Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684

Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684

Item# 550704
This battery-operated liquid transfer pump can pump 5-6 quarts of liquid a minute, making it an ideal choice when standard power is unavailable. Can pump gas, water, oil and other non-corrosive liquids. Can be used in garage, basements, bathrooms, shop, yard, aquariums and more. Uses 2 D-cell batteries not included. Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/4 x 3 3/4 x 2, Flow GPM 1.
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
29 of 35(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Review 1 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy fuel pump

,
July 10, 2014
By Hunter63
from SE/SW Wisconsin
"Need a small portable pump to transfer fuel from a container to the tractor.
Have a hard time tipping up and pouring a 5 gal container.
This transfers fuel with no muss, fuss, or spillage.
Don't need if often, but sure is handy for the few times I need it....and at a reasonable price.
Didn't know I need a photo,,,,LOL."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Transfer Pump Battery

,
June 17, 2014
By me062285
from Houston, Texas
"Was so impressed with first one that I bought two more to give to our sons. With hurricane season upon us, it will be nice to have a safer way to refill the gen sets. Also use for the lawn mower and other tools around the house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

,
June 16, 2014
By njchaos26
from NJ
"The Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump does work very well. The only down I have seen so far is that the batteries do not sustain long life. You should remove them when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fuel pump

,
June 12, 2014
By camjohoffman
from Lowell, Mi
"Very happy with this pump. Does a fantastic job. We can't lift the 6 gal gas cans to fill the lawnmower anymore and this has solved the problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
May 19, 2014
By rdbrn56
from Waseca, MN
"The transfer pump works really great. I had hardly no mess at all. I use it to pump out the gas tanks on snowmobiles and other small engines, to winterize them or to summerize them. It beets the heck out of trying to sephon them out. I would suggest this to anyone who needs to pump liqued out of a tank."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery pump

,
May 16, 2014
By sp6380
from Phoenix Az
"Good for gas and Diesel transfer but is plastic and needs careful handling to avoid breakage. Gas at 4.00 not spilling is paying for itself"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked fine.

,
May 11, 2014
By Hootie2
from Vermont
"I used this to pump out old gas from my boat gas tank. Only took a few minutes to pump out about 4 gallons. Did not want to put the old Ethanol laced gas through my Honda outboard. Worked just fine and no issues with the switch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Little Pump

,
May 5, 2014
By richardc950
from Arlington, Nebraska
"Every Spring I need to empty the fuel remaining in my snow blower. I've tied plunger type hand pumps in the past without much success. I saw this pump in an email, read the previous reviews and decided to give it a try. The price was right too. I received the pump in a couple of days, put in fresh D cell batteries and gave it a try. All I can say is fantastic. It worked great and pumped faster than I expected. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery operated liquid transfer pump

,
May 3, 2014
By Romola
from Eden Illinois
"This pump is very handy and it will transfer fluids quickly and with no spill. I wish I had purchased this long time ago I will definitely tell my friends about it. It will also pump water out of my boat if needed. I hope it holds up for many years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Operated pump

,
May 3, 2014
By Bobnor39
from Washington, Indiana
"Very handy to transfer liquid (Namely Water), when we camp out in the wildernessWorks really well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

,
April 24, 2014
By Skooter3
from Montvale, NJ
"On a scale of 10 this product is a clear 10. I will order 2 more and give to my snowmobile buddies. I used this pump to remove gasoline from my 2 sleds and it worked like magic. I have tried several other products and they did not work well. Remember to clean the pump after using by pumping a gallon of clean water. This is a remarkable product. It took me maybe 20 minutes per sled to empty the 10 gallon fuel tanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked once

,
April 3, 2014
By Tms1950
from Minneapolis, mn
"Very disappointing. I had a similar one a few years ago and needed one at another location. Used it once and it functioned oerfectly. Used again a few months later and the switch broke!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
February 10, 2014
By Binford2000
from New Jersey
"I bought this to transfer gas from a 5 gallon container into smaller containers for my various lawn equipment tools. Weed trimmer, blower, and even into my lawn tractor. I didn't even get to use the pump. Put the batteries in stuck it down into the 5 gallon can hit the switch ..... nothing. Made certain the batteries were in correctly, nothing. Took them out tested them. Put them in a flashlight, the flashlight works great. I called Northern before I posted this message and since it was dipped in gasoline, it can't be shipped back. Northern is shipping a new one at no charge and told me to just throw out the defective item. I'm hoping the new one will work. I'll post another message on the outcome. I like how Northern stood behind the item they sold. It's not their fault, they didn't manufacture it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tranfer pump

,
February 5, 2014
By tony35
from new jersey
"I use it at the race track to remove the fuel from the race car to the fuel can it works fast and no mess"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time saver

,
February 4, 2014
By Haroldthegasuser
from Knoxville, TN.
"I have used the 5 gallon cans and usually spill some fuel on the mower or weed eater or the car. This battery powered siphon has saved me from holding the can up and from spilling. It's worth every penny that I save from not spilling on the ground and my back for not holding up a full can. I say get 1 you'll be happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pumped old gas out of snowmobile

,
December 29, 2013
By MnMike1269
from st paul mn
"I needed to get the old gasoline out of my snowmobile. I put the batteries in, inserted it into the gas tank, turned it on and it pumped 2 gallons out. I don't know how long it will last. I had one that I used for transferring used cooking oil and that only lasted about 15 uses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little pump for price

,
October 26, 2013
By MaineDad
from Maine
"This pump is designed to pump liquids out of 5 gallon buckets and gas cans. It works well at that. I have pumped diesel fuel, heating oil, gasoline, and water with mine. I tried pumping gear oil and it pumped a little bit but then stopped pumping--too thick I guess. I tried to use the pump to pump heating oil out of a 275 gallon drum that was mostly empty, but when I attached a hose to the intake tube, it couldn't prime or pump. So you're basically limited to pumping liquids the depth of a 5-gallon bucket. You CAN extend the outflow tube like I did. I attached a 5' length of 9/16" outer diameter, 3/8" inch inner diameter clear vinyl tube to the end of the outflow tube with a little hose clamp, and it worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

2 failures

,
September 3, 2013
By Waderiord
from Monmouth, Oregon
"Like the pump but the switch is weak. I have had two fail. Finally went to hardware store and bought a toggle switch to replace original. I have had three of these pumps and the switch was faulty on two of those."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Remember to flush after gas

,
April 23, 2013
By Wado
from Maine
"This pump works great. One time I used it to transfer gas and forgot to flush it with fresh water. The next time I tried to use it, the motor ran but it would not pump. I suspect the residual gas damaged the impeller. So... Remember to flush."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

,
October 5, 2012
By bearsgt
from Peru, NY
"used this product not more than 12 times. It quit working all together. Replaced the batteries and this did not solve the problem. Would not recommed this item at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.