Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"

Item# 700249
"This Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert transforms your inefficient masonry fireplace into an efficient heat-producing unit. Burns 20 1/2in.L logs to create 65,000 BTU. 76 efficient. A variable-speed blower spreads the heat all around an 1600 sq. ft. area. 3 to 6 hour burn time on full load. Not for sale in Washington. Blower CFM 130, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120V, BTU Output 65,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 12, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 21 1/8 x 21 5/8, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/4, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/2 x 12 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Product Type Fireplace insert, Stove Pipe Included No, UL UL approved, Full Load Run Time Hours 3 to 6. Faceplate Item# 700247 or shroud kit required Plated steel construction with cast iron door 28 3/4in.W x 8in.D x 22 5/8in.H minimum opening required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
60 of 69(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Review 1 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Our main heating source!

,
December 12, 2014
By MABNC
from Colfax, NC
" We purchased this in hopes to heat our 1440 sq ft house, and even though we are only on the second full day of using it, we have already seen a difference! With a few more heat saving measures we are still taking, we're optimistic that it will continue to take the chill off! We recommend fully reading all of the instructions in the manual before firing, as we would have gone full blast if we had not read the instructions. We had a professional install it, and it seemed simple enough for them! Great product! Thanks, Northern Tool and Century Heating! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't let price fool you.

,
November 14, 2014
By cobjones
from Topeka, KS
" I have two of these inserts. One in the basement and the other upstairs. 1100 sq ft basement, 1400 sq ft first story.
I can get the basement to about 85 F on the coldest days without anythinf going upstairs. I can get (by accident) the upstairs to 90 F.
The only real problem with the insert is the burn times. The longest burn I've gotten was only around 7 hours. This means I have to get up in the middle of the night to restock the insert, but for 1/2 the cost of most inserts it is definitely worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starting Third Season With Stove

,
November 11, 2014
By WD3203
from Texas
" I live in a 2000 sq ft. home built in 1963. It has new double pane windows and extra insulation in the attic. I have been using wood stoves for many years and have three including the Century unit in my home. Since getting the Century 65,000 BTU stove I have not used the other two stoves much. The Century stove does a very good job of heating the house. We don't get the winters like up north but do get a week or so long cold spells that test a stoves heating ability. The fan is not that load and the stove burns relatively clean with well seasoned wood. One of the most important things to get a hot burning stove is to start with good seasoned wood. I would buy this stove again and would recommend it to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puts out alot of heat

,
November 9, 2014
By p51all
from zeeland mi
" very nice stove for the price heats are 1500 sq ft ranch home very well.saved us alot of propane last winter.The bad things are the fire box is small and you do have to empty ashes every other day.I would recommend this stove for the price.install was a bit tricky to get the old damper out of fireplace,put ss liner in chimmney was the easy part. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
November 7, 2014
By Jimmy428
from Wyoming
" I love my Century stove. It does a great job heating my house and helps out a ton with the electric bill. The fan is relatively quiet and it does a good job circulating the heat. The only draw back is it doesn't come with the shroud but for the price that's not a big deal. All said and done it does a great job and you can't beat the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little heater for the price point

,
November 6, 2014
By Sethro
from Skiatook, ok
" installation was very easy other than the weight factor
You will need another strong person to help place firebox. I relined my existing chimney with SS kit worked well. This is key to drafting/combustion.
Results very happy with the heat output, when you have the fire stoked and fan on high this thing puts out great heat. I can quickly warm my house from 69 to 74 degrees. I also turn on my Hvac fan only to pull the heat all over the house. It also does a great job on wood usage for the heat you get.
Only complaints, fan is cheap and noisy. Wish firebox opening was slightly wider to fit long cut wood. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice.

,
November 4, 2014
By ChrisandJess
from Clearville, PA
" It was not hard to install at all. We are beginners at all of this. The hardest part was getting the pipe down the chimney. Make sure you buy the piping and all to go with it. Will save time and money in the long run. The fireplace looks beautiful when it's burning. Just wish it had a bigger fire box on it. But other wise very happy with our purcbase. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little stove

,
October 20, 2014
By DJ123
from Mountain City, TN
" Bought this stove to cut down on heating bills. It was very easy to install and so far it has worked well. I would say I wish the fire box was a little larger so it would accept larger logs but it works well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but not the bee's knees.

,
October 3, 2014
By NJGUY1969
from North New Jersey
" If you can fit the stove and the metal flue, it is an easy install. However, I would go with a bigger stove. This stove can only take small logs which forced me to cut a lot of the logs I had to size. Short burn times means that you have to keep feeding it to get good heat. If your house is leaky this stove will increase the cold draft as it has no outside air intake. If your house is well insulated and you keep it running, it will keep the house toasty. Those with drafty homes need a freestanding stove with an outside air intake. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved money on my oil bill!!!

,
March 10, 2014
By SuperSaver99
from East Providence, RI
" This insert was very easy to install.
Works great, warms up my 1000 sq ft home with no problem!!! I can fill it the night before and it lasts thoughout the night.
The glass is big enough to still be able to enjoy the look of a fireplace.
Overall, I have already recommended this insert to other friends and family. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect timing

,
February 5, 2014
By adele
from northern Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This was the winter to get an insert installed and create a cozy home environment providing me with heat security. I had a corner fireplace so it was a bit complicated to find a unit which would work and my installer had to custom fit steel pieces to fully enclose the opening. I am so thrilled with this insert - heats my ranch style house, fire lasts until morning, so comfortable! Northern Tool was very helpful in answering my questions before I ordered. I looked locally but no one had exactly what I needed. Sure wish there was a store in Michigan! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
16out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fireplace insert

,
February 4, 2014
By cfoh
from sandsprings ok
" installed it myself was easy only problem fan rattles so its nessary to chim it then all is fine this product has cut my wood use by 70% and increased the heat in our house. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
14out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

,
February 4, 2014
By LtLumpy
from Maryland
" This insert is phenomenally easy to install as well as easy to use. Wood burns well and the heat that is produce is enough for a couple of rooms. The blower circulates warm air throughout the room. After owning it for 3 years I broke the glass (way overpacked) and was able to get a new piece of glass within a week from northern tool. All in all a great wood stove insert. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By DBD7inCT
from Torrington, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this in September of 2013 and installed it myself with a chimney liner. it was a very easy install. I had it inspected and started using it shortly after. while this does not completly heat my house it does a very good job on keeping my oil bills down. the bigest thing I learned about its use is that when starting it up I usually keep the door open until the box is hot and then I throw another log on and close the door putting the air control at 50%. this will keep some heat in the stove but give the fire enough air to really get going. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & Toasty

,
February 3, 2014
By Gary1947
from North Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Installed this product in October. We've had a colder than normal winter and this insert has worked great. It's kept our living room very comfortable. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a high quality wood burning insert at an affordable price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wood stove

,
January 29, 2014
By dd2222
from alabama
" We chose this wood stove after looking at local stores and reading all the reviews we were sure this was going to be what we needed. We are very disappointed.. we had the wood stove installed by a professional in our area. we have a open area in our home of about 1200 square feet and it just doesn't put out enough heat.;you have to keep damper down on low or the wood doesn't last long and you loose heat. We are using the right kind of wood to burn.. and a ash pan would have been great. but we knew this when we bought. Just wish it would have thrown out more heat. We live in Alabama and are still cold.. having to use central just as much as before.. We had to read reviews. to get information on this product. the sales rep. were no help. didn't know anything about it... this should have been a red flag for us . I suggest spending a little more going to a local stores that knows about there product. May cost you more money but the old saying you get what you pay really applies to this ...
dd2222
unhappy in Alabama..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use SEASONED wood... great stove!

,
January 29, 2014
By ToolMistress
from No. TX
" Have been using this stove on and off for the past two weeks and really like it. Installation a bit of a challenge for first-timers, but after slightly altering the fireplace, (removing the damper and knocking out two bricks from the back wall of the firebox) and sealing connections w/fireplace caulk, have had no problems with smoke or air leakage.
Relined the chimney with a SS liner as recommended by the manufacturer, this does seem to help with proper drafting. I suspect that might be the problem previous unhappy reviewers have experienced.
The firebox on this stove is a bit on the small side, but once warmed up, REALLY puts out the heat. Took the advice of a previous customer and installed a thermo-rheostat switch to the fan; turns the fan on and off automatically, speed not adjustable. Great idea! (see JimVa's 2-19-12 'A Very Good Value' review) When the fan shuts off, we know the stove is cool enough for cleaning. The longest I've been able to run the stove without new fuel is about 3.5 hours; I like to keep fire on the hot side to avoid creosote and smoke out the chimney. (picky neighbors!)
I also took the liberty of painting the outside of the fan guard with a quick spray of high-temp black paint, the silver housing is visible through the front grille. (mask off the motor.) The fan noise isn't bothersome at all, much quieter than the Emberaire unit we previously used in the fireplace.
Glass stays clean IF you use properly seasoned firewood. Starting a new fire from scratch can be a challenge, but with a bed of hot coals, is a snap.
Do yourself a favor and buy a set of woodstove tools (short-handled fireplace tools) and suede welder's gloves to make tending and cleaning easier. An ash vac is a good investment as well.
Hopefully this stove will help cut down on the heating bills for our all-electric, presently un-insulated, 2200 sf ranch house. Will be foam insulating this year, so can't wait to see how much money will be saved in future winters, vs. using the heat pump every cold day.
Did much research prior to buying this, and Northern Tool had the very best price. Lucky enough to buy a discontinued floor model at the nearest store, so saved even more. Store personnel very helpful all around!
All told, I estimate we saved approximately $2300 by self-installing. (delivery, labor, store discount, U.S. tax credit) ROI should take just a few cold winters! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent heat source

,
January 17, 2014
By K2inCTX
from Central Texas
" Yes, it is small but it is a powerful insert. The instructions are adequate but be prepared to wrestle the liner to get it to connect because of the angled outlet. A 45 degree elbow may be necessary to make it easier to install.
Getting the fire started is easy enough, just be careful to close the door to prevent smoke escape. Also, don't add wood until the flames have died down to just embers, this keeps smoke inside the house to a minimum.
It takes two hours to cool down after embers have burned out, something to consider when cleaning the ashes. This also means it is pretty good overnight with a full load of hardwood and damper closed. A few splints of kindling will get the fire going again in the morning and one hot fire will clean the glass of the overnight low fire residue. You should get 2 days of use between ash removal is necessary with moderate use.
About the only thing I would change would be a little more power in the blower, at full heat output, the air is quite warm. A ceiling fan can help mix the hot air, making the room quite comfortable. In my 600 square foot den, it increases temperature about 2 degrees an hour on medium damper and maximum fan.
The best feature is the secondary air, there is no smoke when the wood is fully in flame. Smoke is not only a nuisance, it is wasted energy. You may see wisps of steam from the chimney, these disappear. Gone are the rolling clouds of nasty smoke! My neighbors also love this feature. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Be careful

,
January 15, 2014
By Alinbama
from Alabama
" This insert is worth the price, but be careful to measure your masonry. It is SMALL. The flange covers my existing fireplace, but just barely.
The firebox is very small, and has to be cleaned (ashes removed) and reloaded often. Of course you have to let it cool before cleaning, which is inconvenient.
On the upside, during the "Polar Vortex" I used it as my primary heat source, and stayed nice and comfortable in a space about 500 square feet.
I will probably replace it sooner than I would like, with something a little larger, but for a small fireplace this would be ideal.
Wish the shroud was included.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value insert

,
January 3, 2014
By Dillard
from CT
" I purchased this insert this summer to heat my office/man-cave which is a converted garage with a slate floor and poorly insulated windows. The space is about 1000 square feet. This insert does a fantastic job of heating the entire room up to 75 degrees (with the door closed to the rest of the house) when the outside temp is 20 degrees. For the price, this insert is really great as it generates a ton of heat for the money. The variable speed fan is not too loud, although I wish that it had the auto on/off feature that my other insert has. Build quality is decent, not amazing, but solid enough. One drawback is the firebox size which I wish were a bit taller so I could easily stack 2 levels of wood to get longer burns. Not horrible, but you just have to plan on cutting smaller logs and dealing with it. Also, there seems to be leaks between the firebox and the insert blower, because sometimes when starting a fire, if the chimney isn't drafting properly, it will blow smoke out the door and into your room. When I shut the insert door, smoke continues to leak out through the blower port which proves that it's not totally sealed. On my other insert (in another room which was 4x the price), if this happens, I can shut the door and no smoke comes out. This issue of smoke not drafting up the chimney on start up can be avoided by lighting a newspaper and holding for a minute before lighting the fire, but proves that the box isn't completely sealed. Not sure if this means we're breathing more smoke from the blower though. I guess you get what you pay for. I would still recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.