Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (185 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
47
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
172 of 185(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 1 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for itself in first season

,
March 28, 2011
By Manning
"I bought the Duraflame infrared heater to supplement my propane furnace in a smaller 3 bedroom home. I run the Duraflame 2 deg. warmer than the thermostat on the propane furnace which keeps the rest of the house a little cooler, and warmer in the front room where the Duraflame sits. My electric bill went up about $35/mo. but I saved more than $700 on my propane bill for the winter...net savings of over $500 for the heating season! The unit has run flawlessly all winter. This was a great investment!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect small space heater

,
October 15, 2012
By Craiger013
from Pennsylvania
"This heater can't be beat for small area supplemental heating! Cut your oil or fuel costs by utilizing this awesome heater. I use it in my kitchen / living room area which is about 450 sq ft and it heats it beyond adequately. In fact, we have to turn it off so as to not over heat ,which brings the timer feature to the forefront. It has a temp setting and a timer feature (both controlable from a hand held remote) which make this the ideal space heater. I highly reccommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater!

,
June 17, 2011
By Lissa
from Columbia, SC
"This heater does a great job. I have pets, so space heaters with no hot surfaces are important. I used two of these heaters this past winter as my sole source of heat for a space about 1200 square feet. The amount of money I saved on my utility bills more than offset the initial cost of the heaters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective, quiet heater

,
October 17, 2011
By TesterPat
from Rochester, MN
"I purchased the heater to provide some 'spot' heating to a couple of cold rooms. The fan is very quiet, but moves a lot of warm air. Previously, we had to crank up the heat to the whole house just to heat the cooler rooms.
The fan noise didn't bother our sleep, and the timer function shut the unit down un-attended. Very nice.
Very impressed with the safety of the unit, in that the case doesn't get hot. Even the duct where the heated air comes out doesn't get uncomfortably hot to the touch.
I have already reccommended the unit to a number of my acquaintenances.
The case looks nice, and the addition of a marker pen to fix 'future' scratches is a thoughtful touch. Casters make moving the unit easy, and the remote control is very useful.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz

,
October 18, 2011
By PedalMotion
from Colorado Springs
"I live in Colorado, my house has 2 br, 1 bath and a family room down in the basement. A master br, LR, DR, and an office on the first floor. In the winters my wife and I like to keep the house temperature at 62F. My dad who is 89 comes to stay with us sometimes. I have to heat up the downstairs for him without heating up the upstairs.
That's where the Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater. It can heat up the downstairs to a cozy 72F.
I would recommend this to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Puchase

,
August 21, 2012
By Dave1600
from Boston, MA
"Purchased this heater to help with drafts in my home. We have an open floor plan with an ~15x30 great room. This heater not only eliminated the drafts, but helped lower my oil bill by 40% last winter, while adding about only $25 per month to the electric bill. Well worth the trade off.
I also took this heater to my summer cottage in Canada when I visited in April (no heat in the cottage). This heater maintained the temperature in the home at 68 degrees throughout the entire 1st floor (~350 sq feet) with no problem. It was in the 30's/40's outside with very little insulation in the home
I will be buying another of these units this year for my upstairs
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST ONE

,
October 17, 2011
By farfrom
from Mid Missouri
"This is the second one of this type of heater I have bought. The first one I bought I have put out in my garage to use in it because this one works twice as good as the first. My house is over 2000 sq ft and it heats it beautifully."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By happycustomer123
from illinois
"This heater works great, cheap to operate and is very quiet. They say it will heat a 1,000 sq ft room but my experiance is far less. I would not recomend this for anything over 500 sq ft. Overall its a good little heater just don't expect it to heat an entire level of your home just the room it's in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By bobbywms
from Old Hickory, TN
"Bought this heater and used it last winter and it made a tremendous difference in our electric bill. We are all electric and our main heater really runs up the bill but this baby really kept it from running all the time. Worth every cent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific buy!

,
October 17, 2011
By TrueBlue
from Boone, NC
"Amazing that this little heater can generate such significant heat at such a low cost. Will pay for itself in a short period of time."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater

,
March 16, 2011
By PLaJoie
from Prospect, CT
"I was a little critical of a electric heater but after using this fro a month of cold weather our bill only went up about ten dollars, and it keep a cold part of our house plenty warm. I highly recommend this unit it also looks great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
FrustratedAlso
Middle Tennessee 
 
Please wait while more information about FrustratedAlso is loaded.
Additional information about FrustratedAlso could not be loaded.
Duraflame Quartz heaters
September 19, 2011
"I bought two of these as supplemental heat last season. I can run two of these from my small generator if needed during an outage. Quality is good. If there is a momentary power outage, the heater must be turned back on, so you wouldn't want to leave it as the only heat to protect a cabin, etc."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than the competition

,
December 24, 2010
By livinlarge
from Aurora, Missouri
"I live in a 35 year old 14' x 80' trailer house with not so great insulation. I Just bought this fixer upper and moved in last month...well here in Missouri it gets pretty cold. The propane tank outside was stolen and the wall unit doesn't work. I had to find something economical on my fixed income so I did some comparing of models. The other guys (you know who) brag about their ability to heat 1,000 sq/ft. however they are rated at 5,000 & 5,100 BTU's respectively and claim to blow 120 - 125 F air. This Duraflame Colby unit is rated 5,200 BTU's and blows 140 F air! I know b/c I held a thermometer in front of it. The unit is very attractive in cherry wood, whereas the other guys are actually synthetic wood. It is sitting about midways in my house & keeps it at a steady 67 F in here when it's been in the 20's outside. Not bad considering I don't have plastic up yet on 2 of the 4 (3' x 5') windows in the open floor plan 420 sq/ ft. living room/ kitchen area where it's sitting. Before I got it, I had 2 -1,500 watt ceramic space heaters running non stop that could only muster 57 F. Not only is it silently outperforming 2 other heaters by itself, it's using less energy and looks great doing it. I would assume that in a better insulated house, warming 1,000 feet would be very possible. I also love the fact that I won't be dusting near as often now either. It really sucks in the dust!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heating Bill Saver

,
May 15, 2012
By momma48
from NY
"This heater has truly performed as hoped. Not only did it heat the occupied area, it easily moved to accomodate the daily schedule around the home. The utility bills- both electric and heating- are extremely low thanks to the amazing output of this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent heater

,
April 23, 2013
By Wazzu
from Longview Washington
"It's a different warmth that comes from these heaters, We turned off the rest of the heaters in the front room ,set it on 71 in the evening and threw the night . Kept the room very nice , I'd say the price was right too, never had one problem threw the winter . Great buy . Thanks Wazzu"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Metal Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Model# 8HM1500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
October 10, 2011
By DMAN42
from Minneapolis, MN
"The heater is mid to low noise level and performs great the way I had expected it to. The Finish is less tacky than the foe wood models. Puts out good heat without having a hot surface. Filter option on back is nice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

space heating

,
March 19, 2011
By greensfarm
from cleveland tx.
"Nice looking heater. Very quiet yet puts out a suprising amount of heat. I returned the first heater I bought because the thermostat didn't work and the second heater had the same problem. Heater would run five minutes and kickoff then not restart even with the room temperature five degrees below the heater setting. Had to set the heater to a higher temperature, 8 or 9 degrees above room temperature to get it to run. At that temp. it won't cycle but runs continuosly. Kept the heater anyway because it does a good job of keeping a large area warm. It's a shame the heater doesn't have a fan only setting because it would make a good air circulator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased with style and performance

,
January 11, 2011
By WayneNJ
from New Jersey - South Central
"Have only had this heater for 1 week so cannot provide a "high mileage" review.
Being used in a 12' X 26' den/family room where most of the familys time is spent. Intent was to make this area comfortable while lowering the thermostat on the main heating system. This heater unquestionably does the job, and does it quietly. Looks good doing it to.
Spent in the area of $100 - $200 less than those similarly rated heaters (BTU rating) sold via TV infomercials.
Very pleased at this point and could easily recommend to others with similar need/intent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great heater

,
December 22, 2013
By debinhpnc
from high point, nc
"very nice heater, we turn on at night, facing down hallway, our furnace doesn't come on all night, quiet heater keeps 1800sq ft home cozy"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than I had hoped.

,
January 7, 2014
By Horace1
from Maine
"Quite sturdy. Rolls easily from room to room. Good for maintaining or warming medium sized rooms. Works awesome in our 16x26 living room. Even better than I had expected. Doesn't bother kids or pets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, Great price

,
November 22, 2011
By HBSD3
from TN
"Ordered the Duraflame Infrared Heater 1500 watts in Cherry finish about 2 months ago, after researching other brands and considered this one to be the best value. Not only does it blend perfectly with the bedroom furniture, it does a great job on keeping the bedroom warm for our cold-sensitive dog and us. It's allowed us to keep our thermostat turned down much lower throughout the house at night, offering a potential cost-savings since our heating relies on propane. We're especially glad it's on wheels so we can easily move it to the family room when needed for that extra bit of comfort. To say we're glad of our purchase is an understatement. At this point, would highly recommend it to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.