Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
55 of 68(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 41 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great space heater

,
January 16, 2012
By sfsgt
from North Carolina
"I have use this product going on the 2nd year and my propane bill has gone down . It's great for heating a space up to 1,000 sq. ft. and I keep my themostat set at 60 in the room in which my heat does not come on there. I would say this portable heater is great use in the sandhills of North Carolina."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats the whole house

,
January 16, 2012
By CaptainS
from Rockaway Beach
"This heater works perfect to heat my whole house (450 sq feet) I used to have to have three heater to heat the house. It is quiet and you don't even know it is on and it is costing a third less on my electric bill compared to running three heater that it used to take to heat the house. I would recommend this to anyone who is trying to heat a small cabin where they have cold weather. I'm planning on ordering two more for my son since it works so well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HEATER

,
January 16, 2012
By TUCKER12
from chippewa falls wi
"We have this heater in our kitchen. It keeps the area warm and it is cost saving"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater is great !

,
January 16, 2012
By Smokies
from Smoky Mountains of Tennessee
"We purchased this heater last fall and now are using it on cold mornings. The description of this heater states "will heat up to 1000 sq. feet". The area that we heat is much larger than 1000 sq. feet. We turn the heater on early in the morning and let it heat the area which includes the great room, kitchen, and dinning areas. this keeps the heat pump from coming on. After heating this area with our "Duraflame power heater" we turn up the heat pump thermostat to maintain that temp and we have saved electricity ! The heat pump uses 220 volt heat strips to heat up a large area and if you can keep the heat strips from coming on you save on your power bill ! This little heater is great and operates on 110 volts ! I can't wait to see our power bill for this period of cold mornings ! We love our "Duraflame Power heater and the price from "Northern Tool " is much lower than the price of the popular brand of a similar heater that is advertised nationally !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
January 16, 2012
By macsplinter
from Bristol, VA
"Great heater for a Den or Family room. Works great and is quiet. A good value for the price compared to other brands."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the real deal

,
January 16, 2012
By mecasa98
from seneca falls ny
"I did alot of looking before i picked this unit and I must say i did good..I live in upstate ny and we got some cold night but this unit keeps my living area quite comfortable.definiitly would recommend this unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ashgbmb
from Oxford, MA
"Bought this heater elsewhere and paid a little more.
Puts out a good amount of heat almost immediately, I use this heater in my finished basement about 800 sq ft, it maintains about 65 degrees on low at an outside temp of 20 degrees. Turn to high to warm the room quickly then turn back down to low to keep comfortable. Haven't used my electric baseboards since buying the product (in basement), have noticed a decent drop in my electric bill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Mark07
from York, Maine
"Bought one last year for the house. Saves a lot of oil! Planning on buying at least one more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BeaT
from Swainsboro, GA
"We are very pleased with our heater. We have another quartz heater, but this one seems to put out more heat during the colder periods. Although I am pleased with our other heater as well. I do personally highly recommend this heater to anyone who is looking to help with their electricity. It sure has help us on our electric bill"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duraflame Heater

,
January 18, 2012
By PiersideDJ
from Pinebluff, North Carolina
"Got this heater to reduce heating bills. I've noticed that my Heat Pump has not come on for days as this keeps the occupied part of the house just at the right temperature. Almost silent and looks good also. I think I'll buy another for my office."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Duraflame 5200 btu heater

,
February 8, 2012
By gearhead730
from Ohio
"If you read some of the other reviews they talk this unit up stating the propane the are saving is well worth the cost don't believe it. This unit is nicely made and quiet, rolls nicely and well made.It is not going to keep your furnace from running when its 32 degrees or colder outside unless you have the t-stat set at frigid.It will warm the(room its in warm nicely) and keep your feet warm if your house is cold on one side it will keep temp up somewhat.If you set a70 degrees and put in room it will never shut off by reaching that temp. I Live in ohio 2012 winter season it has been warmer outside and it runs continually never achieving even 68 degrees.So you are informed it will not keep your furnace from running just keep your toes warm!"
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric eater big time!

,
February 23, 2012
By DesertStephen
from Yucca Valley, CA
"We bought 2 black (not Oak) of these hoping to save on propane as we also have 20 solar panels. We about fainted when we got a $392 bill for one month of use. We keep one in the living room and one in the bedroom, mostly on setting 2 or 3, one off while the other one was on. the fans ran forever after shutting them off. Needless to say, we won't ever use them again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By CReese
from Weedsport, NY
"I bought one of these heaters and loved it so much I went back and bought 2 more. I have cut my fuel oil heating bill in half and my electric only increased by $40 running all 3 heaters. My house is cozy warm and I'm not going broke paying for heating oil! Everybody should have one of these in their home. Safe for small children as they don't get hot to the touch. Even the dog lays in front of it!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!

,
October 9, 2012
By lorang79
from Walla Walla, WA
"Great deal! These heaters are the real thing. This is my 2nd infrared heater. I bought my first one used 2 years ago. Since we moved into a bigger house with no other means of heat, I bought this one last month. It works great! It keeps the whole floor nice and toasty! ...and it costs very little to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, quiet heater

,
January 30, 2013
By GeDa
from NY
"Using it as the sole heater in a 400 sqf room. I just returned a Kenmore infrared heater because it was so noisy that you couldn't have a phone conversation or take a nap. This one is super quiet - it's basically the airflow you're hearing. Nice features like an effective thermostat with digital display, remote control, beautiful design and castors which role easy even on a thick carpet - and the price is right. The room was heated from 56 degrees to 68 in about 20 minutes. And after the initial heating up it cycled on in ever increasing time intervals (the Kenmore rarely stopped). I just ordered a second one for our enclosed porch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
21out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By happycustomer123
from illinois
"This heater works great, cheap to operate and is very quiet. They say it will heat a 1,000 sq ft room but my experiance is far less. I would not recomend this for anything over 500 sq ft. Overall its a good little heater just don't expect it to heat an entire level of your home just the room it's in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

duraflame infared heater

,
September 17, 2013
By jaylee
from Flagstaff, AZ
"great product...turn it on in our dining room in the mo rnings to read paper and have coffee..it warms the room up and keeps it worm for the rest of the day..we've use the heater in different rooms depending on need..it has cut back on the natural gas cost and is hardly noticable on the electric bill... am buying another so I won't have to move this one out of the front of the house..."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
November 25, 2013
By jigstx
from Livingston, Tx
"I bought this last year for my living room area, about 600 sq ft. I may as well have set the money on fire, it would have been warmer. So there it sits as an end table..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't do what they claim

,
November 25, 2013
By Thedude92
from WA
"Our back room is 12'x20' . I turned the heater on yesterday morning it was 52*. Heater ran for 6 hours straight and only got it up to 60*. And the sun was out hitting the side of the room. Don't buy this heater. I use that term lightly..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my second review...

,
November 28, 2013
By TheRealJohnGalt
from Burke, VA
"See my first review below. I now have my second heater... and I've had a chance to try them both out in some cool/cold (~high 20'F) weather. I'm happy with the heater I have in my basement. It works fine in that 10'x15' room w/ 8' ceilings. The one I have upstairs (in 15'x15' room w/ 9' ceilings and poor insulation) knocks the chill off the air, but doesn't get the room up above ~65'F on its own. I'm okay with that.
Given that this thing looks great, stays cool to the touch, and is perfectly safe around kids / pets... I'm glad to own two of them. If you buy, just realize limitations before pulling the trigger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.