Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
"This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Volts 115, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart Optional, Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection"
Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (163 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
40
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
160 of 163(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
March 24, 2014
By SamENole
from Panama City, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This welder, for what it is, is pretty great. I bought it not expecting much, but also not being able to pass up on the great sale price. I am a former diesel mechanic who has performed lots of repair-welding and fabrication operations in the past using the higher end MIG offerings from Miller and Lincoln. I work in education now, so I just have small projects around the house to handle, stuff like light repair welding and fabrication. I have had the welder for a few weeks now, and have only done two jobs with it. The first, last weekend, was welding two 3/8” nuts onto ¼” plate for a puller I made for stretching fence wire. The welder had great penetration and thus far I have not had any problems with the puller after using it all day for two days. Then I used the welder today to build a ball mount for a lawn mower to pull a small utility trailer around the yard. I used ¼” x 2” angle iron and ¼” plate. See attached pictures. I know the welds aren’t aesthetically pleasing, but again, the welder provided great penetration for a secure mechanical weld. I couldn’t be happier with this welder. I may not recommend it to a production welder or fab shop, but if you are a hobbyist, new welder, home handyman or anybody that occasionally needs to take two pieces of metal and make them one, I highly recommend this welder. It’s a bonus that you can take it anywhere, using widely available household 110v electricity, and don’t have to worry about the wind blowing your shielding gas away. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

beginner's welder

,
February 28, 2014
By jk1980
from south Dakota
" I bought this welder to teach myself how to wire welder, having only stick experience. I don't have 230v in my garage, so stick was out of the question. After doing a ton of research, I decided to try this welder based on price and reviews. Figured I couldn't lose. I gotta say I'm impressed. It only took a little practice and trial and error getting parameters set and I was laying down better beads that I could with a stick. My first project was a welding cart that turned out awesome. I've welded some heavy steel and was impressed with how well it penetrated. I would recommend this to anyone doing light to medium duty welding on a 115v power source. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another 5 Star Review

,
February 16, 2014
By DBX820
from Dallas, TX
" This is an amazing welder at a super price. Setup was easy with the quick start sheet. After some to and fro with the settings I was making perfectly nice welds with 1/4" rod onto 3/8" plate. There is a learning curve like any skill but it is just too easy to make good welds. The price cannot be beat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
20out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V

,
February 13, 2014
By Welder1NE
from NE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have used this product for projects involving products manufactured for customers. In my application it penetrates the metal gauges I have used it on with ease. Everywhere from 14 gauge mild steel, to 7 gauge mild steel. My test on this welder out of the box was a piece of 3/8 mild steel with a nut welded to it. I placed a pass on 1 hex side and the opposite site. I threaded a bolt through it, and tried to beat it off with a 3 pound mini sledge. A downside for this product for beginner with mine was the ground. I have experience welding 1 handed. The ground functions to my satisfaction but I got what I paid for there. Flux core is dirty, and requires clean-up of parts afterwards. This welder once an excellent ground is established will weld solid, otherwise I would have re-boxed and returned as not even used. I already had wire for it. Also remember this welder outputs 125 amps. If you are running any extension cords I use 14/3 for 50ft. 12/3 for 100ft And 10/3 for 150 ft. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

,
February 6, 2014
By EOCS
from Amarillo, TX
" This machine is great for home and shop. I've used it for two years with no trouble. Great welding light material as well as tacking heavier material for hotter welding later. Highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 5, 2014
By Welder123456789
from Paso Robles, CA
" I have had this product for a couple of weeks now and I have only used it for some sheet metal, but it has performed flawlessly. It is great as a first welder and will still get used for smaller jobs once you upgrade to a more powerful machine. The only downsides are the duty cycle, flux coating, and the max amps, but the duty cycle is average for this size of welder, the coating is easy to brush off, and for a 120v the welder is powerful. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

,
February 5, 2014
By Hangown
from TEXAS
" A little practice and this is a great inexpensive flux core welder. Very bad splatter but changed to
Lincoln flux core wire and it is a little better. I've made many repairs over the past 3 years and have not had one weld break or crack.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful For Knocking The HoneyDo List Down

,
February 4, 2014
By Monkeybeefarms
from South Texas
" Use it for all kinds of little projects, make some big metal stars and such, worked great. I'm not the best at making a bead but it sticks together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hady small welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Handyworker
from Arkansas
" This welder is well built and well thought out great value. I built a bumper for my Polaris Ranger using this wire welder and it has ate several rocks and trees the welds still look like a stack of nickels laid down no cracks or flaws. This little welder Saved me 180$ just on the bumper. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little home garage welder for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Mal64
from S.E Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Bought this welder last year and the thing is kind of nice ... Helped reinforce my small utility trailer also helping out on some items of a go kart.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By pwc77
from MA
" good instruction manual for a quick setup ,works just fine ,no power problems just plug in a 20 amp outlet .does what i want it to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flu

,
February 4, 2014
By Tony1956
from Nesquehoning, PA
" I am not an experienced Welder. However, having taken a course in Welding, I do know what a good weld looks like. I have found this welder to be exactly what I need for around the house and garage for personal use. I have lent it out to friends that are experienced welders and they praised it. I have used "quality" wire and the wire that came with it and have found no difference. I've welded 3/16" plate on the back of a coal truck, and as small as the foot on a jigsaw and both welds came out beautiful. You will produce a weld quicker, and be able to weld different and thicker metals using shielding gas. But if you're not working production and welding mild steel up to a 3/16" you can't beat this little MIG.
P.S. - The machine is rated to weld 3/16" mild steel but I will be trying 1/4" and honestly think it will do it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for Great Price

,
February 4, 2014
By P76br
from Aransas Pass, TX
" Purchased this for light duty welding on old Ford Bronco including exhaust, body panel work, etc. Worked great first time out! Cleaned up some previous welding with a "Splatter Master 5000" Welder by Century. No problems so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Homestead

,
February 4, 2014
By Sophiebigboy
from Sallisaw okla
" Small easy to use perfect for small jobs ideal for around place jobs "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tool welder

,
February 4, 2014
By mm57
from Maple grove mn
" Works great! It is a good welder for the price. I have used a spool through this with no problem whatsoever. Only down side is you can't weld aluminum. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bang for the Buck

,
February 4, 2014
By billymadison
from St. Louis, MO
" I bought this welder because it looked like a cheap way to have a welder around for small projects. So far I have only used it on one project but it performed beautifully. Set up was a breeze and I was able to put down some pretty nice beads on some 3/16 steel. I recommend getting a better chipping hammer, as the one it comes with is pretty light duty. Otherwise, it is a great welder for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

decent for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By ja34
from mt pleasant texas
" little welder works good for light work ive had alot of wire feed problems but when the wire is feeding right it will weld good overall for the low price its a decent machine "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little 110v welder

,
February 4, 2014
By ArmyScout
from Fort Benning, GA
" This is a great little welder, I was looking for a welder I could use off household current since I live in military housing and this fit the bill, I can weld anything I need to without a dedicated 220v line. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding and Me

,
February 4, 2014
By LTC1
from Granville, NY
" This is everything I expected. Quick and easy setup. Simple product to learn and use. pretty good directions, could have been a bit clearer. This is the frist time I have welded and I am getting better, each time. Great machine. I recommended it to my Brother and he is very happy with it. It was his first try at welding. Some consider me a geek and if I can do it, so can you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
February 4, 2014
By J737J
from Louisville
" Very easy to use right out of the box. Priced great in a competitive welder market. Great welder for a beginner "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.