Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control

Item# 637285
The Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control is a safe and easy-to-use brake controller featuring a large digital readout with easy-to-set, easy-to-adjust power setting. The intuitive manual slide is designed to match the way a driver reaches for the control and activates the trailer brake lights. For use with trailers featuring systems with 2 or 4 electric brakes. Limited lifetime warranty. Dimensions L x W x H in. 4 5/8 x 2 3/4 x 1 1/2, Axles Capable qty. 1-3, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Brakes Capable qty. 2,4,6. Built-in diagnostics Mounts at any angle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Review 1 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brake box

,
October 30, 2012
By Cutbags
from Nashville,TN
"This seems to work very wheel and very easy to fine tune.I am a big fan of the digital readout it is easy to remember settings from particular hauls."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Reliance

,
May 7, 2012
By californiaken
from california
"This controler is without a dought the best tool for the money. It's very reliable, easy to use and setup. Within 15 Minutes of delivery to my door, this unit was installed, and ready for duty. I pull a 21 foot trailer, and the brake control is the real deal....."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great value

,
April 19, 2012
By MDO58401
from Jamestown, ND
"A good controller for its price! Easy to install. Works great operating 2 axles on my car trailer. Manual override button (the red one) sticks sometimes, but otherwise works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brake Control

,
October 10, 2011
By 7892
from Hondo Tx
"I have an older truck-1996 which I installed this controller on. It works great. Easy to install and easy to operate."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

critical brake adjustment

,
October 10, 2011
By sunoiee
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
"Works great and the digital power adjustmnet is superb."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Brake Control

,
March 15, 2011
By dhicks7
from Adel, GA
"This brake control connected easily to my F150 since the oem connector and wiring had already been run. The digital readout is very helpful in setting the correct braking power to the trailer axle. I have a 18' utility trailer that recently hauled a Massey 135 tractor and bushhog 4 hours one way. The braking of the trailer took out a lot of worry about quick stops on the road. This was an excellent buy and I would highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent controller...

,
May 24, 2010
By etrilling
from Varnville, SC
"The Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control is certainly worth the money. I have a 2004 Chevy Silverado 1500 and I was pulling a 30 foot travel trailer, not only did this controller work great, but it went well beyond my expectations, there is virtually no jerking from the trail vehicle when stopping. This is a great product at a really great price, I definately recommend this to anyone who needs excellent braking while towing anything with electric brakes!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

,
October 20, 2009
By LuckyLogger
from Montana
"This controller worked well and was pretty easy to get adjusted. Be careful with the buttons as they fall off easily. I was able to find it and put it back on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal

,
July 14, 2009
By jerrym59
from Witch Wells , AZ
"It works great. I had to mount it upside down, but no problem getting used to read it. Pretty easy to install. Really a good price. I would recommend it for a good deal"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Product

,
March 17, 2009
By Flawless02ss
from Canon, GA
"I bought one of these and had it installed in no time at all. I love the digital adj. I pull my car trailer with it and it works flawless! I plan to buy another for my other truck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Brake Box

,
March 16, 2009
By Anonymous
from Monterey, Tennessee
"My son and I pull trialers daily. This llittle box has performed everytime we needed it. It was very easy to install, less than 5 minutes. When we traded trucks, this little box stayed with us. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just as advertised

,
March 16, 2009
By Sunshine9
from Ohio to Texas move
"I am a beginner at trailer pulling. I knew that if I loaded the trailer there must be a way to stop it. The controller appeared to the be correct set up for the need. The ordered controller came quickly and the instructions for installation were simple enough for me to handle on my own. Settings on the controller are easy to understand and use. My first trip of a thousand miles with a loaded trailer worked better than I should have expected. No problems at all. I recommend the controller to any part time trailer puller."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hopkins Controler

,
December 4, 2008
By cowboy81125
from Colo.
"Easy to install, works in any possion, the only down fall is that they could
make the adj. inc. by .1 instead of .5 otherwise it seems to do good
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, easy and cheap!!

,
November 18, 2008
By SummitKing
from San Jose, Ca
"I had this product hooked up and working on my Escalade in under an hour. It was very easy to install and I like having the numbers instead of just the standard wheel adjustment. I just remember the correct number for each trailer and I dont have to keep adjusting all the time. Very easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hopkins Electronic Brake Controller

,
July 21, 2008
By Dodge99
from Mobile Al
"Easy to install,easy to operate because adjustments are easy and simple."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 29, 2007
By Porkchop2245
from Hurlock Md
"I bought this for a 2002 ford since i bought it i havemoved it from the ford to a dodge and works great, I use in not only for my landscaper but my camper too. Easy to use and change settings. Would recommend this to everyone"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hopkins Reliance Digital Electronic Brake Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hopkins Reliance Electric Brake control

,
July 11, 2007
By handymanray
from Modesto, Ca
"Ths unit is easy to install andeasy to use and does not change settings should your knee bump it the way pendulum controlers work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.