Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK

Item# 700024
This 120V vent-free stove from Duraflame is great for those times that you want to heat a small area of your house or workshop without having to turn up the thermostat. CSA Certified for U.S.A. and Canada. Amps 12, Log Set Included Yes, Blower Included Yes, Watts 1,350, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, BTU Output 4,600, Heat Settings Gradual, 70 to 90, Thermostat Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Volts 120, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 12.25 x 23.25. Realistic flame effects work with or without heat
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Review 1 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The heat is on

,
January 17, 2012
By Gd4trey
from Lawrence,Ks
" It works great in our basement to take the chill out of the air. It was very cool down there until I bought the Duraflame. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best heater I've ever owned

,
January 16, 2012
By gamblr2355
from Edmond Oklahoma
" Purchased this heater to heat the family room. It's perfect for the room looks great and a bonus I didn't count on, it lowered my heating bill by thirty dollars a month. I never considered the it would be cheaper to run than my central heat. It's a great buy and the shipping and service was great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 16, 2012
By Covie
from Edmonton KY
" I have two of these and have found them to be great in any room. I have one in my bed room that heats the entire room more than I ever thought plus it give out a great fireplace setting. Also one in my living room that heats the entire room however I only use it for the enjoyment of and old fashion fire on a cold winters night. Found them to be great. Great price and just and all over great product. Thanks Northern Tool for your great service and for the introduction of a great product. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good when it works

,
January 16, 2012
By Ted4WNY
from Western New York
" I like this heater. The reason I gave it only three stars is that the first one started making a terrible noise after a few weeks. It was something to do with the fake flame mechanism. Prior to that noise, it was an awesome heater. So I returned that one and got another. The next one didn't work right out of the box. The blower failed to operate. So I returned the second one and got a third. So far so good. This purchase was a pain in the neck with the two failures. I have to say Northern Tool was very good though the whole process. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
January 9, 2012
By gigs
from Ludlow,MA
" I LOVE MY NEW HEATER! iT IS SO NICE & RELAXING TO LOOK AT ALONG WITH KEEPING ME WARM. wHEN I TURN IT ON IT WARMS MY KITCHEN & LIVINGROOM BY 2 DEGREES WITHIN 1/2 HOUR. LESS FUEL COSTS FOR ME THIS WINTER. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great till warranty ran out

,
December 14, 2011
By DidNotLastLong
from Cincinnati, OH
" This was a great little heater until a month after the warranty ran out and then it stop working. Flames still work but no heat so it's pretty much worthless now. Shame because it did work well when it worked. Guess I should have bought the extended warranty but I thought a Duraflame product would last longer. "
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Stove

,
October 18, 2011
By mos10
from Michigan
" Purchased this product for my office and am very pleased not only with the apperance but it does a wonderful job warming up the office space making it very comfortable. I would recommend this product . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good for the price

,
June 15, 2011
By cookidge
from Carmel, NY
" Fireplace works very well, especially considering the price. My parents recently bought a much more expensive electric fireplace, and it works just as well as this one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Duraflame

,
June 13, 2011
By Anonymous
from Carmel NY
" Last winter my Girlfriend and I moved into the most enchanting apartment an old victorian house, converted many years ago into several units.
Our apartment has 14 ft ceilings, and the most charming marble fireplace mantles. Unfortunately, the fireplaces have been long out of use. Heating the place was an immediate challange and after we moved in the economy collapsed, however heating costs were on the rise. We were desperate for some extra heat. The Duraflame heated our bedroom every night !! And the Flame sequence is very realistic asnd adds a very nice ambience. And the electric bill barely went up! I would and have reccomend The Duraflame to Everyone!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Space Heater

,
March 21, 2011
By Nealio28
from Superior, WI
" I love this heater. I originaly bought this to put out on my 3 season prorch to try and keep it above freezing in the winter, but unfortunately with the porch not being insulated and the temps being very cold living in northern Wisconsin on lake superior this heater just wasn't enough for that porch. I ended up bringing the heater inside and put it in the corner next to the T.V. and it keeps our living area very cozy and we are able to keep our furnace turned down a couple of degrees for that area of the house. The only downside I have found for this heater (when I use it in a place that it was designed for) is that you can not turn off the flame and leave the heater part going. You can turn off the heater and leave the flame going or have both going and sometimes if there is no one in the room it would be nice to leave just the heater going to use it as a space heater only. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Item; Great Buy!

,
March 21, 2011
By MAGfaith1
from Rockville, MD
" We purchased this item in red from the Northern Tool website and absolutely love it. It is beautiful and we've been using it all winter. It heats up a 400 square foot room nicely and the firelog look with the fireplace is really nice and realistic. Our gas bill was deifnitely lower this season and our electric bill did not go up by that much. We haven't had any issues with it and would highly recommend it. It's a very charming looking piece and very functional. Northern Tool was great to deal with in that the product arrived quickly and safely. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
March 21, 2011
By Tinylittleisland
from Chesapeake Bay
" I bought this model and another one in a smaller cabinet. Both of these are great little heaters! My furnace runs much, much less (and our heating oil is nearly $4 per gallon this year) but my house is warmer and much more pleasant than before. The flame effect is really nice but it is the performance of the heating unit that makes this a keeper! It looks great and works great...what else could you ask for? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Vent Free Metal Stove

,
March 17, 2011
By WinniesMom
from Ridgecrest, CA
" This is one awesome little heater! I needed a heater for a small area and I was so surprised how quickly this heater warmed the room. I'm trying to cut down on huge heating bills and this heater is a Godsend. With it's thermostat, the room stayed comfy and my electric bill only went up by 50 cents per day. Otherwise, to use my house furnace, my electric bill would have easily been at least a hundred and gas would have been around 80. Not a bad savings! It comes plug in ready. Is made of metal, somewhat heavy (30 lbs) so it won't tip over (I have dogs I worry about) and has a shut off if it gets overly warm (greaty safety factor). It's really cute with the fake flame, which you can dim or make brighter. It's look is far more pleasing than a regular space heater. Thanks NT, I'm a very happy, satisfied customer! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace

,
March 15, 2011
By Zonie
" Wonderful for small spaces/effeciency suites. Creates a warm ambiance while heating the area. Electric bill showed no difference, very happy that I bought this for my husbands birthday and his home-away-from home! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
March 14, 2011
By proven
" It heats up my office in no time, no mess, no fuss. I like it so much that I have also purchased a 2nd one for the kitchen/dining room. Plus the price is very reasonable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love my heater

,
March 14, 2011
By christi
from spartanburg SC
" we dont like to by sight unseen but we would by this heater over and over. lightweight and so real looking is the out side. the flame is beautiful and a very real appearance to it. but my favorite is the fan forced heat that blows out the bottom of the heater just right for our needs. though i did question the light that was shining out the back, but where it seats you cant see them. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my two mini fireplace heaters

,
March 14, 2011
By daisy593
from queensbury ny
" i bought two heaters that look like woodstoves i just love them they heat my place and we used them w our kerosene furnace and we didnt spend as much on kerosene since i bought these stoves im looking forward to more purchases from northern tool prices are great delivery was excellent and it was a no stress purchase plus the heaters fit right into the your decor and doesnt stand out like other space heaters keep up the good work "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this stove !!!

,
February 24, 2011
By svimom43
from johnstown, pennsylvania
" I love this electric stove, it has really helped me cut back on my oil bill, of course my electric went up a few dollars a month, but its still cheaper than i would have paid for oil . Its a nice size and easy to move from room to room. I am ordering a second one for my mother. I cant think of anything i would change with this stove. Just plug it in turn it on and your good to go . "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little unit

,
November 27, 2010
By DavidOlds442
from NJ
" I have a Three seasons room on the back of my home that is mostly sliding glass doors and windows. 14'x15' with 8' ceiling and this thing keeps it warm on a 30 degree F. evening. The unit is quiet and looks good also. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duraflame Vent-Free Metal Stove - 4600 BTU, 400 Sq. Ft. Heating Capacity, 1350 Watts, Model# DFSS550BLK
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DURAFLAME ELECTRIC STOVE

,
November 26, 2010
By RAVENFAN
" DEFINITLY WORTH THE MONEY. EASY TO USE AND VERY REALISTIC LOOKING. ALSO VERY QUIET, AND WARMS THE ROOM UP FAIRLY QUICKLY. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.