Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"

"Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"

Item# 57204
"This heavy-duty Ultra-Tow hub is preassembled, prelubed with premium grease and ready for easy assembly on your trailer axle. Use the Ultra-Tow Easy ID to easily identify the components you need. Constructed with ductile cast iron for higher tensile strength, less deflection and excellent corrosion resistance. Electroplated to resist rust and corrosion. Bolt Circle Pattern in. 4, Inner Bearing Size in. 1, Outer Bearing Size in. 1, Studs qty. 4, Weight Capacity Each lbs. 1,250, Seal Size in. 1 1/4, Spindle Size Dia. x L in. 1 x 4. Includes hub with bearing cup, studs, bearings and seal installed, with the dust cap, dust cap installation tool, cotter pin and lug nuts Electroplated to resist rust and corrosion Sold individually"
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Review 1 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super hubs

,
August 20, 2014
By DuncanC
from Andover, NH
"Replaced integral bearings wheels with these hubs with no prior experience. The instructions were very clear and the install was a "no brainer". The product is well made and accurately described."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wheel hub

,
August 14, 2014
By Jimsr1
from Ohio
"Good quality cast iron machined and painted hub with pressed-in lug bolts. All parts were included for a functional unit. Items were shipped in a timely manner and were received in good order."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hubs and bearings

,
August 6, 2014
By MAWS
from Upstate NY
"Good product, easy install with fast delivery. Hubs come pre packed with grease. I liked the blue grease better that was used in the past. Trailer used in salt water and I repack yearly and replace everything every three years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

4 lug hub

,
April 30, 2014
By NEbeerz
from Boston
"Perfect fit. Better quality than expected. Clear directions. Everything as advertised. Installed on the old Duerr 20 ton splitter in 15 min. Old wheels were spindle mount. Now lug mount. Easy change if flat tire.
will be ordering many more parts for the new log / wood trailer. Thanks
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
April 15, 2014
By kls4270
from Grand Island,NE
"Great quality fit great looks great I am very happy with my purchase"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hubs

,
February 4, 2014
By AlpacaFarmer14
from Spring Mills,Pa
"I got a set of these to go along with #1350 ATV tire/wheel combo & #5712451 stub axles to go under a garden trailer .Overkill for what I need, but I don't have to worry about bending the axle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
September 17, 2013
By hibernate
from Western Mass
"I bought an old trailer, and it was sitting unused long enough that when I took the hubs apart to repack the bearings, they were full of crud. I got two of these assemblies shipped to me, cleaned off the spindles, put them on, and proceeded to drive 7,000 miles on them with no issues whatsoever. The only reason I'm taking one star away is that they were packed horribly, so both plastic enclosures were broken when I got them (This would not matter for most products, but these are pre-greased, so that meant they could have been exposed to dirt, though thankfully they weren't.) And also the dust caps I got with them would not fit at all, so I had to use the ones from the old hubs, after cleaning them. If they improved their packing, and shipped dust covers that fit, this would be BEYOND a 5 star product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier than I ever imagined

,
August 20, 2012
By Novice01
from Memphis, TN
"I purchased a pair of these hub to put on an old trailer I sanded and repainted. Having never installed anything like this before, I was very apprehensive. However, the job was extremely simple. I replaced both hub within an hour and 15 minutes. The price was really cheap compared to other retailers in my area. I've used the trailer for 500 mile trips and 10 mile trips without any issues whatsoever. I also purchased some bearing buddies with I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Replacement Hub

,
October 10, 2011
By Racepro
from Lithia, Florida
"I purchased a pair of these:
Ultra-Tow High Speed Hubs - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity (Single), to replace the ones on an old welding trailer.
These Hubs came with everything needed to do the job. Hub, Studs, Lugs, Bearings already packed in grease, Seal, Cotter Pin, and Cap.
I paired these Hubs with a set of:
4-Hole High Speed Spoked Rim Design Trailer Tire Assembly — 480-12 tire, Model# DM412C-4C-I, to replace the mismatched set that was already on the trailer.
Usually I would state that things aren't made like they used to be. But, I'm here to tell you now, these Hubs paired with the Rims & Tires did a great job curing the issues we had with the "older components". Replacement only took thirty five minutes to replace both sides.
We were continually having to tighten the lugs on the older Hubs because on a 10 mile trip they would come loose.
We actually ruined the older wheels because on a 20 mile trip they became so loose, we wallered out the Lug Holes on the old Rims.
After replacing those components with these Hubs and Wheels, our issues are over.
If you really want to accent your replacement Hubs, then I suggest using a pair of:
Ultra-Tow High-Performance Bearing Protectors — Pair, Fit 1.98in. Hubs, Stainless Steel, Grease Level Indicators, Model# 5712940.
To keep your new Hubs in optimum operating order.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ultra-Tow High Speed Hub - 4 on 4in., 1250-Lb. Capacity, Single"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High speed hub repolacements

,
November 16, 2010
By mdsmoving
"These work excellent and helped make an older trailer like new again. I would recomment these hubs to anyone who needs one."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.