Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
"This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Volts 115, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart Optional, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection"
Average Customer Rating:
4.678 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (180 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
44
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
177 of 180(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 142 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good First Welder

,
January 31, 2015
By Junior22
from TN
" I had no experience welding before I got this welder. Picked it up and welded a few pieces of steel together and its been welding madness ever since. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder.

,
January 29, 2015
By Md7doc7
from Greensboro, NC
" Does a great job for its size and cost. Definitely would buy another one if I needed a second one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Value - It is what it is!

,
January 29, 2015
By FCAsheville
from Asheville, NC, United States
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have never welded or even touched a welder previously. The setup was extremely easy and I watched a lot of Youtube videos for tips and tricks related to this welder and flux core in general. My welds are garbage, but it has nothing to do with this machine. If welding was easy everyone would do it!
Use this welder for its intended purpose and it's a 5 star tool!
In regards to NT service... my unit was shipped to home and arrived with a dent and chipped paint in the top. I don't think it happened in shipping as the unit appeared to have been returned and the box was fine. I contacted NT via email and sent pics. I didn't think it was worth returning the unit and they gave me a $20 gift card for the damage. Great service and everything was settled in a matter of hours via email!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Little Welder

,
January 29, 2015
By RYH123
from KY
" I am a total beginner. Threw some Hobart flux core wire and bought a helmet and some gloves and I was ready to weld. So far have welded up a portable deer hanger that I can use on public land to process deer in the field up off the ground, have welded together two locking teller station cabinets that I bought at an auction along with a few casters on the bottom for a homemade rolling tool cabinet, have welded a new 6'x10'x3/16" sheet of diamond plate on my homemade 5 ton dump trailer along with 3/16" diamond plate 2' sides and 3/16" diamond plate fenders. Owned for 2 weeks and love it so far. Couldn't imagine spending more and having to fool with shielding gas when this works like a champ at a fraction of the cost. Now off to work on some angle iron ramps for the trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice welder

,
January 28, 2015
By Antlerhunter
from Columbia SC.
" Have not used much yet. So far it has been working fine. I am very satisfied. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Welder

,
January 28, 2015
By MrFixIt1987
from Jacksonville, FL
" I love my new welder. Just finished refurbishing a plant stand and making hangers for a bird house. Working on a wind chime now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product and great price

,
January 27, 2015
By PhilDallas
from Dallas, TX
" Excellent product and price. Used a coupon and the price was even better. But even at standard pricing it is a bargain. Handles welding needs nicely and is pretty easy to dial in even for the beginning welder "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice unit for the money

,
January 26, 2015
By new2it
from Ct
" I have not welded since high school but was looking for a simple machine for home projects. I like the fact that I don't need to play with a multitude of settings to get good results. I also like how portable this unit is. Simple instructions had me getting good results in very little time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welder

,
January 24, 2015
By Dbo4571
from Edgemoor, S.C.
" this little welder does the job real well to be so small "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder

,
January 24, 2015
By DCarpenter
from Mitchells, VA
" This is a great welder for small jobs. So far, can't find anything to complain about. Good value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I ordered!

,
January 22, 2015
By JefffromWA
from WA
" Nothing to brag about except the price! This welder does what it is supposed to do without any bells and whistles! Is definitely not a commercial use tool but is great for hobby and household fixes! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

merry christmas

,
January 16, 2015
By jphd
from sumter sc
" my brother is redoing a 1969 camero and he has been useing my welder so i bought him this to get mine back but he is in the middle of moving so he has not been able to start back on his car looks to be good product but dont know yet. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-14points
0out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welder

,
January 15, 2015
By gflip
from Ohio
" I am an industrial maintenence man and have used various wire welders over the years and would say this welder is as good as any I have used. I was very impressed when I used it for home purposes. It welded very consistent. Didn't pop of sputter around. Every weld looked good. I would highly reccomend this welder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Homeowner/Spare Welder

,
January 13, 2015
By Fred17801
from Pennsylvania
" I was quite satisfied with this product. Although not the ultimate welder by any means, it does do a decent job for most of the light to medium welding tasks here on our Organic Farming/Christmas Tree operation. I find that the duty cycle rating is conservative and the unit generally runs cool even when welding heavier pieces requiring multiple passes. The spool handling mechanism is relatively easy to load and as a result wire change over is also straight forward. It is light and easy to carry to a work site, and the low 110VAC power requirements makes it useful in many places otherwise inaccessible. I would not recommend this unit for daily or commercial use, but for the occasional homeowner/light farming welding project, or as a "fall back" welder, it serves very well. Fred "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welder

,
January 11, 2015
By handymanone
from south carolina
" welder is ok for little home use . I would recommend spending a little more money and get the welder that can use gas "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern 125 wire feed welder

,
January 9, 2015
By MisterV
from Socal
" This would be an ideal welder for light fabrication projects like a steel fence or light-duty trailer where repairs would likely be made outdors. These are conditions where flux-core shines best. Handles 1/8" quite well. I've only used it a few times so I cannot attest to its long-term durability. Appears to be well made. Keep in mind the settings are very limited at only 2 heat settings. I bought this welder to keep in my offroad rig for use on the trail. I can use it in conjunction with my 4000 watt max inverter for emergency trail repairs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
December 20, 2014
By captainjohn99
from Rochester NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Learned stick welding 50 years ago in high school. The learning curve for this was pretty minimal. It's actually a lot easier to strike a spark than with a stick welder. The last project was a brace on an old bush hog that broke loose. With 3 or 4 passes the joint is as strong as the original. See pics. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Welder

,
December 15, 2014
By Dennis53
from Quinton, AL
" Great welder does a great job on things I am working on. I tried it out on welding a piece of metal pipe together works well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage

,
December 4, 2014
By Cols
from Mt. Laurel, NJ
" Does everything it said it would do, i've used the last couple weeks in the garage working on my car, shroud for my radiator on a 1963 Corvette, did the job, very pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Welder

,
December 4, 2014
By Ray8888
from Buffalo, NY
" Extremely easy to use and setup. Always wanted a welder and this fills the bill nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.