Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152

Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152

Item# 700013
The heavy-duty WHISTLER brick-lined wood-burning stove from Century Heating combines good looks, efficiency and a GREAT price. EPA exempt. Comes assembled. Not for sale in WA, CA and OR. Not for mobile home installation. Check state and local codes. Assembly Required No, Blower CFM 100, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115V-60Hz-39W, BTU Output 110,000, Clearance from Corner in. 24, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 24, Clearance from Side Wall in. 26, Dimensions W x D x H in. 29 1/2 x 27 3/4 x 36, Door Opening W x H in. 22 1/4 x 7 1/2, EPA Exempt Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 22 3/4 x 14 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Full Load Run Time Hours 1-2, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,500, Igniter No, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 21, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Stove, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included No, UL UL approved. Large ash pan for easy cleanup Adjustable door latch and cool-touch handle Efficient air wash system Firebrick lined fire box EPA exempt Air control at damper level 10-gauge steel baffle Pedestal mounted 5-year limited warranty Not for mobile home installation
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (41 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 of 41(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Review 21 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whistler Wood-Burning Stove

,
March 17, 2011
By Leprechaun02
from Horn Lake, MS
"Extremely easy to install. This stove replaced an older wood-burning stove for my shop. It heats much more efficient with a lot less wood, and my wife loves watching the wood burn through the glass front. Would recommend this product hands down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 14, 2011
By wood4all
from Muleshoe, TX
"The Whistler was shipped promptly and installation was quite easy. Detailed instructions were included. We bought this because we own a 5,000 sq ft building and the bill to heat was astronomical. So we needed additional help to heat the building. As we are a woodwork business, we were able to kill two birds with one stone, so to speak. We have cut our heating bill in over half. We love the unit.
Thanks so much.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

whistler wood stove

,
February 12, 2011
By stevemaine
from montville maine
"I have a 24/24 4 bedroom cape in midcoast maine. this stove heats it to 70/80 at15 outside.the damper will not control burn that well. but if you install a second damper about 1 ft up flu pipe you get excellant control and a lot longer burn times .do not close second damper compleatly back pressure in stove will occure. this stove heats fast and runs well. good deal for the money.used with a little common sense a safe reliable stove."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
spacillo
Auburn, Ca 
 
Please wait while more information about spacillo is loaded.
Additional information about spacillo could not be loaded.
The Whistler is worth buying!
January 17, 2012
"We bought this stove for our new home and we were hoping to have it installed for Christmas. It arrived late so we had to wait and have it installed later. Once it was in place it truly made a difference.
Our home is so much warmer now and it heats up both upstairs and downstairs.
It is a big stove and worth the price for sure. The window is nice and wide so you can have an open view of the flames. The drawer has an easy access for cleaning out the ashes. It has a blower on it but we really haven't had to use it. Very easy to maintain and I would recommend this stove for sure.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not very durable

,
January 29, 2011
By rebel1803
from Iowa
"I have written one review for this stove already ... I noticed it isnt here, so I will write it again, and add to it.
I have had this stove for about 18 months, I am thinking about replacing it. After the first year the weight of the door had caused it to sag almost 1/2 inch. I had to lift the door to get it to shut correctly. This week I remove the door and bent the hinges that are welded to the main body to realign it, the pins were a little rusty but in otherwise perfect shape, I first thought that the pins might have worn but that was not the case. Also the firebox upper baffle shield is starting to warp severely, and the fire bricks needed to be replaced. Luckily I had some fire bricks from an old stove that are far superior to the crumbling bricks that came with this stove.
I have noticed another post has also been removed that pointed out his firebox baffle had completely burned through. Unless I just missed it.
The stove will produce A LOT of heat, it keeps my house very warm. If that is all your looking for this is a good stove for that. But, for me, it is not holding up as I would have hoped. I would pay a bit more and get an EPA certified stove if I had it to do over again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stove!

,
November 4, 2010
By CyberZach
from Tenn.
"First off how long of a burn you get with this stove depends on the type of wood you use. I put 3 18" seasoned red oak split logs in this stove the first night I fired it up and got 3 hours and 15 min. from start to red coals left in the bottom and the damper about half way closed. Was expecting less burn time from the reviews here so I was pleasantly surprised with anything over 2 hours. The stove looks astatically pleasing to the eye too, my wife commented that our den now looks like a ski lodge. This stove is a little small but compared to the other stoves at the store not by much.There are smaller ones and the box is just the right size taking up to 21” logs a lot of stoves offered will only take logs up to 17” and most split firewood that you buy is cut and split in 18” to 20” pieces so that is important to keep in mind when buying a stove unless you plan to cut and split yourself. Love this stove and would buy it again without a second thought."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whistler Wood Stove is Complete

,
August 31, 2010
By Stoveman
from Franklin, NC
"I reviewed a lot of other Stoves on the internet and I found The Whistler have everything you could want in a wood-burning stove. It has the ash pan, the base, nice large glass window and a blower. All this comes standard. I have not used it yet,,,It's summer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Woodstove

,
August 23, 2010
By WithASmile
from South Egremont, MA
"We have a big house and bought this wood stove last year to use as alternative fuel. We replaced the fire place with this stove. It looks really nice, it burns very well, heats the house quickly, and has a very quiet fan to disperse the heat. The glass stays clean so you can see the fire well. Adjustment for burn rate are low and we have not been able to have it burn through the night. We are so satisfied with the stove that we purchased another one to heat an adjacent part of the house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this stove

,
June 2, 2010
By tass
from new mexico
"i needed a reasonable priced wood stove. this is it! the stove is easy to use and cut my heating bill in half it looks great and doesn't take up a lot of room in my house i liked it so much my brother bought the larger version he put it in his basement his heating bill went down over half we both love these stoves i would recommend this stove for safe reasonable and good heating
it even looks good when not in use"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

the whistler

,
February 25, 2010
By woodenboy
from Ashton, Idaho
"The stove heats up really fast and is easy to keep a fire going in. It also puts out great heat. Our house is almost 3000 square feet and it seems to do alright heating it. The stove is fairly light and easy to move for install. I only have three minor complaints which are: the door latch is a little hard to open and shut at times. The stove pipe has to slip into the stove neck and it would be better if the neck was designed for the pipe to slip over it. Finally the ash pan seems about worthless because the bottom of the stove has bricks not a grate and you have to shovel the ashes anyway."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
OleSmokey
North Central West Virginia 
 
Please wait while more information about OleSmokey is loaded.
Additional information about OleSmokey could not be loaded.
Stove Pipes 101
October 13, 2010
"This is a good review but I wanted to mention that stove pipes MUST lead into the stove. A pipe that slips over the outside of the flu leaks creosote onto the stove and not into the stove where it can be reburned."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
1Happycustumer
VA 
 
Please wait while more information about 1Happycustumer is loaded.
Additional information about 1Happycustumer could not be loaded.
Ash Pan
September 15, 2010
"The ash pan is great. You just have to pull the little metal cover up in the middle and sweep the ashes in the pan. No shovels."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 30 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stove

,
February 22, 2010
By Jacque
from Alabama
"Purchased this for my son and we are all pleased with this purchase. It heats very quickly, is easy to operate and is just the right size for the area we needed to heat. We were even more please when it was delivered in the shortest span of the delivery date range. The Customer Service rep that my son talked to prior to purchase was most helpful and very friendly. We couldn't find a better deal price-wise either."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The WHISTLER Wood Burning Stove 110,00BTU Model# D

,
February 15, 2010
By GrannyClapett
from Edmonson County, Kentucky
"We only heat with Wood .We have 1100 Sq.Foot Home. We live in Edmonson County Kentucky. The Stove is very pretty in looks, the glass window is beautiful to watch the fire, and easy to keep clean. It heated very well as long as the weather was above freezing. When the temp. gets below freezing, the room that it is in stays warm but the other rooms are very cool. {BUT we keep from freezing to death} The fie box is small for our needs, can only get about 2 hours of burn time. It is very easy to clean in the bottom ash drawer. The ash does build up on the edge of the door so when you open to reload it falls out. No adjustable on damper, it's either all open or all closed no in between. Blower has raised the light bill a small bit but not as much as gas, oil or electric furnace blowers would. For someone who has back up heat this is a very good buy. For someone like us who has only wood heat, wish we would have gotten one with bigger fire box for dead of winter,have to get up every 2 hours to load, but does very well rest of the year. To be fair we do live in a older home but have been up grading the installation, doors and windows."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so good

,
January 26, 2010
By BRBB
from Colorado
"We use a wood stove as a primary heat source and bought this unit as a replacement for an old worn out plate stove. The new stove looks nice and the air wash does a good job keeping the glass clear.
However, the unit has proven to be harder to keep going and messier than the old stove. The firebox is smaller than dimensions indicate. A large flange in the top of the firebox impedes loading wood. The unit cannot be loaded up effectively for overnight burns. The damper in the chimney is poor. A damper on the air intake slots would be a lot better. The door ledge collects fine ash and dumps it every time you open the door to add wood. The unit can be hard to start and hard to keep going.
In my estimation this is only an occasional use stove. It was a poor choice for something to use full time. I would not buy another and I do not recommend this unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
RussJD
Long Island, NY 
 
Please wait while more information about RussJD is loaded.
Additional information about RussJD could not be loaded.
Sooo What do you recommend?
January 26, 2011
"Name a clean unit - with larger firebox - with damper on air intake slots - with a better designed door.
Those are your peeves - whats a better choice?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful wood stove

,
January 18, 2010
By Debbieonthepacific
from Pacific Northwest
"This was a fantastic deal and the wood stove really kicks out the heat. We have a 2400 square foot home and this stove heats the whole house. We are in the pacific northwest and temps don't usually go below freezing, so we didn't use this stove in an area of heavy snow and sub zero temps. The stove was a little smaller than I had imagined, but it is big on heat. We pulled out an old pellet stove and replaced it with this stove. We also purchased telescoping duravent doublewall stove pipe for a perfect fit. The installation was easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Whistler is Awesome

,
January 10, 2010
By 1Happycustumer
from VA
"My wife and I just purchased this heater at the begenning of the winter and I am more than pleased with it. It will heat the whole house 1800sq ft with hardly no effort. The window in the front adds to the evenning setting and the heat that comes from it with the blower is amazing. The only thing I don't like about the heater is the intake air flow is not adjustable but with door gasket in some of the wholes it is great. I would buy this heater over and over again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing not to love

,
January 1, 2010
By RJT50
from Tn.
"I love this stove and would buy it again for many reasons. This is one outstanding product and does a great job. One improvement would be for it to have an adjustable air intake but I have found it to be relatively easy to overcome that minor short coming. For less than ten dollars I purchased some asbestos door gasket material and cut that into app. 2 inch lengths and use these pieces to cover the air intakes that are above the door to control the burn rate. Just get this little jewel fired up ,plug five of the seven air intake slots and this baby will burn all night. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stove

,
December 16, 2009
By woodburnerguy
from pocono mtns, pa
"I too shopped around for 6 months trying to get the best deal. I could not believe the price when a friend gave me the northern tool catalog. So I had my wife order it. If we didn't like it, it would be her fault then. Stove came within a week and we hooked it up. We have had no problems. The damper doesn't close all the way so the wood does burn faster than I would like. We have a 3 bedroom ranch home and it will heat the house. At night the fire will burn out but the house stays warm about 65 degrees. I put the last log on about 11pm and its cool enough to clean at 6am. I have oil heat and in the 2 months we have not burned thru 1/4 of a tank yet and in PA we have had 2 snow storms and cold weather, today it was 33 degrees out there. The only problem I have had with it is the blower it is quiet and works great but the electric bill came and went up about $20.00. If you are thinking about buying this stove just do it you will not be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Really warm

,
November 27, 2009
By cheeseheadwi
from Milwaukee, WI
"I recently purchased this product from northern and here is my first 10 day impression.
Overall the price was very attractive and i like the ash drawer, it makes my 1100 sqft house really warm (i once had accedently 91 degree in the livingroom). The biggest "downfall" is that you can not regulate/restrict the fresh air intake. this leads to two problems
1 it is getting really hot really quick maybe even hotter than you wish
2 the wood burns up in a hurry, the longest i was able to keep a fire in the oven over night with damp wood was about 5 or 6 hours.
an other thing i dont like is the relativly large clearences to the wall.
never the less - all over all for the amount of money it is a great product - The saying you get what you pay for is a little different here: I think you actually get a little more than you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IF MY WIFE IS HAPPY, THEN I AM HAPPY!!!!!

,
November 6, 2009
By SWA2112
from TWIN PEAKS, CA
"WE RECENTY RECIECED OUR WHISTLER WOOD BURNING STOVE FROM NORTHERN. IT MORE THAN HEATS THE MAIN FLOOR AND UPPER FLOOR OF OUR MOUNTAIN HOME. I FOR SEE A MAJOR SAVINGS IN OUR OVER ALL HEATING BILLS FOR MANY WINTERS TO COME, COMBINED WITH THE SAVING ON THE PURCHACE PRICE, EFFICIANT BURNING, AND THE OVER ALL BEAUTY OF THE UNIT, MY WIFE COULD NOT BE HAPPIER. AND AS ALL MEN KNOW IF YOUR WIFE IS NOT HAPPY, YOU ARE NOT HAPPY. SO I WILL BE ONE VERY HAPPY AND VERY WARM GUY THIS WINTER... THANK YOU NORTHERN........STEVE, TWIN PEAKS, CALIFORNIA."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It'll put you out the house!!

,
October 17, 2009
By GJC18KT
from Leominster, MA
"The longer I waited for this stove the more I began to question the price...The plate steel could be thicker, for sure but my budget was paramount after I had shopped around for most of the summer.
Burning semi cured oak, maple, and ash....Once this stove fires to the point of coals...mainaining the fire is child's play. We have a 2000 sq ft. home, 1/2 of which is the finished basement. Have to open the basement doors and windows to cool us off. Won't burn overnite for 12 hours...possibly 6-8 with it stuffed and the damper closed as far as it will go...Fire box is a bit small for my liking. House is still warm the next morning even if the fire is out.
Nights have been in the mid 30's. The hawk of winter in will be the test...Great item for now. Will repost as it gets colder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Century Heating The 'WHISTLER' Wood-Burning Stove - 110,000 BTU, Model# DB05152
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Whistler Review

,
October 3, 2009
By Toddd
from Topeka, KS
"This is a good stove for the average user but I burn more than 50% hedge wood and I burned a hole in the top where the thin strip of metal blocks the flames from going up the flue. Only took 2 years to do that. This stove is only good for almost rotten wood and it will last. Hot burning wood is a no go. It does put out alot of heat fairly fast. If they would have just used 1/4" or thicker metal on top that pervents the flames getting up the flue then I would give it a higher rating."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.