Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.

Item# 558265
The Northern Industrial 3/8in. Torque Wrench produces an audible 'click' sound when torque is reached. Includes sturdy molded case for storage. Torque ft./lbs. 5-80, Storage Type Sturdy molded case, Pieces qty. 1, Drive in. 3/8, Tool Length in. 13 1/2. Torque range 5-80 ft.-lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
30 of 33(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Be careful with the 4% accuracy spec

,
September 6, 2013
By Anonymous
from Florida
"I checked the calibration of this wrench using industry-standard methods in a cal lab. I was only interested in the low scale accuracy at first. At 5 lb-ft, the wrench clicked at 7.8 lb-ft. At 10 lb-ft, the wrench clicked at 11.9 lb-ft. Now at first glance that looks way out of the 4% spec. But wait...many companies, including very reputable ones, specify the accuracy using the "% of full-scale value" only. If we use that method, the 4% spec should be applied to the maximum setting of 80 lb-ft, and that yields 3.2 lb-ft overall. Using that number, the calibrations at 5 lb-ft and 10 lb-ft are in spec (less than 3.2 lb-ft difference). Knowing that, it would be useful to create a simple chart to indicate what the wrench setting is versus the actual performance. Now I have a chart that shows the actual value at 5 -ft-lb to be 7.8 lb-ft, etc... all the way up to 80. I rated it average because the spec can be misleading."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precise torque specs

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"This isn't overly complicated and it does do a very good job of getting the torque specs right on the money. I've used it when re-assembling an engine (where torque has to be very close to spec) and have had zero failures in the parts since installation. This tool gives a definitive CLICK when you're at the torque point. Simple to set, easy to read and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tool is very uselful

,
August 13, 2012
By silver92
from Georgia
"I give it 4 stars for the price and the usefulness. I would give it 5 stars, but I don't know how accurate it really is. For the price and for my use (occasional), it is a good tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

never worked

,
May 15, 2012
By backyardmechanic99
from mountain Home ar.
"Bought this torque wrench and it never worked out of the box. Followed the directions and all I got was a breaker bar."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for inexpensive torque wrench

,
January 9, 2012
By SuperOldSchool
from Chicago
"This tool is fairly accurate and decent for the price. More accurate ones are 3-4 times as much $$."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8 Torque Wrench

,
June 14, 2011
By Newbie14
from Des Moines, IA
"I was doing some work on my car and found myself in need of a torque wrench. I was shocked to see how much some of the others were, so when i saw this one with the great reviews and the price i couldnt pass it up. It worked perfect and the adjustments were so easy to work even for a beginner like myself. I cant wait to use it again."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price, nice wrench

,
March 4, 2011
By Trambo
from Richmond, VA
"Bought this for working on the motorcycle, because so many of the parts are soft aluminum and overtightening will destroy the metal. I like the easy adjustability and the positive 'click'-style settings. So far it has held up well for a year with no problems. Quality seems pretty good at such a low price point. Carrying case is nice to have. I'd suggest getting 2 adapters to allow use of 1/4" or 1/2" sockets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

3/8 Torque Wrench

,
November 23, 2010
By uhaul
from Pittsburgh PA
"I purchased Two of these torque wrenches for use in my shop and within a couple of weeks, you could not adjust the settings on one and the handle came apart on the other one. The units seem to be poor quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for a garage shop (at your own home) !

,
November 16, 2010
By adelara
from Cary, NC
"Not too big and clumsy, this wrench goes from 5-80 pounds - also N and Kg scales available - it is ideal for low torque settings. The tool is very smooth but it is rugged enough for a repair shop.
You can't beat the price either ! You can go for a $200 bucks fancy digital wrench, but why ?!? This is what you need !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality Tool

,
November 16, 2010
By Bill38
from Charlotte, NC
"Good torque wrench for the home mechanic. Very easy to read numbers and wrench seems to be well built. Equal to the higher priced torque wrenches. Northern Tool is a fine company and I will continue to purchase tools from them in the future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the Job

,
November 16, 2010
By Steve22
from Chicago
"If you are like me, you don't have many occasions to use a torque wrench. There are still those occasions when one come in handy. This simple, easy to use and affordable tool is just what you are looking for. It even comes with it's own case. I used it to replace a head gasket on my lawn mower. Head bolts need to be torqued to specs. Good wrench for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like others bought for motorcycle maintenance

,
August 23, 2010
By DisplacedDan
from South Georgia
"Good little accurate tool a necessary element to anyones tool box if they plan on doing and up-keep on their scooter. Id recommend it to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

,
June 1, 2010
By Mugojoe
from Centerburg, OH
"I am rebuilding a '95 CR250 and picked up this to handle the lower torque requirements. Works perfectly. The specks are a little hard to see on the side - but are fine in good light. If they colored them in bright orange (like I did) or black..... it would be perfect. No complaints here - great value for the money. It even comes with a very nice case!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good price

,
June 1, 2010
By spanky2
from somerset wi
"for the price you can't beet it. Even if it breaks in a year or two you will get your moneys worth."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great low end torque wrench

,
June 1, 2010
By RomanEngineer
from North Atlanta, GA
"I bought this wrench for a specific low torque job (6 foot pounds) it performed well.
The wrench is solid and is easy to set, the directions are clear and the case is a nice bonus. This is a great wrench for the do it yourselfer.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

,
May 23, 2010
By Fullthrottle17
from Los Angeles, California
"This Is a nice torque Wrench! The best for the Price! :) I recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
December 6, 2009
By Groundskeeper
from Omaha, NE
"I bought this item to use after rotating tires and mounting/dismounting winter/summer tires. My only wish is that it would have included some sort of extension piece, but that isn't a big deal. This is my first torque wrench, so I can't say much else about it, except that the torque is easy to dial in.
Good item for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 3/8" Torque Wrench

,
November 2, 2009
By joe189
from TX
"I have always used beam type torque wrenches for automotive work but needed something smaller for motorcycles. This torque wrench is easy to set and clicks noticeably at the set torque value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have

,
November 2, 2009
By Lloyd10977
from Nanuet, NY
"We all have a complete assortment of 3/8 drive sockets and this torque wrench is a perfect addition. Motorcycle bolts are unforgiving when it comes to aluminum heads so this is cheap insurance that is worth every penny."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Torque Wrench - 3/8in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good wrench, good value

,
August 25, 2009
By sail2xxs
from Edgewater, MD
"I bought this torque wrench for working on my motorcycles. It is easy to set, well-sized, and in the storage case, well protected. Good bang for the buck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.