Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"

"Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"

Item# 550704
"This battery-operated liquid transfer pump can pump 5-6 quarts of liquid a minute, making it an ideal choice when standard power is unavailable. Can pump gas, water, oil and other non-corrosive liquids. Can be used in garage, basements, bathrooms, shop, yard, aquariums and more. Uses 2 D-cell batteries not included. Flow GPM 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/4 x 3 3/4 x 2."
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (84 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
75 of 84(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Review 1 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini bilge pump

,
February 1, 2016
By
from Westchester, ny
I used this pump as a mini bilge pump for a small sailboat. Had to extend the hose but it performed flawlessly
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pump. No mess.

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Cleveland, OH
I used this pump to empty the remaining gas out of my boat's gas tank. The tank is below deck (55 gallon) and pumped into gas cans above the tank level ( about 3" above output hose of the pump). Was able to remove fuel sending unit on tank and put pump into opening. Worked quickly and easily. No mess was a big plus when working in a boat. Have also used it to transfer diesel from 5 gallon cans (on lift table) into work vehicle. Much easier on the back than the poorly thought out spill proof cans with the spring loaded spout that makes it almost impossible to pour into a vehicle. Flip the switch and it does the work. Pump drains containers almost completely dry. Very little left behind.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fuel transfer pump

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Phoenix, AZ
I'm always buying extra gas because of a rewards program and moving gas from cans to cars. This pump works much better than I expected for the price. It only requires 2 DD batteries. I would highly recommend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

battery pump

,
December 29, 2015
By
from south atlanta ga
This pump is very handy you do not have to lift up
gas can to put into fuel in mower. new gas cans are a
pain to try to pour gas into equipment. the outlet
hose could be a little long overall. this is a great
pump great price for this item.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

,
December 15, 2015
By
from California
Pulls liquid well, switch can be made just a little better.
Keep impeller end lubed and it well operate better.
I like it no more dump cans to fill my motorcycle.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well

,
November 19, 2015
By
from Maryland
The first one was DOA, but Northern Tool made it right without delay or hassle. As for the pump, it flows much more than you think two D batteries could. It's ideal for transferring gasoline from those new PITA "spillproof" gas cans to lawnmowers, generators, etc., without spilling a drop! Note that it can't really be used to pump gas from your car to a container. Hope this helps!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mr

,
October 24, 2015
By
from Alabaster Al
Excellent customer service/excellent product. Will use this company again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hasn't failed yet.

,
October 19, 2015
By
from southcentral PA
I've only used this a few times in the past 2 months since I got it- maybe about 8 gals. of gas pumped. It works everytime I've gone for it. It sure is alot nicer and quicker than the hand pumps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2015
By
from Michigan
This is a back saver and stops the spills of gas on the paint job. emptied (8) 5gal. cans of gas and batteries still good
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pump

,
September 17, 2015
By
from Moyock, NC
I bought the pump to use for refilling my generator with gas on camping trips. It is great!!! No more holding and pouring from a heavy gas can. I just pump the gas from the can while it is sitting on the ground right into the gererator. Wish I would have found this a long time ago!!!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Title was very good to describe the product

,
September 16, 2015
By
from NC
When I purchased this I thought I would be able to transfer fuel from my car to the lawn mower but I can understand why it is made this way. The unit works better than I thought it would when transferring fuel from a five gallon can to the lawn mower. It is quick and easy, no more balancing a full five gallon can above the lawn mower to pour the gas in.
Great product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Transfer Pump Doesn't Fit

,
September 4, 2015
By
from Ormond Beach, FL
This remarkable item works like a dream. But, I bought it for emergency use during a Florida hurricane (seemed like a simple way to fill the generator tank from my full car tank). OOPS--the rigid suction end doesn't fit into the car's gas tank! Maybe if I fit a piece of Tygon tubing to the end with duck tape?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

,
August 25, 2015
By
from Central Virginia
Bought this to syphon 25 gallons of Roundup from a broken sprayer into the new one. Worked like a charm. Then I overfilled the tractor with diesel. Came up, read the reviews to be sure it was OK for diesel. Then ran out and in 30 seconds the extra diesel was back in the can. I think I'm going to buy another one to keep with the generator.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transfer Pump

,
August 9, 2015
By
from Tulsa, OK
The battery powered transfer pump is the best thing I have bought in long time. It works great pumping gas from the can into your mower.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DOSE THE JOB

,
July 27, 2015
By
from NY
HAVE OWNED THIS STYLE PUMP IN THE PAST. USE IT TO TRANSFER KEROSENE FROM 5GL CONTAINERS INTO BULK TANK. MUCH EASIER THEN LIFTING UP, END UP WITH LESS SPILLAGE WHICH IS A SAVING IN ITSELF, AND EASIER ON BACK. I SET CAN ON PLATFORM AND PUMP AWAY, IN A SHORT FEW MINUTES, EMPTY. FOR THE PRICE, YOU REALLY CAN NOT GO WRONG. IT IS SOMETHING YOU CAN PURCHASE THAT WELL DO THE JOB.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

backsaver

,
July 27, 2015
By
from Florida
Have two of these pumps. Use for filling lawnmower and they make filling tank from a five gallon can easy and safe.
Will order additional ones for Christmas presents to my elderly friends.
I also use one for filling tractor and other equipment's hydraulic reservoir.
The only drawback I have found is that you have to carefully drain the hoses before extracting or you will have a mess.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beats pour and spill techniques

,
July 26, 2015
By
from hawley,pa
I first tested the use of the liquid transfer pump with water then after getting a feel for the product, used it with gasoline. To my surprise, it works effortlessly to get the job done. It was thought to be a little slow at first, but turned out faster and safer than initially thought.. Great for you if you have a lot of gas powered garden tools or an ATV!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 26, 2015
By
from Boyd, TX, United States
Bought this pump to fill tractor with diesel ,with the new no vented fuel cans it is life saver , when you pump it within a few minutes with no spills & no hassle with spills ,it works great with riding lawnmower & the price is great .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Liquid transfer pump

,
July 25, 2015
By
from Chicago
This pump works well for fuel, and I was impressed at how fast it transfers it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Sierra Tools Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump, Model# JB5684"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overcomes disability

,
July 23, 2015
By
from West Central NH
I am a retired General Contractor with limited strength and agility due to heart disease. Lifting a can of fuel to fill my mowers or tractors was becoming increasingly more difficult. Adding fuel to a truck or car is actually easy now without juggling a funnel and can of fuel. Finding this Battery-Operated Liquid Transfer Pump has literally made difficult tasks doable and everyday life easier for me. No strain, balancing acts or smelling like diesel or gas. Fluids transfer quickly and stop immediately at the push of a button with virtually no dripping. I've also pumped hydraulic fluid with no issues. I try to rinse with soapy water after changing types of fluids and then clear water. I’ve bought 2 more; one as a gift and one as spare.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.