Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"

Item# 700093
"This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light provides powerful warmth in a durable, easy-to-adjust design. Two heat settings provide intense and efficient heating - great for adding comfort and reducing heating bills. The 90 vertical tilting arm allows for easy positioning. Plus, with a sturdy metal housing, this rugged heater is made to last - ideal for unheated shops and garages. BTU Output 5,200, Watts 1,500, Heat Settings 2, Power Cord ft. 6, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Volts 120, Product Type Radiant heater, Product Style Permanent mount. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage"
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
1
57 of 63(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Review 21 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PROS AND CONS

,
January 11, 2013
By PPS1
from CALIFORNIA
" PRO:
The heater itself seems to work very well. We use it over a shipping bench in our warehouse. Like another reviewer said we did take out the light bulb as it was more of a distraction than a help.
CON:
The mounting bracket is very flimsy. It has an option for a center swivel bolt which is useless as the bracket can not support the weight. We tried mounting it with the dual mounting holes provided and it will work if you do not plan on adjusting the direction of the unit very often.
We are a fabrication shop so we just made a reinforcement bracket which seems to have solved the issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Heat, Small Package

,
December 17, 2012
By WrenchMonkey
from AR
" Bought this little heater for my garage. I work on motorcycles all year and this makes it much more comfortable in the cold months. I mounted it on the ceiling and it really heats up my two car garage. Perfect for my application!
Would definately buy another if needed!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
21out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 7, 2012
By M35A2
from Mahopac, NY
" This heater is just great. I mounted it in my garage on the center beam that runs across the two car garage. It swivels 360 degrees and tilts up and down so you can place the heat where you need it. Nice and quiet and works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radiant Heat!

,
October 31, 2012
By Timber750
from West VA
" For those in my situation--lots of shop space, but no practical way to seal or insulate said space--this is an excellent choice. I simply install them at various work stations and turn them on at need. This obviates the need to heat the entire space, which would be basically impossible anyway. But where I need one, the radiant heat makes a big difference in the cold! It is a bit of a hassle to install in some places, but this gives a great value. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
October 17, 2012
By gpaspa
from Holly, Mi
" Bought 1 2 yrs ago and it worked great,
I bought 2 more on sale.I took the light bulb out, so I can use heater with out the light.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 16, 2012
By Anonymous
from Charlestown. RI
" I looked at alot of heaters last winter for my garage workshop. There were more expensive ones but you don't have to spend alot of money for a great heater. I mounted this one to the rafters above my workbench and it's great. In New England we get some cold winters and this heater does the job!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 15, 2012
By Wicked
from south west Iowa
" bought two of these for my 2.5 car garage and worked flawlessly "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
October 15, 2012
By delosh
from Columbus, OH
" I installed 2 of these on my ceiling in my 3 car garage. They hang over the 2 car area. They perform much better than expected! I ran power through timer switches so I can turn one or both on for up to 12 hours. My intent for these was to take the edge off the chill when it's freezing outside. I am completely satisfied with these heaters. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater

,
August 20, 2012
By SinD
from Falmouth, KY
" I purchased this heater for friends in Kentucky who run an animal rescue farm. This heater was perfect to new born goats in a secured area in the barn in the winter, and worked perfectly for keeping them warm while the mothers had to be away for short periods of time. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for the garage !!

,
August 20, 2012
By DepDog
from Lincoln, NE
" I bought this heater for a great price when it was on sale and really didn't expect much but I was amazingly surprised by the quality and output from this heater. I live in Nebraska where the temps are crazy cold. My shop is in the garage and until now it was off limits when it was so cold. I mounted this on the wall above my workbench and it makes the entire two-stall garage comfortable even in the most cold temps. Very impressed with the two settings and the integrated work light. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Fine

,
May 14, 2012
By Reddog210
from Cincinnati, Ohio
" Bought this for my garage. Went back and bought another. One is not quite enough for a 2 car garage. It would take the chill off but not really warm things up (unless you were right under it). But all warmed up after I got the second one. One would work fine for a 1 car garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dead Heater

,
April 5, 2012
By FrankTic
from Virginia Beach, VA
" Great heater for spot locatons. Heater was installed directly above the workbench and provided excellent quick direct heat. The workbench is located within a 20x24 insulated woodworking shop. However, the heating elements DIED after only two months (@30 hours of use). I would not recommend this heater due to the early failure. The light is not useful for any reason. The pull cord was stiff and sometimes rotated the entire unit as pulled. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater

,
January 11, 2012
By Roko
from Ca
" Works great...Keeps me warm in place and added lighted area..Easily mounted on rafter........................... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good heater

,
January 11, 2012
By JW58
from Seattle, WA
" This heater heats my one-car-garage workshop in Seattle quite quickly and makes it comfortable for woodworking. Although it is just a one-car garage, the ceiling is very high, so I mounted it securely on a wall about eight feet above the floor. As far as
I am concerned, it is a perfect cure for a too-cold workspace. It is also very reasonably priced.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Chill Off

,
January 11, 2012
By RPGofTUCSON
from Tucson, AZ
" I ordered this heater to warm my backporch where my grandsons workout on the heavy bag. The item was delivered as promised and even the box was in great shape. The heater instructions were clear and detailed. Installation, as outlined in the directions, was a breeze (and I'm no handyman). I have it installed on a ceiling beam on the porch and it provides enough warmth to keep the 15'x 20' area comfortably warm, but not too much so that working out is uncomfortable. The heater is of high quality, does what it is advertised to do and works great. I'm going to buy another one for my garage! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GARAGE HEATER

,
January 10, 2012
By fdx111
from Burlington, WA
" These heaters work fantastic!!!!!! I purchased 2 of these to keep my 22X22 garage warm during the winter months. I'm finding that I only need to run 1 of them to do so. It has been a pretty mild winter in Western Washington, so I expect to need both should we get some real cold weather. I got these on sale and couldn't be happier with them. I recommend them to everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice value.

,
January 10, 2012
By lettersandnumbers
from St. Louis, MO
" I use this heater mounted to the ceiling in the basement(bracket lines up with floor joists) and it's pointed at the couch. Our basement is unheated so it's about 10 degrees colder in the winter, but with this heater on it's comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a whole room or garage unless you're standing under it, but for a workbench or anywhere you can be within 6 feet of it, it is great! The light is pointless--It is ALWAYS ON if the heater is on. I had to remove the bulb(what a pain) to make it off with the heater being on. Overall for the price it is excellent, and quiet too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Workshop Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By surveytech
from San Antonio, TX
" This heater works great for the few cold days that we have here in San Antonio. Installed with ease in my small 18'x18'x10' garage. No issues so far and I would recommend this to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater!

,
January 9, 2012
By rohopo
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
" I bought a pair of these for my shop. They are a perfect augmentation to my main heat source. They will silently heat a good sized area wherever they are pointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5,200 BTU, 1,500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased in SC

,
January 9, 2012
By uncommonsensesc
from South Carolina
" I purchased this heater for my husband as a Christmas present and both of us are pleased with it! I was happy about the pricing (less than a lot of other vendors) since it was a gift and he is extremely pleased with the product itself. He mounted it to a beam next to his work area in the shop and it swivels to the position he wants. The heater works extremely well; the light is so-so but if this is in your garage or shop, you probably won't be depending on this light as your only source. This item was purchased for the heater and it works great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.