Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

Item# 700069
Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Power Cord ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Log Set Included Yes, Product Style Fireplace insert, Remote Included Yes, Amps 12.5, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 120, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Watts 1,350.
Average Customer Rating:
4.614 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
52 of 57(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Review 21 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice heater

,
January 11, 2012
By Anonymous
from Lytle, TX
"I bought this model based on comments from other owners and I was very happy that I did. This heater will take the chill from a 10 X 14 sized room. The fan runs quietly while the embers display reflects against the back of the fireplace. The effect of the display is remarkable. I've used the lighting feature without the heater on several occasions, just to liven up the room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

L.F.

,
December 11, 2011
By LFred
from Houston, Texas
"I had been wanting something to put in my Ben Franklin Fireplace/Stove. The firebox size is fairly small. I read all the reviews and decided that this would serve my purpose. I found the unit at a local location. When I first plugged it in it did not come on at all. I read the manual and it said to unplug and wait 5 minutes. I did and it started up. The flame and ember effect is very good. People do need to understand that the heat function is for the most part to use as supplemental heat, and it does a good job at that. The room I have it in is 400 square feet, so I just turn it on just to add a little extra heat to the existing heat in the room. I am pleased with it, so I got what I was expecting ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT INSERT FOR ANYONE

,
December 1, 2011
By Anonymous
from COLORADO
"THIS WAS MUCH ANTICIPATED AND WHEN IT ARRIVED IT WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. PRODUCES HEAT AND LOOKS REAL. THIS IS A WONDERFUL FEATURE AND VERY HAPPY WITH THE LOOK OF REAL FLAMES. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT PRICE FROM NORTHERN TOOL. ALL YOU DO IS TAKE IT OUT OF THE BOX AND PLUG IT IN. I DID PUT A BRICK UNDER IT TO RAISE IT HIGHER AND LOOKS AWESOME."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

,
November 30, 2011
By NoGood
from Phoenix AZ
"This product broke down the next day!
It did not make any sounds like one reviewers video showed. The flame is dull. I expected it to brighter. I plugged it in the day I recieved and and when I went to use the heater the next morning it died! Not worth the money!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I had expected!

,
October 24, 2011
By Runtymom
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Owning a soapstone woodstove and heating with wood I am hard to please when it comes to "faux" fireplace items. I own an electric wood stove and love the look but was not happy with the heat distributed for the amount of electric consumed. This Duraflame fireplace insert is way more efficient than the full size electric wood stove. It turns on and off with the thermostat which was the big issue with the other item. The room it is in is a large living area with a real fireplace that we no longer use. The room is 25 x 15 and this insert has kept it warm without running constantly and without needing to turn on the heat pump in this damp fall weather. What I need this insert to do is help to keep this room warm in the dead of winter while the wood stove is busy heating the rest of the home. This room is on the north side, winds hit it constantly and it has many windows. Its always chilly. Not with this little insert running! And as long as you get a can of the high temp black paint and make sure your fireplace is clean and black the faux fire looks real against the freshly painted brick. Win-Win situation! I am going to purchase a second one for my daughter's home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these logs!!!

,
October 19, 2011
By Mother
from Pilot Mtn, NC
"Love, love these logs! I bought them as a gift for my daughter to put into her fireplace replacing a set that didn't produce heat. They are soooo real looking including the flame looks soooo real! They produce a great heat source from the bottom with the blower allowing heat to rise and heat the entire room and making it so cozy. She just loved them and I am #1 Mom. What a deal! Thanks so much!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fireplace log set

,
October 17, 2011
By pjhduramax
from Morganton, NC
"This electric log set looks very good in fireplace and looks real. heater works very well I have no complaints!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Quality Item at a Great Price!

,
September 26, 2011
By twopurringcats
from Burton, Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm really thrilled with my purchase of this Duraflame Log Insert for my old fireplace, it looks and acts just perfect. The heat is just fine, lighting is clearly visible in daylight or night. After looking over all the other units for sale, I settled on this one, and am I ever glad that I did! It looks even better than it does in the photos, and my cats like it too. This will be perfect for taking the edge off the chill in my living room this winter season (I live in the snow belt of Ohio)."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Short clip of fireplace in action.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
June 7, 2011
By RichardC60
from Arizona
"I have a stone fireplace in my family room that has just sat there since the house was built over 17 years ago. It was originally set up for gas, but where I live, we use propane tanks not natural gas. Well, a gas fireplace log set would just suck up propane from our tank, so we never did anything with the fireplace. We eventually found this electric log set on the internet. When search price comparisons were done, Northern
Tool and Equipment came up as the most reasonable in price. Their service was exceptional. The product is great. The embers look real due to new LED technology that makes the embers brighten and dim like a real fire and the flame effect looks almost like a real fire. The heater takes the chill off our 400 square foot family room on cool mornings. We could not ask for a better faux fire except for the real thing. Thank you Northern Tool and Equipment for being so easy to order from and with such a prompt delivery of a great product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bobbi

,
April 15, 2011
By BMT5
from Billings, MT
"Just received my DuraFlame Fireplace Insert, and I am so well pleased with the unit, I really recommend it to anyone thinking about buying one. It is so realistic both in the looks of the overall unit, the lighted logs, and the flame is so real like! I am now building my own fireplace hearth unit to house my insert, and can't wait to really sit down to enjoy watching it 'burn'! It gives off ample heat also to enjoy. The price of the unit was so reasonable, I did a lot of shopping around, and Northern Tool came through with everything that I was looking for. Their service and correspondence and reliability are tops!! I will continue to do business with Northern Tool for all those reasons. You can't go wrong with this DuraFlame Fireplace Insert !!!! You'll be pleased ! I sure am !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

What I Needed, But Not Great

,
April 4, 2011
By Anonymous
from Lakewood, CO
"I received this electric log fireplace insert today. My condo has a wood burning fireplace and I did not want to deal with the mess of wood and ashes. The log insert does not require special set up or installation, just plug it in and turn it on. It fits well in my small fireplace (be sure to take measurements!). The thick black cord hangs out of the fireplace to the right and is pretty obvious against my white stone and wall. But the cord could be painted, or I could just put something decorative in front of it.
I did not expect a realistic fire, just something to keep my fireplace from being a cold black hole. This mostly serves the purpose. I am impressed with the inserts technical ability to create the reflected images of flames on the back of my fireplace with only LED lights and spinning mirrors. The unit is supposed to have 6 flame settings, including off. Unfortunately, I've only noticed on and off and I wish "ON" was a bit brighter. In a brightly lit room it is does not shine out. The glowing embers in the front of the unit are okay looking but not quite bright enough for me either, and they have no variability.
I agree with another reviewer that I think the unit looks better in a fireplace that is already dirty - the image reflections look more real than they would on clean brick.
As far as the heater, I'm not impressed. The unit itself does get warm when the heater is on, and within about 4-5 feet you can feel the heat. My cats like the heat, and I'm not afraid of it burning them. But my open living/dining room/kitchen is 12 feet wide and 23 feet long, and I can't feel any heat where I am sitting about 10 feet away from the fireplace. The fan noise is noticeable but not unexpected. The noise would be fine if the fan actually blew the heat any distance into the room. After about an hour the heater turned itself off: I assume it has a thermostat to keep it from overheating. I was able to turn it back on almost immediately. But since it doesn't heat well, I will probably leave it off most of the time.
One very good thing about this unit is that if I do want to have a "real" fire (like in a power outage), all I have to do is pull out the insert and put in wood.
Overall, its a good unit...I got what I paid for.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Elctric Log Set Insert

,
March 21, 2011
By Geor
"We purchased the Duraflame Log Set to install in our existing wood burning fireplace as it was rairly used due to the trouble and mess of burning wood. We are very pleased with the realistic appearance and ambiance that the unit lends to our family room and you can't beat the convenience of clicking a couple of buttons on the remote to have either the flame effect, heat or both.
we would not hesitate to recommend the unit to others who wish to avoid the mess of wood and who do not need their fireplace as a primary heat source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy, Toasty & Saving $$$

,
March 17, 2011
By HappyShopper
from Davidson, NC
"I found these logs to be the perfect insert to replace those dreadful non-vented gas logs that were in my new condo. Once I saw a friend's Duraflame logs in operation I just had to have them! From researching the web, as well as the brick and mortar stores, I found the lowest price at Northern Tool. I just love relaxing on the couch watching the dancing flames on the back wall of the firebox and the flickering embers of the logs in the forefront; all the while being kept toasty warm. And, because the unit can be run without the heater, the ambiance of a glowing fire can be enjoyed year-round!
The heater of this unit takes the chill out of my living space (entire condo is approx. 1,200 s.f.), but the bedroom doors are kept closed while it is running and during that time the gas furnace does not turn on. Since starting the use of my heater logs in January 2011, I've been saving money on my gas bills throughout the winter months and have not experienced any increase in my electricity bills. If aesthetics are important to you I suggest that an electrical outlet be installed on the interior wall of the firebox so that the electric cord is not visible from the room.
No regrets from this owner who recommends the unit to friends whenever possible."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! Great Customer Service

,
March 14, 2011
By Raey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After a month of shopping I did something I normally don't do. I ordered online without seeing the product in person myself. I did as much research as possible even went to competitor stores. Everyone was sold out. You offered the best price on this item so I gave you a try. From the time I ordered till the time you notified me it was in and available for pickup it all went smoothly. A great product that was provided by a company that provided great customer service. After it came in I installed it and everyone thought it was real till I turned it off by remote. I would not hesitate to order from you again.
Bill M."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Realistic
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
March 14, 2011
By ohioscooter
from coshocton, ohio
"Makes a nice hearter, also fits into my small fireplace. will heat pretty well, about like having a hairdryer on low setting. the glowing logs and artifical flames make it nice also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric logs for heat savings

,
March 14, 2011
By swandaddy
from Campbellsville, KY
"This unit is more that I expected. It keeps our family room & kitchen nice and warm. My wife says it feels like a sun room. We notice that it helps keep the rest of the house warmer as well and our electric bill was about $60 less than it was before. I was very skeptical about it being able to look like a real flame but it really does. When the flame feature is on it seems to make it even warmer. It is very realistic and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
And my wife said "we are going to keep it".
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Fire For All Seasons

,
March 14, 2011
By CozyCouple
from Palm Beach County, FL
"We bought the Duraflame electric firewhen allergies prevented our using regular wood. The device arrived quickly and in perfect condition. The Northern price was right on too.
Now that we have it, this fire burns day and night. Living in Florida, we don't use the heater element; however, you automatically feel the warmth whenever you glance at the fireplace. It is uncanny. All that is missing is the sound of crackling embers. We recommend the Duraflame to anyone who wants a little comfort in their life.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

,
March 14, 2011
By chuckpo
"We use to suppliment the heat in our living room, only adds $35.00 a month to the electric bill!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

,
March 14, 2011
By Musclford
from IL
"It is exactly what we've expected... Was a great addition to an otherwise unused real fireplace... now we have the beauty and if we need it the warmth.
I'd definately buy it again"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DURAFLAME ELECTRIC INSERT

,
December 2, 2010
By PRECIOUS
"I do not regret buying this electric fireplace insert, it is so great, it keeps my home very warm, whenever I use it I do not have to turn my heat on. It is so easy to install, you just have to plug it into the outlet and it is ready to use.
My daughter visited and loved it so much that I bought her one also.
The pricing was very good compared to other retailers.
There are no fumes or smoke to be worried about, and it burns little or no current at all, my electric bill has not increased one bit.
I recommend that everyone purchase this unit.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.