Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU

Item# 700069
Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Amps 12.5, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 120, Watts 1,350, Product Style Fireplace insert.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
56 of 62(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Review 1 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what I expected

,
October 16, 2014
By Maggiegirl1
from alpena, mi
"I was replacing an 19802 Montgomery Ward's electric fireplace insert. I am limited on size so this model fit the best. There does not seem to be much difference in the different levels on the ember bed. The pattern on the flames is very repetitive but it still better than the original which was real wood but had the bulb with the spinning aluminum top to replicate flames. the flames on the back of the fireplace was the best feature. I guess for the money it work ok.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what we want

,
September 25, 2014
By PatSCal
from S. California
"We wanted an electric fireplace insert that looks good. We were size restricted, so this fits fine. We brought cord in through the back of the unit, so it wouldn't show. We have not used it much as the weather has been warm, but we have tested it thoroughly. Heats well too. Remote easy to master."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected.

,
September 19, 2014
By Brian5112
from Wisconsin
"Looks really nice in our living room fireplace. The flame effect on the back of the fireplace is realistic and the heater takes the chill away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat

,
September 13, 2014
By LillyEmily
from NE
"I have literally stumbled onto this Duraflame product while trying to check options for electric fireplaces. I admit that this was very impulsive purchase that I fortunately do not regret at all. If is neat little thing that makes for a very romantic evenings. Works as advertised. Heat seems strong but did not really need it or used it much yet. Flames and set up is pretty convincing for the price. Notherntool.com is great company with great shipping. All in all, I am very happy. Price was very competitive.
Took one star off since I can not figure out how use the remote, and because I have it for a very short period of time. I am not able to comment on how long it will last. Appears sturdy, and we can only hope we will have it for a long time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even Better than Expected!

,
September 5, 2014
By gobblertales
from Lecanto, Florida
"We got the logs today so don't know what the future will bring for us with it but as of today I can tell you we love it !
We bought an older house with a small fireplace and did not want to be dealing with gutting in firewood each year (and the ash, soot, scorpions from the wood pile etc) and did not want to go through the expense of having the wood burning fireplace converted to gas. So, we decided to try this. We put it in our fireplace, turned it on, tested the heat and blower and all is just great. We got the remote which is just great (just remember to turn the unit on the "on" position in order for the remote to work) and had fun have the embers flicker and the flames (5 setting for the flames) and just was even better than we expected. We don't get much snow here in north central Florida but it can dip into the teens and certainly into the 20's. This will be just great for us! Looks great, works great ! Very pleased! (oh yes shipping from Northern Tool was fast too)
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the Fireplace - Company who makes them sucks.

,
December 12, 2013
By MMC22
from Colorado
"I bought this for atmosphere in my unused fireplace and I love the fireplace unit itself. I'd give it 5 stars. It looks realistic. I haven't used the heat part so don't know if its very efficient. The remote that came with it quit after 2 weeks. The company that makes this unit, Twin Star, is a pain to deal with. All I want is a replacement remote. They had to open a ticket and get my number and someone will call me back within 48 hours. REALLY!!!! Its that complicated? Northern Tool should reconsider working with this company. Its tarnishing Northern Tools name, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
November 24, 2013
By Margin
from Hartwell, GA
"I bought this to replace gas logs that we ended up never using. This unit is great! The thermostat works great to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. I love the remote, it makes using the heater just so easy. The fan is not very loud, so I don't have to adjust the volume on the TV. I really like that you can adjust the "flame" brightness. All in all I am very happy with this little heater."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
November 22, 2013
By amh2945
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"We just received our electric fire in perfect condition. My husband had the box opened and the fire in the fireplace within minutes. He was amazed at how REAL the fireplace looks. Also, the 5 Flame settings, and the option to have heat or not is perfect for us. It is so much nicer than looking at a dark fireplace or having to order and deal with burning wood. The temperature is 35F here today and rainy. We couldn't be happier."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Fireplace Insert

,
November 9, 2013
By apusch
from Cleveland, TN
"Bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. It gives off so much heat and is great for chilly mornings and cold nights. It runs fairly quiet as well and looks really good in the old fireplace!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Big Old Houses

,
November 8, 2013
By Kajeana
from Ohio
"This is Great! No fumes! I calulated the cost for electric in our town to be about 1 dollar for 8 hours of use! Formula - 1350Watts x 8 hours = 10800 divided by 1000 = 10.8. Take 10.8 x (cost of kwh where you live) .087 (where I live) = .94 cents.
Pulled the pocket doors shut and it boosted the heat up 6 degrees. That is in I believe a 400 sq ft room with 10 ft ceilings in a house built in 1877. We keep our radiator heat set at 68 and the temp went up to 74 in this room with a few hours. They must be used in stone or brick fireplaces."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Heat Source

,
October 31, 2013
By KEH1
from NJ
"I am going to be returning this it falls very short for a heat source. Unless you are sitting right in front of it you do not feel the heat. I love the look of the product but it does not help out for heat for me.
The dogs like it they want to lay right under it. Sorry I have to return this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy In And Easy Out

,
October 31, 2013
By Drake13
from Jonesboro, GA
"Using this to supplement heat pump when not using actual burning wood in the fire place. A great selection of choices for effects and the warm heat settings. Looks good too. Takes very little time to place, setup, plug-in and remotely operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking

,
October 3, 2013
By RB43
from Huntersville,NC
"I have only owned this for a week and it hasn't been cold enough to rate the heating part but as far as looks it is better than I expected. No problems setting it up and using the functions. I hope it is made to last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy!

,
September 17, 2013
By Lish
from Mooresville, NC
"I purchased this product in put in my wood burning stove fireplace insert. I use this frequently instead of burning wood to eliminate the dust and the clean up that comes with a wood burning stove. This puts out heat and gives a warm glow. This comes with a remote control that works well. I really enjoy this product."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Gordon30
from on Forge, Tennessee
"Purchased one for a log cabin tourist overnite rental fireplace in the Smoky Mountains. Guests just love it. Can be used without heat in summer for the fireplace atmosphere with such a realistic flame. Also provides supllemental heat if needed.
Loved it so much we bought 2 more for additional log cabins plus another 2 more for our Ohio farm fireplaces for a total of 5 so far.
A great look without the mess of ashes or the high cost of propane..
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot beat it for the price.

,
December 1, 2012
By LKLster
from Texas
"We have had our unit for over a year now and are well pleased. The heat output is just right for us - it won't run you out of the room, but adds just enough to supplement the central heat. It looks great sitting in our small fireplace and even better after we added a screen in front.
You can get better, of course, but you'll spend a lot more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Ambiance and Warmth to a Dull Apartment

,
November 24, 2012
By Peniki
from Fort Worth, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am so glad I waited to buy an electric fireplace! These faux logs add just what we needed to our mantel; it looks so real! And...the heater works great!
Love These Logs!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great present to fill old fireplace

,
November 12, 2012
By Neech
from Navare, FL
"Gave this as a present to my wife's grandparents, their fireplace was no longer in working order so we got this for them and they love it, it looks great and puts out a good amount of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good while they worked

,
October 22, 2012
By ngfcfgdnh
from Joppa, MD
"I purchased two of these for Christmas presents and they worked nicely. They have an attractive Faux flame and in the heat mode they will heat up a room. This October, however, I tried to turns our on and my sister tried to turn hers on and there was nothing, no flame or heat. They are still under warranty so I hope to get replacements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric log insert

,
October 8, 2012
By cassie
from Pell City, Alabama
"It was a little big for the space we had but with some miner adjustments to the space it fits nice.
It takes the chill out of our downstairs area fast and it is nice to look at as well. I love just letting the "wood" glow with the heater on.
This is the first week have had to really use it and it makes a cool day nice and cozy.
My children love and I love it for its cozy features and the warmth the insert puts out. Can't wait for more cool days!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.