Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled

Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled

Item# 55867
"Longer handle allows for increased leverage when setting rivets. Ideal for setting large diameter rivets and hard-to-set rivets 1/8 in., 5/32 in. and 3/16 in. in diameter. Compatible Rivet Size in. 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, Rivet Type Pop, Rivets Included No."
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Review 1 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent rivet gun, wish it was faster

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" I bought the long handled version of this rivet gun because I was hoping the long handles would lend to faster/longer pumps and therefore faster rivet settings. Unfortunately, it's just as slow as my old shorter handle one. The big advantage is leverage. The rivets are near effortless to install with it and it does help to be able to reach out over hoods and body panels with the long handles if you need to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Sme7272
from Grand Forks, ND
" This is a great product. I have been using it for years. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works sometime

,
November 29, 2012
By PeteOhms
from Leander, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I'm building an airplane. Part of the construction uses pop rivets. So far about 400. About every 6 to 10 rivets this tool won't work. Won't grab the rivet shaft. I have an older hand squeezer that I use for the ones that fail. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long handle rivet tool

,
August 13, 2012
By Tap21
from Ohio
" I recieved this tool quickly and put to work on 1/4 " rivets we were using on a project. It was very easy to operate compared to the single hand models on the heavy duty rivets. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hand riveter in a pinch

,
March 17, 2011
By sgray
from Marietta, GA
" I left my pneumatic riveter at my shop and was doing a Mercedes Window regulator in my garage. I desperately needed to get this customer going again and sent my wife to a national hardware store to buy a hand riveter. It broke on the first rivet! I ran to Northern, got the riveter and finished the job. Customer happy, I got paid, so I'm happy!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long handle rivet tool

,
March 14, 2011
By stumpman
from Kansas
" Rivet tool works great, but hard to use in tight places, (like inside corners), because of the long handles. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use Enough Tool

,
June 3, 2010
By Anonymous
from Charlottesville, VA
" I bought this tool to set 3/16" blind rivets in a canoe I was refinishing. My old "Pop" style gun just did not have the leverage to fully expand this larger size. This tool handled the task with ease. The fit and finish of the parts is decent, prehaps slightly better than would be expected for the price. I'm a satisfied customer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pulls 3/16" stainless rivets with ease.

,
November 18, 2008
By CTCTCT
from Chicago, IL
" This gun has plenty of power. I used this to install fittings in a sailboat mast and it has plenty of power to pull stainless rivets tight, which is often a pain with smaller hand models. The only downside would be that it doesn't have a 1/4" shank size attachment. It would seem that this would have plenty of power for that size rivet. Luckily, 3/16" was the biggest I needed. Highly recommended at a great price! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Surebonder Rivet Tool - Long Handled
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier to Use

,
July 9, 2007
By Stiltdancer
from Bethesda, MD
" I bought this to replace a handheld Arrow rivet tool. This tool is far easier on my hands (the squeeze, squeeze, squeeze was rough on my hands - I have a tendency toward carpal tunnel syndrome) and so far appears to be far more rugged (it handles larger rivets much more easily). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.