Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2

Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2

Item# 6059
The Honda 163cc GX Series OHV Commercial-Grade Horizontal Engine is designed for the most demanding commercial applications. It has set an industry standard for reliability and durability. Overhead Valve design offers cooler, fuel-efficient operation and cast iron cylinder sleeve provides longer service life. The GX is reliable, easy starting and quiet running. Meets EPA and CARB emission levels standards. This legendary engine has earned the reputation as the preferred engine for construction equipment. Common applications include pressure washers, compressors, log splitters and chipper/shredders. Application Pressure washer, compressor, log splitter, chipper/shredder, Auto Compression Release Yes, Bearing Type Ball, Bolt Circle in. 3 5/8, Air Cleaner Type Dual element, Choke Control Manual, Compression Ratio 8.51, Cooling System Air cooled, Crankshaft Q-type, Bore x Stroke in. 2.7 x 1.8, Carburetor Float, external vent, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 13 3/8 x 12 1/2, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Cylinder Bore Cast iron, Cylinders qty. 1, Fuel Type Gasoline, Governor System Centrifugal mechanical, Ignition System Electronic, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 3.3, Mounting Base L x W in. 6 3/8 x 3 5/32 to 3 11/32, Muffler Included Yes, standard, Oil Capacity qt. 0.63, PTO Height in. 4 11/64, Lubrication System Forced splash, Max. RPM 3,600, Shaft End Tapped Diameter in./Threads per inch 5/16-24, Shaft Keyway in. 3/16, Shaft Length in. 2 7/16, Shaft Output Horizontal, Rated Power HP 4.8, Shaft Diameter in. 3/4, Throttle Control Remote wire, Torque ft./lbs. 7.60 at 2,500 RPM, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side Counterclockwise, Start Type Recoil, Fuel Tank Standard White, Engine Displacement cc 163, Engine Type GX series OHV commercial-duty. Honda 163cc OHV air-cooled, 4-stroke, horizontal engine Fuel efficient, high-output operation with precision camshaft design and a high compression ratio OHV design delivers increased efficiency and optimal power transfer Smooth performance and reduced vibration from precision-balanced crankshaft and reduced piston weight Ball bearing-supported crankshaft offers greater stability Aluminum push roads reduce both valve clearance and noise level Muffler, breather valve, case cover, air intake system, rigid crankcase, helical-cut gears and lightweight materials are also designed to reduce noise level Oil alert protects engine Carburetor coating and filter help protect fuel from impurities Cast iron cylinder sleeve Reliability comes from high-quality materials, fit and finish Dual-element air cleaner Easy to use and maintain with simple throttle control, large fuel tanks, wide-mouth automotive-style fuel cap, dual oil fills and drains, easy to use control box and easily accessible spark plug Get quick starts with the heavy-duty recoil starter with ergonomic design and automatic decompression system 50-state compliant engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 25(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Review 1 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda GX160

,
June 9, 2014
By Goboy
from Wisconsin
"This engine is very easy to start, and fuel efficient. It has much better power than the engine it replaced"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GX 160 Honda Engine

,
January 17, 2012
By firemtn55
from Ohio
"I am currently using this engine for my home built log splitter. It delivers more than enough power to do the job. It is perfect for my 11 gpm pump and delivering the rpms needed for a 4x24 hydraulic cylinder. This engine starts even in the coldest temps 18 degrees yesterday and started no problem. You will not be disappointed with this purchase and through Northern tool the price you just can't beat it!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For a Go Cart

,
December 20, 2011
By Blackchief29
from Joplin, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased this engine for an old Go Cart I fixed up for the kids. At first, I could not get the engine to start and then realized it has a low engine oil feature that will not allow the engine to start if not fully filled with oil. I filled oil to the proper level and it started VERY easily on the first pull. This is a great option/upgrade for a Go Cart. Plenty of power, low vibration, and quiet. Very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will not run

,
December 19, 2011
By slb1
from Midland, Texas
"I opened the box and installed this motor abd it will not start!! I have had to take it to a small engine mechanic and he still does not have it running. It is a piece of JUNK! Don't waste your time or money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-15points
2out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Blackchief29
Joplin, MO 
 
Please wait while more information about Blackchief29 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackchief29 could not be loaded.
December 20, 2011
"Likely solution is to fill the oil to the proper level for the low engine oil sensor to allow the engine to start. I had this problem too and once I filled the oil up to a few threads on the dipstick, it fired on the first pull. This may help"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda 5.5 gx160

,
October 10, 2011
By Paulthesprayman
from Monterey Bay, California
"Purchased this Honda 5.5 engine to replace a briggs on a 100 gallon john bean sprayer, It fit and worked perfect. Much Quieter than the briggs engine and easier to start. Theres nothing bad that I can say about this Honda engine.Im a Honda person for life now!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Engine

,
March 14, 2011
By WOODHACK
from Pa
"I purchased this engine for my woodsplitter. The engine starts easily and runs great, definitely a good purchase. Very pleased with the service and price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
August 30, 2010
By SkiUtah
from American Fork, UT
"I've been servicing and installing small to large engines for over 25 years and these Honda engines continue to amaze me. I just replaced this engine for a customer on a plate compactor. Even though his old Honda failed a compression leak test, it still ran (albeit not that well) to finish a job. The new engine is wonderful. The OHV's are great to work on when needed. Carburetor is straight forward and very simple. Not much can go wrong with these when they are taken care of."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
kcr2
Montana 
 
Please wait while more information about kcr2 is loaded.
Additional information about kcr2 could not be loaded.
Honda Gx160UT1QX2
March 14, 2011
"Very good purchase. I have replaced all of my irrigation wheel line engines with a Honda engine. Northern tool is the best place to buy the engine. Price is very good."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HONDA GX SERIES

,
October 20, 2009
By MNFARMER
from POLK COUNTY MINNESOTA
"VERY GOOD PURCHASE. HAS BEEN A GREAT SMALL ENGINE AND I INTEND TO UPGRADE BY PURCHASING 2 MORE THIS WINTER. I AM A FARMER IN MINNESOTA"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD DEAL

,
October 19, 2009
By VICKUPKA
from WATERLOO,IOWA
"RELIABLE,EASY START,QUIET RUNNING-THE ENGINE IS BEING USED ON A SMALL THREE WHEELED SCOOTER BY AN ELDERLY PERSON WITH BAD KNEES, TO MOVE AROUND ON SMALL ACERAGE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

,
March 16, 2009
By Den123
from Mass
"When the engine let go on my log splitter, I had to fine a new one. The old one was realy loud. It had no controls for the rate the engine ran. One speed fast. This Honda is not only quieter, but it comes with speed control and a good chock. Plus it fit just fine on my log splitter. No fuss and all questons were answered by the person who helped me buy it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda GX

,
November 30, 2008
By WinWoodchuck
from California
"This is not the first Honda GX series I have ordered and used from Northern Tool, it might be the third or fourth, maybe more over the ten, fifteen or more years we have been doing a very satisfactory business together.
I find this GX160 well suited for my wood splitter. I find them dependable, gas efficient and durable.
This old splitter is over 20 years old. I have repaired it several times but each time I need a motor I use Honda's. I also keep a spare engine on hand as the one on this splitter now has had years of use, but still going strong.
These GX Series engines are well designed tough little engines that start easy and have plenty of power to bust the big hard oak and eucalyptus rounds I split.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda gx160

,
November 18, 2008
By robbieD
from vista, ca
"i use this engine on all my compressors, power washers and generators that i have in all my trucks. all my techs love this engine and we have had no problems over the years with this engine. if you want a reliable and affordabel engine Honda gx160 is the way to go!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starts on the 1st pull

,
November 18, 2008
By sprinklerman
from northeast montana
"i have had this gx series engine for 5 years and it still starts great & runs great
it is mounted on my 1030 ditch witch trencher
if you order this engine you will not be disappointed
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Small Engines: Honda

,
November 18, 2008
By Tecton
from San Jose, CA
"For powered equipment--tillers, splitters, mowers, etc.--a Honda engine is a quality investment that pays a return via a prolonged life of use. The engines run smooth and steady. I have several engines in various pieces of equipment. Even after years of use and after seasonal storage, they start up for me on the first pull for the first use of a seasonal workout and that's no exaggeration. For reliability year after year, their dependebility doesn't get much better than that. I like the design too: placement of the fuel tank, set-up for maintenance, in a compact package as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependabilty

,
August 18, 2008
By 49FORD
from Griffin, Ga.
"Starts everytime, low maintance, cost effective and very dependable"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda air cooled engine

,
August 11, 2008
By shotguner
from East Hampton Ct.
"I've had verry good luck with the honda's . They oul last other brands, run quieter , use less fuel , start easier .etc. We run hondas in most of our mixers primemovers (walk behind forklifts) pressurewashers etc. At least 40 machines. Only drawback is their difficult to ad oil to in most applications with out a long funnel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda engine

,
July 3, 2008
By stelmo
from Connecticut
"Awesome engine. Filled with oil and gas and it started on half a pull !! Pull start is so easy that even my twelve year old daughter can do it. The 5.5 horses is plenty for the go kart, even with an adult riding it. Great, reliable, Honda product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HONDA Engines

,
April 21, 2008
By Ruger57
from North Carolina
"I purchased a Pressure washer 8 years ago with a Honda GX 160 engine on it,I have just changed the spark plug for the first time yesterday.I have changed the oil and cleaned the air filter.That is all the maintnence I have had to perform on this engine. It has never one time let me down.I only changed the plug because of how long it has been in the engine.It ran perfect this week.I cleaned one of my largest homes this week.It ran for almost 8 hours straight.Used NO oil,and used only 1 1/2 tank of fuel. I will not purchase any power equipment without a Honda GX engine on it ! PERIOD !!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Engine

,
April 14, 2008
By landscapers
from Morgantown, WV
"The product was exactly what we need to replace the engine on our tamper. The tamper brand replacement was $450.00 more than this engine. We called everywhere and you had the best price. Super fast delivery. Thank you very much."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Honda Horizontal OHV Engine - 163cc, GX Series, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GX160UT2QX2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By Bubbles
from Seattle, WA
"We used two of these engines to replace two old ones that were used on a vibratory compaction plate, now for the cost of the motors we have two brand new compaction tools at a fraction of what the tools cost new"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.