Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU

Item# 700069
Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Amps 12.5, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 120, Watts 1,350, Product Style Fireplace insert.
Average Customer Rating:
4.614 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
52 of 57(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Review 1 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Ambiance and Warmth to a Dull Apartment

,
November 24, 2012
By Peniki
from Fort Worth, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am so glad I waited to buy an electric fireplace! These faux logs add just what we needed to our mantel; it looks so real! And...the heater works great!
Love These Logs!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Quality Item at a Great Price!

,
September 26, 2011
By twopurringcats
from Burton, Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm really thrilled with my purchase of this Duraflame Log Insert for my old fireplace, it looks and acts just perfect. The heat is just fine, lighting is clearly visible in daylight or night. After looking over all the other units for sale, I settled on this one, and am I ever glad that I did! It looks even better than it does in the photos, and my cats like it too. This will be perfect for taking the edge off the chill in my living room this winter season (I live in the snow belt of Ohio)."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Short clip of fireplace in action.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! Great Customer Service

,
March 14, 2011
By Raey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After a month of shopping I did something I normally don't do. I ordered online without seeing the product in person myself. I did as much research as possible even went to competitor stores. Everyone was sold out. You offered the best price on this item so I gave you a try. From the time I ordered till the time you notified me it was in and available for pickup it all went smoothly. A great product that was provided by a company that provided great customer service. After it came in I installed it and everyone thought it was real till I turned it off by remote. I would not hesitate to order from you again.
Bill M."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Realistic
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT & PRICE

,
November 22, 2010
By KENTON
from AUSTELL, GEORGIA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"MY FIREPLACE HAS A CRACK IN THE FIREWALL AND I LOVE THE FIREPLACE SO MUCH AND SOMEONE TOLD ME TO GET A FIREPLACE INSERT UNTIL I COULD GET THE FIREWALL REPAIRED. I SHOPPED AROUND AND FOUND THIS PRODUCT, IT IS SO REAL LIKE. I LOVE IT. I HAVE ATTACHED A PICTURE OF IT INSIDE MY FIREPLACE. THANKS AGAIN FOR THIS PERFECT FIT.
DOTTIE"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very realistic!!

,
November 2, 2010
By zaliannu
from Indianapolis,IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just received the insert yesterday and we are very happy with it. Nothing special to do just plug it in and voila! you have a burning fireplace with no mess to clean up. Very fast shipping as well."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the Fireplace - Company who makes them sucks.

,
December 12, 2013
By MMC22
from Colorado
"I bought this for atmosphere in my unused fireplace and I love the fireplace unit itself. I'd give it 5 stars. It looks realistic. I haven't used the heat part so don't know if its very efficient. The remote that came with it quit after 2 weeks. The company that makes this unit, Twin Star, is a pain to deal with. All I want is a replacement remote. They had to open a ticket and get my number and someone will call me back within 48 hours. REALLY!!!! Its that complicated? Northern Tool should reconsider working with this company. Its tarnishing Northern Tools name, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
November 24, 2013
By Margin
from Hartwell, GA
"I bought this to replace gas logs that we ended up never using. This unit is great! The thermostat works great to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. I love the remote, it makes using the heater just so easy. The fan is not very loud, so I don't have to adjust the volume on the TV. I really like that you can adjust the "flame" brightness. All in all I am very happy with this little heater."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
November 22, 2013
By amh2945
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"We just received our electric fire in perfect condition. My husband had the box opened and the fire in the fireplace within minutes. He was amazed at how REAL the fireplace looks. Also, the 5 Flame settings, and the option to have heat or not is perfect for us. It is so much nicer than looking at a dark fireplace or having to order and deal with burning wood. The temperature is 35F here today and rainy. We couldn't be happier."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Fireplace Insert

,
November 9, 2013
By apusch
from Cleveland, TN
"Bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. It gives off so much heat and is great for chilly mornings and cold nights. It runs fairly quiet as well and looks really good in the old fireplace!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Big Old Houses

,
November 8, 2013
By Kajeana
from Ohio
"This is Great! No fumes! I calulated the cost for electric in our town to be about 1 dollar for 8 hours of use! Formula - 1350Watts x 8 hours = 10800 divided by 1000 = 10.8. Take 10.8 x (cost of kwh where you live) .087 (where I live) = .94 cents.
Pulled the pocket doors shut and it boosted the heat up 6 degrees. That is in I believe a 400 sq ft room with 10 ft ceilings in a house built in 1877. We keep our radiator heat set at 68 and the temp went up to 74 in this room with a few hours. They must be used in stone or brick fireplaces."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Heat Source

,
October 31, 2013
By KEH1
from NJ
"I am going to be returning this it falls very short for a heat source. Unless you are sitting right in front of it you do not feel the heat. I love the look of the product but it does not help out for heat for me.
The dogs like it they want to lay right under it. Sorry I have to return this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy In And Easy Out

,
October 31, 2013
By Drake13
from Jonesboro, GA
"Using this to supplement heat pump when not using actual burning wood in the fire place. A great selection of choices for effects and the warm heat settings. Looks good too. Takes very little time to place, setup, plug-in and remotely operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking

,
October 3, 2013
By RB43
from Huntersville,NC
"I have only owned this for a week and it hasn't been cold enough to rate the heating part but as far as looks it is better than I expected. No problems setting it up and using the functions. I hope it is made to last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy!

,
September 17, 2013
By Lish
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this product in put in my wood burning stove fireplace insert. I use this frequently instead of burning wood to eliminate the dust and the clean up that comes with a wood burning stove. This puts out heat and gives a warm glow. This comes with a remote control that works well. I really enjoy this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Gordon30
from on Forge, Tennessee
"Purchased one for a log cabin tourist overnite rental fireplace in the Smoky Mountains. Guests just love it. Can be used without heat in summer for the fireplace atmosphere with such a realistic flame. Also provides supllemental heat if needed.
Loved it so much we bought 2 more for additional log cabins plus another 2 more for our Ohio farm fireplaces for a total of 5 so far.
A great look without the mess of ashes or the high cost of propane..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot beat it for the price.

,
December 1, 2012
By LKLster
from Texas
"We have had our unit for over a year now and are well pleased. The heat output is just right for us - it won't run you out of the room, but adds just enough to supplement the central heat. It looks great sitting in our small fireplace and even better after we added a screen in front.
You can get better, of course, but you'll spend a lot more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great present to fill old fireplace

,
November 12, 2012
By Neech
from Navare, FL
"Gave this as a present to my wife's grandparents, their fireplace was no longer in working order so we got this for them and they love it, it looks great and puts out a good amount of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good while they worked

,
October 22, 2012
By ngfcfgdnh
from Joppa, MD
"I purchased two of these for Christmas presents and they worked nicely. They have an attractive Faux flame and in the heat mode they will heat up a room. This October, however, I tried to turns our on and my sister tried to turn hers on and there was nothing, no flame or heat. They are still under warranty so I hope to get replacements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric log insert

,
October 8, 2012
By cassie
from Pell City, Alabama
"It was a little big for the space we had but with some miner adjustments to the space it fits nice.
It takes the chill out of our downstairs area fast and it is nice to look at as well. I love just letting the "wood" glow with the heater on.
This is the first week have had to really use it and it makes a cool day nice and cozy.
My children love and I love it for its cozy features and the warmth the insert puts out. Can't wait for more cool days!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI020ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So realistic!

,
September 19, 2012
By Sam2000
from Crystal, MN
"I thought the idea of electric logs was cheesy and they could only look cheap in a real fireplace. Boy, was I wrong! I got these after my co-workers raved about the log set and I am really impressed.
When set in the firebox, the "grate" on the unit looks like real metal. The logs have a really nice flame efect that lights up the back of the firebox as well as the logs. The logs have different settings to increase the glow and flicker of the "fire".
The only reason I gave it less than 5 stars is that the heater on the bottom hits the frame of my fireplace doors so if I really want to heat the room, I'll need to elevate the log set a bit. But the flame is so nice I'm ok if it ends up the way it is now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.