Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"

"SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"

Item# 52067
"This SHURflo Industrial on-demand positive displacement, 3 chamber diaphragm pump has a permanent magnet, thermally protected 115V AC motor that delivers reliable performance in high-flow, moderate pressure applications. Self-priming up to 9 ft. vertical. Max. 50 PSI max. 30 PSI inlet pressure. Self-Priming Yes, Discharge Port in. 1/2, Max. Total Head ft. 100, Suction Port in. 1/2, Max. PSI 50, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, Volts 115, Flow GPH 198. Thermally protected 115V AC motor Auto shutoff pressure switch reacts to outlet pressure and interrupts power when it reaches the preset shutoff pressure level Positive displacement 3-chamber diaphragm Corrosion-resistant Santoprene valves and diaphragm Robust poly housing Poly pump head Can run dry without damage Handles liquids up to 170F NSF and CSA certified, UL listed"
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
51 of 57(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Review 1 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Arizona
I installed my pump in my shed and use it as a water supply for my rv. It works very good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

On demand washer solvent pump

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Des Moines, Iowa
Perfect fit for the application I needed which was to pump washer solvent fluid from a storage tank in the basement of my quick lube up to the ceiling and then through a 30 foot hose reel. Plenty of power! Total distance from tank to nozzle approximately 80 feet. Super easy to install.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tough little pump

,
October 14, 2015
By
from williston north dakota
i purchased this to pump hot chemicals. we phosphate metal and i needed something like this for a special project. at first i had to much restriction and it heated up on me. after i got the flow right it worked great. everything i found online was several hundred dollars more to do what this one does. it worked great. for the money and what it does you can not beat it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURflo pump

,
September 14, 2015
By
from Virginia
Pump is as advertised. Quiet. Does the job. One caution: The threads on the half-inch inlet and outlet ends are unique. Needed to purchase two "Shurflo 1/2" swivel barb fittings" on-line, in order to connect 1/2" tube to the pump. Instructions claim that 1/2" NPT fittings will work, but I did not find this to be true.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fittings that work

,
July 31, 2015
By
from Baldwin, MI
I also had trouble getting regular pipe fittings to work, the owner of my local hardware store suggested we try Qest fittings and they work like they were special built for the pump. They are the grey poly fittings that are designed to adapt threaded galvanized pipe to plastic, i then switched to common PEX tubing as soon as I could. Hope this helps everyone out.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

industrial pump

,
July 23, 2015
By
from elizabethton, tn
did the job my husband had me purchase it for easy to use
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am a licensed Electrician and Refriger Tech

,
July 6, 2015
By
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I am using the product to help friends and relatives to provide water to their houses due to a drought in the island. Most areas have water for only one day and two without water. I Have been installing water tanks which are filled during the day water is available. The pump is excellent keeping an acceptable water pressure for bathrooms and kitchens. All installed pumps are working properly. It shut off properly. I always install a check valve to protect the pump. I already ordered 7 Pumps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Water Pump

,
June 7, 2015
By
from Destin,FL
I like this pump, small, easy to mount and the demand for pressure is great, I will need an additional pump for other water concerns. Northern shipped fast with no issues. Good price
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable pump

,
June 4, 2015
By
from San Juan, PR
Bought pump for emergency situations, water and electricity supply, or both. Originally purchased the 12 volt model and run it with a large 12 volt battery. Plan to run the electric model powered by a 12 volt battery and 110 volt inverter. Envy of my neighbors in the present water supply 24 hour rationing. Draws, by gravity, from a 330 gl. holding tank and provides all our needs, as showers, washing clothes and dishes, toilets and other uses. Household is 2 persons.
I had used this pump many years ago in a boat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great for Vehicle Wash

,
April 16, 2015
By
from Utah
I'm using this pump to wash a vehicle where there is no plumbed water, using a 55 gallon drum for a water supply. I connected it using the Shurflo 50 mesh strainer (part # 255-313) to filter out debris. The pump works great for this purpose. It's not as much pressure as my home, but totally acceptable for washing a vehicle. My only complaint is the non standard fittings required to connect to the pump, and the lack of availability of these fittings. I hunted around a lot, and finally called Shurflo to figure out which fittings were the same thread. I was told any of the 234-xxxx or 244-xxxx fittings are the same thread as this pump, as well as the strainer I listed above. Northern Tool doesn't seem to carry these fittings, so I had to look elsewhere for them. I got the 5/8" straight fittings for the pump, and cut a short 5/8" ID garden hose to connect everything. The only thing I would do different is to get the 3/4" fittings. The 5/8" fittings have a 3/8" inside diameter, which creates a bit of a bottleneck, since it's a 1/2" pump. I assume the 3/4" fittings would be 1/2" ID, and eliminate the bottleneck.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Funky Threads, NOT standard pipe fittings.

,
February 7, 2015
By
from Wyoming
The treads on this pump are not USA standard male pipe thread. They are either British Pipe or metric or Chinese thread.
An USA standard 1/2 inch pipe fitting will only screw on about one turn (if you can get them started) before they begin to cross tread. I have tried brass, steel, PVC and nylon threaded fittings to screw on. Only the brass and nylon fitting would even start, and then only less than one turn. Guess I will try the !/2 inch CPVC fitting and see if that will work. If not, the item will be returned. It is a fine looking product but useless if fittings can't be used.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Why the Change to Mystery Thread Size??.

,
January 20, 2015
By
from St. Paul, MN
This is the second of this model Shurflo pump that I have purchased, see my review of March, 2011. Obviously the one purchased in 2010 did not last as long as the pump in my 1976 Coachman trailer. Pump would run for at least 30 seconds before water was pumped and was unusually noisy.
Took previous pump down, removed fittings from the pump which were two 1/2" brass NPT couplers which had been made watertight with copious amounts of teflon tape on the old pump's 1/2" NPT straight threads. Attempted to thread these couplers on to new pump, but after less than a half turn, the couplers could not be further turned without substantial force. Backed fittings off and it was obvious that the threads on the pump were being destroyed.
Headed off from the backwoods cabin on the 25 mile trip to a small town hardware store for a solution. Every 1/2" NPT coupler in their inventory produced the same thread destroying results.
Finally, as a last resort, a CPVC fitting, 1/2" threaded with a neoprene O-ring to a glued fitting was tried. This threaded plastic fitting to pump's plastic worked!! A short piece of CPVC pipe was glued to two threaded fittings and a coupler was born to connect the pump to the previous water lines.
Without the help of the hardware store, the pump would have been just another boat anchor. A boat anchor I would have had to schlep back to the Northern Tool store to get my money back.
Thank god for small town hardware stores!
.
.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURflo Industrial Pump

,
January 19, 2015
By
from WV
Excellent quality - dependable pump - waiting to see if pump will withstand running dry as claimed by manufacturer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURFlo pumps

,
December 18, 2014
By
from Belize
I use three of these pumps as household pumps on three cottages. Two are AC and one DC. I have never lost any except one through theft and one due to a nearby lightning strike.
They are great. Do what is called for as well as being dependable. Pad the easy mount to minimize vibration and, for domestic feed use, I've found that a small pressure tank downstream of the pump eliminates pump cycling after a flush.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inlet/outlet thread problem

,
September 5, 2014
By
from Arctic Alaska
I have used a pump just like this for years and loved it. This one has non standard inlet and outlet threads. Shurflo website calls it National Pipe Thread (f) fine and the manual says Straight Pipe Thread (non tapered). Our hardware store has no adapters that could convert this to national pipe thread or anything else. Shurflo makes a series of adapters for these threads but Northern Tool does not carry them and shurflo sells only wholesale. My choice is to return it or rethread it with NPT (tapered) and epoxy the fitting on to get a seal. The thread specs should be listed in the item description on Northern Toll Website with a note stating a special adapter is required to get to NPT.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shur flo industrial pumps great product use 2

,
August 28, 2014
By
from Tn.Knoxville,
Great product use 100 plus per year. Fast shopping and reliable product warranty
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
August 6, 2014
By
from Idaho
Ordered this pump to transfer water from a 55 gallon drum to my camper holding tank. Mounted it on a piece of plywood, with some hose and fitted a regular three prong plug...it fills a 40 gallon tank in about ten minutes....AWESOME!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mighty little pump

,
July 22, 2014
By
from Marietta GA
I use this pump with my homemade solar pool heater. I mounted it 6 ft away from the pool, at pool level, where it has no problem self priming.
I mounted it inside a plastic 'ammo can'. Ran the plumbing and electric thru holes custom drilled in the sides. This keeps out most of the elements and pool splash.
It then pumps thru 20 ft of 1/2" irrigation tubing, up another 10 ft to my roof where I have 500 ft of the same black irrigation tubing coiled and mounted on a 4 x 8' plywood sheet,
where it circulates and returns to the pool. That 530 ft column of water calculates to approx 5+ gallons / 45 lbs.
On a hot 85 deg day, I get around a 5 deg temperture rise @ around 2 gal/min flow. ( I know, it says 198 GPH, but I'm pushing a lot of water..).
Depending on my needs, I run it daily, 4 - 6 hours continuous for most of the pool season. At this abuse level, I seem to get around 2 years (seasons) from a pump before it quits.
I just purchased my 3rd unit, but out of curiosity to discover the cause of failure, I took the previous 2 pumps apart to find that both units had one of it's motor brushes worn.
I Frankenstein'd one back together using the remaining 'good' brushes, and it runs like a champ. I'll keep my new purchase on my shelf till I finally do need it (2 years?).
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1

,
July 18, 2014
By
from vt.
I use the pump to pull water from my pond to water my trees I planted and to supply an outdoor sink. The pump has plenty of pressure and volume. Works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "SHURflo Industrial Diaphragm Water Pump - 198 GPH, 1/2in. Port, Model# 2088-594-154"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump

,
June 6, 2014
By
from Southern California
Use bulk tank water for drinking as it tastes way better. This little pump supplies all the faucets in the house, plus the ice maker. Like the Eveready bunny, it keeps going and going and going and going and going.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.