Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF

Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF

Item# 605999
Honda 160cc premium residential, horizontal shaft engine features overhead cam technology. The GC series are incredibly quiet and utilize the world's first internal timing belt. Honda has taken their technology one step further with the development of the GC Series, a line of rugged powerful and economical overhead cam engines designed specifically for home-use and recreational applications. Fixed throttle. U.S.A. Not for sale in California. Governor System Centrifugal mechanical, Carburetor Float, Bore x Stroke in. 2.5 x 2.0, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Engine Displacement cc 160, Oil Capacity qt. 0.61, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side Counterclockwise, Shaft Output Horizontal, Air Cleaner Type Dry paper type, Cooling System Air cooled, Fuel Pump Yes, Fuel Tank Standard, Fuel Type Gasoline, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 5/16 x 14 1/2 x 13, Crankshaft Q-type, Torque ft./lbs. 6.90 at 2,500 RPM, Cylinder Bore Aluminum alloy, Ignition System Electronic, Bolt Circle in. 3 5/8, Muffler Included Yes, Mounting Base L x W in. 6 3/8 x 2 15/16-3 5/32, Shaft Keyway in. 3/16, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 1.9, Shaft Diameter in. 3/4, Engine Type GC series OHC-premium residential duty, Throttle Control Fixed, Rated Power HP 4.6, Lubrication System Forced splash, Bearing Type Standard, Application Pressure washer, log splitter, Compression Ratio 8.51, Max. RPM 3,600, Shaft Length in. 2 7/16, Start Type Recoil, Cylinders qty. 1, PTO Height in. 4 11/64.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Review 1 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE ENGINE !!!!!!!!

,
January 24, 2013
By retiredguy1941
from Soap Lake Wash
"I have 2 of these engines, 1 on a northstar 2700 watt generator and one on a pressure washer. Ive had both for 8 to 10 years and both have worked flawlessly easy starting and good running. Both have the adjustable throttle, they come both ways. Fantastic engine for the price....it is an entry level engine,way better quality than the CHEAP CHINEESE engines that are flooding the market. HONDAS are great not cheap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced Log splitter Engine

,
October 8, 2012
By Snake225
from Kentucky
"Bought this while on sale thinking i need to get my old log splitter running again. Replaced old engine with new and new have had to crank more then two times to start unit running. Split a half load of winter wood already with it and runs super. Those looking for a replacement for a log splitter this one will do you great. Throttle not a issue on this unit as it runs quiet and has the power. Very nice unit to have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor excuse for a engine

,
September 23, 2012
By athome2
from North Dakota
"I've had this engine for about 5 years on my old tiller. I replaced the old tired out briggs that powered it for over 20 years. This engine is tempermental, and has given me more trouble in 5 years than the old briggs did in 20 years. I purchased another older bigger tiller with a briggs on it and it starts on the first pull and runs like a top. the only thing I can say good about the Honda is the price... but then sometimes you get what you pay for. I wouldn't recommend this engine to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wrong photo

,
October 3, 2011
By flyboy737
from CT
"Just bought this engine for my wood splitter. Read the fine print and be sure that you want the FIXED THROTTLE. The photo on the website shows an ADJUSTABLE THROTTLE. Other than that, it's a great little engine that will provide years of hard work with few issues. Delivery was ahead of schedule and the engine arrived in great condition."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Living up to Honda quality expectations

,
February 24, 2010
By DocG
from Northern New Jersey
"The Honda Horizontal Engine — 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHA is a great little engine that just won't quit. I bought it as a replacement engine for my log splitter and it outperforms the 11HP motor that was on it hands down. It performs flawlessly regardless of the temperature and starts as well at 5 degrees as it does at 80 degrees. This season, we split more than 10 cords of oak maple and ash and my Honda engine only quit when it ran out of gas. It is by far my most valuable asset in heating my home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engine

,
February 15, 2010
By youngie
from Huntingdon ,PA
"I bought this for a log splitter I was building and it works great! It starts easily and runs without a hitch. Lots of power and I am expecting years of service.
It needs a muffler deflector and that is a part from Honda only. A small hastle for a great engine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice engine

,
July 13, 2009
By Anonymous
from Sidney Ohio
"I installed this engine on an old log spliter that had a briggs 5 horse on it. The old engine needed rebuilt. I priced rebuilging it and for the cost it was just as cheap to buy the honda. I am very pleased with this purchase and the engine is working fine on the log spliter. The transfer was smooth and everything bolted up and fit nicely. No modifications were needed. I would recommend this motor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement for tiller engine

,
March 16, 2009
By rgerh913
from Salina Kansas
"Used the Honda 160cc engine to replace a worn out B&S 5hp. The Honda costs less uses less gas and starts easy. It also has very low noise or vibration compared to the B&S engine.
bolted the engine on and did not have to modify the engine or frame it in any way.
works very well.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should of known its a HONDA

,
December 18, 2008
By sawbone
from Crosby, Tx.
"I ordered this engine to replace my 12 year old GC-160 on my log splitter, ( which I may add I got 2nd hand). The old engine had been rode hard and put up wet, but never fell to start. My splitter had been loaned out and misused. After been gone for 3 years I finally got it back. Bad gas and misuse caused me to order a new GC-160 5 hp Honda to replace to old one. While waiting 5 days to get the new one in I cleaned the carberator on the old one and you guessed it, it started on the 1st pull.
When I got the new one in I had reservations about it because it didn't have an adjustable throttle,( set at 3600 RPM's). I went ahead and put it on anyway. First pull it started and after warming up I pushed it off choke and I never looked back. Been splitting wood everyday and I runs like a dream. Don't hesitate get one while they are at this price. Price is right and shipping was on time. You get a shipping number where you can track it every move to your door step.
Oh you ask what I did with the old one? I'm putting it on an old Yazoo self propelled lawnmower. Its split its last block of wood. It deserves a break!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engine!!

,
November 18, 2008
By Lawman884
from NC
"I would recommend this engine to anyone wanting an economical, but reliable engine. It always starts on the first pull. Works great on a pressure washer where you don't need to adjust the throttle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little engine!

,
November 18, 2008
By Flyrod
from Hayward, Wisconsin
"I bought this engine to replace a worn out engine on a portable log splitter that I overhauled. It was very easy to install and started on the second pull. It is relatively quiet, lightweight and effortlessly pushes the hydraulic cylinder. My "new" splitter works like a charm. I have no hesitation in recommending this great little engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Honda Horizontal Engine - 160cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft, Model# GC160AQHAF
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5hp honda engine

,
November 18, 2008
By gjg1
from nj
"A great buy & fast service. the engine is extremely quiet . I used this this engine to replace a briggs on my trac vac it fit great. the throttle cannot be adjusted but I never adjusted the old engine. It runs at 3700 rpm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.