Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154

SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154

Item# 52067
This SHURflo Industrial on-demand positive displacement, 3 chamber diaphragm pump has a permanent magnet, thermally protected 115V AC motor that delivers reliable performance in high-flow, moderate pressure applications. Self-priming up to 9 ft. vertical. Max. 50 PSI max. 30 PSI inlet pressure. Discharge Port in. 1/2, Suction Port in. 1/2, Max. PSI 50, Max. Total Head ft. 100, Thermal Overload Protection Yes, Volts 115, Flow GPH 198, Self-Priming Yes. Thermally protected 115V AC motor Auto shutoff pressure switch reacts to outlet pressure and interrupts power when it reaches the preset shutoff pressure level Positive displacement 3-chamber diaphragm Corrosion-resistant Santoprene valves and diaphragm Robust poly housing Poly pump head Can run dry without damage Handles liquids up to 170F NSF and CSA certified, UL listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
33 of 36(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Review 1 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

120 Volt Pump

,
February 7, 2014
By bombard
from San Antonio, TX
"Works Great for Cabin in Colorado, runs shower and sink faucets"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for water transfer

,
February 5, 2014
By CatDYI
from Canada
""I bought this product to pump water from the lake to a cistern. The Cistern is located approx. 25 feet in height above the pump. It worked great when the lift was approx. 5 feet (distance was far, approx. 25 feet, which is why the lift was not the 9 feet as described). Once the lake water level dropped, the pump was no longer working. I then bought a second one and installed it right beside the first one in series. It is again working like a charm. I didn't even think the 1 pump would work due to the height and weight of the water - Surpassed my expectations." It uses very little watts (on a solar system)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PUMP FOR THE PRICE

,
February 4, 2014
By JM711
from New Brighton, PA
"I purchased one for my Mobile Detailing Business, had it for a couple years.. I purchased a second one recently, to carry as a spare, First one still working A+1, (same as day bought and installed it,) second one still in box, in truck as a back up. Been a GREAT pump, figured I would get a spare,( always good to have a backup), but hopefully won't need it anytime soon, if it keeps performing as good as it has so far.. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THIS PRODUCT !!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pump

,
February 4, 2014
By Marty31
from Hammond,La
"Install the pump at my hunting camp to our fresh water tank. It works great to supply our camp with the water and pressure to use all of our sinks, bathroom , and toilet!
I would recommend it to anyone.
It does what it's suppose too for the money!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed

,
January 6, 2014
By ranger2
from blanco texas
"Product did not come with any manual nor installation
information. I am an electrician so knew how to connect wiring. It worked fine the first two times I used
it to transfer 55 gallons of water to my rv. Third time,
and since will not pump. Now I have to make a trip to
San Antonio to return for replacement. Glad I bought
the replacement insurance.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shurflow pump

,
May 27, 2013
By James1001
from Port Washington, WI
"Pump worked ok for a little over an hour. When it stopped working, I pulled endcap off. The plastic that holds the brushes had broken, making for a short and lots of carbon dust. One brush was totally fried and top end of motor shot. Pump is shot!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

it works

,
April 22, 2013
By dubbzz
from hampton va
"I bought this pump based on the flow rate and working pressure. Unfortunately it falls way short of these specs. The website indicates max psi @ 50 psi. the pump is labeled as 45 psi max. The real operating pressure is actually 20-25 psi and the flow rate 2 gpm. The pump will work for my intended use, however thats about it. Highly disappointed..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHURflo Industrial pump #2088-594-154

,
October 8, 2012
By xyzj63
from Texas
"I have owned 2 of these pumps which are used to supply pressurized water to house from storage tanks. The pump is used daily, provides good pressure from tanks to house approx 100 feet distance. First pump lasted approx 4 months until I let it run dry for about 4 hours and then it had to be replaced due to overheating. The replacement pump did not work properly when received and was returned on warranty and immediately replaced by another that is still in use 6 months later. When it fails I will replace it with same pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

simple, effective, utilitarian...

,
October 8, 2012
By groundrules
from OH
"I found the pump very simple to use, quite durable, and fairly powerful. It did exactly what I asked of it, which was to move thousands of gallons of semi-viscous product (23 cPs). It draws very little electricity, so could be used with the smallest of generators in a remote location. Pumps did get warm, but not hot. they are quiet and vibrate only minimally. i did not experience any cycling of the pump due to the automatic shut-off switch. It was simple and reliable. In a perfect world, I would love it if this pump were available with garden hose threads, in a waterproof housing, and had the ability to lower the shutoff pressure more, but besides those wishes, it was perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pump

,
August 20, 2012
By Bajadude
from Mexico
"I use it to pump bottle water (5gal containers) to the kitchen and bedroom sinks Maintenance free. I have had 2 (friend as well) operating for over 5 yrs with out touching it. I am putting in another for someone else. Compact powerful and quiet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the job

,
May 7, 2012
By Joey853r1
from Hudson Valley, NY
"This pump does the job I got it for, but could be improved upon. The pump body, including the inlet and outlet nipples are all plastic. I was worried about breaking them when connecting to the water line fittings. The inlet and outlet nipples (both male fittings) seem to have no taper at all, making it a bit tricky to get a good seal on them. The pump comes with no plug on the power cord so expect to spend a few more bucks and a splice job if you want to plug it into an outlet. Last, the unit recieved had a big bend in the base plate it was attached to. I hammered it straight and it works OK I shouldn't have had to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shurflo pumps

,
January 16, 2012
By Hans2
from Allegany, NY
"Installed 2 of these pumps for recovery water for our church steam heat system. They have worked perfectly and have saved on electricity costs from the older pumps. The cost of the pumps was a great factor. I would highly recommend these pumps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

foam brush application

,
October 17, 2011
By wright2
from eastern or.
"I have used this pump now for several months and it seems to work fine for low volume intermitint use in a coin- op application."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Pump

,
October 11, 2011
By Vale
from New York
"This pump operates like it is supposed to. It is also quiet. I use it for a cabin to add auxillary water from a spare tank. I can run this pump from 110v or from an inverter. The only thing I don't like is the fact that the inlet and outlet connections (1/2" male pipe thread) are plastic. Watch out because you can cross-thread these easily, the plastic is too soft."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

,
July 15, 2011
By BPal
"This pump was so easy to install anyone could do it . I replaced the old pump in minutes and pumped water in my camper imediately with no leaks. I would also say the Northern has made buying all the products that I have purchased easy as well and it has been a pleasure to deal with them. Bud"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Pressure Pump for Cabin

,
March 21, 2011
By unclefogey
from St. Paul, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Have been using this pump for a little more than a year to supply water to shower, kitchen and bathroom sinks from two fifty gallon tanks in the loft of my Wisconsin cabin. Provides ample pressure to all faucets. Is a little noisy since it is attached to pine ceiling boards, but anyone who has lived in an RV can accept that. Fully expect that the pump will outlast me, since the Shurflo pump in the trailer that the cabin replaced, lasted 33 years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less Expensive-Same Quality

,
November 16, 2010
By Bosk2420
from SW Montana
"I use these pumps in my coffee business. It is very demanding on them, but I have no option, as I have no 'city water' hookup. I have been paying over $160 for a different model at a local RV store. These pumps have the same capacity, but are 1/3 less expensive. No diaphragm pump will last a long time in our demanding situation, and I understand that. Now, however, we have a less expensive option when they do wear out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price and Quality

,
September 4, 2010
By ControlsFreak
from Slatington, Pa
"Bought this pump for my water harvesting project. I have (6) 55 gallon plastic tanks in my basement collecting condensate from (2) central AC units. I am planning to add rainwater tanks outside to feed the indoor tanks in the non cooling season.
I'm feeding my 2 toilets and my washer from the tanks. This pump produced plenty of pressure for this purpose.
The price and quality was the reason for this purchase. My only complaint was it didn't come with (nor did the website indicate) special fittings. I probably could have bought something close at the supply shop, but since the pump is plastic, it would strip easily, so I ordered the fittings.
Curious to see how long its duty life will be.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very smooth capable pump

,
February 18, 2010
By JesseVT
from Vermont
"This pump smoothly and quietly delivers at it's specified flow and pressure. It's 3.3 GPM flow is enough for most household fixtures, and about half the flow of an average garden hose. I use it to dispense R.O. water from a large storage tank which it does perfectly. The automatic pressure switch is great when you need intermittent flow. I pump through 50 ft of hose with a trigger valve at the end, when I open it the pump starts, and when I close it it shuts off. Just don't expect it to provide a forceful flow with a typical garden hose nozzle, you would need at least twice the GPM for that, but a normal faucet it would run fine. Also unlike a centrifugal pump this can be mounted above the water source since it's self priming, very handy. Cheers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SHURflo Industrial Pump - 198 GPH, 115 Volt, 1/2in., Model# 2088-594-154
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pump for rainbarrels

,
July 20, 2009
By RainbarrelMaker
"I ordered this pump to use with my rainbarrels. It works perfectly for this job. I had to simply added a 115 volt pigtail to the three leads as it is actually meant to be hard wired. With this pump, I am able to pump water uphill to my garden over 100' away with a rise of 20'. The pressure maintained is exactly the same as the flow from my home water supply. And since it is a demand pump, when not in use, it is not running. Plus if my barrels run dry, the pump will not be damaged. I strongly recommend this pump."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.