Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4,600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Product Style Fireplace insert, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Amps 12.5, Watts 1,350, Volts 120, Blower Included Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes."
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (92 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
84 of 92(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 1 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product easy to use.

,
March 24, 2015
By Nickels
from Nickel and Dimes
" We bought this insert as a replacement and it actually works better than our original. Efficient and saves us on $$$. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric log set

,
February 21, 2015
By jimmy60
from orland,calif.
" keeps my room warm and relaxing to look at i like the remote so i don't have to get up from my chair "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It doesn't heat the room, fast but it does heat it

,
February 12, 2015
By Johnstepha
from Cary, NC
" I bought this because the electric bill in my rented townhouse in the winter is doubling the average cost for the other 3 reasons. The system heats the upstairs fine, but the thermostat is downstairs. I'm asking it to heat a whole floor (600-700 sqft) when it's just rated for 400, so it's doing all I can ask for. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and easy to use

,
February 6, 2015
By GW2015
from Lowell,MI
" We had a vent free gas fireplace,our log set went bad and to replace the log set cost more than what we paid for the unit. I replaced the logs with the Duraflame Electric log set. We have the look of a real fire and heat.
Great product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aesthetically Pleasing and Warm

,
February 4, 2015
By drdwhiz
from Dallas, TX
" WE HAVE A LATE NINTEENTH CENTURY COAL FIREPLACE WHICH WAS NOT USEABLE BUT THIS HEATER FITS THERE LOOKS NICE AND PUTS OUT A RESPECTABLE AMOUNT OF HEAT IN OUR LIVING ROOM "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Log Set

,
January 30, 2015
By MMoore004
from Kernersville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This electric log set is easy to setup and use. It heats my living room up and looks just beautiful. My pup even enjoys it! Thank you!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater, Cool Concept

,
January 30, 2015
By MS801
from Salt Lake City, UT
" My parents bought this unit last year and loved it, but my house is open floor plan with vaulted ceilings. I wasn't sure this heater would work for my space, but we have so many "no burn" days that I thought it couldn't hurt to try in my wood fireplace. I only turn the heat element on in evenings (5pm-9pm) and this little heater can easily raise the temp in the house by 4-5 degrees and keep house warm overnight. It's so good that I have kept my thermostat at 66 degrees for well over a week; that's about 9 degrees lower than a usual winter month! The flickering log effect is really just a bonus; it's a solid little heater that looks cool in your house. Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too noisy!

,
January 27, 2015
By JG1960
from Georgia
" The product provides a fairlly realistic looking glowing fire, however, the fan for the heater is too loud and spoils the effect when you turn on the heat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Presentable Appearance, but....

,
January 26, 2015
By d457
from Michigan
" doesn't heat as expected. I was expecting a little more heat for the room. It plays a selfish role. It looks good, but I think I need to add a krackle box for sound. The overall appearance is acceptable. It looks warm and friendly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Easy to instull,looks great at home

,
January 24, 2015
By ozzie1615
from Florida
" It looks so good in my fire place,it looks real,I like it so much that I got a second one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect solution!

,
January 19, 2015
By BargainBird
from Charlotte, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Not only does this look great in my non-working fireplace, it heats up the room nicely. I couldn't be more pleased with it. Great value, too! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric fire place

,
January 18, 2015
By shilo1234
from cocoa,fl
" Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert, I ordered it on line after I started researching this one. I first found it at Sears i have ordered from Northern tool before so I checked the price and low and behold I got both items for the same price of just the heater. I received it when they said and there was no apparent damage. I live in FL. in a mobile home with a fire place which i don't use so i bought this one. It looks nice and it keeps my living room/dinning room pretty worm with the blower. I feel more at ease. I can just turn off or unplug and go to bed. It helps with not running the heat the whole time. Living in Fl one day it is heat the very next day the ac. I think you will enjoy this as I have. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duralame Electric Log Insert

,
January 8, 2015
By Berryed
from Iowa
" This is a very good product for the money. The flame is very pleasant and it puts out more heat than I expected. The overall experience is very nice. The only drawback is that it is rather noisy when the heater is on, but overall a good product for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Logs

,
January 7, 2015
By ceh1
from Austin, TX
" Have had the unit for only a few weeks, but am pleased with the product. Looks very realistic setting in the fire place, especially with the flame effect lapping at the rear of the fire place. Heating a large family room (400 sq ft) with a 14 foot ceiling, so only intended to supplement central heat. Fan motor is very quiet. Great when you do not have time to build and enjoy a fire. Easy online purchase through Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

,
January 5, 2015
By skipnm
from Santa Fe, NM
" Since my wife is allergic to smoke (and we already have a maintenance-free artificial Christmas tree and grass in the courtyard), I figutred . . . why not?! That, and I've shopped a lot through Northern and have ALWAYS had great results! The ONLY reason for 4 starts instead of 5 is that it would be really nice if this unit had the crackin' flame noise built in. Other than that, it's a perfect addition to our so far unused fireplace. (The wife loves it, too!)
Another thought - I'm not really tech-savvy, but it would be nice if someone would upload a video of this thing in action, instead of just still shots. It really is fantastic. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good heater

,
January 1, 2015
By Jjsmith
from Indianapolis
" Makes a pleasing looking fake fire but doesn't put out enough heat in my opinion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Item!

,
January 1, 2015
By kjgfdf45678
from Pennsylvania
" Unpacked this product, plugged it in and bingo! we had heat! Has a remote control that has a 20" + range! I can even reach the whole way from the other end of the hallway. The remote controls the heat level all the way from high heat to no heat just the flames, the remote also adjusts how bright the flames are & also turns the fireplace on or off. Currently I have no problems with this fireplace. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing improvement

,
January 1, 2015
By T12h
from Kentucky
" Recently purchased a second home. This particular item, the electric fireplace insert, added a totally new dimension to my house particularly this time of year.
I love a roaring fire and you cannot tell the difference "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly as described

,
January 1, 2015
By Pach12345
from Adairsville, GA
" does what it should. Wife loves it. Would not hesitate to buy another. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,3

,
December 29, 2014
By ClarkB
from Lebanon, TN
" Very realistic. Very satisfied and would recommend to everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.