Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"

Item# 700249
"This Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert transforms your inefficient masonry fireplace into an efficient heat-producing unit. Burns 20 1/2in.L logs to create 65,000 BTU. 76 efficient. A variable-speed blower spreads the heat all around an 1600 sq. ft. area. 3 to 6 hour burn time on full load. Not for sale in Washington. Blower CFM 130, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120V, BTU Output 65,000, Clearance from Side Wall in. 12, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 21 1/8 x 21 5/8, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/4, EPA Certified Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 1/2 x 12 1/2, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood, Heat Settings Variable, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Product Type Fireplace insert, Stove Pipe Included No, UL UL approved, Full Load Run Time Hours 3 to 6. Faceplate Item# 700247 or shroud kit required Plated steel construction with cast iron door 28 3/4in.W x 8in.D x 22 5/8in.H minimum opening required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
60 of 69(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Review 21 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Stove

,
December 29, 2013
By ToastyBones
from Eastern Connecticut
" Great heat output. I have a two story, 3500 sq.ft. home. This stove keeps the whole house at about 62f with outside temps in the 30s. The stove room is easily in the upper 70s. I would estimate that this stove keeps the house about 25 degrees above the outside temp. Below that, the furnace kicks on. Without the stove, we went through about 10 gallons of oil a day in winter. Now we are probably down to about 2-3 gallons a day.
The heat output is great, but the firebox is on the small side. It's only about 12" deep, so you have to be a bit creative about log placement to keep the fire drawing well. I also have to add more wood about every hour. I work from home, so it's not a big deal for me, but expect to tend this stove frequently, including a full load of large logs for a slow overnight burn. Next year I will probably move this unit to our other fireplace and get a larger stove for the main living room. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Phase 2 insert

,
December 26, 2013
By B4U812
from Colorado
" Product arrived before estimated arrival date, albeit it slightly damaged in shipping. Quick and easy install took less than 2 hrs (used 6" SS flex liner). This little insert really cranks out the heat using seasoned hardwood. Nice damper control and variable fan speed. Using a few well placed fans I have no problem heating the entire house well into the high 70s (1300 sq foot 1960s ranch). A full load of hardwood over a hot coals bed burns about 2-3 hrs. At this price point I don't think you can do better. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working great

,
November 25, 2013
By Vafire
from Portsmouth, Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this this past summer to find another way to heat the house and cut on power bills. So far the stove has been used at least 24 times in a 1500 Sq Ft home built in the 60's. With the non-open layout and a couple fans working with the blower I can keep the house at 70 degrees on average. My power bill has already gone down by 35%. The blower did have a "rattle" but that was taken care of with a little weather stripping added to the bottom of the blower. I am very pleased with this product.
Pros:
Great price
Blower
Easy to use.
Cons
Needs ash tray
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 24 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value: Solid Performing EPA Phase II Stove

,
October 31, 2013
By Jutt77
from Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I've been running this stove now for 3 seasons burning around 5 cords a season (Oct to May) and I really, really like this stove.
I installed an insulated, full length 6" SS flexi pipe with proper chimney cap and also fabricated my own insulated damper opening cap in order to get the best performance out of the stove.
With that said, this little stove has NO problem at all primary heating our 1953 built, brick, poorly insulated, 1,200sq ft home in Lakewood, CO (5,500 ft). We cut our natural gas usage by 80% in the winter! Wood can be had for free (contact some local tree guys) so we paid off our stove, chainsaw and a used splitter in around 3 years by not paying utilities (plus 35% tax credit). Not to mention the physical and psychological benefits from the fantastic radiant heat and beautiful light provided by a wood stove with a window.
After around 15 cords of wood burnt in the CB00005, she's no worse for wear aside from the bricks getting beat up a bit. The only thing I've had to do is change the door gasket at the end of the third season but that's simple to do and inexpensive maintenance.
Properly seasoned wood is a prerequisite but EPA phase II secondary combustion provides a clean burn. So clean in fact, that my neighbors rarely know I'm burning as there is very little visible smoke being exhausted once the fire has heated up enough. Again, assuming one is burning properly seasoned wood.
Pros:
- THE best value for an EPA phase II rated stove
- Excellent performance for the size
- Includes blower
- Good quality and well built
- Made in Canada
- Good efficiency
- Qualifies for tax credit
- Light enough for one person to move around and install
Cons:
- Ash tray would be nice
- Firebox becomes a bit small once ash and coals build up
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 25 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I absolutely love my insert

,
October 31, 2013
By emoney
from Tulsa, Ok
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased my insert nov. 2012. I couldn't use it until Dec.20 the day I had it professionally installed because brickwork on my hearth had to be lowered. That evening we fired it up and I couldn't believe that my house started to heat up. I have to admit I had my doubts but lots of my friends have inserts.
The installer taught me some tricks about convection and that is to set a small fan (for example in areas you think the heat won't get to,) put it on low to blow along the floor and it pushes the cold air towards the heat and sucks the heat back towards the fan. It worked.
My entire home is comfortable during the winter. I like it a little cooler in my bedroom so its perfect. I set my furnace on 62 to kick in at night but during the day and before going to bed i get the house up to 75 with the insert. In the morning i get it stoked back up and i only have to use the furnace for maybe an hour.
Wood make a big difference last year i used lots of junk wood a very soft woods and i burned a lot of wood. This year i already have have 2 riqs of strickly pecan wood and i can already tell the difference one day that i have ran my insert.
I don't have any issues with my fan. I keep it low so the box stays as hot as possible but my home stays around 73 74 during the day my record is 78.
This is a great product "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor performance

,
October 26, 2013
By Swill123567
from Mount Vernon, nY
" I started using the insert this year and so far I am unable to get any good performance. The fire does not stay light with the draft control all the way to the right unless i keep the door open. I soon as i close the door the fire goes out. The fan is on but no hot air is blowing through the house. I am disappointed because i was looking forward to saving money on my heating cost this year. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-20points
2out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 27 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century fireplace insert

,
April 25, 2013
By Randall62
from Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Hey all,
I don't usually write reviews, actually this is probably the first one I've ever wrote. But it just seemed altogether proper to do so considering the wonderful experience I have had with my century fireplace insert. I bought it in February of 2013. I didn't feel like I should have to pay for the liftgate service so I had it delivered to a local lumberyard and they only charged me $25 to bring it directly to my house and then used their construction forklift to put it right in my garage.
I have to admit that I bought a premium flu liner system. All stainless steel construction and insulated to boot. Since my existing fireplace already had what is known as a heatform fireplace in it, installation of the insert wasn't exactly something that most people could do. But since I'm pretty handy with a cutting torch, in about two hours I had a hole big enough to put the six-inch liner through and the rest was pretty much standard stuff. I actually watched a couple how to videos on YouTube and that made installation even that much easier.
I have about 1100 ft.² house and even when it got down to 15° outside the insert performed remarkably well. Basically it can raise the inside temperature about 7° per hour and that's not with the very large fire at all. It doesn't use very much wood. There are many days that I cannot run the blower at full speed because it would just get too hot inside, seriously. Some people have mentioned that the blower was noisy. I found that to be absolute nonsense. I also read that some people thought the blower was too small. I can't imagine putting a larger blower in it, it would just be too hot. The air wash system keeps the glass clean for the most part. Of course, there are times when the glass gets dirty probably because I let the wood get too close to it. But cleaning it's not a problem at all.
All in all, I highly recommend this stove. It works well and for the money is probably one of the best buys out there. Really, I'm not just saying that. I shopped around for quite a while. Hope this helps. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 28 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Buy

,
March 29, 2013
By BK105
from Annapolis, MD
" I bought this stove as a supplemental heat source to my oil boiler. I can't say enough on how this stove heats my 1700 sq foot bungalow. I also bought the stainless steel liner and had the stove installed in about 4 hours. I am very much impressed with the amount heat that this stove throws out. It starts throwing out heat within minutes of lighting a fire. I read several of the reviews about the blower so before I installed the stove, I disconnected the blower housing from the stove and re-tightened the screws under the blower housing. The blower sounds fine. I have noticed no unusual sounds nor does it interrupt any family movies. I would definately recommend this stove if you looking to heat a small area (less than 2000 sq feet). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 29 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this Woodstove

,
December 31, 2012
By MrsConley
from Virginia
" I am sitting here in front of a roaring fire on New Year's Eve. I love that I get to see the fire and enjoy the benefits of a woodstove's efficiency.
I have enjoyed substantially lower fuel bills than I had in previous years. It has been pleasant to have a place in the house that is truly toasty.
I can't recommend this enough. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 30 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goodbye oil bill

,
December 8, 2012
By Creosote
from Gold Coast of CT
" This insert is the cats meow. I did everything right, stainless steel liner, insulated, blank off plate. Load it up with wood and it burns forever compared to the old inefficient fireplace that would go through wood and not even heat up the room unless it was burning for hours. This thing throws off heat right away. Do not listen to the people about the fan being noisy. I am an HVAC technician by trade and listen to blower motors all day. This thing whispers. What would take all day and loads of wood to achieve, this thing does in an hour. I shopped around at local dealers who wanted to charge an arm and a leg for an equal stove. This thing really fits the bill and I'm hoping it will reduce my home heating costs as I have loads of wood around here and don't mind doing a little work to heat my home if it saves me $$$. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
21out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 31 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

,
December 6, 2012
By MTM327
from Easley, SC
" This Century insert is a great buy... Well built, easy to install and is a real wood "sipper". The seperate trim kit is a must for a nice professional look! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 32 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century insert

,
November 16, 2012
By never123
from Fernley, NV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I purchased this insert on sale in the spring of 2012 from Norther Tool. I rebuilt my fireplace (cracked broken bricks and hearth) I used tile for the rebuild (see photo). I have used wood for heat in other houses, this time we wanted to stop the waste of a standard fireplace and supplement our natural gas heat. Thiis insert works great! Right now outside temperature is 13 degrees inside is 73. My house is a ranch style well insulated 1500 sf with the living, dinning and kitchen open area and 3 bedrooms down a hallway. The bedrooms stay mostly cool at 65 or so, just right for us. I read somewhere that moving hot air is difficult but moving cool air is best. We put a small floor fan blowing from the hallway toward the living dinning areas and that works well. We have not turned on the gas heater so far this year, that is better than we expected. We also relined our chimney with a stainless steel liner and insulation as well. Easy to get a fire going and it stays going with the draft mechanism. We have a fairly tall chimney above the roof so that may be the reason we have such good control and ease of starting a fire. Also the insulation is supposed to keep the chimney warm for a better air flow. I am surprised how little wood this insert uses.
The cons-- Fire box is small, larger logs will fit in but only one at a time, small fire + good heat = less wood.
Fan is noisey for sure, I have found that with the fan on medium the air from the opening is much warmer than with the fan on high. I took the fan aparatus apart and installed rubber between the metal mounting parts to ease the vibration and that has helped a lot.
Overall this insert works great for our home, the price was well worth it. With the rebuild our home "look" is so much better. I hope this helps with your decision.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 33 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

,
October 30, 2012
By HeRoze
from Middle Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I use this as supplemental heating in a 2500 sq ft home in the southeast US. It works very well, and is efficient, doesn't use much wood, and keeps the chill off. Only complaint I have is the fan is loud and I've been unable to dream up a quieter fan. It is exactly what it claims to be. It puts out a lot of heat for the size, requires ash cleanup, and a dedicated flue. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 34 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Things

,
May 14, 2012
By JackDG1
from Charleston, WV
" Efficiency is 75%. It is very easy on the amount of wood burned. A fire is very easy to start. A hand full of kindling and a few newspapers or cardboard and you have a fire going. You can really control the fire burning with the damper control on front of the stove. It is similar to the accelerator on your car. Open the damper and it "takes off". Close the damper and it slows down immediately. To really know how hot your stove is burning I recommend a magnetic thermometer to attach to the front right side of your stove. I really like my stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 35 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

,
May 8, 2012
By aj16
from Highland, NY
" I purchased the product due to the great reviews and cold winters in New York. The product was only able to heat a medium size room up to under 65 degrees, cuasing up to supplement with oil. The firebox is small, and can only use a few small pieces at a time. When my husband was refilling it when the glass was hot, it cracked with a small amount of pressure. This was about a month after we had purchased it. I am overall disappointed in the size, and output of heat. "
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 36 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century Heating Wood Insert

,
May 7, 2012
By Norm87
from Rockaway, NJ
" I bought the Century for its smaller exterior size to fit my fireplace opening and reasonable price and was pleasantly surprised with its outstanding performance. It seems to be a relatively simple design with easily removable fire brick which gives access to the inside of the flue so you can set the chimney pipe. The insert air intake design seems to be close to optimum and can burn up to 8 hrs depending on wood quality. The insert is extremely air tight even with the generously sized window. The circulating fan is smartly mounted under a welded steel shelf which comes in handy catching debris from the firebox. Overall, this is an excellent product for the price and would highly recommend for heating and to add a warm atmosphere. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 37 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient

,
March 29, 2012
By Eyerishangel
from Connecticut
" I have a two story brick colonial with no duct work to circulate the heat upstairs. So, the heat would get upstairs via the stairway. My house was originally gas heat with radiators (no ducts needed). I still have these and use the gas as a back up source of heat at this point.
This insert heats the whole house comfortably. It's extremely efficient with firewood. I would say two cords lasted us a mild New England winter. Considering the cost of that wood would have been one month's heating bill in the past, it's a big deal.
Before going to bed I would insure there was a nice bed of red coals and then pack it full of wood for the night. Upon waking the house would be cool but not cold. There would be enough coals remaining to begin a nice fire in the morning.
The glass door stayed clean most of the time. I didn't need to do anything to keep it clean. So long as there was a nice hot fire the carbon would burn off by itself.
I did find that the house was pretty dry as a result of using this insert. We ran a humidifier all day to compensate.
My biggest pet peeve would be dusting. It does produce a fine dust throughout the house. I dust a lot more now than I did before getting this. Generally, I keep the floors very clean, however, my roomba is picking up a lot more fireplace dust since using it.
This unit has saved money for us. Overall, I'm very glad that we got it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 38 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

,
March 13, 2012
By Thrifty
from Stafford, VA
" I have two open fireplaces which were not being used. I purchased one of these unit to supplement the cental heat and to reduce the electric bill. After having used the first unit for a few months I was so pleased with the efficiency and amount of heat the unit produced I decided to purchase a second unit. If properly installed and if seasoned and dry harwoods are used this unit can go several hours between loads. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 39 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy AT All..............

,
March 12, 2012
By KRCMAN
from Michigan
" This wood stove will not even heat a 400 sq ft room yet alone a 1800 sq ft home. My thermostat is only 8 ft away from this wood stove and it is every thing I can do to get my thermostat to go up 2-3 degrees. I have had a frderal air tight in this room before and it wood run you out, 80 to 90 easy in this one room and that was with a much much colder winter then we had here this year in mid Michigam. The only thing with the frderal air tight was it really ate up the wood, but it got the job done and them some. NOT HAPPY WITH THIS AT ALL....... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-12points
5out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 40 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00005"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Really "All That"

,
February 23, 2012
By EZSlim
from Central Virginia
" I had hoped to supplement or replace the heat in our 850 sq ft cabin, but the unit just didn't put out the BTU's. I talked with Century several times, changed the wood I was using, re-installed in the fireplace, reinstalled the flu, and sealed all possible voids and cracks that could interrupt draft or steal the heat - all without effect. It makes a nice fire to look at, blows some warm air occasionally, and adds something to the room, mostly through radiant heat from the face. Wouldn't recommend it as a primary heat source. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.