Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump

Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump

Item# 62861
This versatile pump attaches to a power drill and provides 28 PSI and max. pumping head of 50 feet. Accessory Type Drill powered pump, Compatible With Power drill, Includes Repair kit and suction strainer, Watts 375 m in. rating on drill, Inlet Size in. 7/8, Outlet Diameter in. 7/8. Max. inlet head 6ft. vertical from surface Requires 20mm approx. 3/4in. hose 3 1/2in. thick and 3in.H
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drill pump

,
April 20, 2014
By xusmc0321
from MA
"I've used a number of these little drill pumps over the years, and keep coming back to this one. They are great for what the are designed to do, and in deference to other reviewers who have had problems, have never had a problem with this model that I wasn't the cause of. I don't use the provided screen filter and usually pick up sand or grit and score the inside of the plastic case. They do continue to work after cleaning, just not as well. If you are going to use one of these, just make sure the drill you attach to it produces sufficient RPM's to power the pump, when the pump is attached and running under load, (which I expect is the source of most of the negative reviews).
The pump comes with a rebuild kit, which I've never used; as mentioned, once the inside of the case is scored, toss it and replace it. They are inexpensive enough.
The reason for the 4 stars and not 5 is that the pump comes complete, is of really good quality, has the aforementioned rebuild kit, and not one single instruction. Not all that hard to figure out for yourself, but why should you have to?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

broke

,
June 14, 2013
By mattoil
from texas
"It primed well at about 1500rpms. I was using it to transfer used motor oil. No heavier then 10w30. After 15 gallons it broke. Cracked the case."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware

,
June 2, 2010
By DisappointedBob
from Gulfport, Florida
"I have bought two of the drill pumps. Both broke (shattered) inside. First time I used the pump about six months which translates about ten times. So I went out and bought another one. That one broke (shattered) inside on the second time. What a waste of money..I was using it for fuel/cooking oil. Which was ok to use with this pump, as stated on the package.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Powered Pump

,
June 1, 2010
By StevehRV6
from Pleasant Valley, NY
"I bought this for occasional use (i.e. 2x/year)... to transfer fuel oil from one 275 gallon tank to another. I little tricky to self-prime (use a high rpm drill) but once going it transfers fluid really quickly.
Works great and is a really inexpensive way to move fluids easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little pump

,
May 31, 2010
By RalphS
from Wisconsin Dells, WI
"I bought 2, and am happy I did. The only problem I have is that these require almost 1000rpm to work. None of my cordless drills spin that fast. Nor my Milwaukee 'Hole Shooter' - my Dewalt is the only drill I have that is fast enough."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

,
May 27, 2010
By Vandil
from Madison WI
"It pumped about 55 gal of water before the impeller shattered. Was pumping out a pefectly clear blue kiddy pool so it didn't suck anything in, it just selfd destructed after about 10min of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Emergency pump

,
May 24, 2010
By CWinva
from Alex, VA
"I bought this in case of an emergency, and sure enough the old hot water heater burst flooding the area. This pump worked great helping get things under control. Cheep enough to buy to have just in case"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Multipurpose Drill Powered Pump
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stand back!

,
February 22, 2010
By FredEx
from Southern Utah
"This pump does what it's supposed to do. It moves an astonishing amount of water in a short time. You better have a good grip on it when you turn on the drill because it's got some heavy-duty torque. This is perfect for sucking water out of sprinkler lines."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.