Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

Item# 700093
"This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light provides powerful warmth in a durable, easy-to-adjust design. Two heat settings provide intense and efficient heating - great for adding comfort and reducing heating bills. The 90 vertical tilting arm allows for easy positioning. Plus, with a sturdy metal housing, this rugged heater is made to last - ideal for unheated shops and garages. BTU Output 5,200, Product Type Radiant heater, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Heat Settings 2, Power Cord ft. 6, Watts 1,500, Volts 120, Product Style Permanent mount. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage"
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (78 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
1
71 of 78(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Review 21 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Heater!

,
December 28, 2014
By
from Fosston, MN
Bought this heater for to make my time spent in the garage this winter more tolerable. I have it suspended above my bench and am surprised at how much heat this little slugger puts out. The featured light function doesn't add much to blaze the T8-32 Quad fluorescent set-up suspended above my bench, but what I was after was on-demand heat - and this heater produces!
It's small size is also a plus, taking very little room while doing a pretty good job of causing me to lose layers I clothed myself in when heading out to the stand-alone garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater

,
December 27, 2014
By
from Central MN
Heater does what it suppose to do, it heats good. I use it in my garage and leave it on the floor fairly close to where I'm working. Works great for melting snow & ice off my snow removal equipment. No noise from heater.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

heat

,
December 27, 2014
By
from columbus wis
Good unit for the price, did exactly what I wanted it to do. The only downfall is the light is on when the heater is on which isn't a bad thing just not necessary. will be taking the bulb out & problem is fixed.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
December 25, 2014
By
from Lincoln, NE
Great Heater for garage or places like that. Easy to mount and works great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spot on Heater

,
December 3, 2014
By
from Dallas, Texas
We use these heaters to provide heat for our employees thru out our shop. Since they are radiant heaters they work just like the suns rays, warming what they touch. This means they not only warm our employees but also anything that is around them that they are working on...compressors, tools, ect. Bottom line is more productivity on very cold days. The plus is the additional work light that is also on the heater. We build a custom work stand for the heaters so they are very portable and can be placed in the best possible position to maximize there heat output. Plus, 120 volt, plug and play...Great Product
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Halogen Li

,
November 16, 2014
By
from Garden City MI
Had one before and used for many years. Great for working in garage in cold weather. Product heats up quickly and keeps the area warm to work without gloves.
Really no downside to product as far as I am concerned.
Going to garage to work now!
Thanks for such a good product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

PROFUSION HEATER

,
November 14, 2014
By
from ST LOUIS
INSTALLED EASY, HEATS THE GARAGE UP GREAT. DO NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS OVERLOADING CIRCUITS.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad switch

,
November 13, 2014
By
from Utah
After less than one year the switch failed. I rewired it to be on when plugged in. I had to get on a bucket and plug it in the ceiling outlet. When I rewired it I was not impressed with the construction. The plastic parts around the switch were cracked and heat stressed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenhouse perfect

,
October 18, 2014
By
from Murfreesboro, TN
This is just what my wife will need to help aid against freezing temperatures in her greenhouse this winter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good infrared heater

,
December 2, 2013
By
from Huntsville, AL
Two heat settings, a small light which reminds you the heater is on. I use mine in my wood shop and my lab.
Works great, it's infrared so it heats me and not the air, so when really cold the side away from the heater is cooler, but just the way infrared heaters work. Variable mounting options, not the most substantial, but you really only mount it once. For the price is a good deal.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

stick with propane

,
December 2, 2013
By
from Seattle
Mounted easily enough, BUT:
1) Unless you have a dedicated 220 line, forget it...turn one light on, or turn on the radio, and pffft!...breaker pops.
2) Like others have mentioned, the only heated spot is directly beneath the unit. If you move around (like working on a restoration like I am), then you're rarely under it....freezing (literally) cold everywhere else in the garage, except for directly below this thing.
I was so disgusted that, not having kept the original box, I simply dumped it into the metal recycling bin...best place for it. Then I pulled out my trusty propane tank, attached the heater unit, and within minutes, the entire garage was toasty
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-21points
19out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best garage heater

,
November 25, 2013
By
from Wilbraham, ma
this my 3rd heater of this kind. works wonderful to heat my garage when needed. also have one in my workshop. wouldn't be without it. very dependable for the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PROFUSION CEILING MOUNTED ELECTRIC HEATER

,
September 18, 2013
By
from windsor, virginia
EASY TO INSTALL IN GARAGE WORKSHOP. PROVIDED DEDICATED 12-2 ELECTRLIAL LINE FROM SUB PANEL. KEPT WORKSHOP COMFORTABLE IN WINTER. WAS SO PLEASED ORDER AND INSTALLED A SECOND ONE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF WORKSHOP USING ANOTHER DEDICATED 12-2 CIRCUIT FROM SUB PANEL. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR ANY WORK SPACE. DOES NOT GET REALLY WARM, BUT TAKES THE CHILL OUT OF THE SIR.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok, but not for the north

,
February 4, 2013
By
from Upstate NY
I bought this heater for my insulated 22x22 work room in my unheated garage. I had an old propane that really heated up the place but I wanted something on the ceiling out of the way. The heater is good quality and you should be able to figure out the directions (common sense). But for my purposes it did not get the job done. I think it is just too cold up here and the heater does not blow air around. Beneath the heater is ok, but a few feet away, not much. To their credit Northern Tool is taking it back. I will try a more powerful propane.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

,
January 23, 2013
By
from Corinth, TX
The bracket are very weak, I wanted to mount over a window but had to mount to the ceiling due to the bracket. Have a 15 X 25 garage, have two of them and they keep the garage fairly warm but have to turn on a third heater that I have it is a floor model to really keep it warm. Wish they would make a switch to turn off the light as sometimes I need it and sometimes I don't.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PROS AND CONS

,
January 11, 2013
By
from CALIFORNIA
PRO:
The heater itself seems to work very well. We use it over a shipping bench in our warehouse. Like another reviewer said we did take out the light bulb as it was more of a distraction than a help.
CON:
The mounting bracket is very flimsy. It has an option for a center swivel bolt which is useless as the bracket can not support the weight. We tried mounting it with the dual mounting holes provided and it will work if you do not plan on adjusting the direction of the unit very often.
We are a fabrication shop so we just made a reinforcement bracket which seems to have solved the issue.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Heat, Small Package

,
December 17, 2012
By
from AR
Bought this little heater for my garage. I work on motorcycles all year and this makes it much more comfortable in the cold months. I mounted it on the ceiling and it really heats up my two car garage. Perfect for my application!
Would definately buy another if needed!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
21out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 7, 2012
By
from Mahopac, NY
This heater is just great. I mounted it in my garage on the center beam that runs across the two car garage. It swivels 360 degrees and tilts up and down so you can place the heat where you need it. Nice and quiet and works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radiant Heat!

,
October 31, 2012
By
from West VA
For those in my situation--lots of shop space, but no practical way to seal or insulate said space--this is an excellent choice. I simply install them at various work stations and turn them on at need. This obviates the need to heat the entire space, which would be basically impossible anyway. But where I need one, the radiant heat makes a big difference in the cold! It is a bit of a hassle to install in some places, but this gives a great value.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
October 17, 2012
By
from Holly, Mi
Bought 1 2 yrs ago and it worked great,
I bought 2 more on sale.I took the light bulb out, so I can use heater with out the light.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.