Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
55 of 68(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 21 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BeaT
from Swainsboro, GA
"We are very pleased with our heater. We have another quartz heater, but this one seems to put out more heat during the colder periods. Although I am pleased with our other heater as well. I do personally highly recommend this heater to anyone who is looking to help with their electricity. It sure has help us on our electric bill"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Mark07
from York, Maine
"Bought one last year for the house. Saves a lot of oil! Planning on buying at least one more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ashgbmb
from Oxford, MA
"Bought this heater elsewhere and paid a little more.
Puts out a good amount of heat almost immediately, I use this heater in my finished basement about 800 sq ft, it maintains about 65 degrees on low at an outside temp of 20 degrees. Turn to high to warm the room quickly then turn back down to low to keep comfortable. Haven't used my electric baseboards since buying the product (in basement), have noticed a decent drop in my electric bill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the real deal

,
January 16, 2012
By mecasa98
from seneca falls ny
"I did alot of looking before i picked this unit and I must say i did good..I live in upstate ny and we got some cold night but this unit keeps my living area quite comfortable.definiitly would recommend this unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
January 16, 2012
By macsplinter
from Bristol, VA
"Great heater for a Den or Family room. Works great and is quiet. A good value for the price compared to other brands."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater is great !

,
January 16, 2012
By Smokies
from Smoky Mountains of Tennessee
"We purchased this heater last fall and now are using it on cold mornings. The description of this heater states "will heat up to 1000 sq. feet". The area that we heat is much larger than 1000 sq. feet. We turn the heater on early in the morning and let it heat the area which includes the great room, kitchen, and dinning areas. this keeps the heat pump from coming on. After heating this area with our "Duraflame power heater" we turn up the heat pump thermostat to maintain that temp and we have saved electricity ! The heat pump uses 220 volt heat strips to heat up a large area and if you can keep the heat strips from coming on you save on your power bill ! This little heater is great and operates on 110 volts ! I can't wait to see our power bill for this period of cold mornings ! We love our "Duraflame Power heater and the price from "Northern Tool " is much lower than the price of the popular brand of a similar heater that is advertised nationally !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HEATER

,
January 16, 2012
By TUCKER12
from chippewa falls wi
"We have this heater in our kitchen. It keeps the area warm and it is cost saving"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats the whole house

,
January 16, 2012
By CaptainS
from Rockaway Beach
"This heater works perfect to heat my whole house (450 sq feet) I used to have to have three heater to heat the house. It is quiet and you don't even know it is on and it is costing a third less on my electric bill compared to running three heater that it used to take to heat the house. I would recommend this to anyone who is trying to heat a small cabin where they have cold weather. I'm planning on ordering two more for my son since it works so well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great space heater

,
January 16, 2012
By sfsgt
from North Carolina
"I have use this product going on the 2nd year and my propane bill has gone down . It's great for heating a space up to 1,000 sq. ft. and I keep my themostat set at 60 in the room in which my heat does not come on there. I would say this portable heater is great use in the sandhills of North Carolina."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient quiet heat

,
January 16, 2012
By BonnieLou
from Dayton Ohio
"I purchased 2 of these last winter and have used them constantly. Nice quiet heat source for any room. I use one in my business to add a little extra comfort in an open area. And in my home it is not ugly like so many space heaters looks like a piece of furniture."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Infrared Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Oliver26
from Upstate NY
"I have used this heater in our dog kennel for the last year and it has worked great. It's safe around the dogs and keeps the temperature up even when it's frigid outside. It hasn't raised the electric bill noticebly. Great heater for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
January 16, 2012
By JT371
from Central NY
"We use this to help warm up the kitchen. Works good so we don't have turn up the furnace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great looking unit

,
January 15, 2012
By DeanA
from Fairfield County CT.
"This is a beautiful heater. It looks like a fine piece of furniture. When not in use it is a great end table. It works well and is very quiet. You don't even notice it running. The timer feature is my favorite part. Just set the time you want it to run and it does the rest for you. To my amazement after running this for an hour the entire out side of the unit was cool to the touch. It never even gets slightly warm.The exterior stays at room temperature Even the hot air that is discharged is never really hot enough to burn any thing. It is completely safe around kids and pets.
The filter is easy to remove and clean. The very heavy duty power cord is long enough for most uses. The remote control is handy and easy to use. The only change I would make is it should have a stand-by light so you know it is in that mode when it is not running while using the remote but it is not a big deal or a problem. This heater is great for any room that needs some extra warmth.This is a fairly expensive heater but I would buy this heater again. I will recomend this unit to my friends.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC Heater

,
January 11, 2012
By LovinTennessee
from Russellville,Tn
"First off read the directions,,Then you will be completely satisfied with this heater,it has cut my electric bill for heating in half,,it will kep any room in your home at a comfortable tempature,,my heatpump seldomly comes on now that I`m using this heater,,I have nothing bad to say about this heater it does just what they claim it will do in the directions,,,and no it will not heat your whole house it was not designed for that ,but it will keep the room your in nice and warm up to 800 sq ft,,,I love this heater and will purchase another if this one goes bad"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quarz heater

,
January 10, 2012
By Lesliej
from SC
"We use this heater almost daily for a quick warm up. Low cost and easy to use. Highly recommend"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap Heat

,
January 9, 2012
By onebigskittle
from Virginia
"I love this product ...it saves me money and the last two months has been the cheapest heat i have ever had.
It is true about what they say about this Infrared Quartz Heater ...only about a dollar a day to run
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heater saves money

,
January 9, 2012
By CCR1977
from Morganton, NC
"This heater heats my 1300 sq. ft. house pretty well. I keep one bedroom shut off but the rest usually stay open. My power bill has dropped by about $40/mth compared to the same months last year, but I've also dropped the overall temp in my house about 3-5 degrees as well. Although the heater heats well, the thermostat on the heater is not working properly just after having a couple of months. I plan on calling and taking advantage of my warranty, I just haven't yet, because it does still work. It just don't cut on and off like it is supposed to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome heater

,
January 9, 2012
By rockbo
from pittsburgh pa
"This heater looks very nice and is simple to use, take it out of the box, plug it in and turn it on. Adjust the thermostate to your comfort level and enjoy a steady stream of heat. The blower circulates the heat more efficiently than most space heaters. At first the blower seemed a bit loud but got used to it. This unit does an excellent job of taking the chill away."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quartz heater

,
January 9, 2012
By janhot
from North Carolina
"The infrared quartz heater is far superior to any other Heater . I own three..heaters and use them to supplement heat from an oil burner in NY and a heat pump in NC. I usually set the thermostat at 62 degrees and set the heater thermostat at 72. The heater runs quietly and almost constantly in cold weather and my heat pump comes on very seldom. My electric bill in NC was slightly more than one half of my neighbors bill in NC. We have the same size two floor three bedroom condo. I have recommended the heater to several of my friends...
Thanks for a great product!
Janet S. Gleason..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz

,
January 9, 2012
By sonnyos
from Quitman, Tx
"This heater works well for a small room. The claim to heat 1000 sf would be a real push because it would have to be on 24/7 to heat that much space & I doubt that you could not ges that much space heated to a comfortable level on a cold day. I have a ups with a volt meter on the circuit that this heater is plugged into & when it comes on to heat it creates a voltage drop by 5-6 volts & with that much draw it cannot be very much of a cost saver. You can buy a much cheaper heater to do the same job. It is nothing more than a space heater in a pretty box. I do like that it is very safe to touch the surrounding sides and top, since I have pets I am never worried that they will get hurt by this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.