Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005

Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005

Item# 700249
This Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert transforms your inefficient masonry fireplace into an efficient heat-producing unit. Burns 20 1/2in.L logs to create 65,000 BTU. 76 efficient. A variable-speed blower spreads the heat all around an 1600 sq. ft. area. 3 to 6 hour burn time on full load. Not for sale in Washington. Blower CFM 130, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120V, BTU Output 65,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 12, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 21 1/8 x 21 5/8, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/4, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/2 x 12 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Product Type Fireplace insert, Stove Pipe Included No, UL UL approved, Full Load Run Time Hours 3 to 6. Faceplate Item# 700247 or shroud kit required Plated steel construction with cast iron door 28 3/4in.W x 8in.D x 22 5/8in.H minimum opening required
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
51 of 60(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 119 Answers
Customer Reviews for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Review 1 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved money on my oil bill!!!

,
March 10, 2014
By SuperSaver99
from East Providence, RI
"This insert was very easy to install.
Works great, warms up my 1000 sq ft home with no problem!!! I can fill it the night before and it lasts thoughout the night.
The glass is big enough to still be able to enjoy the look of a fireplace.
Overall, I have already recommended this insert to other friends and family."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect timing

,
February 5, 2014
By adele
from northern Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was the winter to get an insert installed and create a cozy home environment providing me with heat security. I had a corner fireplace so it was a bit complicated to find a unit which would work and my installer had to custom fit steel pieces to fully enclose the opening. I am so thrilled with this insert - heats my ranch style house, fire lasts until morning, so comfortable! Northern Tool was very helpful in answering my questions before I ordered. I looked locally but no one had exactly what I needed. Sure wish there was a store in Michigan!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

fireplace insert

,
February 4, 2014
By cfoh
from sandsprings ok
"installed it myself was easy only problem fan rattles so its nessary to chim it then all is fine this product has cut my wood use by 70% and increased the heat in our house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

,
February 4, 2014
By LtLumpy
from Maryland
"This insert is phenomenally easy to install as well as easy to use. Wood burns well and the heat that is produce is enough for a couple of rooms. The blower circulates warm air throughout the room. After owning it for 3 years I broke the glass (way overpacked) and was able to get a new piece of glass within a week from northern tool. All in all a great wood stove insert."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the money

,
February 4, 2014
By DBD7inCT
from Torrington, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this in September of 2013 and installed it myself with a chimney liner. it was a very easy install. I had it inspected and started using it shortly after. while this does not completly heat my house it does a very good job on keeping my oil bills down. the bigest thing I learned about its use is that when starting it up I usually keep the door open until the box is hot and then I throw another log on and close the door putting the air control at 50%. this will keep some heat in the stove but give the fire enough air to really get going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & Toasty

,
February 3, 2014
By Gary1947
from North Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Installed this product in October. We've had a colder than normal winter and this insert has worked great. It's kept our living room very comfortable. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a high quality wood burning insert at an affordable price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wood stove

,
January 29, 2014
By dd2222
from alabama
"We chose this wood stove after looking at local stores and reading all the reviews we were sure this was going to be what we needed. We are very disappointed.. we had the wood stove installed by a professional in our area. we have a open area in our home of about 1200 square feet and it just doesn't put out enough heat.;you have to keep damper down on low or the wood doesn't last long and you loose heat. We are using the right kind of wood to burn.. and a ash pan would have been great. but we knew this when we bought. Just wish it would have thrown out more heat. We live in Alabama and are still cold.. having to use central just as much as before.. We had to read reviews. to get information on this product. the sales rep. were no help. didn't know anything about it... this should have been a red flag for us . I suggest spending a little more going to a local stores that knows about there product. May cost you more money but the old saying you get what you pay really applies to this ...
dd2222
unhappy in Alabama..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use SEASONED wood... great stove!

,
January 29, 2014
By ToolMistress
from No. TX
"Have been using this stove on and off for the past two weeks and really like it. Installation a bit of a challenge for first-timers, but after slightly altering the fireplace, (removing the damper and knocking out two bricks from the back wall of the firebox) and sealing connections w/fireplace caulk, have had no problems with smoke or air leakage.
Relined the chimney with a SS liner as recommended by the manufacturer, this does seem to help with proper drafting. I suspect that might be the problem previous unhappy reviewers have experienced.
The firebox on this stove is a bit on the small side, but once warmed up, REALLY puts out the heat. Took the advice of a previous customer and installed a thermo-rheostat switch to the fan; turns the fan on and off automatically, speed not adjustable. Great idea! (see JimVa's 2-19-12 'A Very Good Value' review) When the fan shuts off, we know the stove is cool enough for cleaning. The longest I've been able to run the stove without new fuel is about 3.5 hours; I like to keep fire on the hot side to avoid creosote and smoke out the chimney. (picky neighbors!)
I also took the liberty of painting the outside of the fan guard with a quick spray of high-temp black paint, the silver housing is visible through the front grille. (mask off the motor.) The fan noise isn't bothersome at all, much quieter than the Emberaire unit we previously used in the fireplace.
Glass stays clean IF you use properly seasoned firewood. Starting a new fire from scratch can be a challenge, but with a bed of hot coals, is a snap.
Do yourself a favor and buy a set of woodstove tools (short-handled fireplace tools) and suede welder's gloves to make tending and cleaning easier. An ash vac is a good investment as well.
Hopefully this stove will help cut down on the heating bills for our all-electric, presently un-insulated, 2200 sf ranch house. Will be foam insulating this year, so can't wait to see how much money will be saved in future winters, vs. using the heat pump every cold day.
Did much research prior to buying this, and Northern Tool had the very best price. Lucky enough to buy a discontinued floor model at the nearest store, so saved even more. Store personnel very helpful all around!
All told, I estimate we saved approximately $2300 by self-installing. (delivery, labor, store discount, U.S. tax credit) ROI should take just a few cold winters!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent heat source

,
January 17, 2014
By K2inCTX
from Central Texas
"Yes, it is small but it is a powerful insert. The instructions are adequate but be prepared to wrestle the liner to get it to connect because of the angled outlet. A 45 degree elbow may be necessary to make it easier to install.
Getting the fire started is easy enough, just be careful to close the door to prevent smoke escape. Also, don't add wood until the flames have died down to just embers, this keeps smoke inside the house to a minimum.
It takes two hours to cool down after embers have burned out, something to consider when cleaning the ashes. This also means it is pretty good overnight with a full load of hardwood and damper closed. A few splints of kindling will get the fire going again in the morning and one hot fire will clean the glass of the overnight low fire residue. You should get 2 days of use between ash removal is necessary with moderate use.
About the only thing I would change would be a little more power in the blower, at full heat output, the air is quite warm. A ceiling fan can help mix the hot air, making the room quite comfortable. In my 600 square foot den, it increases temperature about 2 degrees an hour on medium damper and maximum fan.
The best feature is the secondary air, there is no smoke when the wood is fully in flame. Smoke is not only a nuisance, it is wasted energy. You may see wisps of steam from the chimney, these disappear. Gone are the rolling clouds of nasty smoke! My neighbors also love this feature."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Be careful

,
January 15, 2014
By Alinbama
from Alabama
"This insert is worth the price, but be careful to measure your masonry. It is SMALL. The flange covers my existing fireplace, but just barely.
The firebox is very small, and has to be cleaned (ashes removed) and reloaded often. Of course you have to let it cool before cleaning, which is inconvenient.
On the upside, during the "Polar Vortex" I used it as my primary heat source, and stayed nice and comfortable in a space about 500 square feet.
I will probably replace it sooner than I would like, with something a little larger, but for a small fireplace this would be ideal.
Wish the shroud was included.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value insert

,
January 3, 2014
By Dillard
from CT
"I purchased this insert this summer to heat my office/man-cave which is a converted garage with a slate floor and poorly insulated windows. The space is about 1000 square feet. This insert does a fantastic job of heating the entire room up to 75 degrees (with the door closed to the rest of the house) when the outside temp is 20 degrees. For the price, this insert is really great as it generates a ton of heat for the money. The variable speed fan is not too loud, although I wish that it had the auto on/off feature that my other insert has. Build quality is decent, not amazing, but solid enough. One drawback is the firebox size which I wish were a bit taller so I could easily stack 2 levels of wood to get longer burns. Not horrible, but you just have to plan on cutting smaller logs and dealing with it. Also, there seems to be leaks between the firebox and the insert blower, because sometimes when starting a fire, if the chimney isn't drafting properly, it will blow smoke out the door and into your room. When I shut the insert door, smoke continues to leak out through the blower port which proves that it's not totally sealed. On my other insert (in another room which was 4x the price), if this happens, I can shut the door and no smoke comes out. This issue of smoke not drafting up the chimney on start up can be avoided by lighting a newspaper and holding for a minute before lighting the fire, but proves that the box isn't completely sealed. Not sure if this means we're breathing more smoke from the blower though. I guess you get what you pay for. I would still recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
December 29, 2013
By ToastyBones
from Eastern Connecticut
"Great heat output. I have a two story, 3500 sq.ft. home. This stove keeps the whole house at about 62f with outside temps in the 30s. The stove room is easily in the upper 70s. I would estimate that this stove keeps the house about 25 degrees above the outside temp. Below that, the furnace kicks on. Without the stove, we went through about 10 gallons of oil a day in winter. Now we are probably down to about 2-3 gallons a day.
The heat output is great, but the firebox is on the small side. It's only about 12" deep, so you have to be a bit creative about log placement to keep the fire drawing well. I also have to add more wood about every hour. I work from home, so it's not a big deal for me, but expect to tend this stove frequently, including a full load of large logs for a slow overnight burn. Next year I will probably move this unit to our other fireplace and get a larger stove for the main living room."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Phase 2 insert

,
December 26, 2013
By B4U812
from Colorado
"Product arrived before estimated arrival date, albeit it slightly damaged in shipping. Quick and easy install took less than 2 hrs (used 6" SS flex liner). This little insert really cranks out the heat using seasoned hardwood. Nice damper control and variable fan speed. Using a few well placed fans I have no problem heating the entire house well into the high 70s (1300 sq foot 1960s ranch). A full load of hardwood over a hot coals bed burns about 2-3 hrs. At this price point I don't think you can do better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working great

,
November 25, 2013
By Vafire
from Portsmouth, Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this this past summer to find another way to heat the house and cut on power bills. So far the stove has been used at least 24 times in a 1500 Sq Ft home built in the 60's. With the non-open layout and a couple fans working with the blower I can keep the house at 70 degrees on average. My power bill has already gone down by 35%. The blower did have a "rattle" but that was taken care of with a little weather stripping added to the bottom of the blower. I am very pleased with this product.
Pros:
Great price
Blower
Easy to use.
Cons
Needs ash tray
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value: Solid Performing EPA Phase II Stove

,
October 31, 2013
By Jutt77
from Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been running this stove now for 3 seasons burning around 5 cords a season (Oct to May) and I really, really like this stove.
I installed an insulated, full length 6" SS flexi pipe with proper chimney cap and also fabricated my own insulated damper opening cap in order to get the best performance out of the stove.
With that said, this little stove has NO problem at all primary heating our 1953 built, brick, poorly insulated, 1,200sq ft home in Lakewood, CO (5,500 ft). We cut our natural gas usage by 80% in the winter! Wood can be had for free (contact some local tree guys) so we paid off our stove, chainsaw and a used splitter in around 3 years by not paying utilities (plus 35% tax credit). Not to mention the physical and psychological benefits from the fantastic radiant heat and beautiful light provided by a wood stove with a window.
After around 15 cords of wood burnt in the CB00005, she's no worse for wear aside from the bricks getting beat up a bit. The only thing I've had to do is change the door gasket at the end of the third season but that's simple to do and inexpensive maintenance.
Properly seasoned wood is a prerequisite but EPA phase II secondary combustion provides a clean burn. So clean in fact, that my neighbors rarely know I'm burning as there is very little visible smoke being exhausted once the fire has heated up enough. Again, assuming one is burning properly seasoned wood.
Pros:
- THE best value for an EPA phase II rated stove
- Excellent performance for the size
- Includes blower
- Good quality and well built
- Made in Canada
- Good efficiency
- Qualifies for tax credit
- Light enough for one person to move around and install
Cons:
- Ash tray would be nice
- Firebox becomes a bit small once ash and coals build up
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I absolutely love my insert

,
October 31, 2013
By emoney
from Tulsa, Ok
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased my insert nov. 2012. I couldn't use it until Dec.20 the day I had it professionally installed because brickwork on my hearth had to be lowered. That evening we fired it up and I couldn't believe that my house started to heat up. I have to admit I had my doubts but lots of my friends have inserts.
The installer taught me some tricks about convection and that is to set a small fan (for example in areas you think the heat won't get to,) put it on low to blow along the floor and it pushes the cold air towards the heat and sucks the heat back towards the fan. It worked.
My entire home is comfortable during the winter. I like it a little cooler in my bedroom so its perfect. I set my furnace on 62 to kick in at night but during the day and before going to bed i get the house up to 75 with the insert. In the morning i get it stoked back up and i only have to use the furnace for maybe an hour.
Wood make a big difference last year i used lots of junk wood a very soft woods and i burned a lot of wood. This year i already have have 2 riqs of strickly pecan wood and i can already tell the difference one day that i have ran my insert.
I don't have any issues with my fan. I keep it low so the box stays as hot as possible but my home stays around 73 74 during the day my record is 78.
This is a great product"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance

,
October 26, 2013
By Swill123567
from Mount Vernon, nY
"I started using the insert this year and so far I am unable to get any good performance. The fire does not stay light with the draft control all the way to the right unless i keep the door open. I soon as i close the door the fire goes out. The fan is on but no hot air is blowing through the house. I am disappointed because i was looking forward to saving money on my heating cost this year."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-17points
2out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century fireplace insert

,
April 25, 2013
By Randall62
from Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Hey all,
I don't usually write reviews, actually this is probably the first one I've ever wrote. But it just seemed altogether proper to do so considering the wonderful experience I have had with my century fireplace insert. I bought it in February of 2013. I didn't feel like I should have to pay for the liftgate service so I had it delivered to a local lumberyard and they only charged me $25 to bring it directly to my house and then used their construction forklift to put it right in my garage.
I have to admit that I bought a premium flu liner system. All stainless steel construction and insulated to boot. Since my existing fireplace already had what is known as a heatform fireplace in it, installation of the insert wasn't exactly something that most people could do. But since I'm pretty handy with a cutting torch, in about two hours I had a hole big enough to put the six-inch liner through and the rest was pretty much standard stuff. I actually watched a couple how to videos on YouTube and that made installation even that much easier.
I have about 1100 ft.² house and even when it got down to 15° outside the insert performed remarkably well. Basically it can raise the inside temperature about 7° per hour and that's not with the very large fire at all. It doesn't use very much wood. There are many days that I cannot run the blower at full speed because it would just get too hot inside, seriously. Some people have mentioned that the blower was noisy. I found that to be absolute nonsense. I also read that some people thought the blower was too small. I can't imagine putting a larger blower in it, it would just be too hot. The air wash system keeps the glass clean for the most part. Of course, there are times when the glass gets dirty probably because I let the wood get too close to it. But cleaning it's not a problem at all.
All in all, I highly recommend this stove. It works well and for the money is probably one of the best buys out there. Really, I'm not just saying that. I shopped around for quite a while. Hope this helps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Buy

,
March 29, 2013
By BK105
from Annapolis, MD
"I bought this stove as a supplemental heat source to my oil boiler. I can't say enough on how this stove heats my 1700 sq foot bungalow. I also bought the stainless steel liner and had the stove installed in about 4 hours. I am very much impressed with the amount heat that this stove throws out. It starts throwing out heat within minutes of lighting a fire. I read several of the reviews about the blower so before I installed the stove, I disconnected the blower housing from the stove and re-tightened the screws under the blower housing. The blower sounds fine. I have noticed no unusual sounds nor does it interrupt any family movies. I would definately recommend this stove if you looking to heat a small area (less than 2000 sq feet)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this Woodstove

,
December 31, 2012
By MrsConley
from Virginia
"I am sitting here in front of a roaring fire on New Year's Eve. I love that I get to see the fire and enjoy the benefits of a woodstove's efficiency.
I have enjoyed substantially lower fuel bills than I had in previous years. It has been pleasant to have a place in the house that is truly toasty.
I can't recommend this enough."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.