Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
55 of 68(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 1 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz

,
November 9, 2011
By Brian0004
from Schuyler, VA
"This heater is no joke. Review your electric rate verses your gas rate. Know that a killowatt is a 1000 watts to help in pricing. Propane at 3.00/gal and electric at .06/killowatt in my area. We turned the heater on and the propane off yesterday. The temperature dropped to 32 degrees, outside, and the temperature inside our 987 square ft home built in 1905 stayed at 74 degrees. I did the math and the savings is wonderful. By the way I have worked in the propane business for 14 years and I am very Impressed with this quartz heater. Dollars to dollars propane last night would have cost us $12 dollars as compaired to the electric, which was around $2.00. Great buy!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+39points
87out of 135found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Duraflame Heater

,
February 10, 2014
By Sandcar
from Utah
"The fan is so noisy that you can not run the heater and watch TV at the same time, There is no way you could use this heater in the bed room you would wake up every time it turns on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fan stop working in 2 weeks ,

,
February 5, 2014
By TIMC700
from MICHIGAN
"Had a lot of trouble with the fan and controls into1 weeks old . Sent the unit back and the new one they sent me had trouble again with the fan just up and quit after 4 weeks . No this is not a good unit . Tim"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

duraflame 10hn4126-0107 infared heater

,
January 29, 2014
By hdg49
from wisconsin
"use it for supplement heating a finished lower level 325 sq. ft., turned it on when room temp was 59 degrees, set unit temp at 68 and let it run 10 hours, room reached 68 after 8 hours."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Come Thru As Advertised

,
January 24, 2014
By Dapperdon
from Memphis, TN
"I purchased this heater based on prior customer reviews as well as employee recommendations. It looks good but that's all that I have good to say. According to the specs, it's suppose to heat up to a 1,000 sq ft room. I have it in a room that is 650 sq ft and it's as if there is no heat at all in that room. I am very disappointed and would not recommend this heater to any hoping to have any significant heat output. I read the customer reviews and certainly someone was rewarded for their favorable reviews. That being said, I would not waste my money but it's your choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than I had hoped.

,
January 7, 2014
By Horace1
from Maine
"Quite sturdy. Rolls easily from room to room. Good for maintaining or warming medium sized rooms. Works awesome in our 16x26 living room. Even better than I had expected. Doesn't bother kids or pets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
January 4, 2014
By BGinMN
from Minneapoli
"I have used this heater for 2 seasons now. Fabulous!
I point it toward the bathroom in the morning, and by the time I am done in the shower the bathroom and bed room has gone from 63 to 68 nicely. Takes the chill out of the air whenever needed! I can keep my thermostat down to 65 and use this heater to warm up any room in only minutes. have not notice any huge impact on the electric bill - though I do no leave it running for more than an hour or two. I think its great! Very portable too!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance and unreliable

,
December 30, 2013
By Craig5498
from MN
"I purchase this heater as a supplemental heat source for a well-insulated 500 sq. ft. room. With the room thermostat set at 55* and the heater thermostat set at 78*, the room temperature never ascended above 62*. It ran continuously, the heat output was barely a whisper, and would occaisionally blow a 15A circuit breaker. Now, after 6 months use, the blower fan motor has failed completely and the unit doesn't run. After doing a master reset, it will turn on, rattle for a minute without any heat output, then shut off. Save your money and buy a different heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time or money

,
December 6, 2013
By wayned65
from Imperial Missouri
"It runs and runs and runs but warms up nothing. Unless you stand in front of it..Set on 76 but after several hours it still moving between 69 and 70. Moving to small bed room maybe it will get that room warm. Purchased different brand for my son he has same problem. Infrared heater are not what they claim. My living room is not even close to1000sq ft and this units does nothing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my second review...

,
November 28, 2013
By TheRealJohnGalt
from Burke, VA
"See my first review below. I now have my second heater... and I've had a chance to try them both out in some cool/cold (~high 20'F) weather. I'm happy with the heater I have in my basement. It works fine in that 10'x15' room w/ 8' ceilings. The one I have upstairs (in 15'x15' room w/ 9' ceilings and poor insulation) knocks the chill off the air, but doesn't get the room up above ~65'F on its own. I'm okay with that.
Given that this thing looks great, stays cool to the touch, and is perfectly safe around kids / pets... I'm glad to own two of them. If you buy, just realize limitations before pulling the trigger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't do what they claim

,
November 25, 2013
By Thedude92
from WA
"Our back room is 12'x20' . I turned the heater on yesterday morning it was 52*. Heater ran for 6 hours straight and only got it up to 60*. And the sun was out hitting the side of the room. Don't buy this heater. I use that term lightly..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
November 25, 2013
By jigstx
from Livingston, Tx
"I bought this last year for my living room area, about 600 sq ft. I may as well have set the money on fire, it would have been warmer. So there it sits as an end table..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

duraflame infared heater

,
September 17, 2013
By jaylee
from Flagstaff, AZ
"great product...turn it on in our dining room in the mo rnings to read paper and have coffee..it warms the room up and keeps it worm for the rest of the day..we've use the heater in different rooms depending on need..it has cut back on the natural gas cost and is hardly noticable on the electric bill... am buying another so I won't have to move this one out of the front of the house..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By happycustomer123
from illinois
"This heater works great, cheap to operate and is very quiet. They say it will heat a 1,000 sq ft room but my experiance is far less. I would not recomend this for anything over 500 sq ft. Overall its a good little heater just don't expect it to heat an entire level of your home just the room it's in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, quiet heater

,
January 30, 2013
By GeDa
from NY
"Using it as the sole heater in a 400 sqf room. I just returned a Kenmore infrared heater because it was so noisy that you couldn't have a phone conversation or take a nap. This one is super quiet - it's basically the airflow you're hearing. Nice features like an effective thermostat with digital display, remote control, beautiful design and castors which role easy even on a thick carpet - and the price is right. The room was heated from 56 degrees to 68 in about 20 minutes. And after the initial heating up it cycled on in ever increasing time intervals (the Kenmore rarely stopped). I just ordered a second one for our enclosed porch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
21out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!

,
October 9, 2012
By lorang79
from Walla Walla, WA
"Great deal! These heaters are the real thing. This is my 2nd infrared heater. I bought my first one used 2 years ago. Since we moved into a bigger house with no other means of heat, I bought this one last month. It works great! It keeps the whole floor nice and toasty! ...and it costs very little to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By CReese
from Weedsport, NY
"I bought one of these heaters and loved it so much I went back and bought 2 more. I have cut my fuel oil heating bill in half and my electric only increased by $40 running all 3 heaters. My house is cozy warm and I'm not going broke paying for heating oil! Everybody should have one of these in their home. Safe for small children as they don't get hot to the touch. Even the dog lays in front of it!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric eater big time!

,
February 23, 2012
By DesertStephen
from Yucca Valley, CA
"We bought 2 black (not Oak) of these hoping to save on propane as we also have 20 solar panels. We about fainted when we got a $392 bill for one month of use. We keep one in the living room and one in the bedroom, mostly on setting 2 or 3, one off while the other one was on. the fans ran forever after shutting them off. Needless to say, we won't ever use them again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Duraflame 5200 btu heater

,
February 8, 2012
By gearhead730
from Ohio
"If you read some of the other reviews they talk this unit up stating the propane the are saving is well worth the cost don't believe it. This unit is nicely made and quiet, rolls nicely and well made.It is not going to keep your furnace from running when its 32 degrees or colder outside unless you have the t-stat set at frigid.It will warm the(room its in warm nicely) and keep your feet warm if your house is cold on one side it will keep temp up somewhat.If you set a70 degrees and put in room it will never shut off by reaching that temp. I Live in ohio 2012 winter season it has been warmer outside and it runs continually never achieving even 68 degrees.So you are informed it will not keep your furnace from running just keep your toes warm!"
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duraflame Heater

,
January 18, 2012
By PiersideDJ
from Pinebluff, North Carolina
"Got this heater to reduce heating bills. I've noticed that my Heat Pump has not come on for days as this keeps the occupied part of the house just at the right temperature. Almost silent and looks good also. I think I'll buy another for my office."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.