Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set

Item# 558383
Chrome vanadium 6-pt. sockets with blow-mold case. 9 standard sizes 1/4in. through 3/4in. 6 deep well sizes 3/8in. through 3/4in. 3in. and 6in. extension bar, 1 quick-release ratchet handle. Material Type Chrome vanadium steel, Measurement Type Standard SAE, Point Size qty. 6, Handles qty. Quick-release ratchet, Extensions qty. 2 Dual position-3in., 6in., Drive in. 3/8, SAE Socket Size in. Standard 1/4, 5/16, 3/8, 7/16, 1/2, 9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4 Deep Well 3/8, 7/16, 1/2, 9/16, 5/8, 3/4, Storage Type Blow-molded case, Pieces qty. 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality socket wrenches to get the job done.

,
April 23, 2013
By CloudyCarpenter
from San Antonio
"I purchased this set a few months ago and love them. I liked that they did not come with grips because I dip my tools in Plastidip for a uniform look. I'm a bit obsessive like that but I also like to keep my tools for a very long time. I can already tell that this set will be hanging around my garage for quite awhile. The tool case they come in is nice, but I chose to make a tool roll for this set out of canvas. Sockets feel heavy and sturdy- just as I like my women to be"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
January 17, 2012
By poolsharks
from Newark De
"I had this set for about 2 years still works great. And I use it at lest 4 times a week."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great emergency kit or to compliment your tools

,
October 17, 2011
By MarkMDZ
from CT
"These sockets, wrenches, extensions all appear to be on par with the exponentially more expensive Craftsman, and other home-handyman tools out there. I'd easily argue that they're nearly on par with the professional grade tools as well.
I purchased these because they were cheap and some other reviews mentioned they were quality. Having an extensive Metric tool selection already, and with the new purchase of an older American truck, I needed some cheapy SAE stuff to get by for working on the truck. These are a very welcome surprise and great addition to my tools.
The pear-head ratchet is a welcome treat and makes this kit go from a good value to a great value.
My only gripe with the kit is no handle on the blow-molded case, and the latches for the case are not great.
All told though, I'm very happy with these, and plan to order more SAE sockets/sets from Northern to compliment my tool box."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tools, great Price

,
November 17, 2008
By skoniarz
from Storrs, CT
"Simple layout and features of this tool cause for it to be the best on the market. I work in theatre scene shops and always find that the sockets and wrenches are all over the place. Having this small case that really holds every socket in place even after dropping it with the lid closed is extremely helpful. I would like to recommend any home hobbyist or professional purchase this as the backup to their other socket sets. Great price, geat product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8" drive socket set

,
August 11, 2008
By bjgreene
from Kingsport , Tn
"A ideal set , great case ,recommend for anyone , for every day use you can't beat this set , I lke the size and weight of the case compared to other sets , easily keep in my toolbox ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

socket set

,
April 21, 2008
By chuckacook
from huntersville, nc
"sockets are great! "lock Tabs" on case have broken from use...and there is no replacement tabs or case."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set

,
April 16, 2008
By Anthony89
from NJ
"Good price for the quality of tools you receive, just what I expected from the photo.
The case that the set comes in is very nice keeps my sockets nice and organized. I have bought the metric and sae sets in both 1/4 and 3/8 drive.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOCKET SET

,
April 14, 2008
By GWG9461
from MIDLAND, TX
"VERY HANDY TOOL AND EASY TO USE. THE SET CONTAINS MORE THAT WHAT NEEDED FOR THE JOB."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8 socket

,
June 27, 2007
By hardihood
from seattle, wa
"this set is a winner. use it at work and has everything i use. holds up great and works well. cant beat the price to. highly recommend to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Socket Set - 3/8 in. Drive, 18-Pc. SAE Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

,
March 7, 2007
By dzthemailman
from Kalispell, Mt.
"I bought this tool set to put in my ATV toolbox, it was a steal at the price in Northern. Seems like a quality tool from my use so far. A couple of my buddies ordered them also. A+"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.