Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
"This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Mig Ready Flux-core only, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Cart Optional, Volts 115, Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection"
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 of 33(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Core 125 review

,
March 3, 2015
By Daveinexas
from Texas
" the instructions were simple and to the point. Wire was easy to load. Read the panel to determine speed and temp and away I went. I am not a good welder, but everything sticks and the machine works great for home projects and building deer blinds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Entry welder at a CRAZY price!

,
March 1, 2015
By jfdavis
from Elm City, NC
" Although I have not even unboxed my new welder yet, I can say that from other reviews that I am extremely happy with this VERY CHEAP purchase! Being discontinued, I was able to purchase this BRAND NEW welder for under $100! Thanks again Northern Tool for a chance at another amazing buy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

flux core welder

,
February 25, 2015
By JVA63
from Carrboro, NC
" Most of the welding that I do is light materials. This welder is just the ticket for that job. Quick, simple, job weld (pun intended) done. Easy to setup and start. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Flux Core Welder

,
February 19, 2015
By Cweed10
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Although I am a beginner, I have to qualify this review by saying I did take a welders course through the ironworkers union 30 years ago. So although it is a stretch, I do have some welding experience. I bought the 125v Flux Core welder for some restoration work, (both body and frame) I am doing on a '91 Wrangler. I was very surprised by 1; the ease of use of this product, as I became more than adequate in a very short time and 2; the versatility as I could use it on both 18 ga (don't go any thinner than that) sheet metal and 1/8" reinforcing plates. If you are planning on using this for sheet metal, an auto darkening helmet is a must since you cannot lay down a bead and must stitch it. All in all, I highly recommend this product if you are an occasional welder and/or on a tight budget. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 14, 2015
By Oliver9713
from Kennewick ,Wa
" I bought this to replace a harbor freight unit which did not work well. The northern tool welder I can weld a clean steady bead. I get plent of penetration on 1/4 steel. I recommend . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Core Welder

,
February 11, 2015
By 17234756A
from Maine
" This is a great product. I can see it has a wide range of possibilities. It is portable, easy to use, and creates a nice bead even for those of us who don't weld every day. I saw many reviews posted about this with people who are very experienced welders, to novice like myself before I purchased this. I am very satisfied. This will meet my needs for years to come. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
February 11, 2015
By Foodguy1
from Hayward, WI
" I haven't had a chance to use my welder yet. I didn't want my wife to know I bought another tool. She left for a vacation today so I will experiment with it this weekend. It has a warranty so I am not concerned about the capability of this machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MIG welder

,
February 10, 2015
By lm836
from Calera, Alabama
" Great entry level welder. The price was great and the learning curve was very short. I would recommend this product to anyone just needing to have around the house for quick repairs or to start a new hobby. Enjoy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder.... Great price!!!!

,
February 9, 2015
By Gans
from Sullivan County, NY
" I couldn't pass up this welder. I've always wanted one for doing minor jobs around the house and when Northern had this one for under $100, I couldn't pass it up.
It does the job for a small welder and you get pretty clean welds. It's perfect for the homeowner/do-it-yourselfer!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Tool 125 amp flux core welder

,
February 6, 2015
By WelderRick
from Ohio
" I began using the welder immediately after assembly and was very impressed with the easy operation and the quality of the welds. I have been a welder for 25 years and this inexpensive unit welds just as good as top brand names. Makes small repairs quick and easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the mig

,
February 5, 2015
By jacuzzi
from texas
" This is a great little welder. i have 3 other mig welders besides this one. I"ve already used this one several times. It was very easy to set up and get started. i have been very pleased with the machine and its preformance "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

flux-core wire welder

,
February 4, 2015
By hawglover
from Salem, Ar.
" Have only used it a few times, but so far very satisfied with my purchase of this item. Handy with small quick jobs and easy to move around. Would recommend to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Value - It is what it is!

,
January 29, 2015
By FCAsheville
from Asheville, NC, United States
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have never welded or even touched a welder previously. The setup was extremely easy and I watched a lot of Youtube videos for tips and tricks related to this welder and flux core in general. My welds are garbage, but it has nothing to do with this machine. If welding was easy everyone would do it!
Use this welder for its intended purpose and it's a 5 star tool!
In regards to NT service... my unit was shipped to home and arrived with a dent and chipped paint in the top. I don't think it happened in shipping as the unit appeared to have been returned and the box was fine. I contacted NT via email and sent pics. I didn't think it was worth returning the unit and they gave me a $20 gift card for the damage. Great service and everything was settled in a matter of hours via email!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welder

,
January 15, 2015
By gflip
from Ohio
" I am an industrial maintenence man and have used various wire welders over the years and would say this welder is as good as any I have used. I was very impressed when I used it for home purposes. It welded very consistent. Didn't pop of sputter around. Every weld looked good. I would highly reccomend this welder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern 125 wire feed welder

,
January 9, 2015
By MisterV
from Socal
" This would be an ideal welder for light fabrication projects like a steel fence or light-duty trailer where repairs would likely be made outdors. These are conditions where flux-core shines best. Handles 1/8" quite well. I've only used it a few times so I cannot attest to its long-term durability. Appears to be well made. Keep in mind the settings are very limited at only 2 heat settings. I bought this welder to keep in my offroad rig for use on the trail. I can use it in conjunction with my 4000 watt max inverter for emergency trail repairs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

northern flux core 125 welder

,
September 21, 2014
By Dave721
from Littlestown Pa.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" bought this to do some projects around the house and repair my trailer tail gate it worked great . I took some scrap pieces to get the settings right. I bought some hobart .035 wire after playing with the wire speed I was able to put down a good bead and there wasn't near as much slag as I thought there would be . I do wish it had a varible voltage adjustment I think that would help with fine setup but all in all very satisfied with product I also welded my fence gate first time I have welded galvenized I have a few other projects in mind for it but haven't got to them yet "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
13out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality for one of the lowest cost.

,
May 1, 2014
By Tigerzodiac
from Muscle Shoals, AL.
" I work around the house and have several projects going at all times; so when I decided to was going to buy a inexpensive yet quality MIG welder I decided to go with Northern Tool. I did some extensive research online and found that for the price and quality of this MIG welder, I couldn't go wrong. I received the welder a little less than a week after my online order and setup was practically effortless. This welder comes in handy for my all the projects I had going and more and absolutely easy to use; not to mention that is has a guide for the beginner on what settings to use for different thickness of metal. Awesome Product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux-Core Welder

,
April 25, 2014
By vcb999
from Muscle Shoals, Alabama
" Have used a stick welder for my home welding projects for years. Always wanted some type of MIG welder and this product filled the bill. Have only used it once but it was pretty easy to setup and use following the directions supplied. (Do wish they had supplied a small sample roll of wire). The instructions recommend using either a 4lb or 8lb spool of flux core material. Our local welding supplier only sells 2lb and 11lb spools. I purchased the 2lb roll which should handle most of my welding needs. Do not have any idea what an 11lb spool would do to the welder. My first attemp welding up a project went pretty good. Think it will only get better with use and I feel this welder is a good choice for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V

,
February 13, 2014
By Welder1NE
from NE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have used this product for projects involving products manufactured for customers. In my application it penetrates the metal gauges I have used it on with ease. Everywhere from 14 gauge mild steel, to 7 gauge mild steel. My test on this welder out of the box was a piece of 3/8 mild steel with a nut welded to it. I placed a pass on 1 hex side and the opposite site. I threaded a bolt through it, and tried to beat it off with a 3 pound mini sledge. A downside for this product for beginner with mine was the ground. I have experience welding 1 handed. The ground functions to my satisfaction but I got what I paid for there. Flux core is dirty, and requires clean-up of parts afterwards. This welder once an excellent ground is established will weld solid, otherwise I would have re-boxed and returned as not even used. I already had wire for it. Also remember this welder outputs 125 amps. If you are running any extension cords I use 14/3 for 50ft. 12/3 for 100ft And 10/3 for 150 ft. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flu

,
February 4, 2014
By Tony1956
from Nesquehoning, PA
" I am not an experienced Welder. However, having taken a course in Welding, I do know what a good weld looks like. I have found this welder to be exactly what I need for around the house and garage for personal use. I have lent it out to friends that are experienced welders and they praised it. I have used "quality" wire and the wire that came with it and have found no difference. I've welded 3/16" plate on the back of a coal truck, and as small as the foot on a jigsaw and both welds came out beautiful. You will produce a weld quicker, and be able to weld different and thicker metals using shielding gas. But if you're not working production and welding mild steel up to a 3/16" you can't beat this little MIG.
P.S. - The machine is rated to weld 3/16" mild steel but I will be trying 1/4" and honestly think it will do it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.