Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Volts 115, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart Optional, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (160 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
40
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
157 of 160(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

northern flux core 125 welder

,
September 21, 2014
By Dave721
from Littlestown Pa.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"bought this to do some projects around the house and repair my trailer tail gate it worked great . I took some scrap pieces to get the settings right. I bought some hobart .035 wire after playing with the wire speed I was able to put down a good bead and there wasn't near as much slag as I thought there would be . I do wish it had a varible voltage adjustment I think that would help with fine setup but all in all very satisfied with product I also welded my fence gate first time I have welded galvenized I have a few other projects in mind for it but haven't got to them yet"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine for the price

,
September 20, 2014
By TurtleSchell
from nc
"I'm a welder by trade, I did some research and this machine compared nicely to the major brands. I used it to do some body work and some on sites with flux core, the machine preformed perfectly with no issues. Would recommend this machine to anyone expert or novice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Core 125

,
September 19, 2014
By Sandal
from Central Missouri
"It's not a professional welder but for the garage and around the farm-stead it's perfect. No issues what so ever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
September 7, 2014
By PATRICK30060
from MARIETTA, GA
"THE WELDER WAS A GREAT CHOICE AND VERY EASY TO USE!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux core welder

,
September 6, 2014
By Anon101
from Springfield, VA
"Perfect for its purpose. For private non-commercial owner/user, this fits the Bill fine. I've done several small projects suint up to the maximum thickness of 1/4 inch and the penetration and weld strength have been excellent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welder

,
August 6, 2014
By braveheart2052
from staten island new york
"this welder is fantastic ! I should have bought it a long time ago ! welding panels on an old jeep I`m redoing is working out great. the best part is it plugs into a 115 volt outlet ! don`t hesitate to buy ! great deal."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Core Welder

,
August 6, 2014
By Rocco3333
from austin tx
"Easy to put together. And very simple to use. I would recommend to any beginner who wants a good product and start welding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice!

,
July 26, 2014
By ar8989
from Miami
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"the clamp is cheap. shorter cable 6 ' ok for the money!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

welder for small job

,
June 17, 2014
By Nonong
from Florida
"This welder is sufficient for home garage project. Ensure to have a dedicated 20 amp rated outlet in order for the welder to work as design. Highly recommended for a part time welder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good machine, good price

,
June 4, 2014
By rickcee
from NH
"I've been looking at entry welders for some time.
I'm a novice welder, but found it very easy to get started and was quite pleased with my initial practice jobs. A friend, who is a very experienced welder, tried the machine and was very impressed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

125 mig flux core

,
June 1, 2014
By bullett1tri
from TENNESSEE
"Very easy to set up,but one thing im having trouble trying to get decent weld.Prise is excellent.Just need to practice more.And it is very quiet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 27, 2014
By SussexCountyMike
from Delaware
"Great little welder for the price. Can't beat it. Perfect for small jobs. Will work for bigger jobs just have to take your time and do a few passes. A wonderful little welder and I would buy another one in a heart beat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
May 8, 2014
By Mathiass
from Texas
"I was totally new to welding before I bought this. It got it for a small project to weld up a frame out of 1" square steel tubing.
So far it has performed better than I expected. I was able to get welding pretty quick and produce welds that seems reasonable for a total novice.
For the price, this certainly gets the job done. If I had spent more on a different welder, I don't think would be welding any better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surpassed expectation

,
May 1, 2014
By samcphie
from slc, utah
"Great flux core welder for the price. This little unit is very convenient because it is relatively light and can use 120V. It has surprising power and capability and is easy to use. I am a beginner (have not welded since 8th grade metal shop) and I read the manual and was making decent welds in my first attempts. You do get splatter because it's flux core but that is to be expected. Easily welded 1/8th material and even thicker stuff. I would even have confidence welding quarter inch material. This is a terrific unit for light duty use. Highly recommended, especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality for one of the lowest cost.

,
May 1, 2014
By Tigerzodiac
from Muscle Shoals, AL.
"I work around the house and have several projects going at all times; so when I decided to was going to buy a inexpensive yet quality MIG welder I decided to go with Northern Tool. I did some extensive research online and found that for the price and quality of this MIG welder, I couldn't go wrong. I received the welder a little less than a week after my online order and setup was practically effortless. This welder comes in handy for my all the projects I had going and more and absolutely easy to use; not to mention that is has a guide for the beginner on what settings to use for different thickness of metal. Awesome Product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux-Core Welder

,
April 25, 2014
By vcb999
from Muscle Shoals, Alabama
"Have used a stick welder for my home welding projects for years. Always wanted some type of MIG welder and this product filled the bill. Have only used it once but it was pretty easy to setup and use following the directions supplied. (Do wish they had supplied a small sample roll of wire). The instructions recommend using either a 4lb or 8lb spool of flux core material. Our local welding supplier only sells 2lb and 11lb spools. I purchased the 2lb roll which should handle most of my welding needs. Do not have any idea what an 11lb spool would do to the welder. My first attemp welding up a project went pretty good. Think it will only get better with use and I feel this welder is a good choice for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy Welder

,
April 21, 2014
By GWA64
from Tx
"Just did some work with this new unit a few days ago and it works quite well. I was working material a little thinner than recommended, but was able to get the job done. Mine didn't come with the 1lb roll of wire, but that's fine. I switched to .035 wire on my older unit and all my feed problems went away, so I will stick with that. For a 120v portable welder, it works great for occasional usage. If you're a pro and using it every day... well, you're probably not even considering this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
March 24, 2014
By SamENole
from Panama City, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This welder, for what it is, is pretty great. I bought it not expecting much, but also not being able to pass up on the great sale price. I am a former diesel mechanic who has performed lots of repair-welding and fabrication operations in the past using the higher end MIG offerings from Miller and Lincoln. I work in education now, so I just have small projects around the house to handle, stuff like light repair welding and fabrication. I have had the welder for a few weeks now, and have only done two jobs with it. The first, last weekend, was welding two 3/8” nuts onto ¼” plate for a puller I made for stretching fence wire. The welder had great penetration and thus far I have not had any problems with the puller after using it all day for two days. Then I used the welder today to build a ball mount for a lawn mower to pull a small utility trailer around the yard. I used ¼” x 2” angle iron and ¼” plate. See attached pictures. I know the welds aren’t aesthetically pleasing, but again, the welder provided great penetration for a secure mechanical weld. I couldn’t be happier with this welder. I may not recommend it to a production welder or fab shop, but if you are a hobbyist, new welder, home handyman or anybody that occasionally needs to take two pieces of metal and make them one, I highly recommend this welder. It’s a bonus that you can take it anywhere, using widely available household 110v electricity, and don’t have to worry about the wind blowing your shielding gas away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

beginner's welder

,
February 28, 2014
By jk1980
from south Dakota
"I bought this welder to teach myself how to wire welder, having only stick experience. I don't have 230v in my garage, so stick was out of the question. After doing a ton of research, I decided to try this welder based on price and reviews. Figured I couldn't lose. I gotta say I'm impressed. It only took a little practice and trial and error getting parameters set and I was laying down better beads that I could with a stick. My first project was a welding cart that turned out awesome. I've welded some heavy steel and was impressed with how well it penetrated. I would recommend this to anyone doing light to medium duty welding on a 115v power source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another 5 Star Review

,
February 16, 2014
By DBX820
from Dallas, TX
"This is an amazing welder at a super price. Setup was easy with the quick start sheet. After some to and fro with the settings I was making perfectly nice welds with 1/4" rod onto 3/8" plate. There is a learning curve like any skill but it is just too easy to make good welds. The price cannot be beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
20out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.