Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174

Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174

Item# 68941
"This Grip trailer hitch mount has solid steel construction for durability, three chrome-plated hitch balls and one tow hook. Ball Mount Material Solid steel, Ball Finish Chrome-plated, Ball Sizes in. 1 7/8, 2, 2 5/16, Gross Towing Weight lbs. 3,500 1 7/8in., 5,000 2in., 7,500 2 5/16, Hitch Pin Included No, Balls Included qty. 3, Fits Receivers in. 2. 1 7/8in. ball has 3500-lb. rating 2in. ball has 5000-lb. rating 2 5/16in. ball has 7500-lb. rating Chrome-plated hitch balls DOT approved Solid steel construction 5/8in. dia. pin hole requires 5/8in. hitch pin not included Tow hook has 5000-lb. capacity"
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Review 1 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Owner

,
August 21, 2014
By Bferrier44
from Michigan
"The first time I used the hitch, the hook broke off? VERY POOR DESIGN!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tri ball hitch with hook

,
February 4, 2014
By boatmaster
from Benton Harbor, Michigan
"Purchased this hitch for my wife's Yukon. It fits well under the rear bucket seat without compromising the seats function. Used to tow our 7,200 pound 26 ft. powerboat. She used the tow hook to pull out my plow truck with a tow strap, (also purchased from Northern). Would rate it a 5, except I had to grind about 3/8ths of the weld behind the tow hook to get it to fit into the receiver. After squirting a little paint where I did the grinding... it looks as good as new. Nice chrome finish on the balls and hook!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heavy duty

,
October 15, 2012
By PapawD
from S.E.Texas
"Another great value from Northern Tool.
This hitch mount is tough, heavy, strong, well priced, and exactly what I was looking for.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tri-ball trl hitch mount

,
August 14, 2012
By crewboss
from NE Wyoming
"this thing is awsome,no mor running around the shop looking for the right size insert for the reciever hitch,just pull it out and select the size ball you need for this trailer,plenty heavy enough for medium duty loads,the time saved more than makes up for the unit cost we will get several more,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty

,
August 13, 2012
By SamK
from Chandler, TX
"This is heavy and works great for all size receivers that take those size balls."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY TO USE

,
May 7, 2012
By biker1
from Bolingbrook, Illinois
"Great product that is easy to install and makes towing so much easier !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
November 23, 2010
By BishopDodge
from Bishop, CA
"Great product for the price. Saves time in changing ball sizes. All the sizes you may need are always right there when you need them. Tow hook is also an added advantage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Hitch!!!

,
November 23, 2010
By NEOA247
from CT
"This has to be the best deal on the market. It is solid and well built. The price was awesome as well. Thanks Northern for yet another great product!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ever

,
July 21, 2009
By jimg4300
from new canaan, ct
"We belong to a small sailing club with a very active program for kids 7-14. A key part of the program is attending races at other clubs, which requires that several parents trailer the kids' boats. The tri-ball hitch is a perfect solution as the trailers do not have a uniform ball size requirement. A very simple solution to what was a frustrating problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice hitch but no pin

,
July 20, 2009
By socg
"Great price for a nice, sturdy hitch, but lacking a pin - therefore only 3 stars."
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Grubbtime
Charlotte nc 
 
Please wait while more information about Grubbtime is loaded.
Additional information about Grubbtime could not be loaded.
PARTS MANAGER
October 25, 2010
"WHERE IN THE PICTURE DO YOU SEE A PIN? WHY WOULD ANY BODY THINK THAT IT WOULD COME WITH A PIN?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

,
March 16, 2009
By Anonymous
from Northern tip of Westchester, NY
"This is a great hitch combo for my truck. I can tow the logsplitter, the boat and the car trailer without having to carry three different balls. It is very heavy and solid! Plus the tow hookk is great for pulling people out of the snow!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vary Cool

,
January 25, 2009
By LonJon
from Forsyth, GA
"I bought this hitch so I would always have the right size ball no matter what trailer I had to pull, plus I wanted the tow hook just incase I had to pull a friend or to pull someone elses truck out incase we get stuck playin in some mud. The only problem I had was that when I put the hitch on my truck(2005 Toyota Tacoma) with the tow hook facing up and the weld along the hook hit the receiver and I couldn't get the pin in, But with a little grinding, only about 1/8", the pin slid in pretty good. Overall I think its an awesome, heavy duty design and love it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Grip Tri-Ball Trailer Hitch Mount with Tow Hook - Model# 16174
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Invention

,
November 17, 2008
By oldblue
from Woodland, AL
"This is for the man with to many trailors. Great design, w have one on each truck.Don't be stuck without one!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.