Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station

Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station

Item# 630250
A must-have for automotive shops, racing teams, school bus fleets and hot rod enthusiasts. The multipurpose engine testing station is ideal for leak detection, engine break-in, assembly and detailing. Battery Required No, LCD Display No, Application Engine. Tachometer Engine temperature gauge Oil pressure gauge 1-gallon fuel tank 4 steel casters Heavy-duty, powder-coated steel frame with console and battery tray
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Review 1 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NICE PROCUCT

,
December 13, 2011
By Hotdogger
from Fallon, NV
"Ordered this to help out with engine breakin. Its well constructed and does the job its intended for. I needed a fuel tank for a mini bike project I'm working on and it fit the bike perfect, much to small for a V8 breakin. If it wasnt for the tank size I would have given 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

engine test stand review

,
March 14, 2011
By greff
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This test stand was purchased to test engines for our hobby race cars. The first engine on it was modified big block Buick 464. The directions for putting the stand together are very bad, as I had noticed other reviewers saying the same before I purchased. With the pictures in the directions, you can figure it out o.k.. Just don't try and read them. I used my own mechanical guages also instead of the included guages. The stand is very sturdy when the engine is installed in it. I also made up some brackets and installed a radiator on it. For the price, it is a good buy..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Engine Testing Station

,
February 15, 2010
By MrHorsepower
from Illinois
"The stand went together well - ran my first engine on it without problems - only issue was with condition of manufacturers boxing and related damage to shipped products including paint and bent components I had to fix. Gauges seem to be accurate."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must For Anyone Who Changes Engines

,
September 26, 2009
By Retroman40
from Elk Creek, KY
"If you've ever had to pull a newly installed engine for something minor you know how frustrating it can be. With this stand you can totally eliminate that hassle and make sure you have it right the first time.
I found the directions useless, but anyone who can build an engine ought to be able to put this together by themselves from the picture in less than an hour from start to finish.
It was a snap to bolt up a 425 hp Small Block Chevy. The platform was stable even when taking it up to 5000 rpm. I added a bracket to hold a radiator (w/electric fan) however the garden hose attachments that come with the kit appear to be a viable option.
The test station rolls easily and could be put in the back of a pickup truck or trailer and taken on the road. It is easy to work on the engine while mounted.
I had considered this purchase for sometime and regret that I didn't pull the trigger earlier.
If you build engines - you need this sooner than later."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

,
March 23, 2009
By dfitch
from Tacoma, Wa
"The stand woks great the only modifications I did was made a frame for a radiator but that was pretty simple. The directions were pretty simple but i used the picture on the box and a little common sence. Im currently running a 4cyl but later am going to put a 427 stroker engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

larin engine test stand

,
November 23, 2008
By chevy454
from Calico Rock Ar/
"At first glance the stand appeared to be to flimsy to run a slightly built 454, but it worked very well. Instructions were not east to follow for me. The components were not labeled to match the instructions. I finally used the picture to put it together. I swapped out the temp. and oil pressure gauges to ones that had readings in degrees fahrenheit and psi. the tach seemed to be fairly accurate. The fuel tank is to small for a 20 t0 30 minute continuous break in run at 2500 to 3000 rpm. I will be adding a 5 gallon tank in the near furture. Will also probably make universal brackets to add a radiator. I do think that it is a good unit for the money especially after running my 454 on it. Chevy 454"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station

,
April 14, 2008
By PanelTruck
from Toledo, Ohio
"Very good product. Assembled without any problems, good directions. My 1st engine on the stand was a Chevy 454 (cast iron) very heavy. I added a radiator to cool the engine rather than the garden hose connections supplied, WORKS WELL. I have 4-more engines scheduled to go onto the test stand at this point. I also used my Larin Engine Leveler to load the engine onto the test stand, made it an easy 1-man task. I am a retired hobbyist and do most of my Classic Car work by myself, so it is important that i can handle all tasks by myself. Larin, keep up the GOOD WORK, great products."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Larin Mobile Engine Testing Station
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect engine stand with test center

,
January 21, 2008
By miggie
from Atlanta ga
"Id recommend this one to any shop that test engines after building!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.