Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Product Style Fireplace insert, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Amps 12.5, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Blower Included Yes, Watts 1,350, Thermostat Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, BTU Output 4,600, Remote Included Yes, Volts 120."
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (118 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
1
108 of 118(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 1 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fireplace Insert

,
March 16, 2016
By
from Spring Hill, FL
Fits the enclosure perfectly! Nice unit for master bedroom for cool winter nights in Florida!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Logs

,
March 8, 2016
By
from Louisiana
Logs looks great and realistic. They don't produce allot of heat so they won't warm a large area but should heat a small room. I bought them more for looks than a heat source.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skeptical at first

,
March 8, 2016
By
from Angola, NY
I originally purchased this to use in the basement bar area I am building. Since the progress was slow, I offered it to my son to use in his fireplace. He has been totally impressed with the heat and look of the unit. Keeps his apartment around 70 degrees. Hasn't run the furnace except when he is away. I was so impressed I bought another for my original project. Now am looking forward to a nice warm basement room/area without having to cut more ducts into the furnace.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased

,
March 7, 2016
By
from MN
I purchased this when it went on sale and because it had good reviews. I am pleased with the quality and the simulated flame effect. It provides some heat to warm up a cold room. The remote control is easy to use. The product is as good as I hoped for.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fireplace Insert!

,
February 28, 2016
By
from Fairfax, VA
I bought two when they were on sale. I am using one now in my cracked fireplace; it looks real and gives the ambiance of a wood burning fireplace. It also warms up the living room pretty well. No more chimney sweeping!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks Nice But Heat Output Is Not Great

,
February 27, 2016
By
from Gree, SC
I was thrilled with the looks of it in the fireplace but had to keep it up on high to get any heat in the room and then that wasn't great. Decided to return it because it would cost way too much money to use all of the time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GREAT!!!!

,
February 21, 2016
By
from Penna.
My expectations were not that high for this electric log unit. Not much for fake things. But I have to tell you that it is exactly as advertised and works great. Would buy again with no second thoughts.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fire place insert

,
February 21, 2016
By
from Panama City, Fl
My wife and I enjoyed the insert so much, we made a purchase of another for her sister. She loves it also. We all four would tell a friend about it and suggest they try it ..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Disappointed

,
February 10, 2016
By
from Memphis, TN
This item did not heat up my smallest room which is a 10x12. I would not recommend this item to anyone that is looking for good heat out-put. Now if they are looking for something that was pretty to give off an illusion of a fire this would be good.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric log

,
February 8, 2016
By
from boise idaho
I love this electric log insert!! I can't believe how
it looks like the real thing and the heater makes
it even more perfect. No more messy fireplace
just a beautiful warm, clean and awesome look!!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compromise!

,
February 7, 2016
By
from Fredericksburg, VA
This heating unit is just what the doctor ordered. We use it in our wood fireplace in the family room. It is just the right replacement for using wood, and much more flexible and economical than converting to gas. With the remote, thermostat, and realistic flames it takes the chill off the room and provides surprisingly good ambiance. The dogs used to avoid the fireplace and hearth because it was cold, now they sprawl in front of the fireplace. It is not a replacement for a furnace but does work well to make the family room cozy without the work of splitting and burning wood. I can easily remove it and burn actual wood whenever I want.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame electric log heater

,
January 30, 2016
By
from Rhode island
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is by far the best heater I've ever owned I have in my living room with a half wall dividing the kitchen from the living room and I'll tell you with in a couple of hours I would say the whole front of my house is nice and cozy I would recommend this to anyone and then I purchased I fire crackler little unit that makes this fireplace logset so real I'm very happy with this little heater and as of this wasn't enough after I purchased this unit went on sale twice each time $10 cheaper I called both times and Northern tool gave me the $10 credit twice no questions asked simply awesome thanks Northern Tool...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Toasty Without the Mess

,
January 29, 2016
By
from Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We've had our Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert for about three weeks and we couldn't be happier. We have a Kiva fireplace and the insert is the perfect size. It took only minutes to set up and it heats our entire living room. During nighttime use it looks very realistic, and we love the ease of having a remote.
The on line product pictures are an excellent representation of the insert in use.
We've had colder than usual temperatures overnight this winter and this electric log set keeps our living room warm and toasty without the mess of a real fire.
Albuquerque has so many no burn nights, besides the fact that a real fire creates such a mess, that we started looking for an alternative heat source for our room. We couldn't be happier.
We highly recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Logs

,
January 28, 2016
By
from Nashville, TN
I love the logs I purchased from Northern Tool. It gives a glowing effect that I was looking for and also puts out good heat ! I am very pleased with this product !
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
January 26, 2016
By
from Arizona
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
just the right size, and it was on sale!!
we have many "no burn days" here...and I was tired of the mess of real wood fires or even firelogs---this is perfect---the "look" of a fire----and no hassle!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit

,
January 25, 2016
By
from Kansas
Love this unit. It looks great and works great, whether for decoration (lights only) heat only, or combination
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
January 21, 2016
By
from Chattanooga, Tn
Beautiful flame, gives that cozy feeling I was looking for.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fireplace Effect!

,
January 20, 2016
By
from PA
Wanted the look and feel of a fireplace in our reading room. This does the trick perfectly. Gives the feel of a fireplace without the mess and draft. Does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for !

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Festus, Mo.
Bought flickering logs for Mom and Dad (upper 70s). They love it ! It fits in there fake stone fireplace perfectly ! They love the additional heat in there living room while watching TV. Mom says she finds herself watching the flickering flames instead of TV. Again........They Love It !!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
January 16, 2016
By
from Riverview, Fl
Out of box directly into fireplace. Plug into wall then turn on. It looks relatively real. For us the heat is a bonus.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.