2010
By larrythefitter
from emmett idaho
"I have this mounted on my orchard sprayer.It handles the job perfectly,never lets me down in critical periods.It was an easy install,well made,rugged.I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.thanks Larry"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
February 22, 2010
By Sirius
"Every year there is a water fight parade near us. This past year we purchased this pump to put together a hose system we built on a trailer. It consisted of 2 55Gal drums full of water, this pump, a car battery and a 20Gal water pressure tank which all feed out into 2 garden hoses for spraying. This pump ran so well that everyone was walking up to see how our system worked. The water fight wasn't totally continuous, but the pump didn't let us down as we never ran out of water and it was running during the down time to refill the pressure tank. Also, the fact that this pump had it's own shutoff switch for pressure meant that we didn't have to babysit it. Just hooked up the power and let it do it's thing. Lots of people got very wet that day!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SHURflo On-Demand Diaphragm Pump - 1/2in. Ports, 180 GPH, 12 Volt Motor, Model# 2088-343-435
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pump

,
February 22, 2010
By daninthewoods
from charlotte nc
"used the pump and it did exactly what it was supposed to do. no hassel, just pumped water. Being able to run dry was a plus"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.