Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Volts 115, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030 or 0.035, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart Optional, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection
Average Customer Rating:
4.671 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (155 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
39
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
152 of 155(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 138 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hady small welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Handyworker
from Arkansas
"This welder is well built and well thought out great value. I built a bumper for my Polaris Ranger using this wire welder and it has ate several rocks and trees the welds still look like a stack of nickels laid down no cracks or flaws. This little welder Saved me 180$ just on the bumper."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little home garage welder for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Mal64
from S.E Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this welder last year and the thing is kind of nice ... Helped reinforce my small utility trailer also helping out on some items of a go kart.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By pwc77
from MA
"good instruction manual for a quick setup ,works just fine ,no power problems just plug in a 20 amp outlet .does what i want it to do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flu

,
February 4, 2014
By Tony1956
from Nesquehoning, PA
"I am not an experienced Welder. However, having taken a course in Welding, I do know what a good weld looks like. I have found this welder to be exactly what I need for around the house and garage for personal use. I have lent it out to friends that are experienced welders and they praised it. I have used "quality" wire and the wire that came with it and have found no difference. I've welded 3/16" plate on the back of a coal truck, and as small as the foot on a jigsaw and both welds came out beautiful. You will produce a weld quicker, and be able to weld different and thicker metals using shielding gas. But if you're not working production and welding mild steel up to a 3/16" you can't beat this little MIG.
P.S. - The machine is rated to weld 3/16" mild steel but I will be trying 1/4" and honestly think it will do it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for Great Price

,
February 4, 2014
By P76br
from Aransas Pass, TX
"Purchased this for light duty welding on old Ford Bronco including exhaust, body panel work, etc. Worked great first time out! Cleaned up some previous welding with a "Splatter Master 5000" Welder by Century. No problems so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Homestead

,
February 4, 2014
By Sophiebigboy
from Sallisaw okla
"Small easy to use perfect for small jobs ideal for around place jobs"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tool welder

,
February 4, 2014
By mm57
from Maple grove mn
"Works great! It is a good welder for the price. I have used a spool through this with no problem whatsoever. Only down side is you can't weld aluminum."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bang for the Buck

,
February 4, 2014
By billymadison
from St. Louis, MO
"I bought this welder because it looked like a cheap way to have a welder around for small projects. So far I have only used it on one project but it performed beautifully. Set up was a breeze and I was able to put down some pretty nice beads on some 3/16 steel. I recommend getting a better chipping hammer, as the one it comes with is pretty light duty. Otherwise, it is a great welder for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

decent for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By ja34
from mt pleasant texas
"little welder works good for light work ive had alot of wire feed problems but when the wire is feeding right it will weld good overall for the low price its a decent machine"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little 110v welder

,
February 4, 2014
By ArmyScout
from Fort Benning, GA
"This is a great little welder, I was looking for a welder I could use off household current since I live in military housing and this fit the bill, I can weld anything I need to without a dedicated 220v line."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding and Me

,
February 4, 2014
By LTC1
from Granville, NY
"This is everything I expected. Quick and easy setup. Simple product to learn and use. pretty good directions, could have been a bit clearer. This is the frist time I have welded and I am getting better, each time. Great machine. I recommended it to my Brother and he is very happy with it. It was his first try at welding. Some consider me a geek and if I can do it, so can you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
February 4, 2014
By J737J
from Louisville
"Very easy to use right out of the box. Priced great in a competitive welder market. Great welder for a beginner"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
February 4, 2014
By frezza
from Florida
"This little welder is great for small jobs around the house.Wife got it for me on Christmas of 2013.Use it 4 times in the first month of owning it and works like a charm. Easy to use and welds great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobby Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunter52
from Liebenthal, KS
"Bought this welder, first project was a welding table. Utilizing sheet metal angle iron and tubing, welded all with no problems (other than my poor welding skills). For the home shop, this welder does a great job for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

for everyone

,
September 18, 2013
By lstu
from iowa
"I repair farm equipment so I carry a miller bobcat stick welder and I love having this wire feed with me for thin material."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
September 17, 2013
By Gab507
from Illinois
"Great little welder for quick stuff around the garage. Light and portable. I like that it is dead until the trigger is pulled, my old one was not like that. I used for a go kart stand using 1 inch sq tube and was perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welder Flux core 125 115v

,
September 17, 2013
By samg1
from San Antonio, Texas
"Use this welder in the garage on little projects and it works great for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 17, 2013
By 11813
from Milton West Virginia
"Work great takes some getting use to after getting use to a gas shield welder"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!!!!

,
August 20, 2013
By Troy13
from dubuque, ia
"This welder is much better than I anticipated. The spool of wire that comes with it was junk! No amount of fiddling with the tensioners could prevent wire from tangling. Bought some hobart wire and WOW! Lays down some nice beads. I have a Lincoln AC/DC stick for the big stuff and now this little guy will be my workhorse. Very impressed!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than advertised

,
July 15, 2013
By Fisher3
from Jerusalem, Ohio
"This welder does a wonderful job welds smooth just like a Lincoln better than any Hobart gas or not I have .45 flux core wire in it now and all I changed was the tip does a great job"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.