Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (185 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
47
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
172 of 185(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 41 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Quartz Heater

,
March 14, 2011
By Lemon
"I purchased this heater for my basement kitchen because all I had was an electric wall unit which didn't direct the heat on me while doing dishes etc. this unit sits in the middle of the room and can be directed in any direction for instant heat. It is a handsome and welcome addition to my little kitchen space."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

,
March 14, 2011
By GaBoy
from Georgia
"These heaters are money well spent.Puts out alot more heat than any regular 1500 watt heater. Not very much difference in power usage.So,in a short period of time,it will definetly pay for itself in savings."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Supplemental heater...

,
March 15, 2011
By ruralMissouri
from Butler, MO
"Purchased the heater to supplement propane furnace. Heats the area I am working in very well (12x30) even when outdoor temp close to zero. Remote control is very convenient. Raised my electric bill about what I expected ($10-15) in coldest month which saved my propane substantially. Nice cabinet and trim. Easy to use. Apparently very popular as was backordered for a couple of months."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
March 15, 2011
By Jaime
from Fairfield, Oh
"This provides wonderful clean air heat! I have no worries of my little one getting burned which is great. It monitors the temperature well and uses very little energy, if anything our electricity bill went down and not up and it maintains the heat very well! Also, love the remote control."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
March 16, 2011
By PLaJoie
from Prospect, CT
"I was a little critical of a electric heater but after using this fro a month of cold weather our bill only went up about ten dollars, and it keep a cold part of our house plenty warm. I highly recommend this unit it also looks great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
FrustratedAlso
Middle Tennessee 
 
Please wait while more information about FrustratedAlso is loaded.
Additional information about FrustratedAlso could not be loaded.
Duraflame Quartz heaters
September 19, 2011
"I bought two of these as supplemental heat last season. I can run two of these from my small generator if needed during an outage. Quality is good. If there is a momentary power outage, the heater must be turned back on, so you wouldn't want to leave it as the only heat to protect a cabin, etc."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT HEATER

,
March 16, 2011
By YANKEE2
from North Central Indiana
"EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCT, EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB OF HEATING AN OPEN OFFICE AREA ON THE WEST SIDE OF FARM HOUSE. NICE APPEARANCE, SAFE, AND EFFICIENT."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

,
March 18, 2011
By CrosscutSaw
from Richmond Virginia
"We had an old model baseboard heat in an extra room that ran along with a whole house furnace. This replaced the baseboard heat and now the heating bill has dropped enough to notice. The room stays plenty warm. This is a good product so far and good deal for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

space heating

,
March 19, 2011
By greensfarm
from cleveland tx.
"Nice looking heater. Very quiet yet puts out a suprising amount of heat. I returned the first heater I bought because the thermostat didn't work and the second heater had the same problem. Heater would run five minutes and kickoff then not restart even with the room temperature five degrees below the heater setting. Had to set the heater to a higher temperature, 8 or 9 degrees above room temperature to get it to run. At that temp. it won't cycle but runs continuosly. Kept the heater anyway because it does a good job of keeping a large area warm. It's a shame the heater doesn't have a fan only setting because it would make a good air circulator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

,
March 20, 2011
By faybers
from Virginia
"Very impressed with this heater. While using it in a small house, the temperature was about the same thoughout. Heat pump did not turn on while using the heater. Nice quality cabinet and rolls easily from room to room. Would definitely recommend."
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself in first season

,
March 28, 2011
By Manning
"I bought the Duraflame infrared heater to supplement my propane furnace in a smaller 3 bedroom home. I run the Duraflame 2 deg. warmer than the thermostat on the propane furnace which keeps the rest of the house a little cooler, and warmer in the front room where the Duraflame sits. My electric bill went up about $35/mo. but I saved more than $700 on my propane bill for the winter...net savings of over $500 for the heating season! The unit has run flawlessly all winter. This was a great investment!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Duraflame heater

,
June 13, 2011
By twhite48
"Sorry to say this heater did not live up to its specifications. Did not heat the size room as stated. Tried it in a smaller room and it did not heat that room either. Don't know if just the one I received was defective as I did not try another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
12out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats well without exploding utility bill

,
June 13, 2011
By bigWttn
from Watertown, WI
"Bought this as a complimentory heat source to my pellet stove where I do a lot of zone heating in my home. It heats a poorly insulated room noticably within a short time. It rolls easily into the next room if more heat is needed there. You will notice it on your electric bill, but not a devastating bump. Limited use(1-2 hours a day) adds about 20 bucks a month more, well worth the added comfort on cold winter days. Safe for pets and kids."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
June 17, 2011
By Lissa
from Columbia, SC
"This heater does a great job. I have pets, so space heaters with no hot surfaces are important. I used two of these heaters this past winter as my sole source of heat for a space about 1200 square feet. The amount of money I saved on my utility bills more than offset the initial cost of the heaters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPER LITTLE HEATER

,
October 5, 2011
By CLAY529
from Grayling , Michigan
"We ordered this unit and it works excellent !! Just set to the desired temp, set timer and let it do it's thing, nice to wake up to a warm house!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brrr... Where's my heater

,
October 10, 2011
By sueTAG
from Bethlehem, PA
"Since receiving this heater, we had a week of cooler weather, and I was grateful to have it. It did heat the room. Many years ago, I had a kerosene heater, and loved the immediate warmth from it. If you are used to a kerosene heater, this heater takes a bit longer to feel the heat in the room, but you have no smell. After a couple hours of running, if you go upstairs and then come downstairs, you really do feel the warmth. Glad I have it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
October 10, 2011
By MO123
from Missouri
"Excellent heater. Performs to a high expectation. Very quiet blower. A great product, at a fair cost. Meets all expectations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
October 10, 2011
By DMAN42
from Minneapolis, MN
"The heater is mid to low noise level and performs great the way I had expected it to. The Finish is less tacky than the foe wood models. Puts out good heat without having a hot surface. Filter option on back is nice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater For Great Price!

,
October 11, 2011
By Awesome1
from Lockport,NY
"I looked at many different electric heaters and this one seemed to be the best . Now that being said I am very skeptical about electric heaters I burn wood and use an oil furance and did not believe in electric heat. But we put on a new addition and there was no heat source so I thought I would give it a try. I am amazingly surprised I've got 1600sq ft upstairs and so far the furance has not kicked on while using the heater. Colder months are yet to come we will see, N.Y can be cold. But so far love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

176 yrs of expertise

,
October 17, 2011
By 176Yrs
from Joanna SC
"Item# 21415, infared quartz heater, Totally awesome!!!!!!! The market is flooded with these type heaters this year, everyone wants to save a buck.This item from Northern far exceeds my expectations for value, comfort, and style. I got this particular item for my parents age 89/87. The both of them are so delighted, they are quick to show it to all visitors.The blower radiats the heat and keeps the entire house (1100 sq ft) comfortable, when the outside temp has dipped into the 40"s,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Muin1951
from Oswego, NY
"I bought this heater as a supplement for my kitchen and for my RV. Controls are easy to use and the heater works great. My kitchen stays at the preset temp with no problem. My RV furnace rarely comes on while I have this unit going and the RV temp stays in the 68 to 70 degree range, perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.