Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Amps 12.5, Blower Included Yes, BTU Output 4,600, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Remote Included Yes, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 120, Watts 1,350, Product Style Fireplace insert."
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (67 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
61 of 67(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 21 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot beat it for the price.

,
December 1, 2012
By LKLster
from Texas
"We have had our unit for over a year now and are well pleased. The heat output is just right for us - it won't run you out of the room, but adds just enough to supplement the central heat. It looks great sitting in our small fireplace and even better after we added a screen in front.
You can get better, of course, but you'll spend a lot more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adds Ambiance and Warmth to a Dull Apartment

,
November 24, 2012
By Peniki
from Fort Worth, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am so glad I waited to buy an electric fireplace! These faux logs add just what we needed to our mantel; it looks so real! And...the heater works great!
Love These Logs!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great present to fill old fireplace

,
November 12, 2012
By Neech
from Navare, FL
"Gave this as a present to my wife's grandparents, their fireplace was no longer in working order so we got this for them and they love it, it looks great and puts out a good amount of heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good while they worked

,
October 22, 2012
By ngfcfgdnh
from Joppa, MD
"I purchased two of these for Christmas presents and they worked nicely. They have an attractive Faux flame and in the heat mode they will heat up a room. This October, however, I tried to turns our on and my sister tried to turn hers on and there was nothing, no flame or heat. They are still under warranty so I hope to get replacements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric log insert

,
October 8, 2012
By cassie
from Pell City, Alabama
"It was a little big for the space we had but with some miner adjustments to the space it fits nice.
It takes the chill out of our downstairs area fast and it is nice to look at as well. I love just letting the "wood" glow with the heater on.
This is the first week have had to really use it and it makes a cool day nice and cozy.
My children love and I love it for its cozy features and the warmth the insert puts out. Can't wait for more cool days!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So realistic!

,
September 19, 2012
By Sam2000
from Crystal, MN
"I thought the idea of electric logs was cheesy and they could only look cheap in a real fireplace. Boy, was I wrong! I got these after my co-workers raved about the log set and I am really impressed.
When set in the firebox, the "grate" on the unit looks like real metal. The logs have a really nice flame efect that lights up the back of the firebox as well as the logs. The logs have different settings to increase the glow and flicker of the "fire".
The only reason I gave it less than 5 stars is that the heater on the bottom hits the frame of my fireplace doors so if I really want to heat the room, I'll need to elevate the log set a bit. But the flame is so nice I'm ok if it ends up the way it is now."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fireplace

,
August 20, 2012
By enf123
from Jacksonville, FL
"Bought this after renovating a 100 year old home. I have a small box fireplace and would never ever put a real fire in it. I wanted something that looked like real logs just for show. This insert turned out nicely. I like the look with it off, the flames and heat are a bonus when it gets cold outside! The only drawback was having to pay an electrician to put an outlet box in the fire place so the cord wouldn't show. All and all it was worth the price and I am very pleased with the presentation."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
January 18, 2012
By cwalker733
from Pennsylvania
"I bought this item for my in-laws at Christmas. Ordered it through Northern and received a sale price and free shipping, doesn't get better than that. Quite nice - and compact. It gives a very nice fireplace effect coming from a small unit. The heating element is very powerful and warms up the room quite fast. My in-laws said it was the best gift they ever got!! I thought it was such a nice gift we bought another for a family member. You won't be sorry - very nicely made. Remote control is a bonus."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for the price

,
January 16, 2012
By HappyinMD
from Maryland
"I bought this to replace a "no heat-flame only" unit. I am very satisfied with its heating ability. The flame is somewhat realalistic. The fan is not real noisey when heater is running. Love that is has a thermostat and remote. Really good deal for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log/Heater Insert = AWESOME!

,
January 16, 2012
By VAStateOfMind
from Alexandria, VA
"My wife and I have kept a wrought iron holder for eight candle pillars as a fireplace insert in recent years, however, we've also been mulling over the installation of a dedicated natural gas fireplace insert for some time. In searching the internet for just such a product, I came across this Duraflame Electric Log Insert at Northern Tool & Equipment. On a whim, we decided to give it a try, IF ONLY because NT&E had the BEST price by $60 on any of its competition, and NT&E had it shipped to us within only a couple of days.
Since I only expected an LED-underlit fake log with some "flames" projected by internal mirrors, I must tell you that the build of the unit AND the quality of the "fire" FAR exceeded our expectations. The unit is very quiet, unless you turn on the built-in heater, and even then the heater makes only a minimal amount of background noise (no more than you'd find on a blower insert on any wood-burning fireplace). Even though we didn't need the built-in heater in our living room, we did switch it on several times over the holiday season and it definitely warms up the immediate room (though I would count on it only as supplemental, and not primary, heat).
The glowing ember effects of the log and the projected fire effect is what truly surprised me -- as some other reviewers indicate here, if you have a darker, soot-stained (or even black) backdrop in your fireplace, the fire effect will be heightened even more, but it is nonetheless impressive. One tiny caveat -- the flame effect is harder to detect if you have direct daylight or sunlight shining on your fireplace in the daytime (if you plan to enjoy this throughout the day). But in the evening, the ember/fire effects are uniformly gorgeous -- we've used the unit EVERY day since purchasing it in early December 2011, and have spent much more time sitting around our fireplace because of it.
If you are tired of the decorative candle pillars, or don't want to invest several thousand dollars in a dedicated natural gas log in your fireplace, I heartily and STRONGLY recommend the purchase of this Duraflame Electric Log/Heater unit -- we are beyond pleased with our purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice heater

,
January 11, 2012
By Anonymous
from Lytle, TX
"I bought this model based on comments from other owners and I was very happy that I did. This heater will take the chill from a 10 X 14 sized room. The fan runs quietly while the embers display reflects against the back of the fireplace. The effect of the display is remarkable. I've used the lighting feature without the heater on several occasions, just to liven up the room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

L.F.

,
December 11, 2011
By LFred
from Houston, Texas
"I had been wanting something to put in my Ben Franklin Fireplace/Stove. The firebox size is fairly small. I read all the reviews and decided that this would serve my purpose. I found the unit at a local location. When I first plugged it in it did not come on at all. I read the manual and it said to unplug and wait 5 minutes. I did and it started up. The flame and ember effect is very good. People do need to understand that the heat function is for the most part to use as supplemental heat, and it does a good job at that. The room I have it in is 400 square feet, so I just turn it on just to add a little extra heat to the existing heat in the room. I am pleased with it, so I got what I was expecting ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT INSERT FOR ANYONE

,
December 1, 2011
By Anonymous
from COLORADO
"THIS WAS MUCH ANTICIPATED AND WHEN IT ARRIVED IT WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. PRODUCES HEAT AND LOOKS REAL. THIS IS A WONDERFUL FEATURE AND VERY HAPPY WITH THE LOOK OF REAL FLAMES. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT PRICE FROM NORTHERN TOOL. ALL YOU DO IS TAKE IT OUT OF THE BOX AND PLUG IT IN. I DID PUT A BRICK UNDER IT TO RAISE IT HIGHER AND LOOKS AWESOME."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

,
November 30, 2011
By NoGood
from Phoenix AZ
"This product broke down the next day!
It did not make any sounds like one reviewers video showed. The flame is dull. I expected it to brighter. I plugged it in the day I recieved and and when I went to use the heater the next morning it died! Not worth the money!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I had expected!

,
October 24, 2011
By Runtymom
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Owning a soapstone woodstove and heating with wood I am hard to please when it comes to "faux" fireplace items. I own an electric wood stove and love the look but was not happy with the heat distributed for the amount of electric consumed. This Duraflame fireplace insert is way more efficient than the full size electric wood stove. It turns on and off with the thermostat which was the big issue with the other item. The room it is in is a large living area with a real fireplace that we no longer use. The room is 25 x 15 and this insert has kept it warm without running constantly and without needing to turn on the heat pump in this damp fall weather. What I need this insert to do is help to keep this room warm in the dead of winter while the wood stove is busy heating the rest of the home. This room is on the north side, winds hit it constantly and it has many windows. Its always chilly. Not with this little insert running! And as long as you get a can of the high temp black paint and make sure your fireplace is clean and black the faux fire looks real against the freshly painted brick. Win-Win situation! I am going to purchase a second one for my daughter's home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these logs!!!

,
October 19, 2011
By Mother
from Pilot Mtn, NC
"Love, love these logs! I bought them as a gift for my daughter to put into her fireplace replacing a set that didn't produce heat. They are soooo real looking including the flame looks soooo real! They produce a great heat source from the bottom with the blower allowing heat to rise and heat the entire room and making it so cozy. She just loved them and I am #1 Mom. What a deal! Thanks so much!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fireplace log set

,
October 17, 2011
By pjhduramax
from Morganton, NC
"This electric log set looks very good in fireplace and looks real. heater works very well I have no complaints!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Quality Item at a Great Price!

,
September 26, 2011
By twopurringcats
from Burton, Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm really thrilled with my purchase of this Duraflame Log Insert for my old fireplace, it looks and acts just perfect. The heat is just fine, lighting is clearly visible in daylight or night. After looking over all the other units for sale, I settled on this one, and am I ever glad that I did! It looks even better than it does in the photos, and my cats like it too. This will be perfect for taking the edge off the chill in my living room this winter season (I live in the snow belt of Ohio)."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Short clip of fireplace in action.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
June 7, 2011
By RichardC60
from Arizona
"I have a stone fireplace in my family room that has just sat there since the house was built over 17 years ago. It was originally set up for gas, but where I live, we use propane tanks not natural gas. Well, a gas fireplace log set would just suck up propane from our tank, so we never did anything with the fireplace. We eventually found this electric log set on the internet. When search price comparisons were done, Northern
Tool and Equipment came up as the most reasonable in price. Their service was exceptional. The product is great. The embers look real due to new LED technology that makes the embers brighten and dim like a real fire and the flame effect looks almost like a real fire. The heater takes the chill off our 400 square foot family room on cool mornings. We could not ask for a better faux fire except for the real thing. Thank you Northern Tool and Equipment for being so easy to order from and with such a prompt delivery of a great product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bobbi

,
April 15, 2011
By BMT5
from Billings, MT
"Just received my DuraFlame Fireplace Insert, and I am so well pleased with the unit, I really recommend it to anyone thinking about buying one. It is so realistic both in the looks of the overall unit, the lighted logs, and the flame is so real like! I am now building my own fireplace hearth unit to house my insert, and can't wait to really sit down to enjoy watching it 'burn'! It gives off ample heat also to enjoy. The price of the unit was so reasonable, I did a lot of shopping around, and Northern Tool came through with everything that I was looking for. Their service and correspondence and reliability are tops!! I will continue to do business with Northern Tool for all those reasons. You can't go wrong with this DuraFlame Fireplace Insert !!!! You'll be pleased ! I sure am !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.