Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8

Item# 60553
Briggs & Stratton 205cc 850 Series™ Horizontal Engine produces 8.50 ft.-lbs. Gross Torque to get the job done. Compact overhead valve design runs cooler and cleaner delivering more power, longer engine life and improved fuel economy. This engine has fast fuel delivery for one-pull starts and smooth operation. Not for sale in California (CA residents please see CA CARB-Approved engine NTE Item# 60682). Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Engine Displacement (cc): 205, Start Type: Recoil, Application: Tillers, compressors, log splitters, edgers, Engine Type: OHV 850 series, Rated Power (HP): Manufacturer no longer rates this engine by HP, Torque (ft./lbs.): 8.50, Shaft Output: Horizontal, Shaft Diameter (in.): 3/4, Shaft Length (in.): 2 5/16, Shaft Keyway (in.): 3/16, Shaft End Tapped (Diameter (in.)/Threads per inch): 5/16 - 24, Shaft Rotation (From PTO Shaft Side): Counterclockwise, PTO Height (in.): 4 11/64, Bearing Type: Plain, Cylinders (qty.): 1, Cylinder Bore: Aluminum alloy, Bore x Stroke (in.): 2.69 x 2.20, Cooling System: Air cooled, Air Cleaner Type: Automotive type pleated paper air filter, Fuel Tank: Yes, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Tank Capacity (qt.): 3, Oil Capacity (qt.): 0.56 - 0.63 (18 - 20 oz.), Low Oil Alert: No, Ignition System: Electronic, Governor System: Mechanical, Carburetor: Float, Throttle Control: Adjustable for a constant speed operation, manual friction, remote, Choke Control: Manual, Max. RPM: 3,800, Muffler Included: Yes, Auto Compression Release: Yes, Bolt Circle (in.): 3 5/8, Mounting Bolt Pattern L x W (in.): 6 3/8 x 3 1/8, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 10 1/8 x 15 9/16 x 14 3/8, EPA/CARB Approval (California Air Resource Board): No Aluminum alloy bore for cooler operation Fuel shut-off valve makes it easy to shut off fuel flow for safe transportation
Average Customer Rating:
4.896 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (48 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 of 48(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Review 1 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great motor for the price!

,
August 30, 2010
By Ericare2000
from wisconsin
" What a great motor for not a lot of money. Starts on 1st pull everytime! Used it on kids go-kart. Over 100 hrs with no issues. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine

,
August 6, 2009
By handyman123
from St. Louis, MO
" I purchased this engine to replace the worn-out engine on my log splitter. The mounting holes and shaft characteristics were as advertised and the engine was easily installed. The engine starts with one pull and runs great !! I would highly recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little engine!

,
March 27, 2009
By ragtop67firebird
from Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this engine to use on a go-kart that I picked up for my kids. I was replacing another briggs, so it bolted right on. I had some other items that needed to be addressed with the kart because it hadn't been run in a couple of years but the engine was a snap. It bolted right on, checked gas and oil and it started on the first pull. Starts easy, Quite, sips fuel and has lots of power, my kids love it. The kart has a live axle and unbeliveably flies threw the snow!
One thing I really love is that my 9 yo daughter can start it by herself... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

B & S 5.5 Intek Eng.

,
August 17, 2007
By Doug401
from New Hampshire
" I have never had anything go so well. I bought this engine to replace the B&S 206cc 5hp eng on my 30 year old Diddier Log Splitter. Everything lined up perfectly -- even used the old bolts and keys AND it started on the first pull. 30 minutes after I got the engine I was splitting wood! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs & Stratton engine

,
March 6, 2007
By wanda
from Coldspring, Texas
" Engine worked perfectly on our garden tiller. Very pleased with your com pany service. Thanks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
July 17, 2007
By hacksaw
from Raeford North Carolina.
" This New Intek Horizontal Engine I bought For my tiller was a breeze to change out with the old engine and had no trouble with any alignment of the new engine to the tiller.
I am well pleased with the way the engine runs and have recomended the engine swap to a buddy of mine for his tiller. The engine has plenty of power to till the garden, also I like having it start on the first or second pull.
I will consider an engine swap for my Garden tractor when it needs it also. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tiller Motor

,
July 9, 2007
By milwrong
from Wilmington, Il
" Not an exact replacement for the previous motor. A little drilling on the mounting holes, cut and re-tap the shaft, and it started on the first pull. Overall a very satisfactory replacement. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 9, 2007
By papadeerhunter
from Maplewood,Ohio
" Awesome! Tiller works better now than when it was new! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great motor

,
July 9, 2007
By Erik
from Ontario, Canada
" I installed this engine on a Bolan Tiller, and I have used the engine for about 40 hours. The engine has performed flawlessly, and it is very easy to start and the motor runs quitely.
Great engine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiller Replacement Engine

,
September 27, 2010
By SeaIslandEd
from South Carolina
" I ordered this engine to replace the original 5 horse Brigg's engine on my old Troy-Bilt Bronco Tiller. I placed the order on Wednesday afternoon with standard ground shipping, and on Friday afternoon it was sitting at my back door. My Bronco is foward rotating with a reverse so the shaft drive is a double pulley and there are several attachments that must bolt to the back of the engine. Everything must line up exactly in order for it to work properly, and it did! A perfect fit! After mounting the engine and checking everything out, I cranked her up and set the throttle at about two-thirds max and tilled the whole garden. Not once did the govenor kick in to increase power. It just hummed right through the job. This engine is a noticeable improvement over the original. It is easy starting, quiet, and has increased power.
A great engine, at a great price, with fantastic delivery. You will not be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE WORKHORSE

,
August 30, 2010
By captbalou
from Miami Florida
" So versatile, I use it for go cart, home made battery charger with auto Alternator, mini bike, slue for panning gold, connected to hydraulic pump drives my deep sea grouper rig crane for hoisting fish and a welding hoist. Connected to centrifugal clutch it even becomes more versatile especially on my ranch! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!

,
July 20, 2009
By troedel
from Evansville, IN
" When our logsplitter engine blew, I just knew we were going to have to purchase a new logsplitter. What could two retired women do with a blown engine? But, we decided to search for a replacement engine instead. We found the perfect replacement at Northern Tool with the help of one of their very knowledgeable sales reps. The engine installed very easily in less than 30 minutes. This engine is far better than the original engine that came on the logsplitter. It almost always starts with one pull, but never more than two. It seems to run forever on a tank of gas and has more power than needed to get the job done. We have already split the wood from four very large trees and never had so much as a hiccup. In addition, the price was very reasonable. I would recommend this engine to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine review

,
July 13, 2009
By Rusty123
from Middlebury, VT
" Purchased this engine to replace the one on my wood splitter. The engine was easy to install fit perfectly and once filled with oil etc started on the second pull. I have continued to use it and have split seven cords of firewood with it and the engine has perforemed flawlessly. The enging started first or second pull everytime, even when the temp was below zero. Most of the time when it was warmer only had the choke at half. Very pleased with the engine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Semi-Trash Pump

,
July 13, 2009
By Aeroservicios
from Miami, FL
" Nice Semi-Trash Pump, we have being using it amount other models, all bought in NT and work very well for long time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tiller

,
March 19, 2009
By baabaablacksheep
from manning, sc
" I bought this engine approx. 2 mos ago to replace a worn-out tiller engine. Starts on 2nd pull and tills w/out lugging. A great little engine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The little engines that could.

,
March 19, 2009
By Quadshot
from Mattituck, NY
" My first use for this model was to replace the engine on my tow behind yard vacuum system. I replaced a 4hp Koehler with this 5.5hp Briggs engine, what a nice difference. The next two time I used these engines were to replace two tired 5hp engines on mine and my father's logsplitters. Both bolted on and worked like a charm. Great price and value. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine

,
March 16, 2009
By MJR01
from Warren, PA
" We purchased these motors for oil field use. They were delivered on time and work great in all weather conditions. They were just as decribed in the catolog. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement Engine

,
November 18, 2008
By Mater
from Ohio
" I could not find the engine I needed online and called the 800 #. The customer service Rep took my model and serial # from my original engine and had the correct replacement in less than 2 minutes, as I followed him along through the web page. Shipping was fantastic, and the replacement engine bolted up without any modifications to my leaf pick up machine. The engine started on the first pull, and has only needed a slight carburator adjustment since the temperature has dropped from when I first installed it. Great service! Great Product! Great price! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs and Stratton engine

,
November 18, 2008
By jaglover
from Dalton. New Hampshire
" This engine repllaced my old one on my wood splitter and is so easy to start and run.
Great engine which fitted exactly without any drilling,I was able to use the original bolts and coupler.
I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants value for their money.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Briggs & Stratton Horizontal Engine - 205cc, 850 Series, 8.50 Gross Torque, 3/4in. x 2 5/16in. Shaft, Model# 120212-0523-B8
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement motor

,
August 18, 2008
By gilliland1
from Salem,IN
" this is a very good replacement motor for anyone with a tiller,lawn edger,log splitter or power washer.It will replace any motor from 3hp through 5hp easily plus built it throttle linkage.Runs very smooth, starts easily and gets the job done.
Plus its a Briggs & Stratton engine... number one name in small engines and very reliable
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.