Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546

Item# 628573
The Hobart Air Force 700i Plasma Cutter is an economical plasma cutting system for all conductive metals. It can cut mild steel up to 7/8in. This portable unit features a lightweight, powerful inverter design and an ergonomic trigger safety, with more efficient air consumption and economically priced consumables. Plasma cutters cut faster and more precise with a thinner kerf and less slag than cutting with oxy fuel. A smaller heat-affected zone also causes less warping. And you'll never have gas pressure settings, flame tuning, metal preheating, or gas cylinders or refills to worry about. Features Hobart's 5/3/1 industrial warranty protection. Amps 40, Cutting Thickness in. Up to 7/8in. mild steel, Pilot Arc Yes, Volts 230, Cart No, Clamp Cable Length ft. 16 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/4 x 8 1/4 x 11 1/4, Plasma Gas Flow/Pressure 4.8 CFM 136 L/min at 90-120 PSI 621 - 827 kPA recommended, Power Cord ft. 10, Duty Cycle 50 @ 40A. Features 16 1/2ft. torch - designed for increased comfort with an ergonomic trigger safety, more efficient cooling and economical replacement cutting tips Wind Tunnel Technology prevents abrasive dust and particles from damaging internal components Fan-On-Demand Cooling system operates only when needed, reducing power consumption and contaminants drawn into the machine Power factor correction PFC circuitry draws up to 30 less amperage for the same cutting range as compared to the competition. PFC expands operator's work area via extension cord, while minimizing nuisance circuit breaker trips caused by voltage drops LVC line voltage compensation provides peak performance power under variable input voltage conditions 15 for steady and cleaner-ending cuts Internal gas/air filter and regulator controls amount of usage and flow of air or gas Starts without high frequency, protecting the unit by not interfering with or damaging controls or computers Diagnostic LED lights for quick troubleshooting of pressure, power and cup situations Cable management strap secures torch, work cable and power cord to make transporting easy and convenient Postflow cooling circuit extends life of consumables and torch by cooling them with postflow air after trigger is released Compatible with engine-driven welders capable of cutting 3/8-5/8 in. mild steel when powered by an engine-driven welder with a 240 V generator power outlet of 8 kW or more Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers and generators three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns MIG and plasma torches
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
September 19, 2013
By ito69
from Richmond ,CA
"It cuts up to 5/8 steel without a problem.Smooth cuts and clean easy to set up.Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart AirForce 700i

,
August 5, 2013
By 48willys
from San Diego
"I have had this Plasma cutter for almost a year now and i love it. Easily the Best bang for the buck i have spent for my shop. Dont let its compact size fool you this thing cuts like Ginsu knives thru butter. I have cut alot of sheetmetal and the cuts are very clean. The thickest material i have cut with it is 5/8" steel and it had no problems what so ever. if you work out of your garage like I do, this lil Hobart rig for the mony is the way to go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cutter

,
April 24, 2013
By hobartfan
from wisconsin
"This was my first purchase of a plasma cutter and I believe it is the best one for the money. I was going to go with a smaller one but I am very glad I didn't. It cuts through anything I've thrown at it like butter. One of my best buys for the shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use for a beginner

,
January 9, 2012
By bubba21
from ND
"This plasma cutter was very easy to set up and start using. I had never used a plasma cutter before. It was easy to start cutting. I don't know how I got along without it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
24out of 54found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for all levels of users

,
November 23, 2010
By Swelder
from Minneapolis mn
"This plasma cutter is great for all levels of users from beginners to experienced. Smooth easy to use cuts, and what a great price, millers comp model is waaaay more expensive! Would recommend to anyone!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
23out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plasma Cutter

,
November 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from Seattle, WA
"Everything is excellant about the plasma cutting except the sliding trigger is hard to start. You have to slide the yellow safety device down while trying to pull the trigger. It's hard to do with one hand. Other than that it cuts good and I was glad I bought it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greatest!

,
November 16, 2010
By Hollida56
from St.Clairsville,Ohio
"I was skeptical when I bought this plasma cutter for my husband for Christmas last year. What a great investment! He used it to modify his trailer, built buggy doors, boxed in pulling truck frames and made numerous cuts on whatever he does in his "man cave garage"! He doesn't know how he could get along without it! I'd recommend this Hobart Air Force700i to anyone looking for something that cuts as slick as scissors!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
21out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOBART PLASMA CUTTER

,
June 8, 2010
By KRUGER
from ALTOONA PA
"THIS IS A GREAT UNIT HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS GREAT EASY TO UNDERSTAND INSTRUCTIONS AND EASY SET UP FOR THE PRICE IT CANT BE BEAT WORK LIKE THE PROS HAVE BEEN USING IT FOR ABOUT 4 YEARS ORDER ONE TODAY YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart AirForce 700i 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output, Model #500546
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money for a New shop tool ever spent!

,
January 22, 2010
By BlackwaterOffroad
from Chesapeake, Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This machine cuts better than I would have ever expected. The ratings on the machine are pretty close to correct as well and are not an over exaggeration for marketing purposes. I have used it to sever cut a section of 1" plate in my small shop in order to make some press plates and other such things. I primarily use it for 1/4" and 3/8" and it cuts very fast and very clean with very minimal dross accumulation. I haven't met anyone else out there with this machine yet but for the price you can't beat it. The only comparable machine is the Miller 875 which is a good bit more expensive. The other thing I can't believe is how small the machine is. Its very compact and light. I have mine hidden up under my steel shop bench safe and out of the way and very convenient to get to. The machine is also very conservative with its shop air consumption rates. It does not make my 60 gal compressor come on very often at all. I highly suggest buying this machine if you are tired of cutting with oxy fuel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
35out of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.