Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

Item# 700093
"This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light provides powerful warmth in a durable, easy-to-adjust design. Two heat settings provide intense and efficient heating - great for adding comfort and reducing heating bills. The 90 vertical tilting arm allows for easy positioning. Plus, with a sturdy metal housing, this rugged heater is made to last - ideal for unheated shops and garages. BTU Output 5,200, Product Type Radiant heater, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Heat Settings 2, Power Cord ft. 6, Watts 1,500, Volts 120, Product Style Permanent mount. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage"
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (77 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
1
70 of 77(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Review 21 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Toasty

,
November 3, 2009
By
from Newport Beach, CA
Now, I might live in Southern California, but it does actually get cold here. My shop is small (700 sf) and is completely at mercy to the outside temperature. It's hotter than you know what in the summer and the sun barely hits it in the winter. The summer temps I can deal with, but the winter temps and this ole creaky body needs some warmth... Well, a forced air space heater just doesn't work for me. My 220v is very limited and totally tapped out. 110v space heaters are my only option. I bought one of these Workshop Heaters last year (along with a smaller one) and they impressed the heck out of me! After using it for a while, I decided to buy another one, but by that time, NT had discontinued them. I was bummed! BUT!.... they just had their Heater Sale and I stocked up plenty on a plethora of this type of heater including another one of these babies! I will be toasty this winter for sure!
The pull string is a little funky, but mine is wall mounted not ceiling mounted. I wish the light was on a different switch, but I'm over that. On high, this keeps me warm 10 feet away. I actually have it pointing at my table saw since I spend a lot of time just on that machine. I got mine on sale, but it's worth the non-sale price!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Falmouth, KY
I purchased this heater for friends in Kentucky who run an animal rescue farm. This heater was perfect to new born goats in a secured area in the barn in the winter, and worked perfectly for keeping them warm while the mothers had to be away for short periods of time.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Heater

,
September 1, 2010
By
from Seattle, WA
I purchased this heater for my new work shed. It was easy to mount, and I am very pleased with how wide the field of heat is. My shed is very well ventilated, so regular space heaters just wouldn’t cut it. They heat the air and that heat goes right out my ridge vent. The halogen element on this heater warms your body, not the air, and even though my ceiling is just over 8 feet high, it has plenty of power to keep me toasty warm while sitting at my work bench. Being on the ceiling It also has the advantage of being out of the way. No need to worry about tripping, or knocking it over. Great product from a great retailer. Thanks Northern Tool!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater

,
December 27, 2014
By
from Central MN
Heater does what it suppose to do, it heats good. I use it in my garage and leave it on the floor fairly close to where I'm working. Works great for melting snow & ice off my snow removal equipment. No noise from heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenhouse perfect

,
October 18, 2014
By
from Murfreesboro, TN
This is just what my wife will need to help aid against freezing temperatures in her greenhouse this winter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good heater

,
January 11, 2012
By
from Seattle, WA
This heater heats my one-car-garage workshop in Seattle quite quickly and makes it comfortable for woodworking. Although it is just a one-car garage, the ceiling is very high, so I mounted it securely on a wall about eight feet above the floor. As far as
I am concerned, it is a perfect cure for a too-cold workspace. It is also very reasonably priced.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Chill Off

,
January 11, 2012
By
from Tucson, AZ
I ordered this heater to warm my backporch where my grandsons workout on the heavy bag. The item was delivered as promised and even the box was in great shape. The heater instructions were clear and detailed. Installation, as outlined in the directions, was a breeze (and I'm no handyman). I have it installed on a ceiling beam on the porch and it provides enough warmth to keep the 15'x 20' area comfortably warm, but not too much so that working out is uncomfortable. The heater is of high quality, does what it is advertised to do and works great. I'm going to buy another one for my garage!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good workshop heater

,
November 24, 2010
By
Heater is very light, easy to install and works great for local heating
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not too bad for the price

,
November 3, 2009
By
from monticello, mn
I bought it to put in my garage but would probably need two to make it really warm. It keeps it pretty comfortable while working in there. Saves alot of space by being able to mount it on the ceiling.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heats amazing....but

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Idaho
This heater heats great for a small room or directly where your needing heat. love the light that's built in and the two heat settings. Great heater for the price. but they could have constructed the product differently. Most the body is flimsy and so is the mounting. Had to remount it a couple of times due to it falling when pulling the on/off string.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GARAGE HEATER

,
January 10, 2012
By
from Burlington, WA
These heaters work fantastic!!!!!! I purchased 2 of these to keep my 22X22 garage warm during the winter months. I'm finding that I only need to run 1 of them to do so. It has been a pretty mild winter in Western Washington, so I expect to need both should we get some real cold weather. I got these on sale and couldn't be happier with them. I recommend them to everyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice value.

,
January 10, 2012
By
from St. Louis, MO
I use this heater mounted to the ceiling in the basement(bracket lines up with floor joists) and it's pointed at the couch. Our basement is unheated so it's about 10 degrees colder in the winter, but with this heater on it's comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a whole room or garage unless you're standing under it, but for a workbench or anywhere you can be within 6 feet of it, it is great! The light is pointless--It is ALWAYS ON if the heater is on. I had to remove the bulb(what a pain) to make it off with the heater being on. Overall for the price it is excellent, and quiet too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater!

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
I bought a pair of these for my shop. They are a perfect augmentation to my main heat source. They will silently heat a good sized area wherever they are pointed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased in SC

,
January 9, 2012
By
from South Carolina
I purchased this heater for my husband as a Christmas present and both of us are pleased with it! I was happy about the pricing (less than a lot of other vendors) since it was a gift and he is extremely pleased with the product itself. He mounted it to a beam next to his work area in the shop and it swivels to the position he wants. The heater works extremely well; the light is so-so but if this is in your garage or shop, you probably won't be depending on this light as your only source. This item was purchased for the heater and it works great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good heater

,
January 9, 2012
By
from central Oklahoma
Overall a good heater for a limited space. Quiet and effective. Easy to install and very adjustable. I have large covered porches and purchased two of these to use over my favorite outside seats. The only thing I didn't like was not having a switch to separately control the light. If you don't want the light on you have to remove the bulb.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good inexpensive heater

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Knoxville, TN
This product does what it is supposed to do and is easy to install.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Missouri
Ended up buying 4 of these heaters for a 2 1/2 car garage. This is the only source of heat. I put a fan above them to circulate the heat and it does good. They are about 8 foot from the floor and you can easily feel the radiant warmth. Only bad thing to say is no thermostat although they sell plug in t-stats.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

What you pay for

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Kenosha, WI
I bought this on sale. Easy to install. Doubtful if it will heat your whole garage but if you stand underneath it, it should warm you up a bit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great heater

,
December 28, 2011
By
from Sioux Falls, SD
Great heater. It arrived well-packed.
It heats my 32x24 garage nicely.
One word of advice, use your own mounting hardware as the stuff provided in the box snaps in half midway through installation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

INFRARED HEATERS

,
October 10, 2011
By
from Eastern Washinton
These heaters are doing what our customers need, providing a simple solution to providing some warmth and not costing much ot operate
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.