Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Volts 115, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030 or 0.035, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart Optional, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (153 reviews)
5 stars
110
4 stars
39
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
150 of 153(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 138 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice!

,
July 26, 2014
By ar8989
from Miami
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"the clamp is cheap. shorter cable 6 ' ok for the money!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

welder for small job

,
June 17, 2014
By Nonong
from Florida
"This welder is sufficient for home garage project. Ensure to have a dedicated 20 amp rated outlet in order for the welder to work as design. Highly recommended for a part time welder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good machine, good price

,
June 4, 2014
By rickcee
from NH
"I've been looking at entry welders for some time.
I'm a novice welder, but found it very easy to get started and was quite pleased with my initial practice jobs. A friend, who is a very experienced welder, tried the machine and was very impressed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

125 mig flux core

,
June 1, 2014
By bullett1tri
from TENNESSEE
"Very easy to set up,but one thing im having trouble trying to get decent weld.Prise is excellent.Just need to practice more.And it is very quiet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 27, 2014
By SussexCountyMike
from Delaware
"Great little welder for the price. Can't beat it. Perfect for small jobs. Will work for bigger jobs just have to take your time and do a few passes. A wonderful little welder and I would buy another one in a heart beat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
May 8, 2014
By Mathiass
from Texas
"I was totally new to welding before I bought this. It got it for a small project to weld up a frame out of 1" square steel tubing.
So far it has performed better than I expected. I was able to get welding pretty quick and produce welds that seems reasonable for a total novice.
For the price, this certainly gets the job done. If I had spent more on a different welder, I don't think would be welding any better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surpassed expectation

,
May 1, 2014
By samcphie
from slc, utah
"Great flux core welder for the price. This little unit is very convenient because it is relatively light and can use 120V. It has surprising power and capability and is easy to use. I am a beginner (have not welded since 8th grade metal shop) and I read the manual and was making decent welds in my first attempts. You do get splatter because it's flux core but that is to be expected. Easily welded 1/8th material and even thicker stuff. I would even have confidence welding quarter inch material. This is a terrific unit for light duty use. Highly recommended, especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality for one of the lowest cost.

,
May 1, 2014
By Tigerzodiac
from Muscle Shoals, AL.
"I work around the house and have several projects going at all times; so when I decided to was going to buy a inexpensive yet quality MIG welder I decided to go with Northern Tool. I did some extensive research online and found that for the price and quality of this MIG welder, I couldn't go wrong. I received the welder a little less than a week after my online order and setup was practically effortless. This welder comes in handy for my all the projects I had going and more and absolutely easy to use; not to mention that is has a guide for the beginner on what settings to use for different thickness of metal. Awesome Product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux-Core Welder

,
April 25, 2014
By vcb999
from Muscle Shoals, Alabama
"Have used a stick welder for my home welding projects for years. Always wanted some type of MIG welder and this product filled the bill. Have only used it once but it was pretty easy to setup and use following the directions supplied. (Do wish they had supplied a small sample roll of wire). The instructions recommend using either a 4lb or 8lb spool of flux core material. Our local welding supplier only sells 2lb and 11lb spools. I purchased the 2lb roll which should handle most of my welding needs. Do not have any idea what an 11lb spool would do to the welder. My first attemp welding up a project went pretty good. Think it will only get better with use and I feel this welder is a good choice for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy Welder

,
April 21, 2014
By GWA64
from Tx
"Just did some work with this new unit a few days ago and it works quite well. I was working material a little thinner than recommended, but was able to get the job done. Mine didn't come with the 1lb roll of wire, but that's fine. I switched to .035 wire on my older unit and all my feed problems went away, so I will stick with that. For a 120v portable welder, it works great for occasional usage. If you're a pro and using it every day... well, you're probably not even considering this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
March 24, 2014
By SamENole
from Panama City, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This welder, for what it is, is pretty great. I bought it not expecting much, but also not being able to pass up on the great sale price. I am a former diesel mechanic who has performed lots of repair-welding and fabrication operations in the past using the higher end MIG offerings from Miller and Lincoln. I work in education now, so I just have small projects around the house to handle, stuff like light repair welding and fabrication. I have had the welder for a few weeks now, and have only done two jobs with it. The first, last weekend, was welding two 3/8” nuts onto ¼” plate for a puller I made for stretching fence wire. The welder had great penetration and thus far I have not had any problems with the puller after using it all day for two days. Then I used the welder today to build a ball mount for a lawn mower to pull a small utility trailer around the yard. I used ¼” x 2” angle iron and ¼” plate. See attached pictures. I know the welds aren’t aesthetically pleasing, but again, the welder provided great penetration for a secure mechanical weld. I couldn’t be happier with this welder. I may not recommend it to a production welder or fab shop, but if you are a hobbyist, new welder, home handyman or anybody that occasionally needs to take two pieces of metal and make them one, I highly recommend this welder. It’s a bonus that you can take it anywhere, using widely available household 110v electricity, and don’t have to worry about the wind blowing your shielding gas away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

beginner's welder

,
February 28, 2014
By jk1980
from south Dakota
"I bought this welder to teach myself how to wire welder, having only stick experience. I don't have 230v in my garage, so stick was out of the question. After doing a ton of research, I decided to try this welder based on price and reviews. Figured I couldn't lose. I gotta say I'm impressed. It only took a little practice and trial and error getting parameters set and I was laying down better beads that I could with a stick. My first project was a welding cart that turned out awesome. I've welded some heavy steel and was impressed with how well it penetrated. I would recommend this to anyone doing light to medium duty welding on a 115v power source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another 5 Star Review

,
February 16, 2014
By DBX820
from Dallas, TX
"This is an amazing welder at a super price. Setup was easy with the quick start sheet. After some to and fro with the settings I was making perfectly nice welds with 1/4" rod onto 3/8" plate. There is a learning curve like any skill but it is just too easy to make good welds. The price cannot be beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
20out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V

,
February 13, 2014
By Welder1NE
from NE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used this product for projects involving products manufactured for customers. In my application it penetrates the metal gauges I have used it on with ease. Everywhere from 14 gauge mild steel, to 7 gauge mild steel. My test on this welder out of the box was a piece of 3/8 mild steel with a nut welded to it. I placed a pass on 1 hex side and the opposite site. I threaded a bolt through it, and tried to beat it off with a 3 pound mini sledge. A downside for this product for beginner with mine was the ground. I have experience welding 1 handed. The ground functions to my satisfaction but I got what I paid for there. Flux core is dirty, and requires clean-up of parts afterwards. This welder once an excellent ground is established will weld solid, otherwise I would have re-boxed and returned as not even used. I already had wire for it. Also remember this welder outputs 125 amps. If you are running any extension cords I use 14/3 for 50ft. 12/3 for 100ft And 10/3 for 150 ft."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

,
February 6, 2014
By EOCS
from Amarillo, TX
"This machine is great for home and shop. I've used it for two years with no trouble. Great welding light material as well as tacking heavier material for hotter welding later. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 5, 2014
By Welder123456789
from Paso Robles, CA
"I have had this product for a couple of weeks now and I have only used it for some sheet metal, but it has performed flawlessly. It is great as a first welder and will still get used for smaller jobs once you upgrade to a more powerful machine. The only downsides are the duty cycle, flux coating, and the max amps, but the duty cycle is average for this size of welder, the coating is easy to brush off, and for a 120v the welder is powerful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

,
February 5, 2014
By Hangown
from TEXAS
"A little practice and this is a great inexpensive flux core welder. Very bad splatter but changed to
Lincoln flux core wire and it is a little better. I've made many repairs over the past 3 years and have not had one weld break or crack.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful For Knocking The HoneyDo List Down

,
February 4, 2014
By Monkeybeefarms
from South Texas
"Use it for all kinds of little projects, make some big metal stars and such, worked great. I'm not the best at making a bead but it sticks together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hady small welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Handyworker
from Arkansas
"This welder is well built and well thought out great value. I built a bumper for my Polaris Ranger using this wire welder and it has ate several rocks and trees the welds still look like a stack of nickels laid down no cracks or flaws. This little welder Saved me 180$ just on the bumper."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little home garage welder for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Mal64
from S.E Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this welder last year and the thing is kind of nice ... Helped reinforce my small utility trailer also helping out on some items of a go kart.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.