Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Volts 115, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Amps 125, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030 or 0.035, Cart Optional, Power Cord ft. 6, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (143 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
35
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
140 of 143(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
February 4, 2014
By frezza
from Florida
"This little welder is great for small jobs around the house.Wife got it for me on Christmas of 2013.Use it 4 times in the first month of owning it and works like a charm. Easy to use and welds great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobby Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunter52
from Liebenthal, KS
"Bought this welder, first project was a welding table. Utilizing sheet metal angle iron and tubing, welded all with no problems (other than my poor welding skills). For the home shop, this welder does a great job for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

for everyone

,
September 18, 2013
By lstu
from iowa
"I repair farm equipment so I carry a miller bobcat stick welder and I love having this wire feed with me for thin material."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
September 17, 2013
By Gab507
from Illinois
"Great little welder for quick stuff around the garage. Light and portable. I like that it is dead until the trigger is pulled, my old one was not like that. I used for a go kart stand using 1 inch sq tube and was perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welder Flux core 125 115v

,
September 17, 2013
By samg1
from San Antonio, Texas
"Use this welder in the garage on little projects and it works great for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 17, 2013
By 11813
from Milton West Virginia
"Work great takes some getting use to after getting use to a gas shield welder"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!!!!

,
August 20, 2013
By Troy13
from dubuque, ia
"This welder is much better than I anticipated. The spool of wire that comes with it was junk! No amount of fiddling with the tensioners could prevent wire from tangling. Bought some hobart wire and WOW! Lays down some nice beads. I have a Lincoln AC/DC stick for the big stuff and now this little guy will be my workhorse. Very impressed!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than advertised

,
July 15, 2013
By Fisher3
from Jerusalem, Ohio
"This welder does a wonderful job welds smooth just like a Lincoln better than any Hobart gas or not I have .45 flux core wire in it now and all I changed was the tip does a great job"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
April 25, 2013
By north40
from roseau,mn
"this welder is so easy to use. haven't welded in about 10 years, recieved this welder and started welding with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great, but lacks fine adjustment

,
April 23, 2013
By nnwelder
from newport news, va
"bought this welder in 2011 and have used it numerous times to repair small metal parts, I would have given this welder 5 stars but i couldn't due to the fact that there is no fine adjustment on the voltage side, if the welder could be fine tuned beyond the generic hi/low switch with an infinite adjustment like on the 135 amp flux core/mig welder they offer would only make a great product better, but for the price, this machine works great, so if all you are going to use this machine for is light weld repairs and small fabrications it is a superb buy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flux Core Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By TJJD
from New Orleans, LA
"Use to stick weld (a long time ago). Use the flux core 125 and it was very simple to use. Would recommend it to a beginner or small uses around the house"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder for starting out

,
April 23, 2013
By KrazyKarl
from TX
"I've had a little welding experience before, but am by no means an expert. I finally bought this gem on sale after eyeing it for a while, and have had no regrets. After getting advice online, I was laying pretty decent looking beads in no time.
So far, I've used it to seam weld a track car, then my wife had me build some table legs that turned out really well, partially due to this great little welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By brucec
from Virginia beach, va 23462
"My old Sears Mig welder broke, most of welding I do now is just little items here and there, This welder has handled everything around my Housing Great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic welder

,
April 23, 2013
By Outback
from Hartselle, AL
"This was my first experience with a wire-feed welder so I needed more instructions and more detailed instructions that came with my unit. Consequently I had to experiement with settings on feed speed and feed tension to get it to do what I wanted. If you already know how to use one of these welders, you should not have the trouble I did. Once I gained a little experience, I have used it for several projects and it worked well each time. It is definately easier to use that a stick welder, which takes a lot more practice for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By MSB1
from Maine
"This welder has met my needs in home projects! feeds well and for a infrequent welder this has worked perfect with little practice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Welder for Home Use

,
April 23, 2013
By Mailpouch
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a nice, inexpensive welder for small projects and repairs around the home. It works well and is convenient because it uses 115 Volts. You can't beat it for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Purchase

,
March 17, 2013
By jbuss15
from Westfield, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently bought this welder and when i got it i thought i should write a review for it but i wanted to wait till i had more under the hood time. The first impressionions were that its very good quailty and easy to set up. The only thing was the short gun lead and wimpy groung clamp thats why i gave it four stars not five. The machine itself welds very well if it doesnt weld good at first take some time to adjust your drive roll tension and spoon hub tension. It has a very smooth arc. The settings chart on the inside of the wire compartment is a very good starting point but feel free to fine tune the wire feed to get perfect settings. Deffinately an amazing welder for the price. Thats probly why you get a wimpy ground clamp and short gun lead because it is such a good welder and has a very low price so that price had to come from somewhere. Its rating for 3/16 on single pass so i tried a 3/16 fillet weld the tested it and the metal bent before the weld so thats deffinatly true. Would deffinately suggest getting this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice welder for the price

,
February 22, 2013
By Pelter
from Petersburg, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Easy to setup the welder. Welds very good for not having gas. I purchased this welder because of the price and the 120 volt power so I can take it on the road if I need to do small job somewhere. The best tip I found in the manual was to weld start welding with one hand and have the other hand on the wire feed knob and adjust it while you are welding to get a good weld. I did go to a welding supply and buy a 8 inch spool of higher quality wire. In my photo you can see how bad it was welding and then where I adjusted the wire feed while welding and got a much better weld. I had it on #2 power with the wire feed at 3-1/2."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome welder

,
February 13, 2013
By matt030312
from whitley city,ky
"I got this little welder for small jobs around the house like 1/8 metals but wow after I used it on a few little jobs it dun great. So I thought I would try it on 3/16 steel to make a bumper for my jeep. WOW it is amazon it burned in like It was using a 220 welder. Best welder I have ever used with flux core. Welds look as good as gas welder just a little more splatter. If you want a good flux core welder this is it. Thank you northern tool. :))"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to the garage

,
December 26, 2012
By RamenNoodles
from Monmouth County NJ
"I find this little thing great! So far, Ive fixed a few old generators that never had fuel tank brackets, and ive build a flat bed for my off road truck! All the welds come out nice and strong.
Once you do, Immediately go and get some better welding wire, what it comes with is complete junk, Its good to goof around with, but otherwise, i wouldnt use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.