Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019

Item# 630211
A comfortable and convenient way to work on hard-to-reach engine parts. Material Steel, Capacity lbs. 400, Padded Yes, Adjustable in. 40-70. Topsider adjusts from 42in. to 70in. high, making it perfect for cars, trucks, boats and airplanes Features include locking casters, padded chestboard and heavy gauge steel construction with a powder coat finish 400-lb. capacity
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Review 1 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

topside creeper works great

,
October 15, 2012
By hendy
from iowa
"I work on alot of newer F 250s and up and these trucks keep getting taller, and more time consuming to work on. This creeper works great and I can work off it all day without pain. I have had it 3 years and use it everyday it has held up well. I did have to replace 1 wheel but only because i ran it over. The only thing is I wish it would fold up. It takes up alot of space when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great creeper for trucks

,
May 31, 2010
By Sinbad
from Ridgeland,SC
"I own many trucks from 1/2 to 5 ton and the engine height is different on all the trucks and this creeper is adjustable for each height. Gives the service person access to the rear of the engine bay with having to crawl over the engine to reach the rear of the engine. Very helpfull tool to have save time and prevents injury to the service person doing the repairs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

creeper

,
February 22, 2010
By okieman
from BFE, Oklohoma
"A back saver for sure!! Works great! I use this to work on any truck that comes into my shop..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Back Saver

,
November 3, 2009
By Scullysgirl
from Norfolk, VA
"The Topsider is AWESOME. It is invaluable as a back saver. My boyfriend and I have three F150s, one of which is lifted around 9". Trying to get to anything in the engine compartment when it's at eye level with you is a pain at best, with this it's a non-issue. Even on our trucks at stock height it's a real back saver. I kind of wish we had purchased the foldable version, but this one still breaks down pretty decently for storage. All in all, a great product and I would definitely recommend it to anyone!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Back and Time Saver

,
July 14, 2009
By DrLouie
from Forkland, Al
"The Top Side Creeper is a true time saver and makes truck tuneups, and any upper engine work easy work easy. I am using my topsider in conjunction with my four post lift so I can also work on autos with the same ease
It sure beats climbing up on the radiator crossmember of a big four wheel drive and then having to get back down to get another tool or a dropped tool or bolt and then climbing back up again . Working by one self this can be a big chore.
The resting pad takes a big load of the lower back which is why I purchased it to begin with as I have had severe lower back muscle problems. The only thing that I have noticed is that your calfs do get a good work out and the use of the ladder steps will do that. This is one of my best tool purchases that I have made in the last five years. TAKE IT FROM A MAN THAT RUNS A AUTO SHOP FOR A LIVING THIS IS A TRUE TIME AND BACK SAVER.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Disabled Vet

,
November 18, 2008
By Clipovich
from Battle Ground, WA
"I am a disabled veteran living with the challenge of having a back that has been broken in three separate places. I cannot stand for very long but I love to work on my vehicles.
I had been admiring the topside creeper for months and then my wife and I bought a Suburban. When the water pump went out, I knew that it was going to be extremely difficult for me to replace it myself without some means to support my body. The savings from doing the work myself would go a long ways towards covering the cost of the creeper so I took a chance and purchased the creeper.
I was worried about the fact that I weigh 260 and was wondering if the top pad would really support my weight. Well, it did. It supported my weight and I felt safe. The creeper is very well built. The creeper allowed me to lay on my belly and work with my arms dangling. It was very comfortable.
I have been buying tools for over twenty years and have some tools that I feel very blessed to own and the topside creeper is my favorite tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside Creeper

,
November 18, 2008
By Stan45
from Thompson ND
"This is an excellent item for anybody with a larger pickup. I have a F350 2WD and was tired of standing on stepstools to do any under hood work. Also I collect large Military Vehicles, previously I used a step ladder, but because of the distance from the fender to the engine I was always close to tipping over. The Topside creeper has made it easier to do maintenance. It was easy to assemble. The only drawbacks are the wheels are for smooth pavement and the foam padding is cheap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside tops

,
August 11, 2008
By marty256
from Central NJ
"I recently purchased a Topside creeper from Northern Tool. I own a Ford Expedition and my son has a Lightning. Doing service work in the engine bay used to be difficult with my bad back. I would sometimes use a small step ladder to reach over the fender. While leaning over the engine the step ladder would sometimes kick out causing even more problems. With the Topside I am able to spend extended periods under the hood, changing plugs, and idle air control valve, etc. with no ill effects. I would recommend the Topside creeper to anyone doing service work on trucks, pick-ups or sport utility vehicles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside Creeper

,
April 21, 2008
By BeatupMechanic
from New Jersey
"I Purchased the Topside Creeper last year and have used it quite often.
It makes working on large pick-up trucks and SUV's much easier. Much easier on your back and knees than trying to climb over the bumper and grill. It is designed well and a stable work platform.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider Creeper is great

,
April 14, 2008
By RYDER
from Alto, MI
"I have back problems and work on my own cars and trucks. I use to be able to work under the hoods for a short time until I bought the topsider know I can work for hours with no pain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside Creeper

,
April 14, 2008
By HarlanB
from Auburn California
"This product went together easly. It is well made, It keeps ones body up fairley comfortable. I would recommend this for anyone who has to do work extended over an area you can not put a ladder. Very Usefull"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider

,
January 24, 2008
By Oscardale
from Salisbury, MO.
"This is the best thing to come along for Short mechanics in years. I am only 5'4", so I use a ladder to work on Everything. I always ended up laying on top of the radiator or fender because the ladder slid out from under me as soon as I leaned in. But the topsider stays in place. I would recommend it to everyone...even Tall mechanics!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Topside Creeper

,
January 21, 2008
By Snowcatt
from Cheyenne, WY
"These creepers are incredibly handy. While I found the fit and finish of this creeper to be slightly lacking, it works well and is durable. If you work on pickups you need this creeper. Once you own one you'll wonder how you ever got by without it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Addition to the Shop

,
January 15, 2008
By TarheelMechanic
from Hillsborough, NC
"I purchased this creeper for working on trucks and SUVs, as a way to increase my comfort level when doing engine work. I have found that this creeper is very comfortable and makes it alot easier to perform work under the hood of taller vehicles. There is no more "morning after" stiff neck and sore leg muscles from having to lean and stretch over the bumper and grill of trucks and SUVs. I highly recommend this piece of equipment for all you guys (and girls) with taller rides. It is fully adjustable for all height vehicles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

topsider creeper

,
January 15, 2008
By munkel
from Nebraska
"My husband hinted that he wanted a topsider creeper for Christmas. I have never purchased anything from Northern Tool Company. A guy at work told me to try them. It was easy to look up the tool on the internet and the saleslady was extremely helpful. This tool weighed 76 pounds but it was delivered to my work place and with the help of a co-worker, I got it in my house. Wrapped up sitting there my husband was so curious. He was so excited when he opened it. Thanks Northern Tool Co. for helping me get this for him. I might add, It was about a hundred dollars cheaper than anywhere else. The quality was excellent. To sum things up, I tell all my friends to buy from you and I will definitely be shopping online in the future with you! I couldn't be more satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topsider Creeper

,
November 1, 2007
By Anonymous
from Reno,NV
"What a wonderful invention.
It seem like the older I get , the shorter I get.
I bought a 2006 3/4 ton truck , it seems like it's ten feet tall {slight exageration but you get the idea} in the engine compartment , impossible to work on the engine area with out a ladder.
With a ladder you scratch the paint and end falling down and hurting your self.
But with the topsider creeper you adjust it to the correct highth , roll it under the front of the vehicle , lock the rear wheels and your ready to climb up on top and lay down on the thick padded platform.
This is a great product and assembly takes about 1/2 hour with one person.
I recomend this product to any mechanic , it's a great time saver.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside creeper

,
July 10, 2007
By RTsAuto
from Fitchburg Ma
"Best buy for working on trucks, This product is strong and allows you to lay over the motor and reach down and around any thing without killing your chest.
Don't wait buy now
Brian
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topside Creeper

,
July 9, 2007
By bryanmsr
from Pittsburgh Pa
"I am Senior Master Automotive Technician. I purchased the Topside Creeperand I couldn't be happier with it. The creeper is well built and works perfectly on any vehicle. I would deffinatly recommend this product. Shipping was very fast. I received it within three days."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique Item

,
March 10, 2007
By Robbt71
from Koontz Lake, IN
"I originally found this item priced higher in a Hobby related catalog where it was being sold as a device for working on Model Railroads with out damaging large sections of scenery. This is what I bought the item for, though it would be good for any work that is elevated or where you must get over obstacles in front of the work area.
The item assembled quickly, however, it requires some larger metric sizes that I don't have at home. A pair of adjustable wrenches will speed assembly. The parts are already welded together into large subassemblies, so there are only about five or six parts that need to be attached.
Once assembled, it can be set in a variety of different elevations and angles to maximize your ability to work on whatever it is you need reach. It is made of good sized pieces of steel and is well designed so it is stable and comfortable to use, even though I approach its safe working load limit. The casters make it easy to move, however you will need about four inches of clearance under object you intend to work on so the feet may slide under."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for REL Stapleton Topsider Creeper, Model# 0-00019
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

,
March 8, 2007
By cdunlap
from piggott ar
"it works good but it is big and in the way when you are not using it it needs to fold up"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.