Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"

"Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"

Item# 550704
"This battery-operated liquid transfer pump can pump 5-6 quarts of liquid a minute, making it an ideal choice when standard power is unavailable. Can pump gas, water, oil and other non-corrosive liquids. Can be used in garage, basements, bathrooms, shop, yard, aquariums and more. Uses 2 D-cell batteries not included. Flow GPM 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/4 x 3 3/4 x 2."
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (91 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
82 of 91(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Review 1 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Head Of Maintenance

,
April 11, 2016
By
from Caldwell Ks.
I would recemend this product to anyone who needs a small pump to pump liquids.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas Pump

,
March 19, 2016
By
from AZ
I got this for my 5gl cans. It works OK but I have 4 US cans and 4 NATO style cans than the bottom of the pump won't fit into the NATO cans so I have to transfer the fuel to the US cans to use this. I would give it 5 stars had it fit all of my fuel cans though. It pumps fast and makes it very easy to fill all of my lawn tools.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Operates fine, delicate construction.

,
February 21, 2016
By
from Detroit, Mi
The unit pumps fine for the overall size. Adequate for homeowner uses. Delicate construction. Black pick up pipe has very thin wall. My unit failed (cracked 360 deg) where pipe is joined to upper housing. Failed on third usage pumping diesel.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked

,
February 12, 2016
By
from hobe sound, fla
tried it once and it worked...intake could be a little longer...did not reach to the bottom of 5 gal can...but worked ok..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Pump

,
February 12, 2016
By
from New Hampshire
Have only used this pump once but worked well. Only complaint is the discharge hose is too short.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Battery Operated Transfer Pump JB5684

,
February 11, 2016
By
from Shelton,CT
Very handy-eliminates need to lift heavy gas cans. Used it to fill my Cub Cadet, snow blower, back hoe(diesel), and even add gas to my car. Would recommend to any one but especially handy for us old guys.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome fuel pump

,
February 11, 2016
By
from Derry, NH
I have used these for years. they work great. I like the portability of them. batteries last a long time also.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini bilge pump

,
February 1, 2016
By
from Westchester, ny
I used this pump as a mini bilge pump for a small sailboat. Had to extend the hose but it performed flawlessly
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pump. No mess.

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Cleveland, OH
I used this pump to empty the remaining gas out of my boat's gas tank. The tank is below deck (55 gallon) and pumped into gas cans above the tank level ( about 3" above output hose of the pump). Was able to remove fuel sending unit on tank and put pump into opening. Worked quickly and easily. No mess was a big plus when working in a boat. Have also used it to transfer diesel from 5 gallon cans (on lift table) into work vehicle. Much easier on the back than the poorly thought out spill proof cans with the spring loaded spout that makes it almost impossible to pour into a vehicle. Flip the switch and it does the work. Pump drains containers almost completely dry. Very little left behind.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fuel transfer pump

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Phoenix, AZ
I'm always buying extra gas because of a rewards program and moving gas from cans to cars. This pump works much better than I expected for the price. It only requires 2 DD batteries. I would highly recommend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery pump

,
December 29, 2015
By
from south atlanta ga
This pump is very handy you do not have to lift up
gas can to put into fuel in mower. new gas cans are a
pain to try to pour gas into equipment. the outlet
hose could be a little long overall. this is a great
pump great price for this item.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

,
December 15, 2015
By
from California
Pulls liquid well, switch can be made just a little better.
Keep impeller end lubed and it well operate better.
I like it no more dump cans to fill my motorcycle.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

,
November 19, 2015
By
from Maryland
The first one was DOA, but Northern Tool made it right without delay or hassle. As for the pump, it flows much more than you think two D batteries could. It's ideal for transferring gasoline from those new PITA "spillproof" gas cans to lawnmowers, generators, etc., without spilling a drop! Note that it can't really be used to pump gas from your car to a container. Hope this helps!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr

,
October 24, 2015
By
from Alabaster Al
Excellent customer service/excellent product. Will use this company again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hasn't failed yet.

,
October 19, 2015
By
from southcentral PA
I've only used this a few times in the past 2 months since I got it- maybe about 8 gals. of gas pumped. It works everytime I've gone for it. It sure is alot nicer and quicker than the hand pumps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2015
By
from Michigan
This is a back saver and stops the spills of gas on the paint job. emptied (8) 5gal. cans of gas and batteries still good
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pump

,
September 17, 2015
By
from Moyock, NC
I bought the pump to use for refilling my generator with gas on camping trips. It is great!!! No more holding and pouring from a heavy gas can. I just pump the gas from the can while it is sitting on the ground right into the gererator. Wish I would have found this a long time ago!!!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Title was very good to describe the product

,
September 16, 2015
By
from NC
When I purchased this I thought I would be able to transfer fuel from my car to the lawn mower but I can understand why it is made this way. The unit works better than I thought it would when transferring fuel from a five gallon can to the lawn mower. It is quick and easy, no more balancing a full five gallon can above the lawn mower to pour the gas in.
Great product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Transfer Pump Doesn't Fit

,
September 4, 2015
By
from Ormond Beach, FL
This remarkable item works like a dream. But, I bought it for emergency use during a Florida hurricane (seemed like a simple way to fill the generator tank from my full car tank). OOPS--the rigid suction end doesn't fit into the car's gas tank! Maybe if I fit a piece of Tygon tubing to the end with duck tape?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

,
August 25, 2015
By
from Central Virginia
Bought this to syphon 25 gallons of Roundup from a broken sprayer into the new one. Worked like a charm. Then I overfilled the tractor with diesel. Came up, read the reviews to be sure it was OK for diesel. Then ran out and in 30 seconds the extra diesel was back in the can. I think I'm going to buy another one to keep with the generator.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.