Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684

Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684

Item# 550704
This battery-operated liquid transfer pump can pump 5-6 quarts of liquid a minute, making it an ideal choice when standard power is unavailable. Can pump gas, water, oil and other non-corrosive liquids. Can be used in garage, basements, bathrooms, shop, yard, aquariums and more. Uses 2 D-cell batteries not included. Flow GPM 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/4 x 3 3/4 x 2.
Average Customer Rating:
3.708 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
18 of 24(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Review 1 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked once

,
April 3, 2014
By Tms1950
from Minneapolis, mn
"Very disappointing. I had a similar one a few years ago and needed one at another location. Used it once and it functioned oerfectly. Used again a few months later and the switch broke!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
February 10, 2014
By Binford2000
from New Jersey
"I bought this to transfer gas from a 5 gallon container into smaller containers for my various lawn equipment tools. Weed trimmer, blower, and even into my lawn tractor. I didn't even get to use the pump. Put the batteries in stuck it down into the 5 gallon can hit the switch ..... nothing. Made certain the batteries were in correctly, nothing. Took them out tested them. Put them in a flashlight, the flashlight works great. I called Northern before I posted this message and since it was dipped in gasoline, it can't be shipped back. Northern is shipping a new one at no charge and told me to just throw out the defective item. I'm hoping the new one will work. I'll post another message on the outcome. I like how Northern stood behind the item they sold. It's not their fault, they didn't manufacture it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tranfer pump

,
February 5, 2014
By tony35
from new jersey
"I use it at the race track to remove the fuel from the race car to the fuel can it works fast and no mess"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time saver

,
February 4, 2014
By Haroldthegasuser
from Knoxville, TN.
"I have used the 5 gallon cans and usually spill some fuel on the mower or weed eater or the car. This battery powered siphon has saved me from holding the can up and from spilling. It's worth every penny that I save from not spilling on the ground and my back for not holding up a full can. I say get 1 you'll be happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pumped old gas out of snowmobile

,
December 29, 2013
By MnMike1269
from st paul mn
"I needed to get the old gasoline out of my snowmobile. I put the batteries in, inserted it into the gas tank, turned it on and it pumped 2 gallons out. I don't know how long it will last. I had one that I used for transferring used cooking oil and that only lasted about 15 uses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little pump for price

,
October 26, 2013
By MaineDad
from Maine
"This pump is designed to pump liquids out of 5 gallon buckets and gas cans. It works well at that. I have pumped diesel fuel, heating oil, gasoline, and water with mine. I tried pumping gear oil and it pumped a little bit but then stopped pumping--too thick I guess. I tried to use the pump to pump heating oil out of a 275 gallon drum that was mostly empty, but when I attached a hose to the intake tube, it couldn't prime or pump. So you're basically limited to pumping liquids the depth of a 5-gallon bucket. You CAN extend the outflow tube like I did. I attached a 5' length of 9/16" outer diameter, 3/8" inch inner diameter clear vinyl tube to the end of the outflow tube with a little hose clamp, and it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

2 failures

,
September 3, 2013
By Waderiord
from Monmouth, Oregon
"Like the pump but the switch is weak. I have had two fail. Finally went to hardware store and bought a toggle switch to replace original. I have had three of these pumps and the switch was faulty on two of those."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Remember to flush after gas

,
April 23, 2013
By Wado
from Maine
"This pump works great. One time I used it to transfer gas and forgot to flush it with fresh water. The next time I tried to use it, the motor ran but it would not pump. I suspect the residual gas damaged the impeller. So... Remember to flush."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

,
October 5, 2012
By bearsgt
from Peru, NY
"used this product not more than 12 times. It quit working all together. Replaced the batteries and this did not solve the problem. Would not recommed this item at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good pump

,
July 14, 2012
By Eagle4
from Texas
"I saw this pump online and figured it would work good for pumping water. When I opened the box, it was bigger than I thought it would be. As every other item I have purchased at Northern Tool, it Worked fantastically! As the box states, it pumps at a rate of about 1 GPM meaning that I can. fill up a 5 gallon gas can in 5 minutes. I can drain our blow-up pool quickly. Pros: long, 25" dischare tube, does not eat batteries, high flow rate, I could go on and on and on! Cons: absolutely none. One of my best purchases ever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sierra Battery operated Pump

,
May 7, 2012
By KenJ
from Ohio
"I opened the carton and placed batteries in the pump as directed. I tried to turn the pump on but the on/off switch was frozen and would not toggle. I tried for several minutes before given up and calling to return this non- working pump."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Leaky pump

,
May 7, 2012
By Challenger73
from Fairfield, CT
"The pump i received leaked which made me a bit nervous while pumping gas. Otherwise the concept is great and it pumps at a good rate. I just won't use it on flammable liquids again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!!!

,
February 2, 2012
By Wayneur1
from USA
"When traveling with our 5th wheel we take extra diesel in 5 gallon cans, before we bought our pump it was a mess. The pump empty's the fuel in minutes without spilling a drop. I love this pump & will tell all my friends about it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop spilling fuel

,
January 16, 2012
By CoExSy
from Marlboorugh, MA
"This is a low volume pump that is great for filling small tanks like lawn mower, chain saws, etc. Because of the low volume you can see the tank filling and stop before overflow. No need to lift the fuel can either."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump

,
January 11, 2012
By moosupgoatman
from connecticut
"poorly made, first one didn't work bad switch, was replaced, second one bad switch, had to jumper across battery to make it work, price should be 1 dollar not price paid"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

,
January 9, 2012
By coreyj
from Phoenix, AZ
"Decent little pump for the right price. The hose is a bit too short and there are a lot of rules you're supposed to follow to keep it from breaking, but I haven't abided by many of them and it still keeps chugging along."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

,
October 10, 2011
By Bemidji
from Minnesota
"This pump is great and it pumps gas fast
I No longer have to worry about spills or using funnels when filing my JD Gator or lawn tractor
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sierra battery operated transfer pump

,
June 6, 2011
By DonR3711
from Northern Michigan
"This little Sierra pump exceeds the claims made. I have a 25 - 30 lb lifting limitation. The pump has solved that problem and performs beyond my expectations. It will empty a five gallon container in seconds. The best buy I have made in a long tme."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DSW99
Broadway, VA 
 
Please wait while more information about DSW99 is loaded.
Additional information about DSW99 could not be loaded.
September 19, 2012
"5 gallons in seconds? Don't you mean minutes?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pump

,
June 6, 2011
By hmjs
from yuma az
"I am a senior and have 2 atv,s that need 92 octane gas,the5 gallon cans are very heavy for me to hold when filling,it now so easy to fill with the pump,every one should have one.Its amazing how this little pump works on 2 batteries."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful little invention

,
June 6, 2011
By lace
from ohio
"this pump is a life saver for older people (woman) with arthritis. difficult to lift a 5 or 6 gallon container to a tractor or lawn tractor seat, to fill the tank. this is so easy, just sit the container on the ground or the foot bed of the tractor, insert the tubes and press the on button. in a minute the tank is full and you have no mess to clean up or wasteful spillage. fantastic product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.