Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

"Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"

Item# 700069
"Ever wish that you could get rid of the smoky, ashy aspects of your wood-burning fireplace without losing its warmth and comforting ambient light With this efficient electric log set, you can. Producing 4600 BTU, it is more than capable of effectively warming a 400 sq. ft. area thanks to the included blower. The flame effect can be enjoyed with or without turning on the heat. A remote control makes the package even more convenient. Product Style Fireplace insert, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/2 x 8 1/3 x 12, Flame Dimmer Switch Yes, Amps 12.5, Heating Capability sq. ft. 400, Log Set Included Yes, Blower Included Yes, Watts 1,350, Thermostat Included Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, BTU Output 4,600, Remote Included Yes, Volts 120."
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (118 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
1
108 of 118(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Review 21 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric fireplace

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Alamo, CA
I replaced a gas fireplace with this unit. It works well and puts out enough heat for my small family room. The remote control is handy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fireplace insert

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Florida
I am very happy with the fireplace insert that was purchased in December. It was very easy to drop right into the existing fireplace. The logs and flames are realistic looking and the heat came in handy for the week of cold we had!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good for what it is

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Hastings Mn
We wanted something to add a little warmth and visual candy to our old fireplace until we have it rebuilt.
Pros
Easy to install
Looks pretty nice
Easy to use
It does warm the room
Remote works well, even through fireplace doors.
Cons
Had to put a couple of bricks under it to lift it up so it would direct the warm air into the room better.
Fan is just a little noisy.
All in all a nice little unit. Glad we bought it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric Log Set

,
January 2, 2016
By
from South Dakota
Extremely happy with the electric log set we purchased for our son as a Christmas gift for his "un usable" brick fireplace. The unit gives off a realistic glow and also heats the living area nicely. I would recommend this log set to my friends, and actually am thinking of getting one for myself for the basement....
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

,
November 4, 2015
By
from South Jersey, NJ
I love this heater. I put it in my livingroom in a faux fireplace i have. I just bought the home and was looking to make it very homey. It does that. The only think i wish is that is made a fire noise but hey other than that it makes the living area very tosty
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert

,
October 19, 2015
By
from Clearwater
Nice insert... gives warm glow to room; light/flames look almost real. Easy insert into existing fireplace and now now more sweeping - soot - dirt - burnt smell in the house. Haven't used heat much yet, but do believe it will heat living room area nicely. Price was reasonable and easy to use with remote.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product easy to use.

,
March 24, 2015
By
from Nickel and Dimes
We bought this insert as a replacement and it actually works better than our original. Efficient and saves us on $$$.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric log set

,
February 21, 2015
By
from orland,calif.
keeps my room warm and relaxing to look at i like the remote so i don't have to get up from my chair
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It doesn't heat the room, fast but it does heat it

,
February 12, 2015
By
from Cary, NC
I bought this because the electric bill in my rented townhouse in the winter is doubling the average cost for the other 3 reasons. The system heats the upstairs fine, but the thermostat is downstairs. I'm asking it to heat a whole floor (600-700 sqft) when it's just rated for 400, so it's doing all I can ask for.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and easy to use

,
February 6, 2015
By
from Lowell,MI
We had a vent free gas fireplace,our log set went bad and to replace the log set cost more than what we paid for the unit. I replaced the logs with the Duraflame Electric log set. We have the look of a real fire and heat.
Great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aesthetically Pleasing and Warm

,
February 4, 2015
By
from Dallas, TX
WE HAVE A LATE NINTEENTH CENTURY COAL FIREPLACE WHICH WAS NOT USEABLE BUT THIS HEATER FITS THERE LOOKS NICE AND PUTS OUT A RESPECTABLE AMOUNT OF HEAT IN OUR LIVING ROOM
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Log Set

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Kernersville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This electric log set is easy to setup and use. It heats my living room up and looks just beautiful. My pup even enjoys it! Thank you!!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater, Cool Concept

,
January 30, 2015
By
from Salt Lake City, UT
My parents bought this unit last year and loved it, but my house is open floor plan with vaulted ceilings. I wasn't sure this heater would work for my space, but we have so many "no burn" days that I thought it couldn't hurt to try in my wood fireplace. I only turn the heat element on in evenings (5pm-9pm) and this little heater can easily raise the temp in the house by 4-5 degrees and keep house warm overnight. It's so good that I have kept my thermostat at 66 degrees for well over a week; that's about 9 degrees lower than a usual winter month! The flickering log effect is really just a bonus; it's a solid little heater that looks cool in your house. Highly recommended!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too noisy!

,
January 27, 2015
By
from Georgia
The product provides a fairlly realistic looking glowing fire, however, the fan for the heater is too loud and spoils the effect when you turn on the heat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Presentable Appearance, but....

,
January 26, 2015
By
from Michigan
doesn't heat as expected. I was expecting a little more heat for the room. It plays a selfish role. It looks good, but I think I need to add a krackle box for sound. The overall appearance is acceptable. It looks warm and friendly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Easy to instull,looks great at home

,
January 24, 2015
By
from Florida
It looks so good in my fire place,it looks real,I like it so much that I got a second one.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect solution!

,
January 19, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Not only does this look great in my non-working fireplace, it heats up the room nicely. I couldn't be more pleased with it. Great value, too!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dura Flame electric fire place

,
January 18, 2015
By
from cocoa,fl
Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert, I ordered it on line after I started researching this one. I first found it at Sears i have ordered from Northern tool before so I checked the price and low and behold I got both items for the same price of just the heater. I received it when they said and there was no apparent damage. I live in FL. in a mobile home with a fire place which i don't use so i bought this one. It looks nice and it keeps my living room/dinning room pretty worm with the blower. I feel more at ease. I can just turn off or unplug and go to bed. It helps with not running the heat the whole time. Living in Fl one day it is heat the very next day the ac. I think you will enjoy this as I have.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duralame Electric Log Insert

,
January 8, 2015
By
from Iowa
This is a very good product for the money. The flame is very pleasant and it puts out more heat than I expected. The overall experience is very nice. The only drawback is that it is rather noisy when the heater is on, but overall a good product for the money.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Duraflame Electric Log Set Insert - 4600 BTU, 1350 Watts, Model# DFI021ARU"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Electric Logs

,
January 7, 2015
By
from Austin, TX
Have had the unit for only a few weeks, but am pleased with the product. Looks very realistic setting in the fire place, especially with the flame effect lapping at the rear of the fire place. Heating a large family room (400 sq ft) with a 14 foot ceiling, so only intended to supplement central heat. Fan motor is very quiet. Great when you do not have time to build and enjoy a fire. Easy online purchase through Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.