Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC

Item# 700067
From Duraflame, a leader in home heating solutions, this Powerheat Infrared Quartz Heater brings comfortable, reliable warmth and heirloom-quality style to any room. With a 5200 BTU output, this heater warms up to 1000 square feet yet stays cool to the touch, making it safe around children and pets. The furniture-quality cherry veneer cabinet is crafted with contoured edges to add rich elegance to any room. Amps 12.5, BTU Output 5,200, Heat Settings Variable, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Product Style Portable, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes, Watts 1,500, Dimensions W x D x H in. 14 3/8 x 19 3/4 x 17 3/4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Power Cord ft. 6, Plug Type 3-prong, Product Type Forced air, Thermostat Included Yes, Tip-Over Safety Switch Yes, Blower Included Yes. Six infrared quartz tubes and copper heat exchangers provide warm, balanced, soft heat Built-in thermostat adjusts from 50-97F Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Beautiful cherry veneer cabinet enhances any decor
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
55 of 68(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Review 1 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective, quiet heater

,
October 17, 2011
By TesterPat
from Rochester, MN
"I purchased the heater to provide some 'spot' heating to a couple of cold rooms. The fan is very quiet, but moves a lot of warm air. Previously, we had to crank up the heat to the whole house just to heat the cooler rooms.
The fan noise didn't bother our sleep, and the timer function shut the unit down un-attended. Very nice.
Very impressed with the safety of the unit, in that the case doesn't get hot. Even the duct where the heated air comes out doesn't get uncomfortably hot to the touch.
I have already reccommended the unit to a number of my acquaintenances.
The case looks nice, and the addition of a marker pen to fix 'future' scratches is a thoughtful touch. Casters make moving the unit easy, and the remote control is very useful.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz

,
October 18, 2011
By PedalMotion
from Colorado Springs
"I live in Colorado, my house has 2 br, 1 bath and a family room down in the basement. A master br, LR, DR, and an office on the first floor. In the winters my wife and I like to keep the house temperature at 62F. My dad who is 89 comes to stay with us sometimes. I have to heat up the downstairs for him without heating up the upstairs.
That's where the Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater. It can heat up the downstairs to a cozy 72F.
I would recommend this to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST ONE

,
October 17, 2011
By farfrom
from Mid Missouri
"This is the second one of this type of heater I have bought. The first one I bought I have put out in my garage to use in it because this one works twice as good as the first. My house is over 2000 sq ft and it heats it beautifully."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for a great price

,
September 17, 2013
By happycustomer123
from illinois
"This heater works great, cheap to operate and is very quiet. They say it will heat a 1,000 sq ft room but my experiance is far less. I would not recomend this for anything over 500 sq ft. Overall its a good little heater just don't expect it to heat an entire level of your home just the room it's in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific buy!

,
October 17, 2011
By TrueBlue
from Boone, NC
"Amazing that this little heater can generate such significant heat at such a low cost. Will pay for itself in a short period of time."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than I had hoped.

,
January 7, 2014
By Horace1
from Maine
"Quite sturdy. Rolls easily from room to room. Good for maintaining or warming medium sized rooms. Works awesome in our 16x26 living room. Even better than I had expected. Doesn't bother kids or pets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

QUARTZ HEATER

,
October 17, 2011
By WOLFERD
from Elmira, Mi
"Recent purchase. Attractive cabinet. Fairly quiet and easy operation. Only used once and I am generally satisfied. I thought it would heat the space a bit quicker; but I have cathedral type ceiling. Overall; good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

duraflame 10hn4126-0107 infared heater

,
January 29, 2014
By hdg49
from wisconsin
"use it for supplement heating a finished lower level 325 sq. ft., turned it on when room temp was 59 degrees, set unit temp at 68 and let it run 10 hours, room reached 68 after 8 hours."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puts out some serious heat for compact unit

,
October 17, 2011
By GarrettK
from Amsterdam, NY
"Have used this so far to keep the furnace off, hate to burn that oil! It has fit the bill thermostat kicks unit on and off as it should, so far so good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Heater

,
May 14, 2012
By CReese
from Weedsport, NY
"I bought one of these heaters and loved it so much I went back and bought 2 more. I have cut my fuel oil heating bill in half and my electric only increased by $40 running all 3 heaters. My house is cozy warm and I'm not going broke paying for heating oil! Everybody should have one of these in their home. Safe for small children as they don't get hot to the touch. Even the dog lays in front of it!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz

,
January 9, 2012
By sonnyos
from Quitman, Tx
"This heater works well for a small room. The claim to heat 1000 sf would be a real push because it would have to be on 24/7 to heat that much space & I doubt that you could not ges that much space heated to a comfortable level on a cold day. I have a ups with a volt meter on the circuit that this heater is plugged into & when it comes on to heat it creates a voltage drop by 5-6 volts & with that much draw it cannot be very much of a cost saver. You can buy a much cheaper heater to do the same job. It is nothing more than a space heater in a pretty box. I do like that it is very safe to touch the surrounding sides and top, since I have pets I am never worried that they will get hurt by this heater."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Transformation

,
December 13, 2011
By billp57
from Minnesota
"The lower level of my house is always cold- due to the main heat coming out of the ceiling. I have tried a couple other heaters but did not like the outcome. I purchase the above heater and I could not be more pleased. My lower level has been transformed into a very comfortable place- I gained over 8oo square feet. The space is more comfortable then the upstairs- simply awesome!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

176 yrs of expertise

,
October 17, 2011
By 176Yrs
from Joanna SC
"Item# 21415, infared quartz heater, Totally awesome!!!!!!! The market is flooded with these type heaters this year, everyone wants to save a buck.This item from Northern far exceeds my expectations for value, comfort, and style. I got this particular item for my parents age 89/87. The both of them are so delighted, they are quick to show it to all visitors.The blower radiats the heat and keeps the entire house (1100 sq ft) comfortable, when the outside temp has dipped into the 40"s,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BeaT
from Swainsboro, GA
"We are very pleased with our heater. We have another quartz heater, but this one seems to put out more heat during the colder periods. Although I am pleased with our other heater as well. I do personally highly recommend this heater to anyone who is looking to help with their electricity. It sure has help us on our electric bill"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ashgbmb
from Oxford, MA
"Bought this heater elsewhere and paid a little more.
Puts out a good amount of heat almost immediately, I use this heater in my finished basement about 800 sq ft, it maintains about 65 degrees on low at an outside temp of 20 degrees. Turn to high to warm the room quickly then turn back down to low to keep comfortable. Haven't used my electric baseboards since buying the product (in basement), have noticed a decent drop in my electric bill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC Heater

,
January 11, 2012
By LovinTennessee
from Russellville,Tn
"First off read the directions,,Then you will be completely satisfied with this heater,it has cut my electric bill for heating in half,,it will kep any room in your home at a comfortable tempature,,my heatpump seldomly comes on now that I`m using this heater,,I have nothing bad to say about this heater it does just what they claim it will do in the directions,,,and no it will not heat your whole house it was not designed for that ,but it will keep the room your in nice and warm up to 800 sq ft,,,I love this heater and will purchase another if this one goes bad"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Muin1951
from Oswego, NY
"I bought this heater as a supplement for my kitchen and for my RV. Controls are easy to use and the heater works great. My kitchen stays at the preset temp with no problem. My RV furnace rarely comes on while I have this unit going and the RV temp stays in the 68 to 70 degree range, perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Mark07
from York, Maine
"Bought one last year for the house. Saves a lot of oil! Planning on buying at least one more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the real deal

,
January 16, 2012
By mecasa98
from seneca falls ny
"I did alot of looking before i picked this unit and I must say i did good..I live in upstate ny and we got some cold night but this unit keeps my living area quite comfortable.definiitly would recommend this unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
January 16, 2012
By macsplinter
from Bristol, VA
"Great heater for a Den or Family room. Works great and is quiet. A good value for the price compared to other brands."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.