Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt

ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt

Item# 700093
This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light provides powerful warmth in a durable, easy-to-adjust design. Two heat settings provide intense and efficient heating - great for adding comfort and reducing heating bills. The 90 vertical tilting arm allows for easy positioning. Plus, with a sturdy metal housing, this rugged heater is made to last - ideal for unheated shops and garages. Heat Settings 2, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Product Type Radiant heater, Volts 120, Watts 1,500, BTU Output 5,200, Product Style Permanent mount. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage
Average Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
45 of 50(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Review 21 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not too bad for the price

,
November 3, 2009
By wirthj
from monticello, mn
"I bought it to put in my garage but would probably need two to make it really warm. It keeps it pretty comfortable while working in there. Saves alot of space by being able to mount it on the ceiling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good heater

,
January 11, 2012
By JW58
from Seattle, WA
"This heater heats my one-car-garage workshop in Seattle quite quickly and makes it comfortable for woodworking. Although it is just a one-car garage, the ceiling is very high, so I mounted it securely on a wall about eight feet above the floor. As far as
I am concerned, it is a perfect cure for a too-cold workspace. It is also very reasonably priced.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Chill Off

,
January 11, 2012
By RPGofTUCSON
from Tucson, AZ
"I ordered this heater to warm my backporch where my grandsons workout on the heavy bag. The item was delivered as promised and even the box was in great shape. The heater instructions were clear and detailed. Installation, as outlined in the directions, was a breeze (and I'm no handyman). I have it installed on a ceiling beam on the porch and it provides enough warmth to keep the 15'x 20' area comfortably warm, but not too much so that working out is uncomfortable. The heater is of high quality, does what it is advertised to do and works great. I'm going to buy another one for my garage!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GARAGE HEATER

,
January 10, 2012
By fdx111
from Burlington, WA
"These heaters work fantastic!!!!!! I purchased 2 of these to keep my 22X22 garage warm during the winter months. I'm finding that I only need to run 1 of them to do so. It has been a pretty mild winter in Western Washington, so I expect to need both should we get some real cold weather. I got these on sale and couldn't be happier with them. I recommend them to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice value.

,
January 10, 2012
By lettersandnumbers
from St. Louis, MO
"I use this heater mounted to the ceiling in the basement(bracket lines up with floor joists) and it's pointed at the couch. Our basement is unheated so it's about 10 degrees colder in the winter, but with this heater on it's comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a whole room or garage unless you're standing under it, but for a workbench or anywhere you can be within 6 feet of it, it is great! The light is pointless--It is ALWAYS ON if the heater is on. I had to remove the bulb(what a pain) to make it off with the heater being on. Overall for the price it is excellent, and quiet too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

,
January 9, 2012
By 74lancelot
from Missouri
"Ended up buying 4 of these heaters for a 2 1/2 car garage. This is the only source of heat. I put a fan above them to circulate the heat and it does good. They are about 8 foot from the floor and you can easily feel the radiant warmth. Only bad thing to say is no thermostat although they sell plug in t-stats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

What you pay for

,
January 9, 2012
By Cigarboy
from Kenosha, WI
"I bought this on sale. Easy to install. Doubtful if it will heat your whole garage but if you stand underneath it, it should warm you up a bit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

INFRARED HEATERS

,
October 10, 2011
By AIRPRO
from Eastern Washinton
"These heaters are doing what our customers need, providing a simple solution to providing some warmth and not costing much ot operate"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small garage or workshop

,
November 3, 2009
By shash
from Northern Nevada
"This heater is silent and effective for heating a smaller garage or workshop. In super cold temps, we use this heater and another small halogen heater in our 2 car uninsulated garage. This would be perfect for a one car garage, but in a 2 car you will need more than 1 if it is colder than 40 degrees outside. In 45 to 50 degree weather the heater on its own does the job in our 2 car garage. You need to hang it above where you are working or sitting to get the full effect of the heat. For the price, it is a perfect solution for a cold garage. The fact that it is totally silent makes it easy to run a radio or tv without having to adjust the volume. I would buy another one! Very happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PROFUSION CEILING MOUNTED ELECTRIC HEATER

,
September 18, 2013
By RAUL1622
from windsor, virginia
"EASY TO INSTALL IN GARAGE WORKSHOP. PROVIDED DEDICATED 12-2 ELECTRLIAL LINE FROM SUB PANEL. KEPT WORKSHOP COMFORTABLE IN WINTER. WAS SO PLEASED ORDER AND INSTALLED A SECOND ONE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF WORKSHOP USING ANOTHER DEDICATED 12-2 CIRCUIT FROM SUB PANEL. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR ANY WORK SPACE. DOES NOT GET REALLY WARM, BUT TAKES THE CHILL OUT OF THE SIR."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PROS AND CONS

,
January 11, 2013
By PPS1
from CALIFORNIA
"PRO:
The heater itself seems to work very well. We use it over a shipping bench in our warehouse. Like another reviewer said we did take out the light bulb as it was more of a distraction than a help.
CON:
The mounting bracket is very flimsy. It has an option for a center swivel bolt which is useless as the bracket can not support the weight. We tried mounting it with the dual mounting holes provided and it will work if you do not plan on adjusting the direction of the unit very often.
We are a fabrication shop so we just made a reinforcement bracket which seems to have solved the issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 16, 2012
By Anonymous
from Charlestown. RI
"I looked at alot of heaters last winter for my garage workshop. There were more expensive ones but you don't have to spend alot of money for a great heater. I mounted this one to the rafters above my workbench and it's great. In New England we get some cold winters and this heater does the job!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok, but not for the north

,
February 4, 2013
By retiredguy2
from Upstate NY
"I bought this heater for my insulated 22x22 work room in my unheated garage. I had an old propane that really heated up the place but I wanted something on the ceiling out of the way. The heater is good quality and you should be able to figure out the directions (common sense). But for my purposes it did not get the job done. I think it is just too cold up here and the heater does not blow air around. Beneath the heater is ok, but a few feet away, not much. To their credit Northern Tool is taking it back. I will try a more powerful propane."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

,
January 23, 2013
By Stang2003
from Corinth, TX
"The bracket are very weak, I wanted to mount over a window but had to mount to the ceiling due to the bracket. Have a 15 X 25 garage, have two of them and they keep the garage fairly warm but have to turn on a third heater that I have it is a floor model to really keep it warm. Wish they would make a switch to turn off the light as sometimes I need it and sometimes I don't."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best garage heater

,
November 25, 2013
By delli
from Wilbraham, ma
"this my 3rd heater of this kind. works wonderful to heat my garage when needed. also have one in my workshop. wouldn't be without it. very dependable for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Heat, Small Package

,
December 17, 2012
By WrenchMonkey
from AR
"Bought this little heater for my garage. I work on motorcycles all year and this makes it much more comfortable in the cold months. I mounted it on the ceiling and it really heats up my two car garage. Perfect for my application!
Would definately buy another if needed!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
20out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good infrared heater

,
December 2, 2013
By HotLead
from Huntsville, AL
"Two heat settings, a small light which reminds you the heater is on. I use mine in my wood shop and my lab.
Works great, it's infrared so it heats me and not the air, so when really cold the side away from the heater is cooler, but just the way infrared heaters work. Variable mounting options, not the most substantial, but you really only mount it once. For the price is a good deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

stick with propane

,
December 2, 2013
By omtay
from Seattle
"Mounted easily enough, BUT:
1) Unless you have a dedicated 220 line, forget it...turn one light on, or turn on the radio, and pffft!...breaker pops.
2) Like others have mentioned, the only heated spot is directly beneath the unit. If you move around (like working on a restoration like I am), then you're rarely under it....freezing (literally) cold everywhere else in the garage, except for directly below this thing.
I was so disgusted that, not having kept the original box, I simply dumped it into the metal recycling bin...best place for it. Then I pulled out my trusty propane tank, attached the heater unit, and within minutes, the entire garage was toasty"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-11points
13out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenhouse perfect

,
October 18, 2014
By gcolrud
from Murfreesboro, TN
"This is just what my wife will need to help aid against freezing temperatures in her greenhouse this winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Workshop Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By surveytech
from San Antonio, TX
"This heater works great for the few cold days that we have here in San Antonio. Installed with ease in my small 18'x18'x10' garage. No issues so far and I would recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.