Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005

Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005

Item# 700249
This Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert transforms your inefficient masonry fireplace into an efficient heat-producing unit. Burns 20 1/2in.L logs to create 65,000 BTU. 76 efficient. A variable-speed blower spreads the heat all around an 1600 sq. ft. area. 3 to 6 hour burn time on full load. Not for sale in Washington. Blower CFM 130, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120V, BTU Output 65,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 12, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 21 1/8 x 21 5/8, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/4, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/2 x 12 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Product Type Fireplace insert, Stove Pipe Included No, UL UL approved, Full Load Run Time Hours 3 to 6. Faceplate Item# 700247 or shroud kit required Plated steel construction with cast iron door 28 3/4in.W x 8in.D x 22 5/8in.H minimum opening required
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
51 of 60(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 119 Answers
Customer Reviews for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Review 21 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goodbye oil bill

,
December 8, 2012
By Creosote
from Gold Coast of CT
"This insert is the cats meow. I did everything right, stainless steel liner, insulated, blank off plate. Load it up with wood and it burns forever compared to the old inefficient fireplace that would go through wood and not even heat up the room unless it was burning for hours. This thing throws off heat right away. Do not listen to the people about the fan being noisy. I am an HVAC technician by trade and listen to blower motors all day. This thing whispers. What would take all day and loads of wood to achieve, this thing does in an hour. I shopped around at local dealers who wanted to charge an arm and a leg for an equal stove. This thing really fits the bill and I'm hoping it will reduce my home heating costs as I have loads of wood around here and don't mind doing a little work to heat my home if it saves me $$$."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
21out of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

,
December 6, 2012
By MTM327
from Easley, SC
"This Century insert is a great buy... Well built, easy to install and is a real wood "sipper". The seperate trim kit is a must for a nice professional look!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century insert

,
November 16, 2012
By never123
from Fernley, NV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased this insert on sale in the spring of 2012 from Norther Tool. I rebuilt my fireplace (cracked broken bricks and hearth) I used tile for the rebuild (see photo). I have used wood for heat in other houses, this time we wanted to stop the waste of a standard fireplace and supplement our natural gas heat. Thiis insert works great! Right now outside temperature is 13 degrees inside is 73. My house is a ranch style well insulated 1500 sf with the living, dinning and kitchen open area and 3 bedrooms down a hallway. The bedrooms stay mostly cool at 65 or so, just right for us. I read somewhere that moving hot air is difficult but moving cool air is best. We put a small floor fan blowing from the hallway toward the living dinning areas and that works well. We have not turned on the gas heater so far this year, that is better than we expected. We also relined our chimney with a stainless steel liner and insulation as well. Easy to get a fire going and it stays going with the draft mechanism. We have a fairly tall chimney above the roof so that may be the reason we have such good control and ease of starting a fire. Also the insulation is supposed to keep the chimney warm for a better air flow. I am surprised how little wood this insert uses.
The cons-- Fire box is small, larger logs will fit in but only one at a time, small fire + good heat = less wood.
Fan is noisey for sure, I have found that with the fan on medium the air from the opening is much warmer than with the fan on high. I took the fan aparatus apart and installed rubber between the metal mounting parts to ease the vibration and that has helped a lot.
Overall this insert works great for our home, the price was well worth it. With the rebuild our home "look" is so much better. I hope this helps with your decision.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

,
October 30, 2012
By HeRoze
from Middle Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this as supplemental heating in a 2500 sq ft home in the southeast US. It works very well, and is efficient, doesn't use much wood, and keeps the chill off. Only complaint I have is the fan is loud and I've been unable to dream up a quieter fan. It is exactly what it claims to be. It puts out a lot of heat for the size, requires ash cleanup, and a dedicated flue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Things

,
May 14, 2012
By JackDG1
from Charleston, WV
"Efficiency is 75%. It is very easy on the amount of wood burned. A fire is very easy to start. A hand full of kindling and a few newspapers or cardboard and you have a fire going. You can really control the fire burning with the damper control on front of the stove. It is similar to the accelerator on your car. Open the damper and it "takes off". Close the damper and it slows down immediately. To really know how hot your stove is burning I recommend a magnetic thermometer to attach to the front right side of your stove. I really like my stove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

,
May 8, 2012
By aj16
from Highland, NY
"I purchased the product due to the great reviews and cold winters in New York. The product was only able to heat a medium size room up to under 65 degrees, cuasing up to supplement with oil. The firebox is small, and can only use a few small pieces at a time. When my husband was refilling it when the glass was hot, it cracked with a small amount of pressure. This was about a month after we had purchased it. I am overall disappointed in the size, and output of heat."
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century Heating Wood Insert

,
May 7, 2012
By Norm87
from Rockaway, NJ
"I bought the Century for its smaller exterior size to fit my fireplace opening and reasonable price and was pleasantly surprised with its outstanding performance. It seems to be a relatively simple design with easily removable fire brick which gives access to the inside of the flue so you can set the chimney pipe. The insert air intake design seems to be close to optimum and can burn up to 8 hrs depending on wood quality. The insert is extremely air tight even with the generously sized window. The circulating fan is smartly mounted under a welded steel shelf which comes in handy catching debris from the firebox. Overall, this is an excellent product for the price and would highly recommend for heating and to add a warm atmosphere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient

,
March 29, 2012
By Eyerishangel
from Connecticut
"I have a two story brick colonial with no duct work to circulate the heat upstairs. So, the heat would get upstairs via the stairway. My house was originally gas heat with radiators (no ducts needed). I still have these and use the gas as a back up source of heat at this point.
This insert heats the whole house comfortably. It's extremely efficient with firewood. I would say two cords lasted us a mild New England winter. Considering the cost of that wood would have been one month's heating bill in the past, it's a big deal.
Before going to bed I would insure there was a nice bed of red coals and then pack it full of wood for the night. Upon waking the house would be cool but not cold. There would be enough coals remaining to begin a nice fire in the morning.
The glass door stayed clean most of the time. I didn't need to do anything to keep it clean. So long as there was a nice hot fire the carbon would burn off by itself.
I did find that the house was pretty dry as a result of using this insert. We ran a humidifier all day to compensate.
My biggest pet peeve would be dusting. It does produce a fine dust throughout the house. I dust a lot more now than I did before getting this. Generally, I keep the floors very clean, however, my roomba is picking up a lot more fireplace dust since using it.
This unit has saved money for us. Overall, I'm very glad that we got it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

,
March 13, 2012
By Thrifty
from Stafford, VA
"I have two open fireplaces which were not being used. I purchased one of these unit to supplement the cental heat and to reduce the electric bill. After having used the first unit for a few months I was so pleased with the efficiency and amount of heat the unit produced I decided to purchase a second unit. If properly installed and if seasoned and dry harwoods are used this unit can go several hours between loads."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy AT All..............

,
March 12, 2012
By KRCMAN
from Michigan
"This wood stove will not even heat a 400 sq ft room yet alone a 1800 sq ft home. My thermostat is only 8 ft away from this wood stove and it is every thing I can do to get my thermostat to go up 2-3 degrees. I have had a frderal air tight in this room before and it wood run you out, 80 to 90 easy in this one room and that was with a much much colder winter then we had here this year in mid Michigam. The only thing with the frderal air tight was it really ate up the wood, but it got the job done and them some. NOT HAPPY WITH THIS AT ALL......."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-12points
5out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Really "All That"

,
February 23, 2012
By EZSlim
from Central Virginia
"I had hoped to supplement or replace the heat in our 850 sq ft cabin, but the unit just didn't put out the BTU's. I talked with Century several times, changed the wood I was using, re-installed in the fireplace, reinstalled the flu, and sealed all possible voids and cracks that could interrupt draft or steal the heat - all without effect. It makes a nice fire to look at, blows some warm air occasionally, and adds something to the room, mostly through radiant heat from the face. Wouldn't recommend it as a primary heat source."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

,
February 21, 2012
By ArmyGuy
from San Antonio, TX
"Like many other reviewers, I had my doubts about the small firebox on this insert. I can without reservation, it is not a problem. This insert works GREAT! In addition, some have complained about how poorly this item burns wood. When started my first fire and had initially difficulties (I could not keep the fire lit), I thought the reviews were right. I stuck with trying to make the insert work and discovered that the trick is to have a bed of coals before completely shutting the door. Just leave the door open a crack while the kindling and light wood burns to form the coals. Once you have the bed, you are good to go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good value

,
February 19, 2012
By JimVa
from Richmond, Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The previous reviews on this site led me to purchase our first fireplace insert. I was a little skeptical buying a wood burning insert from Northern 'tool'. But as others have stated, they were surprised and very satisfied. I fall into that category as well. The stove is light compared to others and relatively easy to move around for installation. I chose to install an insulated SS liner as well. The angled connection point in the rear of the stove helped in my situation as well. Overall, the stove is very impressive and is saving us money. Some details, we have a 3600 sq ft cape. Obviously the stove can't heat the whole house, BUT it can heat our den which has a cathedral ceiling and open second floor hallway which benefits. It also makes other downstairs rooms comfortable. Over the weekends, I turn both the upper and lower zone heat pumps down to 64. And they don't come on ! I have monitoring turned on for our electrical usage and compared last weekend (with insert running all weekend) to several weekends before installing the insert, and my electrical usage is down by approx. 50%.
I like the simple one control. I was not very impressed when I saw how thin the surround piece was, but when it's installed it looks like quality. The nickel trim does ad a nice touch. The firebox is small, but after I've educated myself on the benefits of high efficiency stoves/inserts, I realized they don't need to be large to put off ample heat. And do use seasoned wood. Wood with a lot of moisture will have more of an noticeable negative affect on a smaller stove than a larger one. I bought a magnetic stove thermostat magnet and mounted it to the upper left side. The fan is fine - we don't think it's too loud. It could push more air though. Not sure why they don't put in more powerful fans. That will be a future project. I did recently add a thermo switch for the fan blower. (google 19-SF2-115) This allows the fan to stay off until the stove hits 120 degrees. Then it comes on automatically and during the night when the stove cools down it will shut off when it comes back down to around 120 degrees.
Overall great investment, no regrets, and I highly recommend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Century Wood Stove Insert

,
January 19, 2012
By rcrow0700
from Ohio
"I had my doubts when the stove arrived. The firebox was much smaller than I expected. Although the reviews on this site were good (and turns out accurate) I went to other sites before I decided whether or not to return it. I have to say, I looked at many stoves and many reviews on different sites. This one really produces the heat as advertised. I had to make some adjustments to my "sealed off" loft (I opend it up) and the unit was able to heat it from belwo. I should add, I have a 30 foot ceiling above the fireplace. As we speak it is 15 degrees F, and my loft is toasty. I do use a propane wall heater (on the floor) in front of the fireplace to assist in the heat up stage. Working well, still hard to believe."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally worth it!

,
January 16, 2012
By Redwing4900
from St. Clair Shores, MI
"We purchased this unit just before Christmas and have been using it as much as we can since then. We really enjoy lighting a fire now that isn't releasing the heat up the chimney but rather into our home, keeping our heating costs down...I'm looking forward to our first gas bill(since we purchased), that's not usually the case in January! It looks good and the flue liner that Northern Tool sells didn't require any more parts than what was sent. My wife and I fully installed this in three hours."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Acceptable Insert

,
January 11, 2012
By NancyT
from Derwood, MD
"After diligently reading the reviews of how successful this woodstove is at heating several rooms during winter months, we made our purchase. The cost and delivery were great and the installation was straightforward.
When it comes to product performance, things are not so great--not horrible--but, not great. We use well-seasoned wood from over two years ago so we expect maximum efficiency but we can't seem to heat our main living spaces more than 65 degrees when it is below 30 degrees out. Any temp below 20 degrees and we are struggling to hit 60 degrees inside... These "main living spaces" include: a living room in which the woodstove is located, a family room, a kitchen, and one bedroom above the living room (probably about 1200 sq feet). To maximize the heat in these living spaces, we close the doors to all other rooms in the house. I am definitely not complaining because this still saves us plenty of money when compared to how much heating oil is required to keep our house at 60-65 degrees, and it is easier to prevent heat loss to other unused rooms.
The woodstove definitely burns efficiently but also requires more wood than we thought it would based on other reviews. We burn about 8 logs per day and the coals are always hot enough to keep the fire running nonstop. We keep the damper at the lowest opening to keep the fires burning longer and we keep our blower on max. [Perhaps we should be opening up the damper and burning hotter fires to keep our place warmer? But then we would probably burn through twice as many logs...]
All in all, we like this insert but if we had been more familiar with woodstove capacity and heating capability, we probably would have purchased a larger insert. It sufficiently meets our needs for now, but we will likely upgrade to a larger one when this one needs to be replaced.
Goodluck on your woodstove search! :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stove for the money.

,
January 10, 2012
By Novadweller
from Northern VA
"For the money this stove can't be beat. Yes, it's a little on the small side but it really puts out the heat and because of it's size it uses very little wood. Installation was a breeze. I installed with a 6" stainless steel liner, as recommended. The fan is a little loud, but every stove I've ever owned has been the same way. You can turn the speed of the fan down if it bothers you. The only small complaint I have is the fire bricks are a little delicate. One of them on the side wall cracked in half. Just be careful when loading wood into the firebox. I'm sure there are better stoves out there but for the price I don't think you can beat this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood stove

,
January 9, 2012
By pesky7
from Minnesota
"This wood burning insert was easy install yourself. All I needed was a little help hooking up the stainless steel sleeve and the rest was a breeze. It works great and is efficient as far as wood burning equipment goes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Century Wood Stove

,
January 9, 2012
By fletch777
from Missouri
"Decent SMALL wood stove.Does not have the area inside that other stoves have.You cant put wood inside very large.The fan is somewhat noisey.If you have ever had another brand of wood stove you Will NOT ! be happy with this one ,for small applications its OK ,however for serious users I would reccomend a higher end stove!Price was fair.Shiping was good ( you can save money if you arrange to pick up unit at the trucking Company.Good stove for small applications .Its worth the money if you cut your wood to size >"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jjs777
Boston, MA 
 
Please wait while more information about jjs777 is loaded.
Additional information about jjs777 could not be loaded.
Wood Size
January 11, 2012
"Most split wood can be purchased cut to lengths of 16-18" which will fit this unit fine. One of my other stoves allows 22" log width in east west direction and I find I never use all 22" - making this unit 'perfect' for most splits you will find. You can in fact throw 4 average size splits into the stove. I do split most all my own wood (did 5 full cords in 2011) and I tend to split a bit large so maybe my splits I could throw 2 or 3 into this unit - but my splits are larger than what you would buy from the local supplier or wood chucker :)"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century Insert

,
January 9, 2012
By jjs777
from Boston, MA
"I purchased and installed this unit for my parents house near Boston Ma. The house has uninsulated walls and 9ft ceilings except the sunporch which has 7ft ceilings. The stove is adequately heating the two bedrooms, kitchen, dining rm and living rm and the sunporch. Its able to maintain a temp of 70-72 throughout these rooms. Albeit the temps have only been below 28F a few times so once the temps fall below 20F I'm sure the sunporch door will need to be closed but I have no issues with how much heat this thing throws off. This unit has a smallish firebox but is ample for a average size home. Given the tall ceilings I suspect it would heat even better for a home with 7 or 8 ft ceilings. It uses three secondary tubes for the reburn and they work beautifully when the unit is drafted all the way down. If your trying to heat a larger than average house you may want to look for a stove with a large firebox - but I actually like the smaller fb because you have a tendency to not eat threw your wood stash as quickly while still heating efficiently. A buying factor for me and my parents was that its made in Canada and not some country thousands of miles away and the price is a great value. The fan is a bit noisy on high - but I still rate the stove 5 stars - I just set the variable speed fan switch to low and it still throws off the heat wonderfully. For folks that posted they are not getting heat out of it - you need to ensure your wood is well seasoned with low moisture content. My folks have been burning wood splits along with one or two of those compressed wood bricks and it makes for a great fire. The stove is located in the middle of the house so this is no doubt why it is able to heat so many rooms so evenly. Previously they just had a open fireplace - which was great at allowing all the heat to go up the chimney. This has cut my parents home heating oil bill considerably."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.