Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628575
"This Northern Industrial Welders 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge mild steel up to 3/16in. thick. With a host of great features at a fraction of the price of other brands, this flux core welder is great for a wide variety of jobs around the house, the farm, the shop, even the demolition derby pit. With dependable performance, it's sure to be an instant favorite. Mig Ready Flux-core only, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Shielding Gas Required No, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Cart Optional, Volts 115, Amps 125, Power Cord ft. 6. Operates on readily-available 115V/20 amp power - no special wiring required Convenient carry handle and compact size for easy portability Trigger-activated arc keeps wire electrically cold when not welding Two voltage settings for versatility Includes heavy-duty flux core gun and ground clamp Gun uses common Tweco-Style replacement parts Infinite wire speed control for flexibility in working with different materials On-board setup guide located right on the door for easy setup Adapts to use 4in. wire spools or 8in. spools with included spool adapter Works with 0.030 or 0.035 wire Built-in thermal overload protection"
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 of 33(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tool welder

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Maple grove mn
" Works great! It is a good welder for the price. I have used a spool through this with no problem whatsoever. Only down side is you can't weld aluminum. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welder Flux core 125 115v

,
September 17, 2013
By
from San Antonio, Texas
" Use this welder in the garage on little projects and it works great for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The easiest way to get welding

,
December 5, 2012
By
from Richmond, VA
" I've greatly enjoyed my 125 Flux Core welder. It feeds fine, no problems with tangles inside once you get the tensioner set right. Setup was under 10 minutes, and I was welding mild steel for the first time.
I was a total newcomer, and have since purchased a small Century SMAW kit for versatility, but this is my go-to. The flux-core wire burns HOT HOT HOT, so it's not good at all for thin sheet-metal or body work. The advantage is that it penetrates much better than you'd think for a 120-volt portable welder.
No, you're not going to do single-pass perfect x-ray welds in all positions for 1/2" stock. But for the newbie or those gaining experience, you can do almost anything if you're willing to bevel correctly, set up your welds well, and make your passes.
It's a reliable, inexpensive machine that all the Lincoln and Miller fans will disparage. But that savings has allowed me much more practice, and my technique is greatly improved.
I'm not welding buckets on front-end loaders. I'm a homeowner. I use it to weld fences, work on motorcycle frames, and make carts. For what I do, it's perfect.
Still, I'm tempted to pick up the MIG 135 and a bottle, so I can do the thin stuff. That's my obsession, not any fault of this welder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-9points
16out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 125 Flux Core Welder

,
June 16, 2011
By
from Tupper Lake NY
" I have a 230 Arc and a 115 Arc. I wanted to try Mig Welding, I did a research on Mig Welders and decided on this one due to the price, and the first time I used it, it was love at first sight, It performed way past my expectations, I build a Base for my Double Jet Ski trailer to install a winch and from that project on I have been using it non stop, I purchased the big rolls of flux core .035 and I love it. Im Getting next an ARC 230 form Northen, I love their products and the prices. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrail 125 FluxCore Welder

,
June 13, 2011
By
from Newton, NC
" After having a stroke I lost the use of my left arm for awhile and as a result of the stroke I had what they call a frozen shoulder. and when I needed to weld, it was hard to hold the welding rod and weld with my Sears 220 volt welder.So I bought this 125 Flux Core and it solved my need with the self feeding wire plus it's weld anywhere there's a 110/120 volt outlet. It's take the welder to the job,not the job to the welder No cons on this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

nothern flux welder

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Michigan
" Junk. Won't weld anything. Would not reccommand to anyone!!! I want my money back.! It is junk. Northern tool, contact me about a refund.... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-66points
9out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial 125 Flux Core Welder

,
March 14, 2011
By
" For a little 120v buzz box it does a nice job. Easy to carry and use. Having never used a wire fed welder before, it took a little getting used to the wire coming out and moving down the weld to create a good bead.
It does splatter a little but the weld holds.
Recycle time is not too bad either.
I would buy another one!
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome hobby welder

,
December 5, 2010
By
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" For the hobbiest this is an awesome welder. I have built various things and always come out satisfied. You can not beat it for the price. I would have given it 5 stars, but it is a small amp welder with slightly short leads. Overall if your a beginner or hobbyist this is a sweet deal and plugs into a 115 volt outlet. Attatched you can see a picture of welding cart I built for mig using it. 1 more thing I always get compliments on my welds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little unit

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Wind Farms, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This unit is so much better then i was expecting. I bought this unit to carry with me as I travel for my work in my RV trailer. This compact unit fits nicely in my overcrowded "basement." This unit welded everything i could throw at it the very first weekend. Widening the frame on my Bike trailer, new hitch, and fooling around (Practicing) while welding a piece of angle to a thick chunk of steel. All in all a great unit for a beginner or someone looking for a compact unit to pack while on the road. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 125 Flux Core Welder

,
November 17, 2010
By
" Welder is significantly better than expected for the price. Easy assembly and easy operation. This is my first wire welder as I've only used stick welders before. The wire welder is the way to go. This unit is well worth the price. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Ind. 125 Flux welder

,
November 16, 2010
By
from Durant, OK
" I have to admit I was not expecting much from the welder when I ordered it. Many of my friends are professional welders and warned me against a 115 volt welder. I just didn't need the expense of the ones they use.
I got way more than I expected. Out of the box it works great. Easy set up and good illustrations for use. It has the typical spatter of all flux welders but the quality is great. Good welds with the 2 simple power settings and with a little practice you can adjust the feed speeds for you applications.
For general use it is a great welder. If pretty beads are what you are looking for then a MIG with gas shield is probably what you are looking for.
This does the job and a little cleaning of the spatter makes it pretty enough for me.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant welder

,
September 1, 2010
By
from Meadowview, Va.
" I am a certified all position pressure vessel welder for over 25 years and have owned many welders. I currently have a 220v Mig and Tig gas welder. I bought this Northern Tool 110v Mig welder so I wouldn't have to lug my 550 lb. welder out for small jobs. My Son and I have started building Tattoo machines. The 220v welder was too big to weld the smaller Gauge 1018 HRP&O steel we make the frames with. We decided to try this welder and were skeptical at first. After practicing on a few pieces of scrap to learn the characteristics of this welder we started welding our first Tattoo frame. It turned out absolutely flawless. We have built over 50 frames since our purchase without a single mishap. We also used it on a trailer repair outside and the flux core wire worked great in the light breeze that would have caused havoc on my 220v gas welder. This little welder lays down a "stack of dimes" Just like my large gas welder at just a little more cost than a roll of wire for my large welder. Plus it consumes so much less power. We have welded some 3/8" steel with excellant results with this Northern Tool welder. We also don't have to worry about running out of shielding gas while welding due to the flux-core wire. This Northern Tool welder is excellant and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a welder that is portable, reliable and is easy to operate yet will weld thicker steel when necessary. We are thinking of buying another so we don't argue about who gets to use it and increase productivity. Buy one, you won't be dissappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern industrial 125 flux core welder

,
February 15, 2010
By
from baileyville,maine
" this is a really put together little unit.. i have a friend who has a lincoln 115 volt mig setup and i prefer my flux-core 125 better..no messing with empty bottles and being able to use this outside without the wind blowing the shielding gas away is worth having a flux-core only ..i use this for repairs on my 4- wheeler,my riding and push mowers and also on my motorcycle..i highly recommend this type of welder to anyone who has need of light to medium duty repair work..it uses 2 types of wire (.30 and.35) and is easy to setup and use..the manual says it will weld up to 3/16" material but i've found you can weld thicker materials if you take the time to prepare them by beveling the edges and making filler passes..for a little machine, you get really good penetration and being able to use a big 10 pound roll of wire is a great feature as well ( less time changing spools!!) so for anyone looking for a great all around welder for a hobbyist or small home workshop, this welder will definately fit the bill !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Reviews 21-33 of 33