Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Amps 12.5, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 120, Watts 1,350, Product Style Fireplace insert."
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (72 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
66 of 72(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 1 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nothing to installing

,
December 7, 2014
By TI193217
from onalaska tx
" Good shape when it arrived in box. plugged in and used remote to turn.
set it inside fireplace and it keeps me central heat from coming on very often, good heat and beautiful flame flashing against back wall.
I would and have recommend it to other people.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
December 6, 2014
By millie47
from Lexington, ky
" I love my electric logs and everyone that sees them think are real logs. The heat is very good. Heats my livingroom toastie. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little heater

,
December 5, 2014
By Gadget2940
from Orlando, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I used this for a faux stone fireplace I have built...LOVE it! I built the fireplace around the size of this unit, and it worked out GREAT! I will be using this on my screened in patio by the hot tub (I need to stop looking thru Home Magazines--gives me TOO many ideas!!) Looks AWESOME! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

,
December 4, 2014
By Boots01
from Eastern NC
" It fit beautifully in the existing fireplace, and gives off a wonderful heat with beautiful flames. We absolutely love it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert — 4600 BTU, 1350

,
November 29, 2014
By SM63
from Western MA
" This fireplace insert/heater is lovely! Works great and puts out great heat--warms up my living room nicely and looks fantastic. The flame effect looks wonderful, and the glowing embers of the "burning" logs is quite realistic and creates great ambience. The heater is very easy to use and set up and is very quiet while running. I love that it can be used with the heater on or off, as I enjoy having the fireplace effect often, but not always have heat blowing on us. I recommend this product highly for someone looking for a good-looking and workable electric fireplace insert. Just lovely! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
November 23, 2014
By Brani
from Houston, TX
" This is one great product, easy to instal and use. We have have in the fire place(it's not working, ok it's working but I am afraid of gas, so there..), I love the three seting for the flames, they look so real, it is very quiet when the fen is blowing. On the few cold days that we get here in TX al we have is that, no heater. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the fireplace

,
October 29, 2014
By SA1007
from Pigeon Forge, TN
" Electric fire logs offer the best of both world for our overnight rental cabins, give look of real fire, produces a sufficient amount of heat, and eliminates risk of injury from previous gas logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No more smoke!

,
October 27, 2014
By Flames
from Las Cruces, NM
" No more smoke or cleaning up ashes. Really heats up a room, but the fan is a little loud instead of a nice crackling fireplace. Overall, I am very satisfied with the purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT BUY

,
October 23, 2014
By CC1735
from WANCHESE N.C.
" I bought this to go along with the Duraflame rolling fireplace we bought last year.We have a 24" fireplace in our den and clean up is always a hassle,someopne has to tend to it,and the soot and ash that wafts through the house during the winter usage is anotheeer cleaning issue.Now we have heat on demand,no ash,soot,cleanup,just hit the remote and viola' heat and ambience.The fan is quiet,and the overall performance is a real value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first Duraflame electric log set insert

,
October 21, 2014
By KMT66
from BUFFALO
" Great experience with this product,I like the way It looks and the way you can control the flame and heat and the way It has enhanced the appearence of my fireplace and mantle. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what I expected

,
October 16, 2014
By Maggiegirl1
from alpena, mi
" I was replacing an 19802 Montgomery Ward's electric fireplace insert. I am limited on size so this model fit the best. There does not seem to be much difference in the different levels on the ember bed. The pattern on the flames is very repetitive but it still better than the original which was real wood but had the bulb with the spinning aluminum top to replicate flames. the flames on the back of the fireplace was the best feature. I guess for the money it work ok.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what we want

,
September 25, 2014
By PatSCal
from S. California
" We wanted an electric fireplace insert that looks good. We were size restricted, so this fits fine. We brought cord in through the back of the unit, so it wouldn't show. We have not used it much as the weather has been warm, but we have tested it thoroughly. Heats well too. Remote easy to master. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected.

,
September 19, 2014
By Brian5112
from Wisconsin
" Looks really nice in our living room fireplace. The flame effect on the back of the fireplace is realistic and the heater takes the chill away. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat

,
September 13, 2014
By LillyEmily
from NE
" I have literally stumbled onto this Duraflame product while trying to check options for electric fireplaces. I admit that this was very impulsive purchase that I fortunately do not regret at all. If is neat little thing that makes for a very romantic evenings. Works as advertised. Heat seems strong but did not really need it or used it much yet. Flames and set up is pretty convincing for the price. Notherntool.com is great company with great shipping. All in all, I am very happy. Price was very competitive.
Took one star off since I can not figure out how use the remote, and because I have it for a very short period of time. I am not able to comment on how long it will last. Appears sturdy, and we can only hope we will have it for a long time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even Better than Expected!

,
September 5, 2014
By gobblertales
from Lecanto, Florida
" We got the logs today so don't know what the future will bring for us with it but as of today I can tell you we love it !
We bought an older house with a small fireplace and did not want to be dealing with gutting in firewood each year (and the ash, soot, scorpions from the wood pile etc) and did not want to go through the expense of having the wood burning fireplace converted to gas. So, we decided to try this. We put it in our fireplace, turned it on, tested the heat and blower and all is just great. We got the remote which is just great (just remember to turn the unit on the "on" position in order for the remote to work) and had fun have the embers flicker and the flames (5 setting for the flames) and just was even better than we expected. We don't get much snow here in north central Florida but it can dip into the teens and certainly into the 20's. This will be just great for us! Looks great, works great ! Very pleased! (oh yes shipping from Northern Tool was fast too)
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the Fireplace - Company who makes them sucks.

,
December 12, 2013
By MMC22
from Colorado
" I bought this for atmosphere in my unused fireplace and I love the fireplace unit itself. I'd give it 5 stars. It looks realistic. I haven't used the heat part so don't know if its very efficient. The remote that came with it quit after 2 weeks. The company that makes this unit, Twin Star, is a pain to deal with. All I want is a replacement remote. They had to open a ticket and get my number and someone will call me back within 48 hours. REALLY!!!! Its that complicated? Northern Tool should reconsider working with this company. Its tarnishing Northern Tools name, in my opinion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
November 24, 2013
By Margin
from Hartwell, GA
" I bought this to replace gas logs that we ended up never using. This unit is great! The thermostat works great to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. I love the remote, it makes using the heater just so easy. The fan is not very loud, so I don't have to adjust the volume on the TV. I really like that you can adjust the "flame" brightness. All in all I am very happy with this little heater. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Solution

,
November 22, 2013
By amh2945
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
" We just received our electric fire in perfect condition. My husband had the box opened and the fire in the fireplace within minutes. He was amazed at how REAL the fireplace looks. Also, the 5 Flame settings, and the option to have heat or not is perfect for us. It is so much nicer than looking at a dark fireplace or having to order and deal with burning wood. The temperature is 35F here today and rainy. We couldn't be happier. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Fireplace Insert

,
November 9, 2013
By apusch
from Cleveland, TN
" Bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. It gives off so much heat and is great for chilly mornings and cold nights. It runs fairly quiet as well and looks really good in the old fireplace! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Big Old Houses

,
November 8, 2013
By Kajeana
from Ohio
" This is Great! No fumes! I calulated the cost for electric in our town to be about 1 dollar for 8 hours of use! Formula - 1350Watts x 8 hours = 10800 divided by 1000 = 10.8. Take 10.8 x (cost of kwh where you live) .087 (where I live) = .94 cents.
Pulled the pocket doors shut and it boosted the heat up 6 degrees. That is in I believe a 400 sq ft room with 10 ft ceilings in a house built in 1877. We keep our radiator heat set at 68 and the temp went up to 74 in this room with a few hours. They must be used in stone or brick fireplaces. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.