Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (185 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
47
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
172 of 185(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 21 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
January 4, 2014
By BGinMN
from Minneapoli
"I have used this heater for 2 seasons now. Fabulous!
I point it toward the bathroom in the morning, and by the time I am done in the shower the bathroom and bed room has gone from 63 to 68 nicely. Takes the chill out of the air whenever needed! I can keep my thermostat down to 65 and use this heater to warm up any room in only minutes. have not notice any huge impact on the electric bill - though I do no leave it running for more than an hour or two. I think its great! Very portable too!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance and unreliable

,
December 30, 2013
By Craig5498
from MN
"I purchase this heater as a supplemental heat source for a well-insulated 500 sq. ft. room. With the room thermostat set at 55* and the heater thermostat set at 78*, the room temperature never ascended above 62*. It ran continuously, the heat output was barely a whisper, and would occaisionally blow a 15A circuit breaker. Now, after 6 months use, the blower fan motor has failed completely and the unit doesn't run. After doing a master reset, it will turn on, rattle for a minute without any heat output, then shut off. Save your money and buy a different heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
December 22, 2013
By debinhpnc
from high point, nc
"very nice heater, we turn on at night, facing down hallway, our furnace doesn't come on all night, quiet heater keeps 1800sq ft home cozy"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time or money

,
December 6, 2013
By wayned65
from Imperial Missouri
"It runs and runs and runs but warms up nothing. Unless you stand in front of it..Set on 76 but after several hours it still moving between 69 and 70. Moving to small bed room maybe it will get that room warm. Purchased different brand for my son he has same problem. Infrared heater are not what they claim. My living room is not even close to1000sq ft and this units does nothing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my second review...

,
November 28, 2013
By TheRealJohnGalt
from Burke, VA
"See my first review below. I now have my second heater... and I've had a chance to try them both out in some cool/cold (~high 20'F) weather. I'm happy with the heater I have in my basement. It works fine in that 10'x15' room w/ 8' ceilings. The one I have upstairs (in 15'x15' room w/ 9' ceilings and poor insulation) knocks the chill off the air, but doesn't get the room up above ~65'F on its own. I'm okay with that.
Given that this thing looks great, stays cool to the touch, and is perfectly safe around kids / pets... I'm glad to own two of them. If you buy, just realize limitations before pulling the trigger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't do what they claim

,
November 25, 2013
By Thedude92
from WA
"Our back room is 12'x20' . I turned the heater on yesterday morning it was 52*. Heater ran for 6 hours straight and only got it up to 60*. And the sun was out hitting the side of the room. Don't buy this heater. I use that term lightly..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
November 25, 2013
By jigstx
from Livingston, Tx
"I bought this last year for my living room area, about 600 sq ft. I may as well have set the money on fire, it would have been warmer. So there it sits as an end table..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick, Safe Heater

,
November 14, 2013
By TheRealJohnGalt
from Burke, VA
"Heater arrived today when I was at work. The wife received it, opened it, plugged it in, fired it up, and gave me props for buying it. Really, what more can a guy ask for? We have it in a 15'x'15' room that's not well insulated at all. The room has been getting down to 58'F-59'F during the day and this little heater got the room up to 66'F in no-time at all. It stays cool to the touch, as advertised.... and looks great. We got the cherry model -- nice that it came with a cherry color pen for touching up the wood. I'm wondering how long before we'll get another one (or two!)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good heater

,
September 18, 2013
By rlw222
from manzanola colorado
"safe, easy to use,remote control and it works great. I would buy this heater again . in fact I have bought 3 of these for guest room and r/v . They keep the floor warm and cozy. They even make a nice end table . I have pets dogs and I feel safe having then near this heater"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
27out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

duraflame infared heater

,
September 17, 2013
By jaylee
from Flagstaff, AZ
"great product...turn it on in our dining room in the mo rnings to read paper and have coffee..it warms the room up and keeps it worm for the rest of the day..we've use the heater in different rooms depending on need..it has cut back on the natural gas cost and is hardly noticable on the electric bill... am buying another so I won't have to move this one out of the front of the house..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater

,
September 17, 2013
By gman52494
from Chesterfield, MI
"This is one the best heaters I've owned for my garage. It heats the whole garage in about 25 minutes from being started in MI weather. I'm very impressed with the product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbywms
from Old Hickory, TN
"Bought this heater and used it last winter and it made a tremendous difference in our electric bill. We are all electric and our main heater really runs up the bill but this baby really kept it from running all the time. Worth every cent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By happycustomer123
from illinois
"This heater works great, cheap to operate and is very quiet. They say it will heat a 1,000 sq ft room but my experiance is far less. I would not recomend this for anything over 500 sq ft. Overall its a good little heater just don't expect it to heat an entire level of your home just the room it's in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient and effective supplemental heating

,
September 17, 2013
By DonMed
from Van, TX
"My home is all electric. If I heat my home with only the electric furnace my electric bill skyrockets. So, I only run the furnace for 30 minutes or so in the morning and use the Duraflame heater for my heating needs the rest of the day. My savings have been significant."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

New to Infrared

,
April 24, 2013
By Bobzilla
from North Florida
"Heater works great. We use it in our family room. It is much safer than conventional heaters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winter heat

,
April 23, 2013
By scsmith
from Pelzer, SC
"I bought this heater to replace some small electric heaters I use to heat my shop +/- 300 sq ft. It has worked great. Very happy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Wazzu
from Longview Washington
"It's a different warmth that comes from these heaters, We turned off the rest of the heaters in the front room ,set it on 71 in the evening and threw the night . Kept the room very nice , I'd say the price was right too, never had one problem threw the winter . Great buy . Thanks Wazzu"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, quiet heater

,
January 30, 2013
By GeDa
from NY
"Using it as the sole heater in a 400 sqf room. I just returned a Kenmore infrared heater because it was so noisy that you couldn't have a phone conversation or take a nap. This one is super quiet - it's basically the airflow you're hearing. Nice features like an effective thermostat with digital display, remote control, beautiful design and castors which role easy even on a thick carpet - and the price is right. The room was heated from 56 degrees to 68 in about 20 minutes. And after the initial heating up it cycled on in ever increasing time intervals (the Kenmore rarely stopped). I just ordered a second one for our enclosed porch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
21out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet heater

,
January 23, 2013
By snickle
from Tennessee
"I ordered heater for an added room of 500 sq feet without heat. I really thought the heater that would heat up to 1000 sq feet would be great as it could cycle off and on and save electricity. My room is a large open space with sliding glass doors. I set the thermostat to 69. On cold nights down to 20 degrees outside, it will only heat the room up to 55 deg. During the day, it can heat up to about 64 but that is it. I do plan on more heavy draperies and insulation but really thought it would put out more heat. It helps but room is too cold to use. Heater has run non-stop for a month now. Awaiting my electricity bill to see results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater -

,
November 26, 2012
By MrsHill
from Indiana
"works better than expected. Loaned it to a friend who liked it so much that she decided to buy one... but she bought another brand and isn't happy with it. She called me for the make & model so she can get the exact same one this time. I am very pleased with this product and highly recommend it. We have been using it for over a year. (model 8HM1500)"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+17points
44out of 71found this review helpful.