Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"

"ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"

Item# 700093
"This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light provides powerful warmth in a durable, easy-to-adjust design. Two heat settings provide intense and efficient heating - great for adding comfort and reducing heating bills. The 90 vertical tilting arm allows for easy positioning. Plus, with a sturdy metal housing, this rugged heater is made to last - ideal for unheated shops and garages. Heat Settings 2, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Power Cord ft. 6, Product Type Radiant heater, Volts 120, Watts 1,500, BTU Output 5,200, Product Style Permanent mount. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage"
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
47 of 53(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Review 21 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good heater

,
January 11, 2012
By JW58
from Seattle, WA
"This heater heats my one-car-garage workshop in Seattle quite quickly and makes it comfortable for woodworking. Although it is just a one-car garage, the ceiling is very high, so I mounted it securely on a wall about eight feet above the floor. As far as
I am concerned, it is a perfect cure for a too-cold workspace. It is also very reasonably priced.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Chill Off

,
January 11, 2012
By RPGofTUCSON
from Tucson, AZ
"I ordered this heater to warm my backporch where my grandsons workout on the heavy bag. The item was delivered as promised and even the box was in great shape. The heater instructions were clear and detailed. Installation, as outlined in the directions, was a breeze (and I'm no handyman). I have it installed on a ceiling beam on the porch and it provides enough warmth to keep the 15'x 20' area comfortably warm, but not too much so that working out is uncomfortable. The heater is of high quality, does what it is advertised to do and works great. I'm going to buy another one for my garage!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good workshop heater

,
November 24, 2010
By IHF20
"Heater is very light, easy to install and works great for local heating"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

not too bad for the price

,
November 3, 2009
By wirthj
from monticello, mn
"I bought it to put in my garage but would probably need two to make it really warm. It keeps it pretty comfortable while working in there. Saves alot of space by being able to mount it on the ceiling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

PROFUSION HEATER

,
November 14, 2014
By TRS1
from ST LOUIS
"INSTALLED EASY, HEATS THE GARAGE UP GREAT. DO NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS OVERLOADING CIRCUITS."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad switch

,
November 13, 2014
By wayner33
from Utah
"After less than one year the switch failed. I rewired it to be on when plugged in. I had to get on a bucket and plug it in the ceiling outlet. When I rewired it I was not impressed with the construction. The plastic parts around the switch were cracked and heat stressed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenhouse perfect

,
October 18, 2014
By gcolrud
from Murfreesboro, TN
"This is just what my wife will need to help aid against freezing temperatures in her greenhouse this winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GARAGE HEATER

,
January 10, 2012
By fdx111
from Burlington, WA
"These heaters work fantastic!!!!!! I purchased 2 of these to keep my 22X22 garage warm during the winter months. I'm finding that I only need to run 1 of them to do so. It has been a pretty mild winter in Western Washington, so I expect to need both should we get some real cold weather. I got these on sale and couldn't be happier with them. I recommend them to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice value.

,
January 10, 2012
By lettersandnumbers
from St. Louis, MO
"I use this heater mounted to the ceiling in the basement(bracket lines up with floor joists) and it's pointed at the couch. Our basement is unheated so it's about 10 degrees colder in the winter, but with this heater on it's comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a whole room or garage unless you're standing under it, but for a workbench or anywhere you can be within 6 feet of it, it is great! The light is pointless--It is ALWAYS ON if the heater is on. I had to remove the bulb(what a pain) to make it off with the heater being on. Overall for the price it is excellent, and quiet too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater!

,
January 9, 2012
By rohopo
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
"I bought a pair of these for my shop. They are a perfect augmentation to my main heat source. They will silently heat a good sized area wherever they are pointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased in SC

,
January 9, 2012
By uncommonsensesc
from South Carolina
"I purchased this heater for my husband as a Christmas present and both of us are pleased with it! I was happy about the pricing (less than a lot of other vendors) since it was a gift and he is extremely pleased with the product itself. He mounted it to a beam next to his work area in the shop and it swivels to the position he wants. The heater works extremely well; the light is so-so but if this is in your garage or shop, you probably won't be depending on this light as your only source. This item was purchased for the heater and it works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good heater

,
January 9, 2012
By wudbtchr
from central Oklahoma
"Overall a good heater for a limited space. Quiet and effective. Easy to install and very adjustable. I have large covered porches and purchased two of these to use over my favorite outside seats. The only thing I didn't like was not having a switch to separately control the light. If you don't want the light on you have to remove the bulb."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good inexpensive heater

,
January 9, 2012
By TNTC
from Knoxville, TN
"This product does what it is supposed to do and is easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

,
January 9, 2012
By 74lancelot
from Missouri
"Ended up buying 4 of these heaters for a 2 1/2 car garage. This is the only source of heat. I put a fan above them to circulate the heat and it does good. They are about 8 foot from the floor and you can easily feel the radiant warmth. Only bad thing to say is no thermostat although they sell plug in t-stats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

What you pay for

,
January 9, 2012
By Cigarboy
from Kenosha, WI
"I bought this on sale. Easy to install. Doubtful if it will heat your whole garage but if you stand underneath it, it should warm you up a bit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

INFRARED HEATERS

,
October 10, 2011
By AIRPRO
from Eastern Washinton
"These heaters are doing what our customers need, providing a simple solution to providing some warmth and not costing much ot operate"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small garage or workshop

,
November 3, 2009
By shash
from Northern Nevada
"This heater is silent and effective for heating a smaller garage or workshop. In super cold temps, we use this heater and another small halogen heater in our 2 car uninsulated garage. This would be perfect for a one car garage, but in a 2 car you will need more than 1 if it is colder than 40 degrees outside. In 45 to 50 degree weather the heater on its own does the job in our 2 car garage. You need to hang it above where you are working or sitting to get the full effect of the heat. For the price, it is a perfect solution for a cold garage. The fact that it is totally silent makes it easy to run a radio or tv without having to adjust the volume. I would buy another one! Very happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PROFUSION CEILING MOUNTED ELECTRIC HEATER

,
September 18, 2013
By RAUL1622
from windsor, virginia
"EASY TO INSTALL IN GARAGE WORKSHOP. PROVIDED DEDICATED 12-2 ELECTRLIAL LINE FROM SUB PANEL. KEPT WORKSHOP COMFORTABLE IN WINTER. WAS SO PLEASED ORDER AND INSTALLED A SECOND ONE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF WORKSHOP USING ANOTHER DEDICATED 12-2 CIRCUIT FROM SUB PANEL. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR ANY WORK SPACE. DOES NOT GET REALLY WARM, BUT TAKES THE CHILL OUT OF THE SIR."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PROS AND CONS

,
January 11, 2013
By PPS1
from CALIFORNIA
"PRO:
The heater itself seems to work very well. We use it over a shipping bench in our warehouse. Like another reviewer said we did take out the light bulb as it was more of a distraction than a help.
CON:
The mounting bracket is very flimsy. It has an option for a center swivel bolt which is useless as the bracket can not support the weight. We tried mounting it with the dual mounting holes provided and it will work if you do not plan on adjusting the direction of the unit very often.
We are a fabrication shop so we just made a reinforcement bracket which seems to have solved the issue.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 16, 2012
By Anonymous
from Charlestown. RI
"I looked at alot of heaters last winter for my garage workshop. There were more expensive ones but you don't have to spend alot of money for a great heater. I mounted this one to the rafters above my workbench and it's great. In New England we get some cold winters and this heater does the job!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.