Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA

Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA

Item# 60594
Honda 160cc premium residential, horizontal shaft engine features overhead cam technology. The GC Series is incredibly quiet and utilizes the world's first internal timing belt. Honda has taken their technology one step further with the development of the GC Series, a line of rugged, powerful and economical overhead cam engines designed specifically for home-use and recreational applications. Common applications pressure washers, compressors, log splitters and chipper/shredders. Air Cleaner Type Dry paper type, Application Pressure washer, compressor, log splitter, chipper/shredder, Bearing Type Standard, Carburetor Float, Compression Ratio 8.51, Cooling System Air cooled, Crankshaft Q-type, Bolt Circle in. 3 5/8, Bore x Stroke in. 2.5 x 2.0, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 5/16 x 14 1/2 x 13, Engine Displacement cc 160, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Cylinder Bore Aluminum alloy, Cylinders qty. 1, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 1.9, Fuel Type Gasoline, Governor System Centrifugal mechanical, Ignition System Electronic, Fuel Pump Yes, Fuel Tank Standard, Max. RPM 3,600, Mounting Base L x W in. 6 3/8 x 2 61/64 to 3 15/32, Muffler Included Yes, Oil Capacity qt. 0.61, Low Oil Alert No, Lubrication System Forced splash, Shaft Diameter in. 3/4, Shaft Keyway in. 3/16, Shaft Length in. 2 7/16, Shaft Output Horizontal, PTO Height in. 4 11/64, Rated Power HP 4.6, Throttle Control Manual, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side Counterclockwise, Start Type Recoil, Engine Type GC series OHC premium residential-duty, Torque ft./lbs. 6.9 @ 2,500 RPM. Honda 160cc OHC air-cooled, 4-stroke, horizontal engine Compact and lightweight design Compact combustion chamber, overhead cam design and uniblock construction to reduce fuel consumption Powerful torque across a wide RPM range to help reduce engine speed drop from sudden load increases Tough resin overhead cam for durability and low noise level Internal timing belt for quiet operation Easy access oil drain and fill Dura-Lube system for superior engine lubrication Easily accessible spark plug 50-state compliant engine
Average Customer Rating:
4.957 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Review 1 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the king of all engines

,
July 1, 2011
By rider129
from Minestota Hugo
"this is in my pressure washer and it loves to run. the longest it sat was 5 years took it out one day and two pulls it started. i love this engine if i were to by another engine this would be first to my mind. i love the popwer of this engine. BUT ITS TWO QUIET I LOVE LOUND ENGINES."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't go wrong with a Honda

,
February 15, 2010
By BobS
from SC
"I bought this to power a go-kart. It has a manually variable throttle, so I need to figure out how to adapt it to a throttle cable. I located a GC160 with a cable throttle at another website, but oddly that feature is not found at Honda's small engine site, so I'm sticking with what I have. I purchased the shop manual from Honda to help me figure out throttle mounting options. The engine comes with a stop switch, which can be rewired as a kill switch for a kart. Hopefully we will fire up the engine a week from now."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

farmer

,
July 20, 2009
By WillyBob
from Georgiana Al.
"Easy to install on tiller. Starst easy runs great! Excellent engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda 5hp Engine

,
March 24, 2009
By bwatkins
from Cambridge, Ohio
"Bought this engine to replace a 32 year old Briggs on my log splitter. Got it all mounted up & fluids in it , pulled the rope & it started on the first pull. Great running , quiet power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Motor

,
March 24, 2009
By Anonymous
from Penfield, Pa.
"We used this motor to replace an old worn out Briggs on our Log Splitter. And it has been doing a wonderful job. Alot quieter and cooler running machine and the exhaust is pointed away from the operater, instead of blow toxic fumes in a guys face all day. Excellent Product....."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best allaround motor

,
March 23, 2009
By bigv8dad
from tulsa ok
"I have found that honda makes the best all around small motors for fun and work, we run them on our go carts and the mowers we use at work and had no truble out of any of the 11 we owen. I would tell anyone I know this is the best motor for your money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good bang for the buck

,
February 4, 2009
By bankdriver1
from whitehall ny
"I put this engine on a piece of outdoor equipment at a time when I didnt have
enough money for one of the big fancy more costly ones. Thank god i didnt
because this engine is just as good for half the price( MAN WHAT A GOOD BUY)
THANKS GUYS!!! GREAT ENGINE GREAT PRICE ( ENOUGH SAID?)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

,
November 17, 2008
By david11
from Norman, ok
"Bought this for a go-cart. It fit and worked great. Started on about the third pull. Kids have been running it all around the yard. Now it only take one or two pulls and they are off and running. My nine and eight year old boys can start the engine without any problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Little engine

,
August 18, 2008
By NDavies
from Rosemount, mn
"These are great engines. Perfect for minibikes and go karts. They run so smooth and start so easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent motor

,
August 11, 2008
By jimmyc68
from Geneseo Il
"I bought this engine to update my old rotor tiller. It was a complete bolt on exchange. It has plenty of power and starts very easy, most of the time on the first pull. I would for sure recommend this engine to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

honda engine

,
August 11, 2008
By jackrabbit
from springville utah
"i have purchased 4 of these engines to use on wheel lines and they have performed very well. they have plenty of power to move the line and start real easy and the cost was good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Black label Engine

,
April 14, 2008
By okmoocow
from Tishomingo, OK
"Honda Black label Engine performs as well as any Honda Product out here.
Don't let the Black case in lou of common red fool you. These are Honda engines that well represent the Name long known for dependability & service. Starts first pull every time, has the power to run a high hydraulic pressure load. My highest marks.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep it going

,
April 14, 2008
By loggerJoe
from Orting, WA
"I ordered the motor it showed up when they said. Installed it on my 22 year old log splitter that I purchased from Nothern in 1986 without modifications, started on the second pull. Have about 60 hrs on motor without any problems. Just to tell you how good Northern 's equipment is my old engine on my 16 ton splitter had approx. 4000 Hrs and it just gave up this year."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Engine

,
January 24, 2008
By homestead
from Templeton, Ca. Cattle Rancher
"I purchased this motor for a log splitter that had a Briggs and Stratton motor. It is close to 30 years old and is a Montgomery Ward splitter. I removed the old motor and the Honda bolted right in. The bolt holes lined up and the shaft height and length were perfect. After putting oil and fuel in, the motor started on the first pull. I split several 3-4' oak logs and it split like butter. I am very impressed with this product and recommend it to anyone looking to replace an older motor. I am so impressed that I have cement mixer that is just might get a new power source soon.
In addition, I ordered this on line and Northern Tool shipped the next day. I received the engine in less than week. I was very pleased with the service and the product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 hp Honda Engine

,
January 14, 2008
By ckth
from Medina Ohio
"Ordered
by phone and was very surprised that it was in stock and would be delivered
with a week. It arrived before I expected it was all ok.
Motor was to replace another brand and it fit the foot print without drilling new mounting holes and the shaft alinged perfect"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works and runs great

,
January 14, 2008
By ragtag
from Oregon
"Purchased this Engine to replace one that broke down and the price for this one was Great. Deere wanted over 4 hundred for the same product. Could not be any better. Thanks a bunch"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
October 29, 2007
By polynewt
from Geyserville, CA
"Great Machine for the price!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rocks

,
July 9, 2007
By animal12
from Florence ,Alabama
"This engine is the best as far as mounting there was no problem going from the old engine to the Honda. Everything connected perfectly without modification. The engine runs extremely quiet,even at full power.My tiller performs better than it did when it was new."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good small engine

,
July 9, 2007
By Woodsplitter2007
from Newtown, CT
"Just add oil and it's ready to go. The shaft is keyed and tapped and there are four bolt holes in the cover to bolt on what ever accessory your going to be using with it. I used my to replace a B&S where a small foot print was necessary."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Honda GC Series Horizontal OHC Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160LAQHA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

user

,
April 22, 2007
By Yukon
from New Hampshire
"I have been using this engine for two years and it runs perfect. Switching between my log splitter and tiller. Works perfectly for both. Splits four foot sticks cord after cord and never even stutters. Tills a very large garden and just runs and runs without ever hesitating. Starts without fail on the first or second pull, even after sitting all winter.
Going to buy another so I don't have to keep switching.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.