Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

Item# 700069
Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Product Style Fireplace insert, Thermostat Included Yes, Blower Included Yes, Amps 12.5, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Power Cord ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Log Set Included Yes, Remote Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Watts 1,350, Volts 120.
Average Customer Rating:
4.614 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
52 of 57(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Review 1 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the Fireplace - Company who makes them sucks.

,
December 12, 2013
By MMC22
from Colorado
"I bought this for atmosphere in my unused fireplace and I love the fireplace unit itself. I'd give it 5 stars. It looks realistic. I haven't used the heat part so don't know if its very efficient. The remote that came with it quit after 2 weeks. The company that makes this unit, Twin Star, is a pain to deal with. All I want is a replacement remote. They had to open a ticket and get my number and someone will call me back within 48 hours. REALLY!!!! Its that complicated? Northern Tool should reconsider working with this company. Its tarnishing Northern Tools name, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
November 24, 2013
By Margin
from Hartwell, GA
"I bought this to replace gas logs that we ended up never using. This unit is great! The thermostat works great to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. I love the remote, it makes using the heater just so easy. The fan is not very loud, so I don't have to adjust the volume on the TV. I really like that you can adjust the "flame" brightness. All in all I am very happy with this little heater."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
November 22, 2013
By amh2945
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"We just received our electric fire in perfect condition. My husband had the box opened and the fire in the fireplace within minutes. He was amazed at how REAL the fireplace looks. Also, the 5 Flame settings, and the option to have heat or not is perfect for us. It is so much nicer than looking at a dark fireplace or having to order and deal with burning wood. The temperature is 35F here today and rainy. We couldn't be happier."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Fireplace Insert

,
November 9, 2013
By apusch
from Cleveland, TN
"Bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. It gives off so much heat and is great for chilly mornings and cold nights. It runs fairly quiet as well and looks really good in the old fireplace!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Big Old Houses

,
November 8, 2013
By Kajeana
from Ohio
"This is Great! No fumes! I calulated the cost for electric in our town to be about 1 dollar for 8 hours of use! Formula - 1350Watts x 8 hours = 10800 divided by 1000 = 10.8. Take 10.8 x (cost of kwh where you live) .087 (where I live) = .94 cents.
Pulled the pocket doors shut and it boosted the heat up 6 degrees. That is in I believe a 400 sq ft room with 10 ft ceilings in a house built in 1877. We keep our radiator heat set at 68 and the temp went up to 74 in this room with a few hours. They must be used in stone or brick fireplaces."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Heat Source

,
October 31, 2013
By KEH1
from NJ
"I am going to be returning this it falls very short for a heat source. Unless you are sitting right in front of it you do not feel the heat. I love the look of the product but it does not help out for heat for me.
The dogs like it they want to lay right under it. Sorry I have to return this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy In And Easy Out

,
October 31, 2013
By Drake13
from Jonesboro, GA
"Using this to supplement heat pump when not using actual burning wood in the fire place. A great selection of choices for effects and the warm heat settings. Looks good too. Takes very little time to place, setup, plug-in and remotely operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking

,
October 3, 2013
By RB43
from Huntersville,NC
"I have only owned this for a week and it hasn't been cold enough to rate the heating part but as far as looks it is better than I expected. No problems setting it up and using the functions. I hope it is made to last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy!

,
September 17, 2013
By Lish
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this product in put in my wood burning stove fireplace insert. I use this frequently instead of burning wood to eliminate the dust and the clean up that comes with a wood burning stove. This puts out heat and gives a warm glow. This comes with a remote control that works well. I really enjoy this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Gordon30
from on Forge, Tennessee
"Purchased one for a log cabin tourist overnite rental fireplace in the Smoky Mountains. Guests just love it. Can be used without heat in summer for the fireplace atmosphere with such a realistic flame. Also provides supllemental heat if needed.
Loved it so much we bought 2 more for additional log cabins plus another 2 more for our Ohio farm fireplaces for a total of 5 so far.
A great look without the mess of ashes or the high cost of propane..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot beat it for the price.

,
December 1, 2012
By LKLster
from Texas
"We have had our unit for over a year now and are well pleased. The heat output is just right for us - it won't run you out of the room, but adds just enough to supplement the central heat. It looks great sitting in our small fireplace and even better after we added a screen in front.
You can get better, of course, but you'll spend a lot more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Ambiance and Warmth to a Dull Apartment

,
November 24, 2012
By Peniki
from Fort Worth, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am so glad I waited to buy an electric fireplace! These faux logs add just what we needed to our mantel; it looks so real! And...the heater works great!
Love These Logs!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great present to fill old fireplace

,
November 12, 2012
By Neech
from Navare, FL
"Gave this as a present to my wife's grandparents, their fireplace was no longer in working order so we got this for them and they love it, it looks great and puts out a good amount of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good while they worked

,
October 22, 2012
By ngfcfgdnh
from Joppa, MD
"I purchased two of these for Christmas presents and they worked nicely. They have an attractive Faux flame and in the heat mode they will heat up a room. This October, however, I tried to turns our on and my sister tried to turn hers on and there was nothing, no flame or heat. They are still under warranty so I hope to get replacements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric log insert

,
October 8, 2012
By cassie
from Pell City, Alabama
"It was a little big for the space we had but with some miner adjustments to the space it fits nice.
It takes the chill out of our downstairs area fast and it is nice to look at as well. I love just letting the "wood" glow with the heater on.
This is the first week have had to really use it and it makes a cool day nice and cozy.
My children love and I love it for its cozy features and the warmth the insert puts out. Can't wait for more cool days!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So realistic!

,
September 19, 2012
By Sam2000
from Crystal, MN
"I thought the idea of electric logs was cheesy and they could only look cheap in a real fireplace. Boy, was I wrong! I got these after my co-workers raved about the log set and I am really impressed.
When set in the firebox, the "grate" on the unit looks like real metal. The logs have a really nice flame efect that lights up the back of the firebox as well as the logs. The logs have different settings to increase the glow and flicker of the "fire".
The only reason I gave it less than 5 stars is that the heater on the bottom hits the frame of my fireplace doors so if I really want to heat the room, I'll need to elevate the log set a bit. But the flame is so nice I'm ok if it ends up the way it is now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fireplace

,
August 20, 2012
By enf123
from Jacksonville, FL
"Bought this after renovating a 100 year old home. I have a small box fireplace and would never ever put a real fire in it. I wanted something that looked like real logs just for show. This insert turned out nicely. I like the look with it off, the flames and heat are a bonus when it gets cold outside! The only drawback was having to pay an electrician to put an outlet box in the fire place so the cord wouldn't show. All and all it was worth the price and I am very pleased with the presentation."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
January 18, 2012
By cwalker733
from Pennsylvania
"I bought this item for my in-laws at Christmas. Ordered it through Northern and received a sale price and free shipping, doesn't get better than that. Quite nice - and compact. It gives a very nice fireplace effect coming from a small unit. The heating element is very powerful and warms up the room quite fast. My in-laws said it was the best gift they ever got!! I thought it was such a nice gift we bought another for a family member. You won't be sorry - very nicely made. Remote control is a bonus."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for the price

,
January 16, 2012
By HappyinMD
from Maryland
"I bought this to replace a "no heat-flame only" unit. I am very satisfied with its heating ability. The flame is somewhat realalistic. The fan is not real noisey when heater is running. Love that is has a thermostat and remote. Really good deal for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log/Heater Insert = AWESOME!

,
January 16, 2012
By VAStateOfMind
from Alexandria, VA
"My wife and I have kept a wrought iron holder for eight candle pillars as a fireplace insert in recent years, however, we've also been mulling over the installation of a dedicated natural gas fireplace insert for some time. In searching the internet for just such a product, I came across this Duraflame Electric Log Insert at Northern Tool & Equipment. On a whim, we decided to give it a try, IF ONLY because NT&E had the BEST price by $60 on any of its competition, and NT&E had it shipped to us within only a couple of days.
Since I only expected an LED-underlit fake log with some "flames" projected by internal mirrors, I must tell you that the build of the unit AND the quality of the "fire" FAR exceeded our expectations. The unit is very quiet, unless you turn on the built-in heater, and even then the heater makes only a minimal amount of background noise (no more than you'd find on a blower insert on any wood-burning fireplace). Even though we didn't need the built-in heater in our living room, we did switch it on several times over the holiday season and it definitely warms up the immediate room (though I would count on it only as supplemental, and not primary, heat).
The glowing ember effects of the log and the projected fire effect is what truly surprised me -- as some other reviewers indicate here, if you have a darker, soot-stained (or even black) backdrop in your fireplace, the fire effect will be heightened even more, but it is nonetheless impressive. One tiny caveat -- the flame effect is harder to detect if you have direct daylight or sunlight shining on your fireplace in the daytime (if you plan to enjoy this throughout the day). But in the evening, the ember/fire effects are uniformly gorgeous -- we've used the unit EVERY day since purchasing it in early December 2011, and have spent much more time sitting around our fireplace because of it.
If you are tired of the decorative candle pillars, or don't want to invest several thousand dollars in a dedicated natural gas log in your fireplace, I heartily and STRONGLY recommend the purchase of this Duraflame Electric Log/Heater unit -- we are beyond pleased with our purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.