Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt

Item# 700093
This ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light has two heat settings for intense and efficient heating. Great for those that want to save a little on their winter heating bills. Watts 1,500, Power Cord ft. 6, BTU Output 5,200, Product Style Permanent mount, Heat Settings 2, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device Yes, Volts 120, Product Type Radiant heater. High-efficiency 35 Watt quartz heating element and 25 Watt halogen lamp are controlled with an easy-to-use pull string Light can be used with or without heater Heater is held by a 90 vertical tilting arm Durable metal housing makes it perfect for unheated workshops and garages Two heat settings Can be mounted on ceiling for widespread heat coverage
Average Customer Rating:
4.408 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (49 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
44 of 49(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Review 21 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Chill Off

,
January 11, 2012
By RPGofTUCSON
from Tucson, AZ
"I ordered this heater to warm my backporch where my grandsons workout on the heavy bag. The item was delivered as promised and even the box was in great shape. The heater instructions were clear and detailed. Installation, as outlined in the directions, was a breeze (and I'm no handyman). I have it installed on a ceiling beam on the porch and it provides enough warmth to keep the 15'x 20' area comfortably warm, but not too much so that working out is uncomfortable. The heater is of high quality, does what it is advertised to do and works great. I'm going to buy another one for my garage!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GARAGE HEATER

,
January 10, 2012
By fdx111
from Burlington, WA
"These heaters work fantastic!!!!!! I purchased 2 of these to keep my 22X22 garage warm during the winter months. I'm finding that I only need to run 1 of them to do so. It has been a pretty mild winter in Western Washington, so I expect to need both should we get some real cold weather. I got these on sale and couldn't be happier with them. I recommend them to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice value.

,
January 10, 2012
By lettersandnumbers
from St. Louis, MO
"I use this heater mounted to the ceiling in the basement(bracket lines up with floor joists) and it's pointed at the couch. Our basement is unheated so it's about 10 degrees colder in the winter, but with this heater on it's comfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for a whole room or garage unless you're standing under it, but for a workbench or anywhere you can be within 6 feet of it, it is great! The light is pointless--It is ALWAYS ON if the heater is on. I had to remove the bulb(what a pain) to make it off with the heater being on. Overall for the price it is excellent, and quiet too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProFusion Workshop Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By surveytech
from San Antonio, TX
"This heater works great for the few cold days that we have here in San Antonio. Installed with ease in my small 18'x18'x10' garage. No issues so far and I would recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Heater!

,
January 9, 2012
By rohopo
from Idaho Falls, Idaho
"I bought a pair of these for my shop. They are a perfect augmentation to my main heat source. They will silently heat a good sized area wherever they are pointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased in SC

,
January 9, 2012
By uncommonsensesc
from South Carolina
"I purchased this heater for my husband as a Christmas present and both of us are pleased with it! I was happy about the pricing (less than a lot of other vendors) since it was a gift and he is extremely pleased with the product itself. He mounted it to a beam next to his work area in the shop and it swivels to the position he wants. The heater works extremely well; the light is so-so but if this is in your garage or shop, you probably won't be depending on this light as your only source. This item was purchased for the heater and it works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heater

,
January 9, 2012
By Tomycat
from Ca
"This is a good heater but you don't expect it to get your 2 car garage toasty on a snowy day. I bought 2 I installed one in the pool bath/outside laundry room and it works great there the room is about 7 by 9 feet.
The other one I installed over my work bench in the garage to keep me comfortable while I work on RC hobby. and I'm happy with it also. my garage is a huge 4 car garage but the heat is directed to my work area. what makes it nice is that the heater swivel up to 45 degree angle.
The heater has 3 clicks first click for light, second click for one bulb (half the heat setting) 3rd click for 2 bulbs.
This heater does not have a thermostat so it stays on till you turn it off.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good heater

,
January 9, 2012
By wudbtchr
from central Oklahoma
"Overall a good heater for a limited space. Quiet and effective. Easy to install and very adjustable. I have large covered porches and purchased two of these to use over my favorite outside seats. The only thing I didn't like was not having a switch to separately control the light. If you don't want the light on you have to remove the bulb."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good inexpensive heater

,
January 9, 2012
By TNTC
from Knoxville, TN
"This product does what it is supposed to do and is easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Decent Heater

,
January 9, 2012
By OneFaller
from Northern Virginia
"I ordered this heater to be used in my basement. It arrived well packaged and undamaged.
Mounting was simple, and although the mounting bracket seems a bit flimsy, it hasn't fallen off of the ceiling.
The heater puts out a good bit of IR heat, though not as much as I'd hoped - from 8 feet it's not particularly noticeable.
I didn't need or care about the included halogen light, so the only thing I'll say about it is that the heater cannot be operated without the light being on.
The heater is operated via an included pull-chain, with one pull turning on the light, another turning on one heating element, and a third engaging both elements.
In conclusion, it's an acceptable heater for a reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
January 9, 2012
By GGman12
from Trimble mo
"I hjave bought 2 heaters and one I put home in my basment and it make it feel warm on low setting.
and put one in my auto shop and work good on some days have to turn it off if the door has been shut for some time even on low setting have not used it much on high setting so far wooks good for me.
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works well!

,
January 9, 2012
By Rich635
from Jackson, NJ
"I have a 14' x 17' workshop with 2 exterior walls. In the past I have not been able to use it during winter months once it got steadily cold out. Since mounting this heater, I have been able to use my shop for everything including painting (molding, etc). I usually turn it off after awhile because it gets too hot. I now plan on getting another for my 2 car oversized garage, so I can do some work in there, also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ProFusion Heater!

,
January 9, 2012
By jcr5353
from Grapevine, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought two for my two car uninsulated garage. They work perfectly to keep the chill off and nice and toasty right under the units. Mounted on the ceiling at a slight angle. Didn't like the pull strings hanging down so I bought two little in line switches for the power cord (make sure its rated for heater wattage). Hasn't been that cold in TX yet this year, so looking forward to how they work when its 20 degrees or less outside."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

,
January 9, 2012
By 74lancelot
from Missouri
"Ended up buying 4 of these heaters for a 2 1/2 car garage. This is the only source of heat. I put a fan above them to circulate the heat and it does good. They are about 8 foot from the floor and you can easily feel the radiant warmth. Only bad thing to say is no thermostat although they sell plug in t-stats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

What you pay for

,
January 9, 2012
By Cigarboy
from Kenosha, WI
"I bought this on sale. Easy to install. Doubtful if it will heat your whole garage but if you stand underneath it, it should warm you up a bit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ceiling Heater

,
January 8, 2012
By TomfromFL
from North Florida
"This has the potential to be a 5-star product. Sold as a ceiling-only heater, you can't get the radiant coverage that you could have using it as a wall heater. The mounting brackets are a little flimsy for wall use and perhaps the mfr is worried about having heat too close to a flammable wall or curtain if it were improperly mounted that way. The 2nd issue is the little light bulb that doesn't last very long. It is of such little value, I didn't make the effort to try to replace it. For roughly the same light output, it would be much better to have a small LED fixture that could run for thousands of hours. The third issue is the string pull. If it breaks internally (and mine did), fixing that problem is one mighty chore. This is by far the most serious short-coming. Otherwise, I really like this heater. If the faults were fixed, it would be a great value. As it is, I bought two."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great heater

,
December 28, 2011
By ckrull
from Sioux Falls, SD
"Great heater. It arrived well-packed.
It heats my 32x24 garage nicely.
One word of advice, use your own mounting hardware as the stuff provided in the box snaps in half midway through installation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great economical Heater

,
October 19, 2011
By gleasongc
from Albuquerque, nm
"Just received 2 last week. They arrived in good condition and installed them in 20 minutes. I just built a new 22x22 garage and wanted something to help keep it comfortable during winter. So far they work great. I would recommend them to anyone not wanting to spend a lot on shop/garage heaters, very economically priced. Also no fuel required or concern about fumes with doors closed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workshop Quarrtz Heater

,
October 14, 2011
By HusqvarnaModder
from Washington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I got this heater so that I could have a little extra heat during the winter time, when I am working in my workshop. Mounting this heater was pretty straight forward, with using simple tools that every guy has.
This heater takes 30-minutes to get a 10 by 10 space from 58 degrees to 70 degrees. I do like the radiant heat though, feels really good when your right underneath it.
This heater actually has the ability to be tilted via its tilting arms, so you can direct the heat where you want it to go.
Quartz tubes get extremely hot, and are pretty much your best heater for the 110 outlet. If you ever need more then 1500-watts of heating power, you might want to look into getting one of those propane or kerosene heaters.
Mine is mounted about 9 feet from the floor, so I can feel the impact of the heat pretty good. But if you have a 15 foot ceiling, forget using this as you won't feel the heat."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ProFusion Heat Ceiling-Mounted Workshop Heater with Halogen Light - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

INFRARED HEATERS

,
October 10, 2011
By AIRPRO
from Eastern Washinton
"These heaters are doing what our customers need, providing a simple solution to providing some warmth and not costing much ot operate"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.