Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output

Item# 628844
"This Northern Industrial 125 flux core welder welds 18-gauge up to 3/16in. mild steel for light industrial applications. It should be used with flux core welding only. This welder is factory reconditioned to perform like new. NorthernTool.com offers reconditioned tools and equipment that meets the same standards and quality as new products, yet give you identical features at considerable savings. This welder is warranted for 30 days parts and labor, with Service Protection Plan available. Mig Ready Flux-core only, Duty Cycle 20 @ 80A, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.030, 0.035, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Cart Optional, Clamp Cable Length ft. 6, Amps 125, Shielding Gas Required No, Volts 115, Weldable Metals Carbon steel, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 12, Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Power Cord ft. 6. Rated output 80 Amps @ 115V DC, 20 duty cycle Uses AC single phase 110/120V, 60 Hz/20 Amp with time delayed fuse and circuit breaker Trigger-activated arc for electrically cold wire when not welding Two heat settings, infinite wire speed control, overload and thermal protection Welding wire is sold separately Item# 164890 flux core is recommended for use with this welder"
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Wire Feed Welder

,
March 26, 2015
By Gene39
from Greenville, SC
" This welder is great for the home owner, handyman. I was impressed with the performance for the price I paid for this machine. It is great for small jobs. As welding mower decks, trailer fenders. & such. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reconditioned Unit

,
March 22, 2015
By AFVET
from Sonoma, CA
" The Northern Tool Reconditioned unit is very good for the price. When it arrived, I inspected it and I would never of thought it wasn't a brand new machine.
I've been welding for a week so I am as new as it gets. I use this machine for my vintage automotive projects, and so far it has performed very well. I will most likely upgrade to a Mig welder later on, but this is a good machine and a great unit to learn on. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
March 12, 2015
By Ole63
from Tripp, SD
" I am very impressed with this Reconditioned welder. First of all, it does not look like a reconditioned welder. There isn`t signs of being reconditioned at all. The only difference I can see is, You don`t get the Chipping hammer & wire brush. And of course the price. It is very easy to set up and start welding with in minutes.
I think this is a great welder to learn how to weld with. With a little practiced I believe anyone can use this welder like a pro.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good budget priced welder!

,
February 24, 2015
By duddly42
from MI
" Very good welder for the price. Opened the box and it looks just like new, nicer looking than you might think, and it certainly doesn't look like a refurb in any way shape or form. My son and I ran a bunch of beads, joined some 3/16" steel and it worked very well. Of course you get some weld spatter from having to use the flux core type wire but the usefulness of a portable welder like this far outweighs the slight spatter. I am going to use this to finish my utility trailer to install the needed fenders, it'll do just fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple

,
December 15, 2014
By ren2009
from FLORIDA
" is a device very easy to use, and suitable for beginners "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great handyman welder for the price

,
December 14, 2014
By Psween
from Minnesota
" Purchased this welder online with free delivery to my local store. Even though it is a refurb, couldn't tell it wasn't new. Everything was complete and ready to weld. Have only welded up to 11ga. steel, but penetration and quality are very good. Aside from a little spatter, the welds look as good as I can do with a much more expensive Miller MIG machine. Best part is being able to throw it in the van and weld away from my shop, with just a regular 110v outlet needed. Would gladly recommend to anyone looking for a portable, easy to use, light duty welder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for many jobs

,
August 16, 2014
By exfarmboy
from Texas
" This was my second wire welder. I have another I bought from Northern, but it was a brand name. I needed a second welder for a second location. This one didn't have as many power settings as my other, so I hoped it would do what I needed, and it does! I set it up and was welding in only a few minutes. It laid down a very nice bead with good penetration on 1/8" steel. I see no reason this welder won't do everything I need it to do up to 1/4' and even 1/2' steel. I bought it on sale and for the money, this is a GREAT little welder! I'm very pleased with it and would recommend it to friends. As a matter of fact, one friend has already purchased the same unit after talking to me. Great little welder! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

thin stuff

,
August 6, 2014
By freddiefisherman3
from Richmond Va.
" I bought this welder because of the price and even though I have owned a stick welder for years, I needed a better way to weld sheet metal and thin stuff. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wire welder

,
June 27, 2014
By tankteam
from long beach ca
" bought reconditioned flux core wire welder and i'm completely satified, looked brand new out of the box with only one small blemish on the outside.worked perfect the frist time i used it and has continued to work perfect on the few jobs i have used it on "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By hamburgerman
from J.C. Kansas
" I bought this welder about a year ago and it has been a wonderful investment. I had never had a wirefeed welder before, but had heard how easy they were to use and that is an understatement. You can do just about anything you want with this little welder and one of the best things about it is you can take it anywhere because it only needs 110 volt wall plug to run it as compared to needing a 220 volt. I would recommend anyone that does any welding of any kind to get one of these they are great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder

,
October 15, 2012
By MrMcGuiver
from West Virginia
" I upgraded from an old 110v stick welder to this. Last weekend I made a snow blade frame for an old riding mower I had. The welder worked great and by the time I was finished, I was doing some nice looking welds. The only issue I had with the welder is that there was a part missing that holds the wire spool in. I just found a spring and nut that would work and then went to work. I guess that is what "reconditioned" meant in this case: a missing part. No biggie though. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy

,
October 15, 2012
By mtc2
from tulsa,ok
" Bought this about 6 mo ago , have used it for several small projects . Works great , good value for your money. Every guy needs one of these things. Very handy gadget. Easy to use with just a little bit of practice, and doesn't take up much room when not in use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
11out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder

,
October 8, 2012
By cletrac
from upstate NY
" Nice reconditioned welder for the price. Unit looks just like new and works great. I expect some of these get returned as many users will not take the time to read the instructions. A reversible feed roller can cause issues if flipped wrong plus proper routing of the wire is needed. Also you need to buy flux wire....Regular mig wire would mess you up. Anyhow, beyong speculation, I find this smooth welder a big bang for the buck for the guy who likes to be able to fix things. Don't forget to buy a roll of wire and protective equipment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

125 amp wire feed welder

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymous
from memphis,tn
" great little welder for home ive had it bout 3 months and i use it all the time,plugs into wall out let no special plug in need !! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the money

,
August 13, 2012
By Sparky2
from Green River, Wy
" I bought this welder for small jobs around the house and love the welder. It works great and i have had no problems with this welder at all. Would recommend it to anyone needing to do small stuff around the house. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

decent economical unit

,
May 7, 2012
By Timothy1
from Berthoud, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I did a fair amount of research and decided to go ahead and take a chance on a cheaper unit. I'm not a pro, but it did well on welding trusses for a 1200 sf building.
I didn't notice anything that didn't look like new on this unit.
We tried running it on two different generators. It worked better on the older (130 V) generator. We had to turn up the RPMs on the newer generator to get it to work better. (It tended to stick in the tip more on 117 V.) I had no issues with the "Duty cycle" We never tripped the breaker on the welder. (I had three moderately experienced guys cutting and laying out material for me to weld. (The only "duty cycle" issue was my back during the first two days when I was bending over most of the day.)
I did figure out that it worked better to take the tips and drill a couple of them out to 1/16" so that they wouldn't clog up so easily. The exact size tip for the wire is not critical; oversize is fine. (I used one and a half spools of the Flux Core Wire 10-Lb. Spool — .030 Wire.) I found that having two tips drilled out worked well; at the first sign of the wire sticking and hesitating in the tip, I just unscrew it with my glove, and the 1/16" hole is often just large enough to be able to slip it off over the end of the wire and put the other tip on. (I was using two tips because I was generally letting one cool and recleaning them by hand. It would be easier and quicker to clean a tip with the 1/16 bit in a cordless drill.)
I never had the wire jam in the feeder, just be sure to not set the feeder to tight. I did have the end of the wire get away when installing a spool; be sure to keep track of that end or it starts uncoiling and makes a mess!
The low power setting worked well for filling voids, and the high power setting worked for penetrating - even on half inch rebar. Most material was about 3/32" thick.
I even used light weight gloves most of the time. I only needed regular heavy welding gloves when welding above my hands.
Over all, very pleased with the functionality for the price.
(I was surprised though, two 10lb spools of wire were more than the welder itself. One of the spool hubs was significantly cracked in shipping, but it worked fine.)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
October 17, 2011
By MachoManRIP
from Cleveland, TN
" Got the refurb model for a great price. Looks and operates like brand new. Easy to use. Creates alot of sparks so wear proper clothing. Great little machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

125 flux core re-condition welder

,
June 16, 2011
By aabts
from Springville, AL
" I bought this welder a month ago and have used it 4 times already. I have used it for steel that it is rated for and heavier gauge also. It has lived up to the description and more. I have read some reviews about the feed mechanism, but personally have had no problems. I was a little worried about the "re-condition" label, but could not tell it was anything but new. I would and have recommended this to friends for light welding duties. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price.

,
March 14, 2011
By Jlinde001
" For a entry level machine at the reconditioned price is just right. I taught myself to weld on it. Not enough power to do any heavy welding. Good for some spot welding and minor repairs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Reconditioned Flux Core 125 115V Flux Cored Welder - 125 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reconditioned and looks like new

,
November 20, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
" this is a great entry level machine if your just doing lil projects this is all you need "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.