Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2

Item# 60908
This LCT 208cc OHV horizontal engine features the patented MaXX Series design, an industry leader in power output. Built to industrial-grade standards for longer engine life. Displacement (cc): 208, HP: 6, Torque (ft./lbs.): 9.0, Shaft Output: Horizontal, Engine Type: OHV, Start Type: Recoil start with enhanced compression release, Shaft Dimensions L x W (in.): 3/4 x 2 7/16, Mounting Base L x W (in.): 6.03 x 3.05, Bolt Circle (in.): 3 5/8, Ignition System: LCT, Fuel Tank Capacity (qt.): 1 gallon, Muffler Included: Yes, Low Oil Alert: Yes, Lubrication System: Internal Oil Splash, Cylinder Bore: Cast Iron Patented MaXX Series design is industry leader in power output Dual ball bearing crankshaft T6 aluminum piston Sound pressure balanced muffler 1-gallon fuel tank with anti-splash baffles
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Review 1 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great light duty engine

,
January 14, 2009
By speeddemongokarts
from South Dakota
"This is a great engine, startsright up with a single pull! I am building a go-kart and I needed a cheap value engineto put in it. I found this engine and it works greatun fortunately i havn't been able to finish my go-kart due to my job at the machine shop. I did have to modify the throttle though so it would be spring loaded and it was hard to find a centrifugal clutch for it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Motor

,
November 30, 2008
By NMChainsaw
from Grants, NM
"This motor was a replacement for a 20 year old 5 h.p. Tecumseh on a Craftsman log splitter. Everything bolted right up, I didn't need to modify anything. After adding oil and gas on a cool 30 degree day, the motor fired right up. I split 4 cords of wood with no problems and no leaks. So far the performance is equal to name brand motors."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Motor

,
November 18, 2008
By GilpinFab
from NE Pa.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Installed this motor on a log splitter, replacing an old, tired Techumsa. The motor bolted right in place, the hyd. pump adaptor bolted right up, and it started on the first pull. This motor continues to start on the first pull every time. Not only that, but the power is very smooth, I only run at about 1/4 throttle and it powers the splitter through even the toughest logs without a hitch. This also saves allot of fuel, allowing me to run almost double the time on a tank of fuel compared to the old motor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement engine

,
September 21, 2008
By UPSfarmer
from Fairfax, MN
"I was very happy with this engine was little unsure at first cause I hadn't heard of the brand before but I took the chance because it was cheaper than the "name brands" and if I spent to much I would have been better off spending slightly more and getting a whole new machine, This was to replace the briggs on my tiller. I have used it several times and works great and it bolted right up needed no mods to the machine very happy will be looking at northern for more of similar purchases."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not so good

,
September 2, 2008
By adamfromnh
from New Hampshire
"I bought this motor after reading several reviews of happy customers. I installed it, added oil and gas and gave it a pull. I was pleasently surprised when the engine started right up on the fist pull. I got about 3-4hrs of use out of it (over several days) before it started leaking gasoline out of the carb. It no longer runs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LCT Engine 208CC Fantastic little engine

,
August 12, 2008
By MJF79
from West Virginia
"I have purchased several engines from different manufacturers over the last few years. They range from 5hp to 11hp. Before I bought this engine I looked up the companies web site on line. I felt very confident with what I saw and read. Making the decision to purchase it from Nortern Tool. What a pleasant surprise. The motor is an absolute jewel. The first thing I noticied was the match marking paint on the bolts. Manufacturers do this to insure that all bolts are properly torqued. It's an attractive motor ( important to me becasue I build and sell belt driven generators). Added oil and fuel. Very first pull started right up. Runs smooth and quiet. Very!! powerful. No drop off in torque as the load is applied. Exceeds all expectations for the money. Don't hesitate to buy this one. As usual Northern Tool was great to order from."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LCT MaXX OHV Horizontal Engine-208cc

,
August 11, 2008
By bigray
from Michigan
"I am very pleased with my purchase of the horizontal engine. It came very soon after I placed the order & I thoroughly enjoy using it.
Can't say enough good about it. It more than exceeds my expectations. I would recommend it to anyone interested.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Engine

,
August 5, 2008
By TaulPall
from Zion Illinois
"I bought this engine as a replacement for my 20+ year old snow blower, everything matched up perfectly and it took about 2-1/2 hours to install. I added oil and gas 2 pulls and it was up and running. I hope to get many more years of service out of my old snow blower. Great price, great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Engine

,
July 23, 2008
By Thom4390
"i bought this engine for a project that i was working on.i searched for quite some time online for a motor similar to this one but found that this was the best price for the power it delivers. i used this engine for a go kart rather that a lawn machine and it works great. it bolted right onto the chassis and after giving it gas and oil it started on the first pull. the engine has an incredible amount of torque for its size. the kart i put it on is fairly big.it weighs about 200 pounds and i weigh about 140 and the engine had no problem getting the kart up to around 45 mph. this motor is a great find especially for the price. im planning on buying more of these for future projects"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LCT MaXX Series OHV Horizontal Engine — 208cc, 9.00 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# PLMHK14600124P-BNE2
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome buy

,
June 19, 2008
By Johnson2
from Ponca city
"I looked for a few days trying to find a motor, I found this one and decided to get it,well I'm glad I did. I received it on time,took it out and installed it on my tiller,it had a briggs on it, this one bolted right on. took me about an hour to pull off the old one and put this one on. I filled it up with gas, and oil. Turned the switch to on and pulled the rope and started up on the first pull,it doesn't use much oil or gas. I have used if for several hours tillin and have had no trouble yet. Tillin hard areas didn't even make pull the engine down. Excelent buy i would buy another one if i needed one for anything else. You can't beat the price.
Runs Great Thank you
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.