Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Product Style Fireplace insert, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Amps 12.5, Blower Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Watts 1,350, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Volts 120, Remote Included Yes."
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (107 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
99 of 107(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 21 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Log Set

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Kernersville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This electric log set is easy to setup and use. It heats my living room up and looks just beautiful. My pup even enjoys it! Thank you!!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater, Cool Concept

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Salt Lake City, UT
My parents bought this unit last year and loved it, but my house is open floor plan with vaulted ceilings. I wasn't sure this heater would work for my space, but we have so many "no burn" days that I thought it couldn't hurt to try in my wood fireplace. I only turn the heat element on in evenings (5pm-9pm) and this little heater can easily raise the temp in the house by 4-5 degrees and keep house warm overnight. It's so good that I have kept my thermostat at 66 degrees for well over a week; that's about 9 degrees lower than a usual winter month! The flickering log effect is really just a bonus; it's a solid little heater that looks cool in your house. Highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too noisy!

,
January 27, 2015
By
from Georgia
The product provides a fairlly realistic looking glowing fire, however, the fan for the heater is too loud and spoils the effect when you turn on the heat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Presentable Appearance, but....

,
January 26, 2015
By
from Michigan
doesn't heat as expected. I was expecting a little more heat for the room. It plays a selfish role. It looks good, but I think I need to add a krackle box for sound. The overall appearance is acceptable. It looks warm and friendly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Easy to instull,looks great at home

,
January 24, 2015
By
from Florida
It looks so good in my fire place,it looks real,I like it so much that I got a second one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect solution!

,
January 19, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Not only does this look great in my non-working fireplace, it heats up the room nicely. I couldn't be more pleased with it. Great value, too!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric fire place

,
January 18, 2015
By
from cocoa,fl
Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert, I ordered it on line after I started researching this one. I first found it at Sears i have ordered from Northern tool before so I checked the price and low and behold I got both items for the same price of just the heater. I received it when they said and there was no apparent damage. I live in FL. in a mobile home with a fire place which i don't use so i bought this one. It looks nice and it keeps my living room/dinning room pretty worm with the blower. I feel more at ease. I can just turn off or unplug and go to bed. It helps with not running the heat the whole time. Living in Fl one day it is heat the very next day the ac. I think you will enjoy this as I have.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duralame Electric Log Insert

,
January 8, 2015
By
from Iowa
This is a very good product for the money. The flame is very pleasant and it puts out more heat than I expected. The overall experience is very nice. The only drawback is that it is rather noisy when the heater is on, but overall a good product for the money.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Logs

,
January 7, 2015
By
from Austin, TX
Have had the unit for only a few weeks, but am pleased with the product. Looks very realistic setting in the fire place, especially with the flame effect lapping at the rear of the fire place. Heating a large family room (400 sq ft) with a 14 foot ceiling, so only intended to supplement central heat. Fan motor is very quiet. Great when you do not have time to build and enjoy a fire. Easy online purchase through Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

,
January 5, 2015
By
from Santa Fe, NM
Since my wife is allergic to smoke (and we already have a maintenance-free artificial Christmas tree and grass in the courtyard), I figutred . . . why not?! That, and I've shopped a lot through Northern and have ALWAYS had great results! The ONLY reason for 4 starts instead of 5 is that it would be really nice if this unit had the crackin' flame noise built in. Other than that, it's a perfect addition to our so far unused fireplace. (The wife loves it, too!)
Another thought - I'm not really tech-savvy, but it would be nice if someone would upload a video of this thing in action, instead of just still shots. It really is fantastic.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good heater

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Indianapolis
Makes a pleasing looking fake fire but doesn't put out enough heat in my opinion.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Item!

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Pennsylvania
Unpacked this product, plugged it in and bingo! we had heat! Has a remote control that has a 20" + range! I can even reach the whole way from the other end of the hallway. The remote controls the heat level all the way from high heat to no heat just the flames, the remote also adjusts how bright the flames are & also turns the fireplace on or off. Currently I have no problems with this fireplace.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing improvement

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Kentucky
Recently purchased a second home. This particular item, the electric fireplace insert, added a totally new dimension to my house particularly this time of year.
I love a roaring fire and you cannot tell the difference
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly as described

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Adairsville, GA
does what it should. Wife loves it. Would not hesitate to buy another.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4,600 BTU, 1,3

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Lebanon, TN
Very realistic. Very satisfied and would recommend to everyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nothing to installing

,
December 7, 2014
By
from onalaska tx
Good shape when it arrived in box. plugged in and used remote to turn.
set it inside fireplace and it keeps me central heat from coming on very often, good heat and beautiful flame flashing against back wall.
I would and have recommend it to other people.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
December 6, 2014
By
from Lexington, ky
I love my electric logs and everyone that sees them think are real logs. The heat is very good. Heats my livingroom toastie.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little heater

,
December 5, 2014
By
from Orlando, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I used this for a faux stone fireplace I have built...LOVE it! I built the fireplace around the size of this unit, and it worked out GREAT! I will be using this on my screened in patio by the hot tub (I need to stop looking thru Home Magazines--gives me TOO many ideas!!) Looks AWESOME!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

,
December 4, 2014
By
from Eastern NC
It fit beautifully in the existing fireplace, and gives off a wonderful heat with beautiful flames. We absolutely love it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert — 4600 BTU, 1350

,
November 29, 2014
By
from Western MA
This fireplace insert/heater is lovely! Works great and puts out great heat--warms up my living room nicely and looks fantastic. The flame effect looks wonderful, and the glowing embers of the "burning" logs is quite realistic and creates great ambience. The heater is very easy to use and set up and is very quiet while running. I love that it can be used with the heater on or off, as I enjoy having the fireplace effect often, but not always have heat blowing on us. I recommend this product highly for someone looking for a good-looking and workable electric fireplace insert. Just lovely!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.